DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ou et al. (US 2022/0078875 A1), with priority to 63/075,490 dated September 8th, 2020.
Regarding claims 1 and 13: Ou discloses:
a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a plurality of user equipment 116 and 122) for wireless communications (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), the UE comprising:
a receiver (fig.2 depicts nodes with a transceiver comprising transmitter and receiver combination), configured to maintain a first timer (fig(s) 16-19 depict a first timer), and a second timer (fig(s). 16-19 depict a second timer); and
a first transmitter (fig.2 depicts nodes with a transmitter/receiver combo, which allows the nodes to transmit information between each other, see elements 222 and 254), while in an RRC_INACTIVE state (the office notes that Small Data Transmission (SDT) is performed while the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The SDT being used to perform frequent or infrequent SDT without having the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state as long as the amount of data that needs to be transmitted is of a configured threshold. Fig.16 depicts the UE performing an RRC_RESUME Request, this is done while the UE is in the RRC inactive state) configured to transmit a first message (fig.16 depicts the transmission of the RRC_RESUME Request), the first message comprising an RRC signaling (fig.16 which depicts the RRC Resume Request) belonging to initiation of small data transmission (SDT) procedure (the office notes that SDT is performed utilizing the RRC_RESUME process, initiated when an RRC_RESUME request is sent. The office further notes that the timer T319 is used to control the RRC_RESUME with SDT, such that the timer T319, times the RRC_RESUME/SDT process as shown in fig.16); and
determine whether to switch an RRC state based on failure of a small data transmission (par.[0005] which recites, in part, “The timer (e.g. T319) used to control the duration of the RRC connection resume procedure…… and configured in the case of small data transmission……”. That is, the timer expiry can indicate SDT failure) according to both a state of the first timer and a state of the second timer (fig.16 depicts a first timer and second timer, describes expiry of a timer T319 and performing a state transition, par.[0247]. Additionally, as will be shown later multiple timers can be used to control state transition, par.[0306]);
wherein maintaining the first timer comprises:
along with transmitting the first message, starting the first timer to initiate switch the RRC state (fig.16 depicts the RRC Resume being transmitting and starting a first timer. The office notes that either timer may be recognized as the first timer and that by starting the first timer, an switch of RRC state can be initiated when the values of both timers are evaluated);
wherein maintaining a second timer comprises:
as a response to receiving a first-type data unit, starting or restarting the second timer to accommodate the SDT transmission procedure (fig.16 the UE receives an indication to continue data transmission RACH MSG Complete with an indication. Additionally, the timer may be started at a same time as show in fig.19-20 when RRC_RESUME is performed or SDT transmission);
wherein determining whether to switch an RRC state according to both the state of the first timer and a state of the second timer comprises:
when the second timer is not in a running state, as a response to that the first timer is expired, switching from an RRC inactive state to a first RRC state (par.[0306] describes the two timer are not running or when the first timer is expired switching an RRC STATE from the RRC_INACTIVE state. Par.[0009, 0247, and 0306]), or when the second timer is in the running state, that the first timer is expired not triggering a switch from the RRC inactive state to the first RRC state (fig(s).16-20 the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state while the first timer is expired and the second timer is still running);
the first RRC state is a candidate state in a first candidate state set, the first candidate state set comprising an RRC idle state (the office notes that in since 3GPP Release 15 the RRC_STATEs comprise RRC_CONNECTED, RRC_INACTIVE, and RRC_IDLE, which are well-known and discussed throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 7: Ou discloses:
a base station (fig.1 depicts a base station) for wireless communications (fig.1 displays a wireless communications network), the base station comprising:
a receiver (fig.2 depicts two wireless devices each with a transceiver, which is a receiver/transmitter combination), configured to receive a first message (fig.16 depicts the transmission of the RRC_RESUME Request), the first message comprising an RRC signaling (fig.16 which depicts the RRC Resume Request), the first message comprising an RRC signaling (fig.16 wherein the first device transmits an RRC_RESUME message to the second device);
