DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on 5/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search for one species will encompass the remaining species. This is not found persuasive because the species are not usable together and will place a burden on the examiner to search additional species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A hole formed in the recessed bottom is confusing because the first hole is present and includes the recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (8,777,774). Claim 1, Kim discloses an iron golf club head comprising a head body having a sole portion, a weight cartridge 200 disposed in the sole portion (fig 5A; col. 5, lines 50-52), and a screw 150 for fixing the weight cartridge to the head body, wherein the head body is provided with a first hole and a second hole. The first hole opens at a bottom surface of the sole portion, the weight member is in the first hole by insertion from below the head in a first direction, the second hole opens at a surface of the head body. and the fixing member is inserted into the weight member from the second hole in a second direction different from the first direction (fig 5A-5B). Claim 2, the screw 150 comprises a male thread, and the weight cartridge comprises a female thread that engages with the male thread (fig 5A). Claim 3, the head body has a first specific (steel) and the weight cartridge has a second specific gravity (tungsten) greater than the first specific gravity (col 2, lines 35-36). Claim 5, the sole portion comprises a first portion extending in a head front-back direction and second portion extending upward of the head on a rear side of the first portion, the first hole is formed in the first portion. and the second hole is formed in the second portion (fig 5A). Claim 10, Kim discloses an iron golf club head comprising a head body having a sole portion, a weight cartridge 200 disposed in the sole portion (fig 5A; col. 5, lines 50-52), and a screw 150 for fixing the weight cartridge to the head body, wherein the head body is provided with a first hole and a second hole. The first hole opens at a bottom surface of the sole portion, the weight member is in the first hole by insertion from below the head in a first direction, the second hole opens at a surface of the head body. and the fixing member is inserted into the weight member from the second hole in a second direction different from the first direction (fig 5A-5B). Claim 11, the screw 150 comprises a male thread, and the weight cartridge comprises a female thread that engages with the male thread (fig 5A). Claim 12, the head body has a first specific (steel) and the weight cartridge has a second specific gravity (tungsten) greater than the first specific gravity (col 2, lines 35-36). Claim 14, the sole portion comprises a first portion extending in a head front-back direction and second portion extending upward of the head on a rear side of the first portion, the first hole is formed in the first portion. and the second hole is formed in the second portion (fig 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (8,777,774). Kim discloses a screw at the toe end and further discloses the weight is held in place by at least one screw. The additional screw would obviously be located opposite the screw at the heel end. One of ordinary skill in the art would increase the number of screws to secure the weight.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (8,777,774) in view of Ripp (10,661,128). Kim discloses the first direction upward of the head. Kim does not disclose the second direction toward the front of the head. Ripp teaches a screw in the direction toward the front of the head (fig 9). One of ordinary skill in the art would vary the location of the screw for the desired securement.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (8,777,774) in view of Johnson et al. (2022/0111268). Kim does not disclose a badge. Johnson teaches badges are used to dampen or contribute to the feel [0003-0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included a badge for optimal performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
August 20, 2025