Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1-5, and 9-13 and recites the broad recitation of “if the UE has no serving cell” and the claim also recites a requirement (example per Claim 1, where a TCI state is not included), which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by Novlan and Ng (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2016/0302230), herein referred to as “Novlan”, in view of Cui et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2026/0058711), herein referred to us “Cui”. This reference claims priority to, and has support in, provisional application 63/370575.
Regarding Claim 1,
Novlan teaches: A method comprising: receiving by a User Equipment (UE) from a base station, Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement time configuration (RMTC)
[0216] As shown in FIG. 14, the signaling flow for the RSSI transmission 1400 comprises a UE 1405 and an eNB 1410. At step 1415, the eNB 1410 may generate a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC). At step, 1420, the eNB 1415 may transmit the RMTC generated at the step 1415 to the UE 1405 over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA). In some embodiments, the eNB 1410 may transmit, at step 1420, at least one threshold to the UE 1405 for the average RSSI measurement of the UE 1405 at step 1430. In some embodiments, the RMTC, at step 1420, is independently configured from a discovery reference signal (DRS) measurement timing configuration (DMTC).
performing, by the UE, RSSI measurement based on the RMTC
[0219] At step 1425, the UE 1405 may receive, at step 1420, the RMTC over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA) and process the RMTC transmitted at step 1425. At step 1430, the UE 1405 may measure RSSI in accordance with RMTC transmitted at step 1420 and generate an average RSSI measurement in accordance with the received RMTC.
Novlan does not disclose wherein the RSSI measurement is performed in a Frequency Range2-2 (FR2-2), wherein the FR2-2 is from 52600 MHz to 71000 MHz and wherein the RMTC does not include Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state if the UE has no serving cell in the FR2-2.
However, Cui discloses wherein the RSSI measurement is performed in a Frequency Range2-2 (FR2-2), wherein the FR2-2 is from 52600 MHz to 71000 MHz.
[0015] Some of the unlicensed spectrum includes high bands. It may be desirable to expand coverage into these higher frequency bands for additional bandwidth. For example, frequency Range 2-2 (FR 2-2) include frequency bands from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz. Operating on such high frequencies may necessity the use of beam forming due to the limited range of the high frequencies. Introducing beams results in the UE needing to consider which beam should be used should be used to perform layer 3 (L3) measurements.
Cui also discloses wherein the RMTC does not include Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state if the UE has no serving cell in the FR2-2.
[0020] However, issues may arise for inter-frequency RSSI measurements when FR2-2 is used. For example, if the carrier on which the RMTC configuration is provided in is a LTE carrier or NR FR1 carrier, the QCL with type D is not available to be an assumption in such case. If the RMTC is configured by LTE serving cell or NR FR1 serving cell for an inter-frequency RSSI measurement there are four cases that should be clarified. A first case occurs when the TCI is provided to UE and TCI is associated with an RS on inter-frequency carrier, but UE has no serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A second case occurs when TCI is provided to UE and TCI is associated with an RS on inter-frequency or intra-frequency carrier, and UE has at least one existing serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A third case occurs if TCI is not provided to UE, and UE has no serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A fourth case occurs if TCI is not provided to UE, and UE has at least one 4 existing serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. Embodiments herein address handling of inter-frequency RSSI measurements for these cases.
Novlan and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan to include the concepts of performing RSSI in FR2-2 based on the RMTC, and where the RMTC does not include the TCI state if the UE does not have any serving cells as taught by Cui so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 8,
Novlan teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the step of performing the RSSI measurement is performed for unlicensed band.
[0219] At step 1425, the UE 1405 may receive, at step 1420, the RMTC over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA) and process the RMTC transmitted at step 1425. At step 1430, the UE 1405 may measure RSSI in accordance with RMTC transmitted at step 1420 and generate an average RSSI measurement in accordance with the received RMTC. In some embodiments, the UE 1405 may generate, at step 1430, a channel occupancy measurement report including a channel occupancy ratio, wherein the channel occupancy ratio is determined based on an amount of occupied measurement time unit (MTU) exceeding at least one threshold for the average RSSI measurement, and wherein the at least one threshold is configured by a higher layer signal from the eNB 1410. At step 1435, the UE 1405 may transmit, to the eNB 1410, the channel occupancy measurement report with an RSSI measurement report including the average RSSI measurement.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 1.
