DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Amendment filed on 12/18/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-15, 17-23 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-15, 17-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ehlers et al. (US 20080217419 A1, hereinafter Ehlers) in view of Saylor et al. (US Patent No. US 7113090 B1, hereinafter Saylor) and further in view of Simon et al. (US 20060092010 A1, hereinafter Simon).
As to independent claim 1, Ehlers teaches a method comprising,
transmitting, to a device
(“Microprocessor 1.11 receives instructions and programming from a user, owner or operator through a graphical user interface 1.13, or from the remote owner GUI 1.12e. In addition, users may communicate with the system and send commands using the communications interface 1.12a. Other inputs to the CPU include temperature inputs from at least one temperature sensor 1.13a, a humidity reading from at least one humidity sensor 1.13b, and there may also be at least one moisture sensor 1.13c. There may be many embodiments of each of these sensors.” paragraph 0051, 0094, Fig. 1A, Fig. 4J, “With reference to FIGS. 4A through 4J, selection of the alerts menu item 4.08D displays a configure alert screen 4.48 within the control panel 4.10. The system includes a number of pre-defined alerts, for example, thermostat temperature out of range control, gateway node not responding, budget limit alarm, device malfunctioning, communication failure, ramping recovery failure, or duplicate IP address. For each alert, the customer may select or designate the destination, i.e., who gets notified for each alert, and how they are notified. In the illustrated embodiment, the configure alert screen 4.48 includes a destination drop down list 4.50 for each alert. The destination drop down list 4.50 allows the customer to select who gets notified when the alert occurs.” Paragraph 0110);
receiving, from the device, output data associated with the device. (“Other inputs to the CPU include temperature inputs from at least one temperature sensor 1.13a, a humidity reading from at least one humidity sensor 1.13b, and there may also be at least one moisture sensor 1.13c. There may be many embodiments of each of these sensors.” Paragraph 0051);
responsive to receiving the output data, retrieving stored data associated with the device; analyzing the output data and the stored data (“The system includes a number of pre-defined alerts, for example, thermostat temperature out of range control,” paragraph 0110);
transmitting, based on a result of the analyzing, a second configurable setting to the device (“With reference to FIG. 4B, when the customer selects the direct access icon 4.14A, a plurality of direct access icons 4.16 will be displayed in the control panel 4.10….Furthermore, selection of an override temperature button 4.22C or an override occupancy button 4.22D allows the customer to override the current temperature and occupancy schedules as defined below.” Paragraph 0099-010, “If there is a problem that cannot be overcome, the system may send an alert or alarm 4.0. The alert or alarm may be sent to the local utility, to a local contractor, such as an HVAC service company, or to the remote owner, for appropriate action. If the humidity is within its set point, such as below a maximum, the unit may instead shift to control by temperature 3.8.” paragraph 0080);
outputting, based on the result of the analyzing, a notification at the first computing device (“For example, if over a pre-determined amount of time, for example an hour, a thermostat temperature is out of range, the system may be set to deliver a single alert or to send an alert each time the temperature is out of bounds.” Paragraph 0111).
Ehlers does not appear to expressly teach transmitting, to a device of a plurality of devices a configurable setting associated with the device;
transmitting, by the first computing device and to the device, the third configurable setting.
Saylor teaches transmitting, to a device of a plurality of devices (“by selecting each sensor”, Col. 35, line 56-60).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ehler to comprise transmitting, to a device of a plurality of devices, a configurable setting associated with the device. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow customized notifications for individual devices.
Simon teaches receiving, by the first computing device and from a second computing device, a third configurable setting associated with the device; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to the device, the third configurable setting (“the invention enables the user to send commands to the remote security system, via the remote facility, to control the remote security system, e.g., to arm or disarm the system, set a bypass mode, and so forth. The bypass mode may be used to disable a sensor or zone in the secured building location that is triggering false alarms, for instance.” Paragraph 0031).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ehlers to comprise receiving, by the first computing device and from a second computing device, a third configurable setting associated with the device; and transmitting, by the first computing device and to the device, the third configurable setting. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow a user take appropriate action quickly.
As to dependent claim 2, Ehlers teaches the method of claim 1, Ehlers further teaches wherein the first computing device is a computer comprising an integrated gateway (a gateway node).
As to dependent claim 4, Ehlers teaches the method of claim 1, Ehlers further teaches the method comprising: automatically transmitting, to the device and in response to receiving the output data, one or more instructions associated with the device (“If there is a problem that cannot be overcome, the system may send an alert or alarm 4.0. The alert or alarm may be sent to the local utility, to a local contractor, such as an HVAC service company, or to the remote owner, for appropriate action. If the humidity is within its set point, such as below a maximum, the unit may instead shift to control by temperature 3.8.” paragraph 0080).
