DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated over Talalayev et al (U.S. 20170093099).
Independent Claim 1, Talalayev teaches the following:
A vehicle charging device (Talalayev teaches USB ports, while the term vehicle reads on, for example, a remote-controlled car charged by a USB device), comprising:
a base (Fig. 1C – interconnect system 124, housing 126, ¶[30]) having accommodating spaces ( port hole opening 128, intermediate cavity 130 and main cavity 132);
a circuit board (Fig. 1A, 1B - 102, (¶[22-25]) ) locating in the accommodating space;
plurality of supporting pillars (Fig. 1A, 1B – alignment posts 116a and 116b, (¶[25])) being contained in the pin support structure (Fig. 1A, 1C - 104) located in the accommodating space;
plurality of conductors (Fig. 1A, 1B, 1C – pins 112, ¶[24]), each having contact portions (Fig. 1A – the top end of 112) and connection portions (Fig. 1A – the bottom end of 112);
plurality of contact portions disposed on the base but located outside the accommodating space (Fig. 1C – the contact portions 112(a,b) are located in the base 124 but located outside the accommodating space 128, 130 and 132);
plurality of contact portions connected to the plurality of the connection portions (Fig. 1A, 1B, 1C – 112(a,b));
plurality of connection portions penetrating through the base (Fig. 1C);
plurality of connection portions being partially located in the accommodating space (130) (Fig. 1C);
plurality of connection portions being electrically connected to the circuit board (Fig. 1B, 1C – 102, ¶[23]).
Dependent Claim 5, Talalayev teaches plurality of supporting pillars (Fig. 1A, 1B – alignment posts 116a and 116b) and plurality of conductors (Fig. 1A, 1B – pins 112) being arranged in an array ¶[22]); as defined by Merriam-webster.com, array is defined as "a group of elements forming a complete unit", and therefore, the two posts are a group of elements forming a complete unit of a pair, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Dependent Claim 6, Talalayev teaches the shape of plurality of conductors and the supporting pillars to be cylindrical (Fig. [1A, 1B – pins 112, posts 116(a,b)], ¶[23] explicitly mentioning the plurality of conductors having substantially elongated shape such as circular, trapezoidal or any other shape). Fig. 1A shows the conductors and the supporting pillars having cylindrical shape.
Dependent Claim 7, Talalayev teaches plurality of the connection portions (Fig. 1A, 1B, 1C – 112(a,b)) penetrating through the circuit board (Fig. 1C – 102, ¶[30, 31, 33] with ¶[30] explicitly mentioning the conductors extending via the circuit board). The connections portions are shown to be puncturing the circuit board in Fig. 1A, 1B and 1C.
Dependent Claim 8, Talalayev teaches plurality of the conductors (Fig. 1C – 112(a,b)) being disposed on the base (124. 126) and the circuit board (102, ¶[30, 31, 33]).
Dependent Claim 10, Talalayev teaches a conductive film (Fig. 1A, 1B – grounding shield 106, ¶[25] explicitly mentioning that the shield extends around the pin support structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ireland et al (US 20140203776) in view of Jeon et al. (US 9972943).
Independent Claim 1, Ireland teaches the following:
A vehicle charging device (Ireland teaches docking station for a mobile robot, while the term vehicle reads on a mobile robot charged by a docking station), comprising:
a base (Fig. 10 – base portion 60) with accommodating space (lower housing 132, ¶[68, 73]);
a circuit board (124) located in the accommodating space (132, ¶[76]);
plurality of conductors (Fig. 11a – electrical contact means 8, power supply contacts 130a, 130b, ¶[72]);
the contact portions of the conductors (130) being disposed on the base (Fig. 10 – 8, 132, ¶[73]);
the plurality of the connection portions being connected to the plurality of the contact portions (Fig. 10, 11a – 8, 130(a,b));
the plurality of connection portions penetrating the base (Fig. 10, 11a – 130 (a,b), through apertures 134, 60, ¶[73]);
the plurality of connection portions being partially located in the accommodating space (132, ¶[73]);
the plurality of connection portions being electrically connected to circuit board (Fig. 10 – 8, power electronics board 124, 130 (a,b)], ¶[72, 76]).
Ireland does not disclose a plurality of supporting pillars, located in the accommodating space and connected to the base.
Jeon teaches of supporting pillars (Fig. 2, 3 – posts 222, ground tabs 264, 284) located in the accommodating space of the base (Fig 3, 5 - header 220 having an accommodating space), providing mechanical support (¶[8, 15, 25] with ¶[15] explicitly describing posts 284 being used for mechanical stabilization).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Ireland with that of Jeon, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate any pillar like structure in the accommodating space, connected to the base, to enhance its mechanical support.
Claim 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ireland et al (US 20140203776) in view of Jeon et al. (US 9972943), further in view of Zhu et al. (U.S. 20190379165).
Dependent Claim 2, Ireland teaches of a bottom plate and a cover (Fig. 4, 7, 9a, 10, 11a, 12a; ¶[53-55, 68, 73]) together forming the accommodating space;
Ireland is silent to the cover having any mounting recesses and any supporting pillar.
