DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0043960 A1 to Coaplen et al (hereinafter Coaplen).
Regarding claim 1, Coaplen discloses a headset (16, Fig. 1 and para 0029) of a bicycle (para 0001 discloses the use of headsets with bicycles), comprising:
a bearing base (30, Fig. 1, described by Coaplen as a “coupling ring” in para 0029) adapted to be sleeved on a fork tube (Fig. 1 and para 0029 disclose the bearing base sleeved on a fork or “steerer” tube 14; para 0024: “steerer tube 14 …of a fork”);
a bearing cup (60, Fig. 1) adapted to be abutted against an end (24, Fig. 1), close to the fork tube, of a head tube (Fig. 1 illustrates the bearing cup abutted against the end of a head tube 12), and a gap (184, Fig. 9; an equivalent embodiment of the headset described above) being formed between the bearing cup and the bearing base (para 0050 discloses the gap is formed between the bearing cup and the bearing base.);
at least two sealing elements (186 is shown in two instances, Fig. 9) disposed between the bearing cup 60 and the bearing base 30 (Fig. 9 depicts the at least two sealing elements disposed between the bearing cup 60 and the bearing base 30), and the at least two sealing elements, the bearing cup and the bearing base sealing the gap to form a damping section (Para 0001 discloses headsets which include damping features. Para 0050 and Fig. 9 disclose the gap is sealed by the at least two sealing elements. Para 0051 discloses that a damping effect occurs within the gap, thus forming a damping section);
a damping fluid (188, Fig. 9 and para 0051) disposed in the damping section to provide damping force (Para 0051 discloses that the damping fluid is disposed in the damping section and that there is frictional communication through the damping fluid, which provides a damping force in the damping section); and
a bearing (50, Fig. 9, para 0031) disposed between the bearing base and the bearing cup, and the bearing being abutted against the bearing base and the bearing cup (Fig. 9 depicts the bearing is disposed between the bearing base and the bearing cup. Fig. 9 also depicts that the bearing is abutted against the bearing base and the bearing cup).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Coaplen further discloses the headset of the bicycle, wherein the bearing base has a first tube portion (“ft”, Annotated Fig. 9a, below) and a first base ring portion (“fb”, Annotated Fig. 9a) connected to the first tube portion (Annotated Fig. 9a shows “ft” and “fb” are connected), the bearing cup has a second tube portion (“st”, Annotated Fig. 9a) and a second base ring portion (“sb”, Annotated Fig. 9a) connected to the second tube portion (Annotated Fig. 9a shows “st” and “sb” are connected), the second tube portion is sleeved on the first tube portion (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts the second tube portion is sleeved on the first tube portion), the first base ring portion is surrounded by the second base ring portion (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts the first base ring portion is surrounded by the second base ring portion), the gap is formed between the first tube portion and the second tube portion (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts the gap 184 is formed between the first tube portion and the second tube portion, e.g. vertically), and the gap has a first opening (“o1”, Annotated Fig. 9a) and a second opening (“o2”, Annotated Fig. 9a) opposite to the first opening (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts that “o2” is opposite to “o1”), the second opening is located between the first base ring portion and the first opening (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts that “o2” is located between “fb” and “o1”, e.g. radially), and the sealing elements respectively seal the first opening and the second opening (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts the sealing elements 186 respectively seal the first opening and the second opening).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 2, Coaplen further discloses the headset of the bicycle, wherein the first tube portion (“ft”, Annotated Fig. 9b, below) has an outer circumferential surface (“ocs”, Annotated Fig. 9b), the second tube portion (“st”, Annotated Fig. 9b) has an inner circumferential surface (“ics”, Annotated Fig. 9b), the outer circumferential surface is opposite to the inner circumferential surface (Depicted in Annotated Fig. 9b), and at least one of the outer circumferential surface and the inner circumferential surface has a plurality of sealing grooves (Sealing grooves are the generally square shapes surrounding 186. Annotated Fig. 9b depicts at least one of “ocs” and “ics” has a plurality of sealing grooves), and the sealing elements (186, Annotated Fig. 9b) are disposed in the sealing grooves (Depicted in Annotated Fig. 9b).
