DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MI et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2016/0365480 A1, hereinafter, “MI”) in view of Wang et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2016/0126381 A1, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1 MI discloses a method of fabricating a nanowire (see MI, FIG. 6A) comprising:
forming a first semiconductor nanowire region (n-GaN, FIG. 6A) with a first type of doping (n-type);
forming a quantum structure (AlInGaN, FIG. 6A) on the first semiconductor nanowire region (n-GaN), the quantum structure (AlInGaN) including one or more quantum core structures (FIG. 6A) and a quantum shell structure (FIG. 6A and ¶ [0009]) disposed about a periphery of the one or more quantum core structures (FIG. 6A); and
forming a second semiconductor nanowire region (p-GaN, FIG. 6A) with a second type of doping (p-type) on the quantum structure (AlInGaN, FIG. 6A).
MI is silent regarding that the nanowire is formed by Selective Area Growth (SAG) method.
Wang, however, discloses that SAG is a method to grow nanowire (¶ [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form MI’s nanowire by SAG method, as taught by Wang, since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 4, MI in view of Wang discloses the method of fabricating the nanowire of Claim 1, wherein: forming by SAG the first semiconductor nanowire region (MI’s n-GaN, FIG. 6A) with the first type of doping includes epitaxially depositing n-type doped Gallium Nitride (GaN); and forming by SAG the second semiconductor nanowire region (MI’s p-GaN, FIG. 6A) with the second type of doping includes epitaxially depositing p-type doped Gallium Nitride (GaN).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MI et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2016/0365480 A1, hereinafter, “MI”) in view of Wang et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2016/0126381 A1, hereinafter, “Wang”), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of MI et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2013/0240348 A1, hereinafter, “MI2”).
Regarding claim 2, MI in view of Wang discloses the method of fabricating the nanowire of Claim 1.
MI in view of Wang is silent regarding forming by SAG a quantum structure comprises: forming a quantum active region; and forming by SAG a quantum barrier region on the quantum active region.
MI2, however, discloses a method of fabricating nanowire (see MI2, FIG. 10), comprising forming a quantum active region (1040, FIG. 10); and forming a quantum barrier region (1030, FIG. 10) on the quantum active region (1040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a quantum active region; and forming a quantum barrier region on the quantum active region for MI’s device, as taught by MI2, since it is an alternative design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are allowed.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of claim 3, in particular, the quantum core structure is formed from layers of the Indium Gallium Nitride (InGaN) and the Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN) and the quantum shell structure is formed from the Aluminum Gallium Nitride (AlGaN).
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of base claim 5, in particular, forming a nano-pattern layer including one or more cluster of openings; forming a first semiconductor region with a first type of doping disposed in the one or more cluster of openings in the nano-pattern layer. Claims 6-13 depend upon claim 5.
Conclusion
/XIA L. CROSS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2892
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892