Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 07/07/2026, have been entered into the record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because new art, not used in the previous rejection, is brought in to teach the elements of amended claims 1, 6, 9, 14, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20250377459 A1) in view of Keilaf et al. (US 20200386872 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches [Note: what Zhang fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device, comprising: (Detection methods and apparatuses of a LiDAR are provided. (abstract)) a laser pulse scanner configured to scan laser pulses in a plurality of directions; (Optionally, the LiDAR includes a scanner, the scanner rotates detection light generated by the emitter module around a rotating shaft to implement scanning; and the first direction corresponds to a direction of the rotating shaft. (paragraph 0016)) a detector array that includes a plurality of adjacent detector channels; (The detector unit 121 includes multiple detector groups. Each of the detector groups includes two or more of the detectors 122. (paragraph 0082 and Fig. 6))
Keilaf teaches,
and a controlling unit configured to activate a group of adjacent detector channels of the plurality of adjacent detector channels corresponding to each of the plurality of directions, wherein the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is determined based on one or more of an image width on the detector array corresponding to that direction after a laser pulse hits a target object, a measured ambient intensity from that direction, a reflectivity of the target object, or a distance of the target object. (processing unit 108 may allocate detector resources based on the identification of the at least one region of interest. In one example, to reduce noise, processing unit 108 may activate detectors 410 where a region of interest is expected and disable detectors 410 where regions of non-interest are expected. In another example, processing unit 108 may change the detector sensitivity, e.g., increasing sensor sensitivity for long range detection where the reflected power is low (paragraph 0142))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Keilaf into the invention of Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of Zhang and Keilaf would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase signal to noise ratio.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further teaches
The LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of adjacent detector channels is a column of detectors or a row of detectors. (In some embodiments of this disclosure, each of the detector units includes: detectors in a rows and b columns, (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further teaches
The LiDAR device of claim 1, wherein the group of detectors includes two or more detector channels. (The detector unit 121 includes multiple detector groups. Each of the detector groups includes two or more of the detectors 122. (paragraph 0082))
Regarding claim 6, Zhang fails to teach wherein the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is determined based on a calibration table and selected based on the reflectivity of the target object in the calibration table.
In the same field of endeavor, Keilaf teaches wherein the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is determined based on a calibration table and selected based on the reflectivity of the target object in the calibration table. (Several factors, alone or in combination, may trigger adjustments in sensitivity of the detection elements in one or more regions of sensor 116 or adjustments in light levels allowed to region one or more regions of sensor 116. For example, in some embodiments, processor 118 may determine an amplification setting based on factors such as the detection results of one or more preceding pulses in the same scanning cycle (whether in the same instantaneous direction or not); detection results from a previous FOV scanning cycle; definitions of regions of interest within an FOV; preexisting knowledge on ambient lighting levels, reflectivity levels, noise levels, etc.; or knowledge on likelihood of specific types of objects in different directions. (paragraph 0271))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Keilaf into the invention of Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of Zhang and Keilaf would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of noise in the data.
Claims 2, 4, and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20250377459 A1) in view of Keilaf et al. (US 20200386872 A1) in further view of Song (US 20190331775 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein laser pulse scanner is configured to scan the laser pulses vertically or horizontally to project horizontal or vertical illuminated lines onto the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein laser pulse scanner is configured to scan the laser pulses vertically or horizontally to project horizontal or vertical illuminated lines onto the target object. (The portion of the beam of reflected laser pulses 205 corresponds to a horizontal steering angle at the vertical steering angle, and can be projected as a laser stripe on a column in the 2-D SPAD array 213, (paragraph 0070))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase resolution.
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein when the group of adjacent detector channels are activated, each of the rest of the plurality of adjacent detector channels are deactivated.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein when the group of adjacent detector channels are activated, each of the rest of the plurality of adjacent detector channels are deactivated. (The column of the 2-D SPAD array 213 can be preconfigured to receive reflected signals from a particular horizontal angle. Noises such as ambient light from all other directions other than the direction corresponding to the aperture would be blocked. (paragraph 0068))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of noise in the data.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 6 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein the reflectivity of the target object is a Lambertian reflectivity of the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the reflectivity of the target object is a Lambertian reflectivity of the target object. (In the above equation, I.sub.S is the solar spectral irradiance in they unit of W/(m.sup.2.Math.nm), where ρ.sub.T is the Lambertian reflectivity of the target, (paragraph 0139 and equation 1))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for multiple viewing angles of the same target.