Novlan teaches: A User Equipment (UE) comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor operably connectable to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operating comprising: a transceiver; and a processor wherein the processor performs operation comprising: receiving, from a base station, Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement time configuration (RMTC)
[0216] As shown in FIG. 14, the signaling flow for the RSSI transmission 1400 comprises a UE 1405 and an eNB 1410. At step 1415, the eNB 1410 may generate a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC). At step, 1420, the eNB 1415 may transmit the RMTC generated at the step 1415 to the UE 1405 over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA). In some embodiments, the eNB 1410 may transmit, at step 1420, at least one threshold to the UE 1405 for the average RSSI measurement of the UE 1405 at step 1430. In some embodiments, the RMTC, at step 1420, is independently configured from a discovery reference signal (DRS) measurement timing configuration (DMTC).
performing RSSI measurement based on the RMTC
[0219] At step 1425, the UE 1405 may receive, at step 1420, the RMTC over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA) and process the RMTC transmitted at step 1425. At step 1430, the UE 1405 may measure RSSI in accordance with RMTC transmitted at step 1420 and generate an average RSSI measurement in accordance with the received RMTC.
Novlan does not disclose wherein the RSSI measurement is performed in a Frequency Range2-2 (FR2-2), wherein the FR2-2 is from 52600 MHz to 71000 MHz and wherein the RMTC does not include Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state if the UE has no serving cell in the FR2-2.
However, Cui discloses wherein the RSSI measurement is performed in a Frequency Range2-2 (FR2-2), wherein the FR2-2 is from 52600 MHz to 71000 MHz.
[0015] Some of the unlicensed spectrum includes high bands. It may be desirable to expand coverage into these higher frequency bands for additional bandwidth. For example, frequency Range 2-2 (FR 2-2) include frequency bands from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz. Operating on such high frequencies may necessity the use of beam forming due to the limited range of the high frequencies. Introducing beams results in the UE needing to consider which beam should be used should be used to perform layer 3 (L3) measurements.
Cui also discloses wherein the RMTC does not include Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state if the UE has no serving cell in the FR2-2.
[0020] However, issues may arise for inter-frequency RSSI measurements when FR2-2 is used. For example, if the carrier on which the RMTC configuration is provided in is a LTE carrier or NR FR1 carrier, the QCL with type D is not available to be an assumption in such case. If the RMTC is configured by LTE serving cell or NR FR1 serving cell for an inter-frequency RSSI measurement there are four cases that should be clarified. A first case occurs when the TCI is provided to UE and TCI is associated with an RS on inter-frequency carrier, but UE has no serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A second case occurs when TCI is provided to UE and TCI is associated with an RS on inter-frequency or intra-frequency carrier, and UE has at least one existing serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A third case occurs if TCI is not provided to UE, and UE has no serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A fourth case occurs if TCI is not provided to UE, and UE has at least one 4 existing serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. Embodiments herein address handling of inter-frequency RSSI measurements for these cases.
Novlan and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan to include the concepts of performing RSSI in FR2-2 based on the RMTC, and where the RMTC does not include the TCI state if the UE does not have any serving cells as taught by Cui so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 1.
Novlan teaches: A method comprising: transmitting, by a base station to a User Equipment (UE), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurement time configuration (RMTC)
[0216] As shown in FIG. 14, the signaling flow for the RSSI transmission 1400 comprises a UE 1405 and an eNB 1410. At step 1415, the eNB 1410 may generate a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement timing configuration (RMTC). At step, 1420, the eNB 1415 may transmit the RMTC generated at the step 1415 to the UE 1405 over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA). In some embodiments, the eNB 1410 may transmit, at step 1420, at least one threshold to the UE 1405 for the average RSSI measurement of the UE 1405 at step 1430. In some embodiments, the RMTC, at step 1420, is independently configured from a discovery reference signal (DRS) measurement timing configuration (DMTC).