Jeon teaches of a bottom plate and a cover (Fig. 2,3 – top shield 270, bottom shield 290; Col. 5, lines 37-39) together forming the accommodating space (Fig. 2,3 – 270, 290; Col. 6, lines 49-53) and supporting pillars (Fig. 2, 3 – posts 222, ground tabs 264, 284), providing mechanical support (¶[8, 15, 25] with ¶[15] explicitly describing posts 284 being used for mechanical stabilization).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Ireland with that of Jeon, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate supporting pillars, connected to the base, to enhance its mechanical support.
The combination is silent to the cover comprising mounting recesses where the supporting pillars are mounted.
Zhu teaches of cover (Fig. 2, 3 – shielding plate 7) in which the supporting pillars (fastening pillars 121, 122) are mounted through the plurality of recesses (fastening holes 36, 71, ¶[19, 25]); the supporting pillars (122) are integrally connected to the bottom place (outer shell 6, ¶[24]). Zhu teaches the pillars are mounted in the recesses in order to keep them properly fastened with the cover (¶[25, 29]); as stated by design-encyclopedia.com, recessed mounting can “serve multiple purposes including concealment of functional elements” for improved aesthetic considerations, excellent “space utilization” in tight structure while “maintaining functional efficiency”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Ireland in view of Zeon with Zhu, to properly fasten the pillars to the structure through the mounting recesses for aesthetic enhancement and space utilization benefits.
Dependent Claim 4, Ireland teaches of a cover facing away from a bottom plate (Fig. 4, 7, 9a, 10, 11a, 12a; ¶[53-55, 68, 73]), together forming the accommodating space and plurality of conductors (Fig. 10, 11a – 8, 130a, 130b, ¶[72]);
Ireland is silent to the cover having any accommodating recesses which is connected to the plurality of conductors at their contact portions.
Jeon teaches plurality of accommodating recesses (Fig. 3, 4 – openings 217, 218, Fig. 5 – 226) in the cover (Fig. 2,3 – rear portion 216, circuit board 210) where the plurality of conductors (230) are located; in Fig. 2 of the claimed invention, the conductive film (18) is located on top of the cover (111) and therefore, “cover” has been interpreted by the examiner as any horizontally extended structure located in the top half section of the connecting structure, not necessarily the uppermost external section of the device. Under such interpretation, the cover has been assumed to be analogous to the circuit board (210) and the rear portion (216) taught by Jeon.
The conductors are contained in the structure through these recesses (openings and through-hole contact portions in Col. 5, line 55 – Col. 6, line 5); as stated by design-encyclopedia.com, recessed mounting can “serve multiple purposes including concealment of functional elements” for improved aesthetic considerations, excellent “space utilization” in tight structure while “maintaining functional efficiency”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Ireland in view of Jeon, to attach the conductors to the cover through the recesses for aesthetic enhancement and space utilization benefits.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ireland et al (US 20140203776) in view of Jeon et al. (US 9972943) and Zhu et al. (U.S. 20190379165), further in view of Li et al. (U.S. 20230012596).
Dependent claim 3, the combination fails to teach of any sealing member to seal the accommodating space.
Li teaches of a battery module including a sealing member (Fig. 2- 33, Fig. 5 – 23, ¶[97-99]) between the bottom plate and the cover (fixing member 22, cap plate 10) to seal the accommodating space (¶[116-118]) in order to maintain a good sealing effect (¶[4, 94, 99, 116-118]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Ireland with that of Li, to incorporate a sealing member to achieve greater sealing effect.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talalayev et al (U.S. 20170093099) in view of Marelli et al. (U.S. 20200316380)
Dependent Claim 9, Talalayev teaches plurality of conductors (Fig. 1A, 1B, 1C – 112(a,b)) penetrating through the circuit board (Fig. 1C – 102, ¶[30, 31, 33]).
Talalayev fails to teach plurality of flexible cables connecting the conductors to the circuit board.
Marelli teaches plurality of conductors (Fig. 1A-3B – conductive track 111, ¶[28]) being connected to the circuit board (110) via flexible cable (Fig. 1B-3B – external cable 103) with ¶[2] explicitly mentioning that the flexible conductors such as wires are used to connect to the circuit boards in order to reduce mechanical strains such as deformations, vibration or compression.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Talalayev in view of Marelli, to use flexible cables to electrically connect the conductors to the circuit board in order to enhance mechanical stability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Simmer et al . (U.S. 20130330976) teaches a connector receptacle with a base having accommodating space with plurality of conductors connected to the circuit board and plurality of supporting pillars contained in the base. Adachi et al. (U.S. 8962174) teaches of a battery unit of plurality of conductors and supporting pillars located in the base having an accommodating space and attached to a circuit board. Wang et al. (TW 202110007) teaches of an electrical connector having a base with an accommodating space, circuit board, flexible cables attached to a plurality of conductors.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAWHID PRANTO whose telephone number is (571)270-3205. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 9am-6pm (often working later), M-F, ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JULIAN HUFFMAN can be reached on (571)272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TAWHID M PRANTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859