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 2, Coaplen further discloses the headset of the bicycle, wherein the bearing is disposed between and abutted against the first base ring portion and the second base ring portion (Annotated Fig. 9a depicts that the bearing 50 is disposed and abutted against the first base ring portion “fb” and the second base ring portion “sb”).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 1, Coaplen discloses the headset of the bicycle, wherein the bearing base 30 and the bearing cup 60 are in a ring shape (Coaplen describes the bearing base as a “coupling ring” in para 0029, i.e., in a ring shape. Para 0033 discloses that the bearing cup 60 may be generally concentric with the bearing base 30, i.e., the bearing cup is also in a ring shape), the bearing base has an inner ring surface (36, Annotated Fig. 9c, below), an outer ring surface (“ors”, Annotated Fig. 9c) and a first surface (“s1”, Annotated Fig. 9c), the outer ring surface is opposite to the inner ring surface (36 is opposite to “ors” in Annotated Fig. 9c, e.g. radially), the first surface is located between the inner ring surface and the outer ring surface (Annotated Fig. 9c depicts that “s1” is between 36 and “ors”, i.e. radially), the bearing cup has a second surface (“s2”, Annotated Fig. 9c), the second surface is opposite to the first surface (Annotated Fig. 9c depicts “s2” is opposite to “s1”, i.e. vertically), the gap is formed between the first surface and the second surface (Annotated Fig. 9c), and the gap has a first opening (“o1”, Annotated Fig. 9c) and a second opening (“o2”, Annotated Fig. 9c) opposite to the first opening (Annotated Fig. 9c depicts that “o2” is opposite to “o1”), the second opening is located between the inner ring surface and the first opening (Annotated Fig. 9c depicts “o2” is located between 36 and “o1”, i.e. radially), the at least two sealing elements respectively seal the first opening and the second opening (Annotated Fig. 9c depicts that the at least two sealing elements respectively seal “o1” and “o2”).
PNG
image5.png
100
100
image5.png
Greyscale
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coaplen.
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 2, Coaplen does not explicitly mention an intermediate sealing element disposed in the gap which seals the gap between the at least two sealing elements. Coaplen teaches in para 0050 sealing elements (186) may generally seal the gap (184) and prevent leakage therefrom. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the embodiment disclosed by Coaplen in Fig. 9 to include a duplicate sealing element disposed in the gap between the at least two sealing elements which seals the gap between the at least two sealing elements to further prevent leakage. Doing so could be readily and easily performed by a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results. Also see MPEP 2144.04. – VI – B Duplication of Parts.
Regarding claim 7, Coaplen teaches the headset of Claim 6 discussed above.
Coaplen does not explicitly disclose that the first surface has a first surface area increasing structure, the second surface has a second surface area increasing structure. (Examiner interprets the phrase “surface area increasing structure” to mean “damper element” in view of para 0041 of Applicant’s disclosure. The first surface and the second surface of Applicant’s disclosure are in frictional communication through the damping fluid, and are thus damper elements), a shape of the first surface area increasing structure is complementary to a shape of the second surface area increasing structure, the gap is formed between the first surface area increasing structure and the second surface area increasing structure.
Coaplen teaches, in a different embodiment presented in para 0037, para 0048, and Fig. 8, a first surface area increasing structure (102, disclosed by Coaplen as “one or more first damper elements”) and a second surface area increasing structure (104, disclosed by Coaplen as “one or more second damper elements”). In para 0049, Coaplen teaches that 102 and 104 are in frictional communication through a damping fluid.
In para 0045 and Figs. 5 – 12, Coaplen teaches that components of the headset may be modified to serve as the first surface area increasing structure and the second surface area increasing structure. In para 0052, Coaplen teaches:
“…suitable modifications … of the [bearing base]…, and/or [bearing cup], and specifically various surfaces thereof, to form [the first surface area increasing structure] and [the second surface area increasing structure] … any suitable surface of the [bearing base] … may be placed in frictional communication with [bearing cup] in accordance with the present disclosure, such that these surfaces serve as [the first surface area increasing structure] and [the second surface area increasing structure] … ”
(Coaplen teaches that the first surface of the bearing base can be modified so that it has the first surface area increasing structure and the second surface of the bearing cup can be modified so that it has the second surface area increasing structure.).