wherein a state of a first timer and a state of a second timer are used together by a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a user equipment) transmitting the first message in an RRC_INACTIVE state (the office notes that Small Data Transmission (SDT) is performed while the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The SDT being used to perform frequent or infrequent SDT without having the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state as long as the amount of data that needs to be transmitted is of a configured threshold. Fig.16 depicts the UE performing an RRC_RESUME Request, this is done while the UE is in the RRC inactive state), the first message comprising an RRC signaling belonging to initiation of a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (the office notes that SDT is performed utilizing the RRC_RESUME process, initiated when an RRC_RESUME request is sent. The office further notes that the timer T319 is used to control the RRC_RESUME with SDT, such that the timer T319, times the RRC_RESUME/SDT process as shown in fig.16) for determining whether to switch an RRC state based on the failure of a small data transmission (fig.16 depicts a first timer and second timer, describes expiry of a timer T319 and performing a state transition, par.[0247]. Additionally, as will be shown later multiple timers can be used to control state transition, par.[0306], also par.[0005] describes small data transmission);
wherein the first timer being maintained comprises:
along with UE transmission of the first message, the first timer being started to initiate switching the RRC state (fig(s).16-19 wherein when the RRC_RESUME message being transmitted the UE starts a first timer);
wherein the second timer being maintained comprises:
as a response to receiving or transmitting a first-type data unit, the second timer being started or restarted to accommodate the SDT transmission procedure (fig.16 the UE receives an indication to continue data transmission RACH MSG Complete with an indication. Additionally, the timer may be started at a same time as show in fig.19-20 when RRC_RESUME is performed or SDT transmission);
wherein the state of a first timer and a state of a second timer are used together for determining whether to switch an RRC state comprises:
when the second timer is not in a running state, as a response to that the first timer is expired, switching from an RRC inactive state to a first RRC state (par.[0306] describes the two timer are not running or when the first timer expires switching an RRC STATE from the RRC_INACTIVE state. Par.[0009, 0247, and 0306]), or when the second timer is in the running state, that the first timer is expired not switching from the RRC inactive state to the first RRC state (fig(s).16-20 the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state while the first timer is expired and the second timer is still running);
and wherein the first RRC state is a candidate state in a first candidate state set, the first candidate state set comprising an RRC idle state (the office notes that in since 3GPP Release 15 the RRC_STATEs comprise RRC_CONNECTED, RRC_INACTIVE, and RRC_IDLE, which are well-known and discussed throughout the specification).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12-15, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2022/0225465 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13: Xu discloses:
a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a user equipment) for wireless communications (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), comprising:
a receiver (fig.1 depicts the nodes communicating wirelessly with one another, which, requires a transmitter and receiver), configured to maintaining a first timer (fig.22 depicts a first timer), and the maintain of a second timer (fig.22 depicts a second timer); and
a transmitter (fig.1 depicts the devices in the wireless communications which requires a transmitter), configured to, while in an RRC_INACTIVE state (as discussed above, the UE performs SDT while in the RRC_INACTIVE state, further, the disclosure of Xu, at par.[0015] describes the UE receiving an RRC_CONNECTION release message which transitions the UE to an RRC_INACTIVE state) transmit a first message (fig.22 depicts the transmission of a first message ), the first message comprising an RRC signaling belonging to initiation of a small data transmission (fig.22 depicts the RRC resume from the first device to the second device); and
determining whether to switch an RRC state based on failure of a small data transmission (par.[0376] which recites, in part, “For a terminal in a non-connected state, when small and sparse data is sent, because the terminal needs to perform a random access process before sending a small piece of data,”, par.[0400]) according to both a state of the first timer and a state of the second timer (fig.20 and par.[0444] describes when the first timer and second timer are not running entering into the RRC_IDLE state);
wherein the action of maintaining a first timer comprises:
along with the transmitting the first message, starting the first timer to initiate switching the RRC state (fig.22 depicts the RRC Resume being transmitted and starting a first timer);
the action of maintaining a second timer comprises:
as a response to receiving a first-type data unit or as a response to transmitting the first-type data unit, starting or restarting the second timer to accommodate the SDT transmission procedure (fig.22 describes the second timer starts based on data transmission with second device);
the action of determining whether to switch an RRC state according to both a state of the first timer and a state of the second timer comprises:
when the second timer is not in a running state, as a response to that the first timer is expired, switching from an RRC inactive state to a first RRC state (fig.22 and par.[0444] describes the T319 timer expiring and the second timer starting, and the second timer expiring), or when the second timer is in the running state, that the first timer is expired not triggering a switch from the RRC inactive state to the first RRC state (fig.22 during the running of the second timer the UE may receive downlink data or transmit on the uplink data to the network device);
