DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 08/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/18/2023 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “high energy gap” in claim 1, at line 4, and “low energy gap” at line 7, are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “high energy gap” and “low energy gap” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner is unclear as to what degree the energy gap must be to be a high or low energy gap polymer. Applicant is suggested to include numerical values to the energy gap of the polymers. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-11 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the wavelength of the maximum absorption of the film…" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 4 depend from claim 2 and are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0274069 A1 (hereinafter Son).
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Son disclose a conjugated polymer comprises a structure of Chemical Formula I (See [0014]):
.
In Chemical Formula I, each R1 through R12 may be identical or different and is any one selected from hydrogen and a C1-C20 straight or branched alkyl group (See [0015]). The conjugated polymer of Son comprises unit x and unit 1-x where x = 0.01 to 0.5. These two units contain electron donor and electron acceptor (See [0022]) and are fulfills the claimed polymer 1 and polymer 2. The unit x of Son (polymer 1) having a structure of:
is structurally similar as the claimed polymer 1 of:
as recited in claim 3.
Son failed to anticipate the claimed invention because Son does not specifically disclose a polymer with high energy gap and a polymer with low energy gap as required in claim 1.
Given that the conjugated polymer of Son comprises of two chemically different polymer units (i.e., unit x and unit 1-x), the units must have different energy gap from each other. As such, one polymer unit would having a higher or lower energy gap than the other polymer unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to formulate a conjugated polymer comprises a polymer with high energy gap and a polymer with low energy gap as required in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Son discloses that the conjugated polymer having a UV-vis absorption spectra in a wavelength of 300-800 nm (See Figures 1). The wavelength of the conjugated polymer of Son overlaps with the wavelength of the claimed film.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Son discloses a photoactive layer composition containing the conjugated polymer and a fullerene derivative as an electron acceptor as required in claim 5 (See [0022]). Son also discloses that the fullerene derivative material includes PC61BM, PC71BM, and ICBA (See [0023]). The fullerene derivative material of Son is structurally same as the claimed fullerene material structure as recited in claim 9, respectively
.
Since the fullerene derivative material of Son is structurally same as the claimed n-type fullerene material, the fullerene derivative material of Son would have an energy gap of less than 2.5 as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Son discloses an organic solar cell (organic optoelectronic device) comprises first ITO electrode (transparent electrode) with a photoactive layer there on and a second electrode on the photoactive layer (See [0070] to [0072]; Examples). Therefore, the photoactive layer is disposed between two electrodes.
Regarding claim 11, Son discloses that the organic solar cell (organic optoelectronic device) also comprises a buffer layer (See [0070)]. The buffer layer is formed on the first electrode to improve electron mobility and the photoactive layer is formed on the buffer layer (See [0073] and [0074]). The buffer layer of Son fulfills the claimed carrier transporting layer.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, there is no prior art alone or in combination that teaches or fairly suggest a conjugated polymer material comprises a polymer having a structure of polymer 2 as required in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, there is no prior art alone or in combination that teaches or fairly suggest an active layer material comprises a non-fullerene material having a structure of formula II of Ar2-Ar1-Ar2 as required in the instant claim.
Claims 7-8 depend from claim 6 and are allowable based on their dependencies.
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761