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein the image width corresponding to each of the plurality of directions on the detector array after a laser pulse hits the target object is the same.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the image width corresponding to each of the plurality of directions on the detector array after a laser pulse hits the target object is the same. ((Fig. 3A and 3B) While the prior art does not explicitly state the image width being the same it can be seen in figures 3A and 3B where stripe A and B are the same width.)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for consistent comparison of data.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches [Note: what Zhang fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A method applied to a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device, comprising: (Detection methods and apparatuses of a LiDAR are provided. (abstract)) receiving reflected illumination from one of a plurality of directions, wherein the LiDAR device is configured to scan laser pulses in each of the plurality of directions; (Optionally, the LiDAR includes a scanner, the scanner rotates detection light generated by the emitter module around a rotating shaft to implement scanning; and the first direction corresponds to a direction of the rotating shaft. (paragraph 0016))
Song teaches,
measuring an ambient intensity in the direction; (Unwanted ambient light reaching the detector of the LiDAR device primarily comes from the sun, and other sources of light in the environment. Ambient light intensity varies depending on the brightness of the day and the reflectivity of the surroundings. Ambient light can create a direct current (DC) bias on the photodetector to create white noise that is difficult to be filtered out. Because the power of the transmitted energy to produce information about a target object needs to be kept below a certain level to be safe, the ambient illumination reaching the detector can generate noise that overshadows the return laser pulses, thus limiting the LiDAR device from detecting objects at long distances. (paragraph 0137))
Keilaf teaches,
and activating a group of adjacent detector channels of the plurality of adjacent detector channels corresponding to each of the plurality of directions, wherein the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is determined based on one or more of an image width on the detector array corresponding to that direction after a laser pulse hits a target object, a measured ambient intensity from that direction, a reflectivity of the target object, or a distance of the target object. (processing unit 108 may allocate detector resources based on the identification of the at least one region of interest. In one example, to reduce noise, processing unit 108 may activate detectors 410 where a region of interest is expected and disable detectors 410 where regions of non-interest are expected. In another example, processing unit 108 may change the detector sensitivity, e.g., increasing sensor sensitivity for long range detection where the reflected power is low (paragraph 0142) Each of the detectors are adjacent to each other and are being activated based on the distance to the target object i.e. changing the detector sensitivity.)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Keilaf and Song into the invention of Zhang. All references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of Zhang, Song, and Keilaf would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase signal to noise ratio.
Regarding claim 10, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 9 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein laser pulse scanner is configured to scan the laser pulses vertically or horizontally to project horizontal or vertical illuminated lines onto the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein laser pulse scanner is configured to scan the laser pulses vertically or horizontally to project horizontal or vertical illuminated lines onto the target object. (The portion of the beam of reflected laser pulses 205 corresponds to a horizontal steering angle at the vertical steering angle, and can be projected as a laser stripe on a column in the 2-D SPAD array 213, (paragraph 0070))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase resolution.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang further teaches
The method of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of adjacent detector channels is a column of detectors or a row of detectors. (In some embodiments of this disclosure, each of the detector units includes: detectors in a rows and b columns, (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 12, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 9 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein when the group of adjacent detector channels are activated, each of the rest of the plurality of adjacent detector channels are deactivated.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein when the group of adjacent detector channels are activated, each of the rest of the plurality of adjacent detector channels are deactivated. (The column of the 2-D SPAD array 213 can be preconfigured to receive reflected signals from a particular horizontal angle. Noises such as ambient light from all other directions other than the direction corresponding to the aperture would be blocked. (paragraph 0068))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of noise in the data.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang further teaches
The method of claim 9, wherein the group of detectors includes two or more detector channels. (The detector unit 121 includes multiple detector groups. Each of the detector groups includes two or more of the detectors 122. (paragraph 0082))
Regarding claim 14, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 9 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is further determined based on a calibration table and selected based on the reflectivity of the target object in the calibration table.
In the same field of endeavor, Keilaf teaches wherein the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is further determined based on a calibration table and selected based on the reflectivity of the target object in the calibration table. (Several factors, alone or in combination, may trigger adjustments in sensitivity of the detection elements in one or more regions of sensor 116 or adjustments in light levels allowed to region one or more regions of sensor 116. For example, in some embodiments, processor 118 may determine an amplification setting based on factors such as the detection results of one or more preceding pulses in the same scanning cycle (whether in the same instantaneous direction or not); detection results from a previous FOV scanning cycle; definitions of regions of interest within an FOV; preexisting knowledge on ambient lighting levels, reflectivity levels, noise levels, etc.; or knowledge on likelihood of specific types of objects in different directions. (paragraph 0271))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Keilaf into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Keilaf would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of noise in the data.
