DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the electronics unit comprises at least one of a motion tracking sensor, a biosensor, and a physiological sensor”. It is unclear if the limitation intends at least one each of a motion tracking sensor, a biosensor, and a physiological sensor or if the limitation intends at least one of a motion tracking sensor, a biosensor, or a physiological sensor. For the purpose of a compact prosecution, the second interpretation with or will be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Von Badinski et al. (US20200401183), hereinafter referred to as “Von Badinski”.
Regarding Claim 1, Von Badinski discloses a smart wearable device comprising a smart ring device (This invention overcomes the disadvantages of the prior art by providing a wearable computing device (WCD) in the shape of a ring [0004]), the smart ring device comprising a ring comprising a coupling mount; an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount (…In some embodiments, the WCD 110 can further function as a sleep monitor, a heart rate sensor, a cardiac monitor a body temperature detector, or the like... As such, in some of those embodiments, a separate conductive pad can be coupled, i.e., selectively coupled, to the WCD 110 so that a user can pinch the pad with fingers on an opposite hand… [0095]), the electronics unit configured to generate usage data representative of a movement (In one or more embodiments, the accelerometers in the sensor modules 220 can detect movements in multiple (e.g., 3) dimensions or axes. The accelerometer can measure force of acceleration of the WCD and can measure gestures performed by a user while wearing the WCD[0103]) and a physiological response of a user (transmitting first biometric data associated with the first wearer [0048]);and a feedback system communicatively coupled to the electronics unit (The WCD can also include one or more polymer or piezo actuators for providing appropriate haptic or physical feedback and alerts to a user while the user is wearing the ring. The piezo actuator can also provide audible feedback to a user [0118]), the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart ring device (Specifically, one embodiment of the WCD 110 includes the status indicator module 230 coupled to the processor module 210 to indicate various statuses. In some embodiments, the status indicator module 230 includes a light emitting diode (LED) 330, such as shown in FIG. 3A [0110]).
Regarding Claim 2, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the electronics unit further comprising: a processing unit configured to process the usage data (In addition to storing instructions which can be executed by the processor module 210, the memory 260 can also store data generated from the processor module 210 [0102]); and determine use of an exercise device by the user (The form factor of the WCD 110 allows it to be worn for prolonged hours with constant and consistent contact with the skin area, thereby creating a more reliable and extended recording (e.g., as compared to aforementioned conventional fitness monitors) of the user's fitness activity, physical exercise, as well as health information such as heart rates and body temperature. More implementation details regarding the WCD 110 are discussed below [0096]); and a communication system to transmit the usage data to a remote device (As shown in diagram 200, the WCD 110 can include a processor module 210, a plurality of sensor modules 220, a status indicator module 230, a power generation and management module 240, a communication module 250… [0098]; The WCD can be wirelessly connected (e.g., link 2415) to both the thermostat and the mobile device by any type of wireless communication protocol, such as Bluetooth The WCD can be wirelessly connected (e.g., link 2415) to both the thermostat and the mobile device by any type of wireless communication protocol, such as Bluetooth [0167]).
Regarding Claim 3, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the electronics unit comprises at least one of a motion tracking sensor, a biosensor, and a physiological sensor (The computer system may also include alphanumeric input device (e.g., a keyboard), a cursor control device (e.g., a mouse, a trackball, a joystick, a motion sensor, a touch screen, or other pointing instrument), a storage unit, a signal generation device (e.g., a speaker), and a network interface device, which also are configured to communicate via the bus [0236]).
Regarding Claim 4, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the smart ring device further comprises an electronics enclosure configured to house the electronics unit and the feedback system (Another aspect of the disclosure provides a wearable computing device, comprising: an internal housing portion configured to be disposed near a finger of a user; a flexible printed circuit board arranged around a portion of a circumference of an interior surface of the internal housing; at least one component disposed on the flexible printed circuit board [0011]; The WCD can also include one or more polymer or piezo actuators for providing appropriate haptic or physical feedback and alerts to a user while the user is wearing the ring. The piezo actuator can also provide audible feedback to a user [0118]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Von Badinski et al. (US20200401183), hereinafter referred to as ‘Von Badinski’ and in further view of Hong et al. (US20170290530) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hong’.
Regarding Claim 5, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the electronics unit comprises a battery configured to be charged via a magnetic charging port (The WCD 110 can also include a battery module 280 that provides electrical power for the WCD 110. In some embodiments, the battery 280 can be of a lithium-polymer type or a zinc-polymer type [0098]).
However, Von Badinski does not explicitly disclose a battery configured to be charged via a magnetic charging port.
Nevertheless, Hong discloses a battery configured to be charged via a magnetic charging port ( As another example, the power supply unit 190 may be configured to recharge the battery in a wireless manner without use of the connection port. In this example, the power supply unit 190 can receive power, transferred from an external wireless power transmitter, using at least one of an inductive coupling method which is based on magnetic induction or a magnetic resonance coupling method which is based on electromagnetic resonance [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Hong to include a battery configured to be charged via a magnetic charging port to recharge the battery in a wireless manner without use of the connection port (Hong, [0124]).
Regarding Claim 6, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the smart ring device comprises a first smart ring device (as discussed above), the smart wearable device further comprising (as discussed above): a second smart ring device (A single user can wear a first WCD 2800 on a first finger on a first hand and a second WCD 2810 on a second finger on a second hand [0182]); and a central smart device (In addition to storing instructions which can be executed by the processor module 210, the memory 260 can also store data generated from the processor module 210 [0102]) , the first smart ring device, the second smart ring device, and the central smart device being configured to generate the usage data representative of bilateral movement of the user (In this regard, the user can measure the relative distance between the first and second fingers using an RSSI via a wireless link 2830 between the WCDs 2800, 2810, such as a BLE connection. This can be used to measure an approximate dimension of an object held in both hands or to estimate a mid-air measurement [0182]).
