DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the Applicant Amendments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 01/05/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/Applicant Amendments, filed 01/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of claim amendments warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al (CN108964726B) in view of Zhang et al (US10338205B2) in further view of Grant et al (US10516513B2).
Regarding claim 1, You teaches a method of channel information obtaining, comprising:
measuring, by a first device, first channel information in a plurality of time units in a first time period (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-7; (2) BS obtains pilot signals sent by users in the UL and constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem using a pilot matrix (see all user terminals…synchronously send pilot signals and the BS obtains the pilot signals constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem—measuring channel information in multiple time units); and
obtaining, by the first device, second channel information of each third device in the first time period according to the first channel information obtained through measurement in each time unit and a first code word of each third device in the first time period (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-7, pilot matrix is non-orthogonal and designed from user pilots (non-orthogonal pilot sequence…perceptual matrix”), and that the estimation uses sparsity in the angular delay domain together with this matrix. The non-orthogonal pilot matrix functions analogously to the “first code word” of each user/third device; thus the BS obtains refined channel information (second channel info) based on both the pilot signals (first channel info) and the pilot/codeword associated with each user)
But You fails to teach wherein the second channel information is channel information obtained after each third device forwards, to the first device, a radio signal sent by a second device
wherein the radio signal sent by the second device is forwarded by each third device according to the first code word of the third device in the first time period.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the second channel information is channel information obtained after each third device forwards, to the first device, a radio signal sent by a second device (Abstract, col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-7 respectively, col 6-7 lines 56-67 & 1-10 respectively, the backscatter tag forwards (reflects/modulates) the WiFi packet transmitted by another device (the WiFi transmitter), mapping codewords of the carrier packet to backscattered responses –i.e. the tag does not originate the carrier, it forwards/modulates the existing packet)
wherein the radio signal sent by the second device is forwarded by each third device according to the first code word of the third device in the first time period (Abstract, col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-7 respectively, col 6-7 lines 56-67 & 1-10 respectively, the tag maps codewords (time-domain sequences) from the received packet into the backscattered response (e.g. ON/OFF or mapped codeword symbols); same as a “first code word” whose elements correspond to time units that define the tag’s forwarding state in each unit),
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
However, Zhang fails to teach but Grant teaches the first code word comprises a plurality of elements respectively corresponding to the plurality of time units in which the first channel information is measured by the first device (col 12 lines 49-52, col 14 lines 45-61, col 15 lines 10-18, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures), the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC) (col 3 lines 44-46, col 15 lines 10-13, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures), and first code words of different third devices are different in the first time period (col 15 lines 27-31, col 16 lines 53-56, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 2, You fails to teach the method wherein before the measuring, by the first device, the first channel information, the method further comprises: determining the first code word of each third device in the first time period.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein before the measuring, by the first device, the first channel information, the method further comprises: determining the first code word of each third device in the first time period (Abstract, col 8:35-45 each tag determines its backscatter codeword sequence in advance—predetermining per-device codewords before measurement).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 3, You teaches the method wherein the determining the first code word of each third device in the first time period comprises one of the following:
receiving first configuration information sent by the second device, or determining the first code word of each third device in the first time period according to the first configuration information (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14, config info includes sequence length, IDs, mapping rules etc.), wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
determining the first code word of each third device in the first time period according to the device identifier of each third device (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14, config info includes sequence length, IDs, mapping rules etc.).
But You fails to teach a length of the first code word, each to-be-detected first code word, a device identifier of a third device corresponding to each first code word, or a correspondence between an element of the first code word and a target parameter of a forwarding beam of the third device; and
However, Zhang teaches a length of the first code word, each to-be-detected first code word, a device identifier of a third device corresponding to each first code word, or a correspondence between an element of the first code word and a target parameter of a forwarding beam of the third device (col 7 lines 50-60, device ID linked with assigned spreading/backscatter sequence—determine codewords); and
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 4, You teaches the method wherein:
the first configuration information further comprises time domain information of the first channel information, and the time domain information is used to indicate the plurality of time units (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14, time index and beamforming weights part of configuration); or the target parameter comprises at least one of the following:
But You fails to teach a phase, an amplitude, or a beam, and values of target parameters corresponding to different elements are different.