Coaplen teaches the following in paras 0048 and 0049 and Annotated Fig. 8:
a shape of the first surface area increasing structure (reference character “s11” in Annotated Fig. 8, below, protrudes from a surface equivalent to the first surface area increasing structure);
a shape of the second surface area increasing structure (reference character “s21” in Annotated Fig. 8, protrudes from a surface equivalent to the second surface area increasing structure);
the first surface area increasing structure is complementary to the shape of the second surface area increasing structure (“s11” is complementary to “s21”, Annotated Fig. 8); and
a gap (170, Annotated Fig. 8; paras 0048 and 0049 teach that 170 is equivalent to the gap 184 in Fig. 9) is formed between the first surface area increasing structure and the second surface area increasing structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results to make the following three modifications to Annotated Fig. 9c using the teachings from Coaplen:
Modification 1 – modify the first surface (“s1” of the bearing base, Annotated Fig. 9c) so that the first surface has the first surface area increasing structure;
Modification 2 – modify the second surface (“s2” of the bearing cup, Annotated Fig. 9c) so that the second surface has the second surface area increasing structure;
Modification 3 – modify a shape of the first surface area increasing structure to have the shape of the first surface area increasing structure (“s11” in Annotated Fig. 8) that is complementary to the shape of the second surface area increasing structure (“s21” in Annotated Fig. 8), and the gap (170, Annotated Fig. 8) is formed between the first surface area increasing structure and the second surface area increasing structure.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of having these modifications made, because it would alter the amount of surface area that the damping force acts upon, thus allowing the total damping force within the headset to be adjustable/controllable or capable, i.e. capable of being tuned.
PNG
image7.png
100
100
image7.png
Greyscale
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 7, Coaplen does not explicitly disclose the headset of the bicycle, wherein the first surface area increasing structure has a plurality of first protruding ring portions, and a first concave ring portion is formed between every two adjacent ones of the first protruding ring portions, the second surface area increasing structure has a plurality of second protruding ring portions, and a second concave ring portion is formed between every two adjacent ones of the second protruding ring portions, the second protruding ring portions are disposed corresponding to the first concave ring portions, and a shape of the second protruding ring portions is complementary to a shape of the first concave ring portions, the second concave ring portions are disposed corresponding to the first protruding ring portions, and a shape of the second concave ring portions is complementary to a shape of the first protruding ring portions.
Coaplen teaches in para 0041 that the first surface area increasing structure 102 and the second surface area increasing structure 104 are concentric with each other. Multiple instances of the first surface area increasing structure and the second surface area increasing structure 102, 104 may be disposed in an alternative arrangement, such that each first surface area increasing structure 102 neighbors a second surface area increasing structure 104 and each second surface area increasing structure 104 neighbors a first surface area increasing structure 102.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results to duplicate the Modifications 1 – 3, which address the limitations mentioned in claim 7, so that the first surface area increasing structure has a plurality of first protruding ring portions (a plurality of “s11” portions, Annotated Fig. 8), and a first concave ring portion (generally in the shape of 170 in Annotated Fig. 8) is formed between every two adjacent ones of the first protruding ring portions, the second surface area increasing structure has a plurality of second protruding ring portions (a plurality of “s21” portions, Annotated Fig. 8), and a second concave ring portion (generally in the shape complementary and opposite to 170 wherein “s11” is disposed in Annotated Fig. 8) is formed between every two adjacent ones of the second protruding ring portions, the second protruding ring portions are disposed corresponding to the first concave ring portions, and a shape of the second protruding ring portions is complementary to a shape of the first concave ring portions, the second concave ring portions are disposed corresponding to the first protruding ring portions, and a shape of the second concave ring portions is complementary to a shape of the first protruding ring portions. Note that similar considerations apply as in the rejection of claim 7 above, as the limitations of claim 8 can be regarded as duplicating Modifications 1 – 3 discussed for claim 7. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 7, Coaplen does not explicitly disclose the headset of the bicycle, wherein the bearing base has at least two sealing grooves, the at least two sealing grooves are located at two opposite sides of the first surface area increasing structure, and the sealing elements are disposed in the sealing grooves.