Regarding Claim 7, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the electronics unit configured to generate usage data representative of a movement and a physiological response of the user (as discussed above); and a feedback system communicatively coupled to the electronics unit (as discussed above).
However, Von Badinski does not explicitly disclose a smart belt device, the smart belt device comprising: a belt comprising a coupling mount; an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount of the belt, and the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart belt device.
Hong discloses a smart belt device, the smart belt device comprising (This specification relates to a smart belt and a method for controlling the same, and more particularly, a smart belt capable of providing a feedback to a user in a manner of tightening/loosening the smart belt in response to the user's motion (activity) or state, and a method for controlling the same [0002]): a belt comprising a coupling mount (In recent time, various wearable devices, such as smart glasses, smart watches and smart belts, operable with a mobile terminal are developed and put on the market. Among others, the smart belt is a wearable device with a sensor attached to a belt (strap) and can sense a condition or shape of a user's body through the mounted sensor [0006]); an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount of the belt (In accordance with an embodiment disclosed herein, the smart belt may further include a main circuit board provided in the body, a battery disposed at one side of the main circuit board, a vibration motor provided at one side of the battery and configured to generate vibration, and a movement-detecting sensor configured to detect a movement of the strap [0020]), the electronics unit configured to generate usage data representative of a movement and a physiological response of the user (Therefore, an aspect of the detailed description is to provide a smart belt capable of tightening or loosening a strap by recognizing an applied force, and a method for controlling a smart belt, capable of providing a feedback to a user in a manner of tightening/loosening the smart belt according to an activity mode [0009]); and a feedback system communicatively coupled to the electronics unit (Therefore, an aspect of the detailed description is to provide a smart belt capable of tightening or loosening a strap by recognizing an applied force, and a method for controlling a smart belt, capable of providing a feedback to a user in a manner of tightening/loosening the smart belt according to an activity mode [0009]) , the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart belt device (The output unit 150 may typically be configured to output various types of information, such as audio, video, tactile output, and the like. The output unit 150 may be shown having at least one of a display unit 151, an audio output module 152, a haptic module 153, and an optical output module 154 [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Hong to include a smart belt device, the smart belt device comprising: a belt comprising a coupling mount to provide various health and safety functions for monitoring activity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Hong to include a an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount of the belt to recharge the battery in a wireless manner without use of the connection port (Hong, [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Hong to include the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart belt device to provide information/data to the user and help to improve health and activity monitoring.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Badinski, and further in view of Connor et al. (US20140349257) hereinafter referred to as ‘Connor’.
Regarding Claim 8, Von Badinski discloses the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Von Badinski discloses the electronics unit configured to generate usage data representative of a movement and a physiological response of the user (as discussed above); and a feedback system communicatively coupled to the electronics unit (as discussed above).
However, Von Badinski does not explicitly disclose a smart clip device, the smart clip device comprising: a clip comprising a coupling mount; an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount of the clip, and the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart clip device.
Nevertheless, Connor, discloses a smart clip device, the smart clip device comprising (In various examples, a wearable sensor can be attached to a person or to a person's clothing by a means selected from the group consisting of: strap, clip, clamp, snap, pin, hook and eye fastener, magnet, and adhesive [0183]): a clip comprising a coupling mount (In various examples, a wearable sensor can be worn on a person in a location selected from the group consisting of: wrist, neck, finger, hand, head, ear, eyes, nose, teeth, mouth, torso, chest, waist, and leg. In various examples, a wearable sensor can be attached to a person or to a person's clothing by a means selected from the group consisting of: strap, clip, clamp, snap, pin, hook and eye fastener, magnet, and adhesive [0183]); an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount of the clip (In various examples, a device and system for measuring food consumption can be in wireless communication with an external device or system selected from the group consisting of: internet portal; smart phone, mobile phone, cell phone, holophone, or application of such a phone [0223]), and the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart clip device (In various examples, a device for measuring a person's consumption of at least one selected type of food, ingredient, or nutrient can provide feedback to the person that is selected from the group consisting of: advice concerning consumption of specific foods or suggested food alternatives (such as advice from a dietician, nutritionist, nurse, physician, health coach, other health care professional, virtual agent, or health plan); electronic verbal or written feedback (such as phone calls, electronic verbal messages, or electronic text messages) [0229]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Connor to include a smart clip device, the smart clip device comprising: a clip comprising a coupling mount the smart belt device to provide information/data from specific locations that are directly related to the movement of the individual wearing the device and improve accuracy of data collection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Connor to include an electronics unit selectively attachable to the coupling mount of the clip to provide power and collect information/data for processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Von Badinski, in view of Connor to include the feedback system configured to display information related to the smart clip device to relay sensed information/data to trusted persons for health and social purposes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
William Butler (US10852700) discloses a wearable device or smart watch with a control mechanism that allows efficient user interaction by a combination of means including control-ring subsystem, with visual and haptic feedback subsystems.
Lejing Wang (US20200103961) discloses a touch detection may include determining, based on data from an IMU on a first device that monitors movement of a touching object, a touch event, wherein the touch event indicates contact between the touching object and a surface.
John Hansen (US20160231812) discloses a mobile gaze-tracking system for smartwatch, a wristband, or woven into a sleeve a garment.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863