DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 2, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the annotated images below further clarifying the examiner’s position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weinstein (WO 2022/040218).
Regarding claim 41, Weinstein discloses a correcting apparatus for remodeling a portion of an external ear (abstract), the apparatus comprising: a correcting component (Corrective component 200, Fig. 4A) having a main body (main body 204, Fig. 4A) shaped for insertion into, or in contact with, a conchal bowl of the ear (main body 202 may be placed at least partially in contact with the conchal bowl of ear), first and second projections (206, 204) extending anteriorly from the main body and a tab (214) extending outwardly from an upper edge portion of the main body to assist in placement of the correcting component; wherein the first projection is configured for positioning near, or in contact with, at least a portion of a cymba of the ear; and wherein the second projection is configured to extend into a cavum of the conchal bowl (figure 4C, functional limitations are not given full patentable weight, as long as the prior art meets the structural limitations in the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the claims. The device of Weinstein could be placed in an arbitrary ear shape in which the second projection would contact the cavum of the conchal bowl).
Regarding claim 42, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 41, further comprising a third projection (see image above).
Regarding claim 43, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 41, wherein the main body comprises a material sufficiently rigid to remain in position during a time period of use sufficient to correct a deformity in the external ear (figure 4C, functional limitations are not given full patentable weight, as long as the prior art meets the structural limitations in the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the claims).
Regarding claim 44, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 41, wherein the main body comprises a first surface, a second opposing surface and a hole (214) extending through the first and second surfaces for passing sound waves through the main body (figure 4D).
Regarding claim 45, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 41, further comprising an attachment component (100, 140) configured for securing the correcting component against the surface of the external ear (figures 8B, 8C, functional limitations are not given full patentable weight, as long as the prior art meets the structural limitations in the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the claims).
Regarding claim 46, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 45, wherein the attachment component comprises a slot (tab 214 can be placed into any of the slots of 140 shown below) for receiving the extended tab therethrough.
Regarding claim 47, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 46, wherein the slot has a shape and size matching the extended tab of the main body (figures 8B, 8C).
Regarding claim 48, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 45, wherein the attachment component (100) has an opening to allow sound waves to pass therethrough (spaces between tabs 144).
Regarding claim 49, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 45, wherein the attachment component comprises an adhesive (paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 50, Weinstein discloses a system for remodeling a portion of an external ear, the system comprising: a first correcting component (200) having a main body shaped for insertion into, or in contact with, a conchal bowl of the ear and first and second projections extending anteriorly from the main body (see image above), and a tab (see image above) extending outwardly from an upper edge portion of the main body (see image above) to assist in placement of the correcting component, the first projection being configured for positioning near, or in contact with, at least a portion of a cymba of the ear (figure 7B), and the second projection being configured to extend into a cavum of the conchal bowl (figure 7B, 22); and a second correcting component (100) having a main body configured for positioning between a surface of the external ear and a helix of the external ear (figure 8B).
Regarding claim 51, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 50, wherein the first correcting component (200) further comprises a third projection (204).
Regarding claim 52, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 50, wherein the main body of the first correcting component and second component comprises a material sufficiently rigid to remain in position during a time period of use sufficient to correct a deformity in the external ear (figure 8B, maintains shape).
Regarding claim 53, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 50, wherein the main body of the first correcting component comprises a first surface, a second opposing surface and a hole (214) extending through the first and second surfaces for passing sound waves through the main body (figure 4D).
Regarding claim 54, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 50, further comprising an attachment component (100, 140) configured for securing the first correcting component against the surface of the external ear.
Regarding claim 55, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 54, wherein the attachment component comprises a slot (see image above) for receiving the extended tab therethrough.
Regarding claim 56, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 55, wherein the slot has a shape and size matching the tab of the main body of the first correcting component (figure 8B, 8C).
Regarding claim 57, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 54, the attachment component (214) has an opening to allow sound waves to pass therethrough.
Regarding claim 58, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 54, wherein the attachment component comprises an adhesive (paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 59, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 50, further comprising a third correcting component (240) configured for positioning within, or in contact with, a fossa triangularis of the external ear (figure 4A, functional limitations are not given full patentable weight, as long as the prior art meets the structural limitations in the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the claims).
Regarding claim 60, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 50, further comprising a third correcting component (240) having a main body shaped for extending across a portion of the external ear, the main body comprising a first portion configured for contacting a helix of the internal ear and a second portion configured for contacting an anterior surface of the external ear (figure 8B, functional limitations are not given full patentable weight, as long as the prior art meets the structural limitations in the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions, the prior art meets the claims).
Regarding claim 61, Weinstein discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 60, wherein the third correcting component is configured to secure the first correcting component in position within the conchal bowl of the ear (figure 9B).
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771