Coaplen teaches the bearing base has at least two sealing grooves (Annotated Fig. 9d, below), the at least two sealing grooves are located at two opposite sides of the first surface area increasing structure (The first surface area increasing structure protrudes from and is located within “s1”, mentioned above. Annotated Fig. 9d depicts the at least two sealing grooves are located at two opposite sides of the first surface, “s1”, and thus also the first surface area increasing structure), and the sealing elements (186) are disposed in the sealing grooves (Annotated Fig. 9d). Annotated Fig. 9d is substantially similar to Annotated Fig. 9c, and thus, the limitations in claim 9 are already addressed by Modifications 1 – 3 in claim 7. Claim 9 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as given above.
PNG
image9.png
100
100
image9.png
Greyscale
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 7, Coaplen does not explicitly disclose the headset of the bicycle, wherein the first surface further has a first bearing positioning portion, the first bearing positioning portion is located between the inner ring surface and the first surface area increasing structure, an inner ring surface of the bearing cup further has a second bearing positioning portion, the second bearing positioning portion is corresponding to the first bearing positioning portion, and the bearing is abutted between the first bearing positioning portion and the second bearing positioning portion.
Coaplen teaches in Annotated Fig. 9e a first bearing positioning portion (“fbpp”), the first bearing positioning portion is located between the inner ring surface (36) and the first surface area increasing structure (the first surface area increasing structure protrudes from “s1”), an inner ring surface of the bearing cup (generally the surface between the bearing 50 and the bearing cup 60) further has a second bearing positioning portion (“sbpp”), the second bearing positioning portion is corresponding to the first bearing positioning portion, and the bearing (50) is abutted between the first bearing positioning portion and the second bearing positioning portion (Annotated Fig. 9e, below).
Coaplen does not teach that the first surface, of the bearing base, further has a first bearing positioning portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify in one of the finite number of ways in which elements of a headset (e.g., a bearing, a bearing base, and a bearing cup) can be arranged. Among the finite number of ways to arrange these three elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the bearing would need to be abutted between a bearing positioning portion of the bearing base and a bearing positioning portion of the bearing cup. Using known methods, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the bearing, the bearing base, and the bearing cup, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results, so that surfaces of the bearing, the bearing base, and the bearing cup combine to form the headset of the bicycle as claimed.
PNG
image10.png
100
100
image10.png
Greyscale
Claims 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coaplen in view of US 2022/0402570 A1 to Smith.
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 1, Coaplen does not explicitly disclose that the viscosity of the damping fluid is larger than 160 cSt (160 cSt is equivalent to 1.6 cm2/s).
Smith teaches in para 0045 that the viscosity of the damping fluid (90) is 150 cm2/s (15,000 cSt), which is larger than 160 cSt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results to modify Coaplen in view of Smith to use the damping fluid from Smith with the viscosity larger than 160 cSt.
Additionally, recognizing that viscosity of a damping fluid is directly correlated to its ability to dampen shocks/impact and thus customize the comfort characteristics of a bicycle rider, which is a desirable characteristic (as result effective variable), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, to further modify the Coaplen/Smith headset above to the specific claimed viscosity range of 160 cSt or higher, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Also see MPEP 2144.05 – II Routine Optimization. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 11, Coaplen as modified by Smith above does not explicitly disclose that the viscosity of the damping fluid is between 200 cSt (2 cm2/s) and 200,000 cSt (2,000 cm2/s).
However, similar considerations apply, as discussed in the routine optimization rejection over 35 USC 103 rejection of parent claim 11, see above.
Regarding claim 13, depending on claim 11, Coaplen further discloses wherein the damping fluid comprises grease or damping grease (188, Fig. 9 and para 0051 “ viscous fluid such as grease …to facilitate …damper elements”).
Conclusion
Tyler R. Ferguson
Examiner
Art Unit 3611
/Tyler Ray Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611