However, Zhang teaches a phase, an amplitude, or a beam, and values of target parameters corresponding to different elements are different (col 9-10-20, backscatter states defined by phase/amplitude shift—inclusion of time/beam/phase/amplitude in config).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 5, You fails to teach the method wherein the determining the first code word of each third device according to the device identifier of each third device comprises:
determining the first code word of each third device according to the device identifier of each third device and an identifier carried in a received wake-up signal, wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up at least one third device.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein the determining the first code word of each third device according to the device identifier of each third device comprises:
determining the first code word of each third device according to the device identifier of each third device and an identifier carried in a received wake-up signal, wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up at least one third device (col 10 lines 1-10, wakeup signaling used to activate tag and select sequence—assigned to codeword).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 6, You teaches the method wherein after obtaining the second channel information of each third device in the first time period, the method further comprises:
performing joint estimation on second channel information of each third device in a plurality of first time periods to obtain target channel information of each third device English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14; (2) BS obtains pilot signals sent by users in the UL and constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem using a pilot matrix (see all user terminals…synchronously send pilot signals and the BS obtains the pilot signals constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem—measuring channel information in multiple time units.
Regarding claim 7, You teaches The method wherein after obtaining the target channel information of each third device, the method further comprises:
sending feedback information to the second device in a preset manner, wherein the feedback information comprises at least one of the following (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14; reports channel state information to BS[Wingdings font/0xE0] (2) BS obtains pilot signals sent by users in the UL and constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem using a pilot matrix (see all user terminals…synchronously send pilot signals and the BS obtains the pilot signals constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem—measuring channel information in multiple time units:
But You fails to teach an identifier of the third device, the target channel information of the third device, or a state of a target parameter of the third device corresponding to the target channel information.
However, Zhang teaches an identifier of the third device, the target channel information of the third device, or a state of a target parameter of the third device corresponding to the target channel information (col 12 lines 5-15 tags sends ID/state feedback to coordinator).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 8, You fails to teach the method, wherein a time interval between the plurality of time units is greater than a time required for state switching of the third device.
However, Zhang teaches the method, wherein a time interval between the plurality of time units is greater than a time required for state switching of the third device (col 12 lines 25-35, tag switching time between backscatter states accommodated by slot design).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 9, You fails to teach a method of signal sending, comprising:
determining, by a third device, a first code word in a first time period wherein the first time period comprises a plurality of time units, and the first code word comprises a plurality of elements respectively corresponding to the plurality of the time units; and
forwarding, by the third device, a radio signal from a second device in each time unit in the first time period according to a state corresponding to each element of the first code word,
wherein the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC), and first code words of different third devices are different in the first time period.
However, Zhang teaches a method of signal sending, comprising:
forwarding, by the third device, a radio signal from a second device in each time unit in the first time period according to a state corresponding to each element of the first code word (col 6 lines 50-60, determining codeword and codeword based forwarding by third device—backscatter tags forward per-element of codeword),
wherein the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC), and first code words of different third devices are different in the first time period (col 6 lines 50-60, determining codeword and codeword based forwarding by third device—backscatter tags forward per-element of codeword—corresponding to time units).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
However, Zhang fails to teach but Grant teaches determining, by a third device, a first code word in a first time period wherein the first time period comprises a plurality of time units, and the first code word comprises a plurality of elements respectively corresponding to the plurality of the time units; ((col 12 lines 49-52, col 14 lines 45-61, col 15 lines 10-18, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures), the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC) (col 3 lines 44-46, col 15 lines 10-13, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures)).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 10, The method according to claim 9, wherein the determining, by the third device, the first code word in the first time period comprises:
receiving, by the third device, second configuration information sent by the second device, and determining the first code word in the first time period according to the second configuration information (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14, config info includes sequence length, IDs, mapping rules etc.),