the first RRC state is a candidate state in a first candidate state set, the first candidate state set comprising an RRC idle state (par.[0003] describes the three states of the UE, RRC_Connected, RRC_Inactive, and RRC_Idle).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, Xu discloses:
when the first timer is not in a running state, as a response to that the second timer is expired, the RRC inactive state is switched to the first RRC state; when the first timer is in the running state, that the second timer is expired not triggering a switch from the RRC inactive state to the first RRC state (fig.22 and par.[0444] describes the T319 timer expiring and the second timer starting and then expiring and entering into another RRC_STATE from the RRC_INACTIVE state. Additionally the T319 timer is run to manage the RRC_RESUME with SDT process, thus, when the T319 timer is running the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Xu discloses:
characterized in that as a response to that the second timer is expired/expiring, convey a first indication is conveyed from a MAC sublayer to upper layer(s);
wherein the second timer is maintained in the MAC sublayer; the first timer is maintained in an RRC sublayer (par.[0148] describes the first and second timers can be timers in the RRC layer or MAC layer, and in order to communicate the expiration of the layer-2 expiration the upper layers (e.g. RRC) must be informed).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Xu discloses:
The receiver, is further configured to: (fig.1 depicts a first device with a first transmitter/receiver and a second device with a second transmitter/receiver),
receiving a second message when the first timer is in the running state (par.[0322] describes the timer T319 stopping when receiving the RRC message during the duration of the first timer); and
as a response to receiving the second message, stopping the first timer (par.[0321 – 0322] describes stopping the first timer); and
wherein as a response to receiving the second message, the first timer is stopped (par.[0322] describes stopping the timer T319 when the UE receives the connection resume, connection setup, or a connection release message);
the second message comprises an RRC signaling, and the second message is a response to the first message; the second message indicates the RRC state of the transmitter of the first message (par.[0322] describes the UE receiving a connection release or some other RRC message, which causes the UE to enter into another RRC state such as RRC_IDLE).
Regarding claim 7: Xu discloses:
a base station (fig.1 depicts first and second nodes) for wireless communications (fig.1 displays a wireless communications network), comprising:
a second receiver (fig(s). 24-25 the radio frequency apparatus element 2402, par.[0525]), receiving a first message (fig.22 depicts the transmission of the RRC_RESUME message), the first message comprising an RRC signaling (fig. 22 wherein the first device transmits an RRC_RESUME message to the second device);
wherein a state of a first timer and a state of a second time are used together by a user equipment (UE) transmitting the first message in an RRC inactive state (fig.22 which depicts the first timer and second timer are running after the transmission of the RRC_CONNECTION_RESUME_REQUEST wherein the first timer T319 and a second timer T4 can be used for a SDT process) the first message comprising an RRC signaling belonging to initiation of a small data transmission (SDT) procedure (fig.22 the transmission of the connection resume request message) for determining whether to switch an RRC state based on failure of small data transmission (fig.20 and par.[0444] describes when the first timer and second timer are not running entering into the RRC_IDLE state);
the first timer is maintained by the transmitter of the first message, and the second timer is maintained by the transmitter of the first message (as discussed above with regard to claim 1, the first and second timer are started by the first device);
the first timer being maintained comprises:
along with UE transmission of the first message, the first timer being started to initiate switching the RRC_State (fig.22 wherein when the RRC_RESUME message being transmitted the UE starts a first timer, which when both timers expire can result in the UE entering into another RRC_state);
the second timer being maintained comprises:
as a response to receiving a first-type data unit or as a response to transmitting the first-type data unit, the second timer being started or restarted to accommodate the SDT transmission procedure (fig.16 the UE receives an indication to continue data transmission RACH MSG Complete with an indication. Additionally, the timer may be started at a same time as show in fig.19-20 when RRC_RESUME is performed or SDT transmission);
that a state of a first timer and a state of a second timer are used together for determining whether to switch an RRC state comprises:
when the second timer is not in a running state, as a response to that the first timer is expired, switching from an RRC inactive state to a first RRC state (fig.22 and par.[0444] describes the T319 timer expiring and the second timer starting, and the second timer expiring), or when the second timer is in the running state, that the first timer is expired not triggering a switch from the RRC inactive state to the first RRC state (fig.22 during the running of the second timer the UE may receive downlink data or transmit on the uplink data to the network device, so the UE does not switch from RRC_INACTIVE);