receiving, by a base station from the UE, a result of RSSI measurement performed by the UE based on the RMTC,
[0219] At step 1425, the UE 1405 may receive, at step 1420, the RMTC over an unlicensed spectrum in a licensed assisted access (LAA) and process the RMTC transmitted at step 1425. At step 1430, the UE 1405 may measure RSSI in accordance with RMTC transmitted at step 1420 and generate an average RSSI measurement in accordance with the received RMTC. In some embodiments, the UE 1405 may generate, at step 1430, a channel occupancy measurement report including a channel occupancy ratio, wherein the channel occupancy ratio is determined based on an amount of occupied measurement time unit (MTU) exceeding at least one threshold for the average RSSI measurement, and wherein the at least one threshold is configured by a higher layer signal from the eNB 1410. At step 1435, the UE 1405 may transmit, to the eNB 1410, the channel occupancy measurement report with an RSSI measurement report including the average RSSI measurement.
Novlan does not disclose wherein, if the UE has no serving cell in Frequency Range2-2 (FR2-2) (Frequency Range2-2), the RMTC does not include Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, wherein the FR2-2 is from 52600 MHz to 71000 MHz.
However, Cui discloses wherein, if the UE has no serving cell in Frequency Range2-2 (FR2-2) (Frequency Range2-2), the RMTC does not include Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state, wherein the FR2-2 is from 52600 MHz to 71000 MHz.
[0015] Some of the unlicensed spectrum includes high bands. It may be desirable to expand coverage into these higher frequency bands for additional bandwidth. For example, frequency Range 2-2 (FR 2-2) include frequency bands from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz. Operating on such high frequencies may necessity the use of beam forming due to the limited range of the high frequencies. Introducing beams results in the UE needing to consider which beam should be used should be used to perform layer 3 (L3) measurements.
[0020] However, issues may arise for inter-frequency RSSI measurements when FR2-2 is used. For example, if the carrier on which the RMTC configuration is provided in is a LTE carrier or NR FR1 carrier, the QCL with type D is not available to be an assumption in such case. If the RMTC is configured by LTE serving cell or NR FR1 serving cell for an inter-frequency RSSI measurement there are four cases that should be clarified. A first case occurs when the TCI is provided to UE and TCI is associated with an RS on inter-frequency carrier, but UE has no serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A second case occurs when TCI is provided to UE and TCI is associated with an RS on inter-frequency or intra-frequency carrier, and UE has at least one existing serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A third case occurs if TCI is not provided to UE, and UE has no serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. A fourth case occurs if TCI is not provided to UE, and UE has at least one 4 existing serving cell in FR2-1 or FR2-2. Embodiments herein address handling of inter-frequency RSSI measurements for these cases.
Novlan and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan to include the concepts of performing RSSI in FR2-2 based on the RMTC, and where the RMTC does not include the TCI state if the UE does not have any serving cells as taught by Cui so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Claims 2-4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by Novlan in view of Cui, held further in view of Alriksson et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0007206), herein referred to as “Alriksson”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Novlan in view of Cui does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Alriksson discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein, if the UE has multiple serving cells in the FR2-2, the step of performing the RSSI measurement is performed using Quasi Co Location (QCL) TypeD for the latest Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in a serving cell corresponding to the highest cell index or the lowest cell index among the multiple serving cells.
[0097] Embodiments of the technique may full one or more of the objectives of a study item of 3GPP. 3GPP RAN is currently working on a study item for NR Release 17 on supporting NR operation from 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz (e.g., 3GPP document R1-2007038), which includes the following objectives: [0098] (1) Study of required changes to NR using existing DL/UL NR waveform to support operation between 52.6 GHz and 71 GHz [0099] Study of applicable numerology including subcarrier spacing, channel BW (including maximum BW), and their impact to FR2 physical layer design to support system functionality considering practical RF impairments [RAN1, RAN4].
[0122] Hence, if TypeD is configured for one of the reference signals of the indicated TCI state for reception of a DL signal, e.g., PDCCH, it tells the UE that it may receive the PDCCH with the same spatial domain receiver settings as it used to receive the reference signal configured with TypeD within the TCI state. The implicit assumption is that the UE has previously performed measurements on this reference signal and “remembers” which spatial domain receiver settings it used for reception of that reference signal. In other words, the TCI state provides a means to indicate to the UE which receive beam to use for reception of the DL signal, e.g., PDCCH.