As to dependent claim 5, Ehlers teaches the method of claim 1, Ehlers does not appear to expressly teach the method comprising:
displaying a virtual image of the device in the user interface, the virtual image comprising the configurable settings.
Saylor teaches displaying a virtual image of the device in the user interface, the virtual image comprising the configurable settings (see column 27, lines 47-50 “History data may include sensor data which indicates movement (e.g., door opening, window opening, etc.) and/or any activity. History data may also include video data (e.g., images of back door, etc.)”, see fig. 8 column 15 lines 1-6 which describes a personal report based on current, historical and other data, according to an embodiment of the present invention. For example, a user may generate various reports, such as a home CO graph, office camera, backyard motion, car location, individual location, pet location, and safe intrusion, for example).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ehlers to comprise displaying a virtual image of the device in the user interface, the virtual image comprising the configurable settings. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow customized notifications for individual devices.
As to dependent claim 6, Ehlers teaches the method of claim 1, Ehlers does not appear to expressly teach the method comprising:
receiving data from an external source; and based on the data, transmitting one or more control settings for the device to the device.
Saylor teaches receiving data from an external source; and based on the data, transmitting one or more control settings for the device to the device (see column 27, lines 50-52 “History data may also consider external sources of data, such as data from neighbors, recent local burglaries, police reports, and/or other information).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ehlers to comprise receiving data from an external source; and based on the data, transmitting one or more control settings for the device to the device. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow customized notifications for individual sensors.
As to dependent claim 7, Ehlers teaches the method of claim 1, Ehlers further teaches wherein the device comprises a sensor (“temperature sensor 1.13a, a humidity reading from at least one humidity sensor 1.13b, and there may also be at least one moisture sensor 1.13c. There may be many embodiments of each of these sensors.” Ehlers paragraph 0051), and the configurable setting comprises one of a type of data collected by the sensor (Fig. 4J “temperature out of range”, a frequency of sensor readings to be performed by the sensor, one or more sensor data transmission intervals for the sensor, a transmission power of the sensor, or one or more communication protocols to be utilized by the sensor (Saylor column 14, lines 4-20, which describes that “other events may also be reported and tracked…a user may select or identify report factors, which may include type of event, type of device, unit or system, time period(s), display order, and/or other details. Type of event may include off, tripped, value, fire, battery, AC, malfunction, tamper, disarming, arming stay, arming away, arming failed, disarming failed, sensor bypassed, programming, open and others”).
As to dependent claim 10, Ehlers teaches the system of claim 8, Ehlers further teaches wherein the output data is associated with one or more weather conditions (The output data associated with Temp sensor, Humidity sensor, paragraph 0051).
As to dependent claims 14, Ehlers teaches the system of claim 8, Ehlers does not appear to expressly teach wherein the configurable setting comprises one of a type of data collected by the sensor, a frequency of sensor readings to be performed by the sensor, one or more sensor data transmission intervals for the sensor, a transmission power of the sensor, or one or more communication protocols to be utilized by the sensor.
Saylor teaches wherein the configurable setting comprises one of a type of data collected by the sensor, a frequency of sensor readings to be performed by the sensor, one or more sensor data transmission intervals for the sensor, a transmission power of the sensor, or one or more communication protocols to be utilized by the sensor (see column 14, lines 4-20, which describes that “other events may also be reported and tracked…a user may select or identify report factors, which may include type of event, type of device, unit or system, time period(s), display order, and/or other details. Type of event may include off, tripped, value, fire, battery, AC, malfunction, tamper, disarming, arming stay, arming away, arming failed, disarming failed, sensor bypassed, programming, open and others”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ehlers to comprise wherein the configurable setting comprises one of a type of data collected by the sensor, a frequency of sensor readings to be performed by the sensor, one or more sensor data transmission intervals for the sensor, a transmission power of the sensor, or one or more communication protocols to be utilized by the sensor . One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow customized notifications for individual sensors.
Claims 8, 11-13, 15, 17-20 are substantially the same as claim 1-2, 4-6, and 14 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ prior art arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the rejection presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Small et al. US 6078649 A – teaches monitoring alarm conditions at remote subscriber loop terminals, more particularly to the transfer of alarm data from one or more of such terminals to a centralized location at which all alarm data may be processed and displayed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171