the first RRC state is a candidate state in a first candidate state set, the first candidate state set comprising an RRC idle state (par.[0003] describes the three states of the UE, RRC_Connected, RRC_Inactive, and RRC_Idle).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses:
the transmitter, is further configured to: (fig.1 depicts a first device with a first transmitter/receiver and a second device with a second transmitter/receiver),
transmit a second message when the first timer is in the running state (par.[0322] describes the timer T319 stopping when receiving the RRC message during the duration of the first timer); and
as a response to the UE receiving the second message, the first timer is stopped (par.[0321 – 0322] describes stopping the first timer); and
wherein as a response to receiving the second message, the first timer is stopped (par.[0322] describes stopping the timer T319 when the UE receives the connection resume, connection setup, or a connection release message);
wherein the second message comprises an RRC signaling, and the second message is a response to the first message; the second message indicates the RRC state of the transmitter of the first message (par.[0322] describes the UE receiving a connection release or some other RRC message, which causes the UE to enter into another RRC state such as RRC_IDLE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 10-11, and 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13, in view of Tsai et al. (US 2022/0210798 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the disclosure of Xu teaches:
a receiver, configured for receiving a third message (par.[0004] which teaches that the UE receives an RRC_Connection_Release message which transitions the UE to RRC_INACTIVE state);
wherein a time of receiving the third message is earlier than a time of transmitting the first message (par.[0004] describes the UE entering into the inactive state based on the reception of the release message. The UE sends the resume while in the RRC_INACTIVE state, thus, the release message is received before the UE can transmit the resume message).
While the disclosure of Xu teaches the above limitations, it may not disclose:
the third message enables a first radio bearer set to be transmitted in the RRC inactive state;
and wherein any said first-type data unit belongs to a radio bearer in the first radio bearer set.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Tsai teaches:
the third message enables a first radio bearer set to be transmitted in the RRC inactive state (fig.1 element S120 wherein the UE receives a RRC_RELEASE with a CG_CONFIG. The CG_CONFIG comprises the resources (e.g. bearers which are mapped to logical channels) which allow for SDT, par.[0083] describes the CG-based SDT);
any said first-type data unit belongs to a radio bearer in the first radio bearer set (fig.1 and par.[0083] wherein the bearers/resources indicated by the CG-Config are explicitly indicated for use in SDT transmission while the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Xu for SDT/EDT utilizing a timer with the SDT configuration in a Release message as discussed in Tsai. The motivation/suggestion would have been to reduce signaling overhead by transmitting a SDT/EDT configuration to the UE in an RRC message which allows the UE to enter a low power state along with the ability to perform SDT/EDT while the UE is in the inactive state which further reduces signaling overhead and reduces power consumption of the wireless devices.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17, the disclosure of Tsai teaches:
characterized in that after transmitting/receiving the third message and before transmitting the first message, a first data unit set is received (par.[0083] which describes the CG-Configuration for SDT which comprises a SDT set of data);
wherein a data volume in the first data unit set is no larger than a network configured or pre-configured first threshold (par.[0042] describes the packet size or data volume of the UL data may be lower than a threshold for the SDT procedure);
any data unit in the first data unit set belongs to the first-type data unit (par.[0099] describes the SDT which uses a grant issued in the RRC_CONNECTION_RELEASE message, thus, the data sent must utilize the SDT CG configuration); and
wherein the UE is in the RRC inactive state when transmitting the first message (fig.1 the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state when transmitting (par.[0099] describes the RRC_RESUME which comprises the Resume and DRX data packet (e.g. small data) which is included in the MSG3 or MSGA depending on the number of steps in the RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 10, the disclosure of Xu teaches:
a base station (fig.1 depicts a base station); and
a transmitter configured for transmitting a third message (par.[0004] which teaches that the UE receives an RRC_Connection_Release message which transitions the UE to RRC_INACTIVE state);
wherein a time of transmitting the third message is earlier than a time of receiving the first message (par.[0004] describes the UE entering into the inactive state based on the reception of the release message. The UE sends the resume while in the RRC_INACTIVE state, thus, the release message is received before the UE can transmit the resume message).