[0138] In this embodiment the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, is explicitly indicated one or more TCI state indices corresponding to a plurality of configured TCI state(s) for the purposes of performing RSSI measurement. The UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, then uses the same receiver beam for RSSI measurements corresponding to the indicated TCI states. In case of multiple TCI state indices, the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, may either report a list of RSSI values corresponding to each of the TCI state indices or it may report the RSSI and TCI state index of the one with the lowest RSSI (i.e. lowest interference). In a variant of this embodiment, the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, reports the RSSI with the highest L1-RSRP/RSSI ratio (equivalent to reference-signal receive quality (RSRQ)). The list of TCI state indices may be indicated to the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, in UE RMTC-Config and/or RSSI-ResourceConfigCLI.
Note: Per the specification in paragraph [0246], if there is no serving cell, there would be no TCI state indicated (through tci-StateInfo). Here, since there are multiple TCI state indices, there are cells present. Thus, with a list of RSSI values tied into a lowest RSSI (and TCI state index) is indicative of having a low cell index since cells exist.
Novlan in view of Cui and Alriksson are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan in view of Cui to include the concept of performing the RSSI measurement using QCL TypeD for the latest PDCCH in a serving cell corresponding to the lowest cell index as taught by Alriksson so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 3,
Novlan in view of Cui does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Alriksson discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein, if the UE has multiple serving cells in the FR2-2, the step of performing the RSSI measurement is performed using Quasi Co Location (QCL) TypeD for the latest Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) in a serving cell corresponding to the highest cell index or the lowest cell index among the multiple serving cells.
[0120] A quasi-co-location (QCL) type is associated with each of the reference signals of the TCI state, and the type may take one of 4 possible values: TypeA, TypeB, TypeC, or TypeD. A particular TCI state is indicated to the UE to aid in the reception of other signals/channels in the DL, e.g., PDSCH, PDCCH, other CSI-RS, etc. The indication of the TCI state to aid in reception of a DL signal is performed through either dynamic or semi-static signaling, i.e., via DCI, MAC-CE, or by RRC depending on the DL signal to be received. For example, for reception of PDCCH, a TCI state is indicated by MAC-CE signaling.
[0138] In this embodiment the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, is explicitly indicated one or more TCI state indices corresponding to a plurality of configured TCI state(s) for the purposes of performing RSSI measurement. The UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, then uses the same receiver beam for RSSI measurements corresponding to the indicated TCI states. In case of multiple TCI state indices, the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, may either report a list of RSSI values corresponding to each of the TCI state indices or it may report the RSSI and TCI state index of the one with the lowest RSSI (i.e. lowest interference). In a variant of this embodiment, the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, reports the RSSI with the highest L1-RSRP/RSSI ratio (equivalent to reference-signal receive quality (RSRQ)). The list of TCI state indices may be indicated to the UE, such as e.g., the radio device 100, in UE RMTC-Config and/or RSSI-ResourceConfigCLI.
Novlan in view of Cui and Alriksson are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan in view of Cui to include the concept of performing the RSSI measurement using QCL TypeD for the latest PDSCH in a serving cell corresponding to the lowest cell index as taught by Alriksson so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 4,
Novlan in view of Cui does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Alriksson discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein, if the UE has no serving cell in the FR2-2, the UE skips to perform the RSSI measurement.
[0104] In LTE, E-UTRA Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) measurements were introduced for LAA and defined as the linear average of the total received power (in Watt) observed only in the configured OFDM symbols and in the measurement bandwidth over a pre-defined number of (e.g., 6) resource blocks, by the UE from all sources, including co-channel serving and non-serving cells, adjacent channel interference, thermal noise etc.
[0105] Higher layers, e.g., an radio resource control (RRC) layer, indicate an RSSI measurement timing configuration (RMTC), e.g., the measurement duration and which one or more OFDM symbols should be measured by the UE. Namely, the RSSI is configured, e.g., according to 3GPP document TS 36.331, version 16.2.1, by means of the following information element (IE) in MeasObjectEUTRA: rmtc-Period, rmtc-SubframeOffset, and measDuration. For example, the UE performs RSSI measurements during measDuration only within periodic RMTC occasions.