But You fails to teach wherein the second configuration information comprises a time period for executing the first code word, a time unit corresponding to each element of the first code word, a sequence of the first code word, and a target parameter of a forwarding beam during execution of the first code word; or determining the first code word according to a device identifier of the third device.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the second configuration information comprises a time period for executing the first code word (col 7 lines 40-55, sequence determined from configuration or ID; specific to third device’s determination), a time unit corresponding to each element of the first code word, a sequence of the first code word (col 7 lines 40-55, sequence determined from configuration or ID; specific to third device’s determination), and a target parameter of a forwarding beam during execution of the first code word; or determining the first code word according to a device identifier of the third device (col 7 lines 40-55, sequence determined from configuration or ID; specific to third device’s determination).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 11, You fails to teach the method wherein the determining the first code word according to the device identifier of the third device comprises:
after a wake-up signal of the second device is received, determining the first code word according to an identifier carried in the wake-up signal and the device identifier of the third device, wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up the third device.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein the determining the first code word according to the device identifier of the third device comprises:
after a wake-up signal of the second device is received, determining the first code word according to an identifier carried in the wake-up signal and the device identifier of the third device, wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up the third device (col 10 lines 5-15 wake-up triggers ID + sequence assignment , ID-based sequence allocation).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 12, You teaches a method of parameter configuration, comprising:
obtaining, by a second device, a device parameter of third device (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-7, pilot matrix is non-orthogonal and designed from user pilots (non-orthogonal pilot sequence…perceptual matrix”), and that the estimation uses sparsity in the angular delay domain together with this matrix. The non-orthogonal pilot matrix functions analogously to the “first code word” of each user/third device; thus the BS obtains refined channel information (second channel info) based on both the pilot signals (first channel info) and the pilot/codeword associated with each user); and
configuring, by the second device, second configuration information for each third device according to the device parameter of each third device, for each third device to determine a first code word in a first time period (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-14, BS (second device) configures pilot/codeword parameters),
But You fails to teach wherein the first time period comprises a plurality of time units, the first code word comprises a plurality of elements respectively corresponding to the plurality of the time units, the second configuration information comprises a time period for executing the first code word, a time unit corresponding to each element of the first code word, a sequence of the first code word, and a target parameter of a forwarding beam during execution of the first code word, and
wherein the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC)first code words of different third devices are different.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC), and first code words of different third devices are different (col 8 lines 20-30 coordinator configured tag parameters—second device configurating per-device codeword information).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
However, Zhang fails to teach but Grant teaches wherein the first time period comprises a plurality of time units, the first code word comprises a plurality of elements respectively corresponding to the plurality of the time units, the second configuration information comprises a time period for executing the first code word, a time unit corresponding to each element of the first code word, a sequence of the first code word, and a target parameter of a forwarding beam during execution of the first code word, ((col 12 lines 49-52, col 14 lines 45-61, col 15 lines 10-18, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures), the first code word is an Orthogonal Cover Code (OCC) (col 3 lines 44-46, col 15 lines 10-13, teaches CSI-RS resources used by a UE to perform CSI measurements, where the resource may span multiple OFDM symbols, i.e. multiple time units, and further teaches that orthogonal cover codes (OCC) may be applied across time within and/or between CSI-RS units, such that the OCC includes multiple elements corresponding to those time-domain measurement units; the reference also explicitly discloses that the code is a OCC, devices and use of OCC codewords in a specific time period, user-specific resource structures)).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. Furthermore, Grant is directed to flexible design and configuration of CSI-RS resources in wireless systems, including time-frequency aggregation, port assignment, and use of orthogonal cover codes (OCC) to support efficient channel measurement, beam management, and link adaption. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 13, You fails to teach the method wherein the configuring, by the second device, the second configuration information for each third device according to the device parameter of each third device comprises:
selecting the first code word of each third device according to a code word selection rule, and determining a target parameter corresponding to each time unit in the first time period.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein the configuring, by the second device, the second configuration information for each third device according to the device parameter of each third device comprises:
selecting the first code word of each third device according to a code word selection rule, and determining a target parameter corresponding to each time unit in the first time period (col 7 lines 30-40 selection rules for orthogonal spreading/backscatter sequences, codeword selection rule).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 14, You fails to teach the method wherein after the obtaining, by the second device, the device parameter of each third device, the method further comprises:
sending first configuration information to a first device, wherein the first configuration information comprises time domain information of a first reference signal, and the time domain information indicates that a plurality of time units are the same as time units corresponding to elements in the first code word.
