DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, denoted by Figures 1-2 in the reply filed on 11/10/25 is acknowledged. Applicant indicated that claims 1-6 read on elected Species I, however, the Examiner disagrees and notes that only claims 1-4 read on the elected Species.
Claim 5 requires “wherein the adjustment part is constituted by an expansion/contraction device configured to apply a force in an expansion/contraction direction which increases or decreases tension of the variable elastic membrane,” which is describing expansion/contraction device #40, which is only included as part of non-elected Species II, denoted by Figure 5 (see Specification, Page 5, Line 15-Page 6, Line 6; Page 16, Line 15-Page 17, Line 22).
Claim 6 requires “a plurality of the resonance tubes having different lengths, wherein the respective variable elastic membrane and the respective adjustment part corresponding to each of the resonance tubes are provided,” which is only included as part of non-elected Species V, denoted by Figure 9 (see Specification, Page 22, Line 10-Page 23, Line 18).
Because claims 5 and 6 are each directed toward non-elected Species, they are considered withdrawn and will not be examined on the merits. Claims 1-4 are directed toward elected Species I and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawatari (2007/0044747) in view of McKnight (8,616,330).
With respect to claim 1, Sawatari teaches a sound absorbing device (Figures 1-2 and 5-7, [0058], [0068]-[0069], [0073]) for a moving body (defined by vehicle in which the device of Figures 1-2 and 5-7 is part of, see abstract and [0012]) comprising: a resonance tube (2/3 – [0073]), in which one end portion of a pipeline (define by end of tube #2/3 facing #100) is disposed to face an indoor space (interior space denoted by opposing side of dashboard #100 that defines a vehicle interior – [0072]); an elastic membrane (4) in which one surface (surface of #4 facing toward #100) is disposed so as to face the indoor space (100) and in which other surface (surface of #4 facing away from #100) is disposed so as to face an internal space of other end portion of the resonance tube (2/3).
Sawatari fails to teach wherein the elastic membrane is a variable elastic membrane and an adjustment part configured to adjust an elastic modulus of the variable elastic membrane.
McKnight teaches a similar elastic membrane (Figure 1-2, #110/210), in the same field of endeavor, that is designed to vibrate at a tuned frequency, wherein the elastic membrane (110) is a variable elastic membrane and an adjustment part (defined device for applying voltage to said membrane, Col. 2, Lines 40-55; Col. 2, Line 65-Col. 3, Line 13, similar to Applicant’s adjustment part) configured to adjust an elastic modulus of the variable elastic membrane (Col. 2, Line 36-Col. 3, Line 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Sawatari, with the apparatus of McKnight so as to provide a tunable membrane that has a wider band of noise attenuation because it is tailorable to various environmental conditions, improving upon the structures effectiveness to mitigate variable tonal noise sources (See McKnight, Col. 9, Lines 30-38), as compared to the Sawatari device, which is not tunable and requires multiple differently tuned membranes/resonance tubes (See Sawatari Figures 8-9) in order to target multiple or different frequencies.
With respect to claim 2, Sawatari and McKnight teach further comprising a frequency detection part (McKnight, defined by unspecified control circuit which detects an operational change, Col. 8, Line 54-Col. 9, Line 2) configured to detect a frequency of noise (McKnight, i.e. engine noise spectrum changes as a function of RPM, Col. 8, Line 54-Col. 9, Line 2), wherein the adjustment part increases or decreases the elastic modulus of the variable elastic membrane (McKnight, Col. 3, Lines 2-13) according to the frequency of the noise detected by the frequency detection part.
With respect to claim 3, Sawatari and McKnight teach wherein the adjustment part (McKnight, defined by device for applying voltage to said membrane, Col. 2, Lines 40-55; Col. 2, Line 65-Col. 3, Line 13) increases the elastic modulus of the variable elastic membrane as the frequency of the noise detected by the frequency detection part increases, and decreases the elastic modulus of the variable elastic membrane as the frequency of the noise detected by the frequency detection part decreases (McKnight, seen in Figure 7). While this is shown in Figure 7, it is considered well known that a membrane with increased tension will have a natural vibration frequency higher than that of similar membrane with less tension.
With respect to claim 4, Sawatari and McKnight teach wherein the variable elastic membrane is formed of a material capable of adjusting a membrane thickness according to a stimulus from outside (via stretching or tensioning the membrane via tensioner #250 or other disclosed tensioning structure - Col. 2, Line 36-Col. 3, Line 63, in the same way as Applicant’s, see Specification, Page 16, Lines 15-25), and the adjustment part (defined by device for applying voltage to said membrane, Col. 2, Lines 40-55; Col. 2, Line 65-Col. 3, Line 13) is configured to apply a stimulus to the variable elastic membrane that increases or decreases a membrane thickness. It is further noted, that Applicant’s disclosure describes piezoelectric film and piezoelectric ceramics, which are also taught by McKnight (Col. 2, Lines 40-50), as being a material capable of increasing or decreasing a membrane thickness by receiving a stimulus (voltage) from the outside (See Specification, Page 8, Line 25-Page 9, Line 4), therefore, in addition to the tensioning/stretching taught by McKnight for adjusting a film thickness, it is also considered obvious that the piezoelectric film/ceramics of McKnight, which have a voltage applied thereto, are also capable of having their thickness adjusted as claimed in the same way as Appicant’s.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837