Note: Paragraph [0104] highlights that RSSI measurements can also apply to non-serving cells. Paragraph [0105] demonstrates “skipping” since the UE performs RSSI measurements within periodic RMTC occasions, thus meaning that some instances of RSSI measurements are “skipped.”
Novlan in view of Cui and Alriksson are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan in view of Cui to include the concept of skipping performing the RSSI measurement as taught by Alriksson so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 4.
Claim 5-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over by Novlan in view of Cui, held further in view of Liu et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2023/0100135), herein referred to as “Liu”.
Regarding Claim 5,
Novlan in view of Cui does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Liu discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein, if the UE has no serving cell in the FR2-2, the step of performing the RSSI measurement is measuring RSSI for each of multiple Rx beams.
[0061] In the physical layer, RSSI comprises the linear average of the total received power (in [W]) observed only per configured OFDM symbol and in the measurement bandwidth, by the UE from all sources, including co-channel serving and non-serving cells, adjacent channel interference, thermal noise etc.
[0062] Approaches regarding CLI measurement and RSSI and channel occupancy measurement are provided, which may provide an unambiguous specification for the UE reception beam configuration for performing RSSI measurement for NR operation in higher frequency bands (e.g., FR2-1 and FR2-2) where receiver beamforming is widely used to improve received signal strength; thus, RSSI measurements may be more representative and reliable in such scenarios.
[0069] In general, instead of, or in addition to, RSSI measurement, CLI measurement may be performed. It may be considered that a reception beam may be based on an assumption and/or state and/or configuration, e.g. a QCL assumption and/or TCI state and/or measurement configuration, e.g. a RMTC and/or RSSI and/or CLI configuration. In particular, different reception beams may be associated to different assumptions and/or states.
Note: Paragraph [0061] highlights that RSSI measurements can also apply to non-serving cells. Paragraph [0062] demonstrated that those same measurements can be on FR2-2. Paragraph [0069] uses different (multiple) reception beams.
Novlan in view of Cui and Liu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan in view of Cui to include the concept of measuring RSSI for multiple Rx beams without a serving cell as taught by Liu so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 6,
Novlan does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Cui discloses: The method of claim 5, further comprising: reporting, to the base station, a result of the RSSI measurement, wherein the step of reporting the result of the RSSI measurement is reporting the greatest RSSI among the measured RSSIs for each of the multiple Rx beams.
[0031] In some embodiments, the UE may use Rx beam sweeping to measure RSSI and determine the RSSI measurement results based on the strongest Rx beam. The strongest Rx beam refers to the Rx beam with the highest RSSI value. Accordingly, the UE may perform 104 a beam sweep to measure the RSSI, compare the RSSI measurements for the beams, determine 106 the RSSI measurement by selecting the RSSI measurement of the RX beam with the highest RSSI value, and report 108 the RSSI measurement of the strongest Rx beam to a network node.
Novlan and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan to include the concept of reporting the greatest RSSI among measured RSSIs for multiple Rx beams as taught by Cui so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 7,
Novlan does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Cui discloses: The method of claim 5, further comprising: reporting, to the base station, a result of the RSSI measurement, wherein the step of reporting the result of the RSSI measurement is reporting average value of the measured RSSIs for each of the multiple Rx beams.
[0034] In some embodiments, the UE may perform 104 Rx Beam sweeping and determine 106 the RSSI measurement by taking an average of the RSSI values. For example, the UE may use Rx beam sweeping to measure RSSI and determine the RSSI measurement results based on the average of the Rx beams measured. In other words, the UE may determine an average RSSI value among Rx beams and report that average value to the network node. For example, if the UE performs a beam sweep resulting in eight RSSI values, the UE may average the eight values and report 108 the average RSSI value to the network node. In some embodiments, the average may be an average of the RSSI measurements above a specific threshold. In some embodiments, the average may be an average of all the RSSI measurements.
Novlan and Cui are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Novlan to include the concept of reporting the average value of the measured RSSIs for each of the multiple Rx beams as taught by Cui so as to promote effective communications over FR2-2 frequencies.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in Claim 7.
Response to Arguments
The objection to Claim 6 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411