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein after the obtaining, by the second device, the device parameter of each third device, the method further comprises:
sending first configuration information to a first device, wherein the first configuration information comprises time domain information of a first reference signal, and the time domain information indicates that a plurality of time units are the same as the time units corresponding to the elements in the first code word (col 9 lines 35-45 second device forwards configuration (time ID, sequence), controlled sends configuration to reader).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 15, You teaches the method wherein after sending the first configuration information to the first device, the method further comprises:
receiving the first reference signal in each time unit (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-13; uses received reference + codeword map to estimate channel; (2) BS obtains pilot signals sent by users in the UL and constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem using a pilot matrix (see all user terminals…synchronously send pilot signals and the BS obtains the pilot signals constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem—measuring channel information in multiple time units); and
obtaining third channel information of each third device according to the first reference signal received in each time unit and the first code word of each third device (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-4, uses receives reference + codeword map to estimate channel pilot matrix is non-orthogonal and designed from user pilots (non-orthogonal pilot sequence…perceptual matrix”), and that the estimation uses sparsity in the angular delay domain together with this matrix. The non-orthogonal pilot matrix functions analogously to the “first code word” of each user/third device; thus the BS obtains refined channel information (second channel info) based on both the pilot signals (first channel info) and the pilot/codeword associated with each user),
But You fails to teach wherein the third channel information is channel information obtained after each third device forwards, to the first device, the first reference signal sent by the first device.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the third channel information is channel information obtained after each third device forwards, to the first device, the first reference signal sent by the first device (col 11 lines 1-10, reader derives per-tag signal strength using known codeword—obtaining channel information using codewords).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 16, You fails to teach the method wherein the first configuration information further comprises at least one of the following: a length of the first code word, each to-be- detected first code word, a device identifier of a third device corresponding to each first code word, or a correspondence between an element of the first code word and a target parameter of a transmit beam of the third device
However, Zhang teaches the method wherein the first configuration information further comprises at least one of the following: a length of the first code word, each to-be- detected first code word, a device identifier of a third device corresponding to each first code word, or a correspondence between an element of the first code word and a target parameter of a transmit beam of the third device (col 8 lines 40-50 includes codeword sequence ID and beam parameter mapping, configuration fields include length, ID, mapping, beam weights).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 17, You teaches the method wherein after sending the first configuration information to the first device, the method further comprises:
sending the first reference signal in each time unit (English translation, Abstract, pg. 2 lines 3-13; uses received reference + codeword map to estimate channel; (2) BS obtains pilot signals sent by users in the UL and constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem using a pilot matrix (see all user terminals…synchronously send pilot signals and the BS obtains the pilot signals constructs a beam-domain compressed channel estimation problem—measuring channel information in multiple time units); and
But You fails to teach receiving feedback information sent by the first device, wherein the feedback information comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of the third device, target channel information of the third device, or a state of a target parameter of the third device corresponding to the target channel information.
However, Zhang teaches receiving feedback information sent by the first device (col 2 lines 5-15 reader sends feedback with tag IDs and state), wherein the feedback information comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of the third device, target channel information of the third device, or a state of a target parameter of the third device corresponding to the target channel information (col 2 lines 5-15 reader sends feedback with tag IDs and state).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 18, You fails to teach a communication device, comprising:
a memory storing a computer program; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of channel information obtaining according to claim 1.
However, Zhang teaches a communication device, comprising:
a memory storing a computer program (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory), wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of channel information obtaining according to claim 1 (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 19, You fails to teach a communication device, comprising:
a memory storing a computer program; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of signal sending according to claim 9.
However, Zhang teaches a memory storing a computer program (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program, wherein the computer program (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory), when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of signal sending according to claim 9. (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory)
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Regarding claim 20, You fails to teach a communication device, comprising:
a memory storing a computer program; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of parameter configuration according to claim 12.
However, Zhang teaches a memory storing a computer program (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory), wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the method of parameter configuration according to claim 12 (col 4-5 lines 61-67 & 1-38 respectively excitation device/mobile device with receiver and transmitter with memory).
You discloses a method of channel estimation in a massive MIMO system in which a first device (base station) measured first channel information in multiple times units of a time period using designed pilot/codeword sequences transmitted by user devices, and obtains per-device channel information by decomposing aggregated pilot measurements with a structured sensing matrix. You therefore teaches the claim limitations relating to measuring first channel information, associating such measurements with per-device codewords, and obtaining per-device channel information based on those measurements. However, You does not explicitly disclose that a third device forwards to the first device a radio signal originally sent by a second device according to a codeword.
Zhang teaches backscatter communication systems in which a passive device (tag) receives an ambient radio transmission from a second device (a WiFi transmitter) and forwards it to a first device (receiver) by modulating the signal according to a time-domain codeword sequence, with different tags using distinct codewords. Zhang therefore supplies the missing features of a third device forwarding a radio signal from a second device to a first device in accordance with a per-time-unit codeword that is unique per device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA in the art to incorporate the backscatter forwarding mechanism of Zhang into the pilot/codeword-based estimation framework of You in order to enable the first device to obtain channel information not only directly from transmitting devices bit also from relay/backscatter nodes, thereby improving channel estimation for systems employing relays or intelligent reflective elements. Such combination represents a predictable use of known techniques for channel estimation and backscatter forwarding to achieve the expected benefit of reliable per-device channel characterization.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419