While the disclosure of Xu teaches the above limitations, it may not disclose:
the third message enables a first radio bearer set to be transmitted in the RRC inactive state;
and wherein any said first-type data unit belongs to a radio bearer in the first radio bearer set.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Tsai teaches:
the third message enables a first radio bearer set to be transmitted in the RRC inactive state (fig.1 element S120 wherein the UE receives a RRC_RELEASE with a CG_CONFIG. The CG_CONFIG comprises the resources (e.g. bearers which are mapped to logical channels) which allow for SDT, par.[0083] describes the CG-based SDT);
any said first-type data unit belongs to a radio bearer in the first radio bearer set (fig.1 and par.[0083] wherein the bearers/resources indicated by the CG-Config are explicitly indicated for use in SDT transmission while the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Xu for SDT/EDT utilizing a timer with the SDT configuration in a Release message as discussed in Tsai. The motivation/suggestion would have been to reduce signaling overhead by transmitting a SDT/EDT configuration to the UE in an RRC message which allows the UE to enter a low power state along with the ability to perform SDT/EDT while the UE is in the inactive state which further reduces signaling overhead and reduces power consumption of the wireless devices.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicants allege that the disclosure of Ou (US 2022/0078875 A1) and/or Xu (US 2022/0225465 A1) does not disclose:
“determine whether to switch an RRC state based on a failure of a small data transmission according to both a state of the first timer and a state of the second timer”.
The applicant on page 2 recites, in part:
“Both Ou and Xu are completely silent regarding any timers based on a failure of a SDT transmission”.
The office respectfully disagrees. As a first matter the independent claims do not require that the UE enter into an RRC_IDLE state, the claims recite, in part:
“the first RRC state is a candidate state in a first candidate state set, the first candidate state set comprising an RRC idle state”
The applicant has provided no evidence to support the alleged deficiencies in the rejection only reciting that the disclosure of Xu does not teach the above features, which on its face are unpersuasive and conclusory. Thus, the claims stand rejected.
With regard to Xu it discloses that SDT is performed using a RRC_RESUME procedure, wherein the RRC_RESUME procedure uses a timer or timers to determine whether or the RRC_RESUME for SDT is successful or fails as discussed in the rejection of the claims above. The disclosure of Xu, just as discussed in Ou, both disclose RRC candidate states such as RRC_CONNECTED, RRC_RESUME, and RRC_IDLE as discussed with regard to the rejection above. Thus, the disclosure of Xu similarly teaches the claimed subject matter, and the claims are rejected in view of Xu as well. The office notes that a timer T319 which is used for RRC_RESUME, wherein the RRC_RESUME is used for SDT procedure. Thus, the timer T319 is used for determining if the SDT procedure has succeeded or failed. Additionally, each of the disclosures describe an additional timer which may run after or concurrently with the timer T319 which is used for determining whether the RRC_RESUME for SDT is successful or not, and thus, the claims stand rejected.
With regard to the rejection of the dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103 the claim the applicant has not pointed out any particular deficiencies in the rejection of those claims, but has asserted that they should be allowable based on the perceived allowability of the independent claims. As the independent claims are not in condition for allowance, the dependent claims are also rejected for the reasons given above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2022/0248493 A1) “Small Data Transmission”
Lin et al. (US 2023/0189349 A1) “Data transmission Method and Terminal Device”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411