Regarding claim 15, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 14 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein the reflectivity of the target object is a Lambertian reflectivity of the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the reflectivity of the target object is a Lambertian reflectivity of the target object. (In the above equation, I.sub.S is the solar spectral irradiance in they unit of W/(m.sup.2.Math.nm), where ρ.sub.T is the Lambertian reflectivity of the target, (paragraph 0139 and equation 1))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to allow for multiple viewing angles of the same target.
Regarding claim 16, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 9 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein the image width corresponding to each of the plurality of directions on the detector array after a laser pulse hits the target object is the same.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the image width corresponding to each of the plurality of directions on the detector array after a laser pulse hits the target object is the same. ((Fig. 3A and 3B) While the prior art does not explicitly state the image width being the same it can be seen in figures 3A and 3B where stripe A and B are the same width.)
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches [Note: what Zhang fails to clearly teach is strike-through]
A circuit embedded in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device, wherein the circuit is configured to cause the LiDAR device to perform operations comprising: (Detection methods and apparatuses of a LiDAR are provided. (abstract)) receiving reflected illumination from one of a plurality of directions, wherein the LiDAR device is configured to scan laser pulses in each of the plurality of directions; (Optionally, the LiDAR includes a scanner, the scanner rotates detection light generated by the emitter module around a rotating shaft to implement scanning; and the first direction corresponds to a direction of the rotating shaft. (paragraph 0016))
Song teaches,
measuring an ambient intensity in the direction; (Unwanted ambient light reaching the detector of the LiDAR device primarily comes from the sun, and other sources of light in the environment. Ambient light intensity varies depending on the brightness of the day and the reflectivity of the surroundings. Ambient light can create a direct current (DC) bias on the photodetector to create white noise that is difficult to be filtered out. Because the power of the transmitted energy to produce information about a target object needs to be kept below a certain level to be safe, the ambient illumination reaching the detector can generate noise that overshadows the return laser pulses, thus limiting the LiDAR device from detecting objects at long distances. (paragraph 0137))
Keilaf teaches,
and activating a group of adjacent detector channels of the plurality of adjacent detector channels corresponding to each of the plurality of directions, whererin the number of adjacent detector channels in the plurality of adjacent detector channels is determined based on one or more of an image width on the detector array corresponding to that direction after a laser pulse hits a target object, a measured ambient intensity from that direction, a reflectivity of the target object, or a distance of the target object. (processing unit 108 may allocate detector resources based on the identification of the at least one region of interest. In one example, to reduce noise, processing unit 108 may activate detectors 410 where a region of interest is expected and disable detectors 410 where regions of non-interest are expected. In another example, processing unit 108 may change the detector sensitivity, e.g., increasing sensor sensitivity for long range detection where the reflected power is low (paragraph 0142))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Keilaf and Song into the invention of Zhang. All references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of Zhang, Song, and Keilaf would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase signal to noise ratio.
Regarding claim 18, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 17 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein laser pulse scanner is configured to scan the laser pulses vertically or horizontally to project horizontal or vertical illuminated lines onto the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein laser pulse scanner is configured to scan the laser pulses vertically or horizontally to project horizontal or vertical illuminated lines onto the target object. (The portion of the beam of reflected laser pulses 205 corresponds to a horizontal steering angle at the vertical steering angle, and can be projected as a laser stripe on a column in the 2-D SPAD array 213, (paragraph 0070))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to increase resolution.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang further teaches
The circuit of claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of adjacent detector channels is a column of detectors or a row of detectors. (In some embodiments of this disclosure, each of the detector units includes: detectors in a rows and b columns, (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 20, modified Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 17 as previously stated, however modified Zhang fails to teach wherein when the group of adjacent detector channels are activated, each of the rest of the plurality of adjacent detector channels are deactivated.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein when the group of adjacent detector channels are activated, each of the rest of the plurality of adjacent detector channels are deactivated. (The column of the 2-D SPAD array 213 can be preconfigured to receive reflected signals from a particular horizontal angle. Noises such as ambient light from all other directions other than the direction corresponding to the aperture would be blocked. (paragraph 0068))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Song into the invention of modified Zhang. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose detection methods for LiDAR systems. The combination of modified Zhang and Song would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the amount of noise in the data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648