DETAILED ACTION
The response dated 02/17/2026 has been entered and is treated as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 11, 13-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US patent no. 6,984,839 (Igarashi).
Re-claim 1, US ‘839 is discloses system processing substrate which follows a method of controlling a substrate processing device, the method comprising:
aligning a door opener (Fig. 2A and 2B, element 3 and 6) with a front side of a door (Fig. 2A and 2B, element 6 and 4), wherein the door has closed an entrance (Fig. 1, element 10) of a substrate carrier (Fig. 1, element 2), and wherein the entrance of the substrate carrier faces in a first direction (Fig. 1 element 10 facing towards 52);
coupling (element 6) the door opener (element 3) to the door (element 4) which has closed the entrance (element 10) of the substrate carrier (element 2);
detaching the door from the substrate carrier after the coupling of the door opener to the door (Fig. 6 shows an opening of door);
lowering the door opener coupled to the door and exposing the entrance of the substrate carrier (Fig. 6);
taking out (col.6, lines 61-64) a first substrate of a plurality of substrates (Fig. 1, element 1) stacked in an internal space of the substrate carrier (Fig. 1, element 2);
aligning the door opener coupled to the door to be adjacent to a front side of the entrance of the substrate carrier (Fig 4),
wherein the door coupled with the door opener is inclined at an inclination angle with respect to the entrance of the substrate carrier (FIG. 4);
lowering the door opener coupled to the door in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 6); such that a vertical level of an uppermost end of the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate for taking out a second substrate of the plurality of substrates from the substrate carrier; (In Fig. 4-6 it can be seen the upper most end of the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate…) and taking out (col.6, lines 61-64, after the door is open robot arm 54 can remove the substrate) the second substrate (element 1) from the substrate carrier (element 2),
wherein the aligning of the door opener, the lowering of the door opener, and the taking out of the second substrate are performed after completion of the taking out of the first substrate of the plurality of substrates (Door can be closed in a same manner in the way it was opened, Fig. 4 is showing the state of open or closing of the door, Column 9, line 29).
Re-claim 3, US ‘839 is discloses the aligning of the door opener coupled to the door to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance of the substrate carrier (See attached Fig. 4), the door coupled with the door opener are apart from the front side of the entrance of the substrate carrier in the first direction by a separation distance (See attached Fig. 4), and wherein the separation distance between the entrance of the substrate carrier and the door increases in a direction toward an upper portion of the door(See attached Fig.4).
Re-claim 4, US ‘839 is discloses the aligning of the door opener (element 3 and 6) with the front side of the door (element 10), an upper surface of the door opener and an upper surface of the door are parallel with each other (Fig. 7A).
Re-claim 5, US ‘839 is discloses the aligning of the door opener coupled to the door to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance of the substrate carrier (See above attached Fig. 4), a distance in the first direction between the door coupled with the door opener and the plurality of substrates stacked inside the substrate carrier increases in an upward direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (See above attached Fig. 4).
Re-claim 6, US ‘839 is discloses the aligning of the door opener coupled to the door to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance of the substrate carrier (See above attached Fig. 4), the door and the front side of the entrance of the substrate carrier are apart from each other by a predetermined distance to maintain the entrance of the substrate carrier in an opened state (Fig 6).
Re-claim 7, US ‘839 is discloses after the lowering of the door opener (Fig. 6) in the second direction (as per annotation of Z, in above Fig. 4) and after all of the plurality of substrates (element 1) are taken out of the substrate carrier (element 2), completely closing the entrance of the substrate carrier by coupling the door to the entrance of the substrate carrier (Fig. 7A).
Re-claim 8, US ‘839 is discloses measuring a vertical level of a substrate to be taken out from the substrate carrier (element 9 col. 11 lines 35 to 64).
Re-claim 9 is canceled.
Re-claim 10, US ‘839 is discloses in the lowering of the door opener coupled to the door in the second direction (as per annotation of Z, in above Fig. 4) and the taking (col.6, lines 61-64) out the second substrate (element 1) out of the substrate carrier (element 2), the inclination angle of the door opener is maintained (Fig. 5 and 6).
Re-claim 11, US ‘839 is discloses a substrate carrier (element 2) configured to store a plurality of substrates (element 1) therein, the substrate carrier comprising an entrance facing (element 1) in a first direction (as per annotation of X, in above Fig. 4);
a door (element 4, 6) configured to selectively block the entrance (element 10) of the substrate carrier (element 2) and be selectively attached (Fig. 7) to or detached (Fig. 6) from the substrate carrier;
a transfer robot (element 54) disposed in front of the entrance (element 10) of the substrate carrier (element 2) and configured to take out (col.6, lines 61-64) the plurality of substrates (element 1) from the substrate carrier (element 2);
a door opener disposed below (element 56) the substrate carrier (element 2) and configured to attach (Fig. 7)or detach (Fig. 6) the door to or from the entrance (element 10) of the substrate carrier (element 2), wherein, when the door is detached from the entrance (Fig. 6), the door opener is coupled (element 3, 6) to the door (element 4) , and the door opener and the door move together as a one unit (Fig. 4 to 7);
and a control unit configured to control (element 56), after the transfer robot (element 54) takes a substrate (element 1) from the substrate carrier (element 2), the door opener coupled to the door to be aligned such that a vertical level of an uppermost end of the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate to take out a second substrate from the substrate carrier (In Fig. 4-6 it can be seen the upper most end of the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate…),
wherein the door opener coupled to the door is adjacent to a front side of the entrance (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4) and the door coupled to the door opener is inclined at an inclination angle with respect to the entrance (Fig. 4 to 6).
Re-claim 13, US ‘839 is discloses the substrate processing device (Fig.1 element 50) of wherein the control unit (Fig. 2A element 56) controls the door opener (element 3, 6) such that the door (element 4) coupled to the door opener (element 3, 6) is aligned to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance (element 10) and is apart from the entrance by a separation distance (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4) and wherein the separation distance increases in a direction toward an upper portion of the door (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4).
Re-claim 14, US ‘839 is discloses the substrate processing device (Fig.1 element 50) of wherein the substrate carrier (element 2) comprises the plurality of substrates (element 1) stacked therein in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4), and wherein the control unit controls the door opener such that when the door opener coupled to the door is aligned to be adjacent (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4) to the front side of the entrance (element 10), a distance between the door opener that is aligned to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance and the plurality of substrates increases in an upward direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4).
Re-claim 15, US ‘839 is discloses the substrate processing device (element 50) of wherein the control unit controls the door opener such that when the door opener coupled to the door is aligned to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4), the door opener and the front side of the entrance are apart from each other by a predetermined distance to maintain the entrance in an opened state (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4).
Re-claim 18, US ‘839 is discloses the substrate processing device (element 50) of wherein the control unit controls (element 56), after aligning the door opener coupled to the door to be adjacent to the front side of the entrance (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4), the door opener to be lowered while maintaining the inclination angle (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent no. 6,984,839 (Igarashi).
Re-claim 2 and 12 US ‘839 is discloses the inclination angle (Fig.4) between the door (element 4) and the entrance of the substrate carrier (element 10) but is silent regarding is selected from a range of about 10 degrees to about 45 degrees.
That said, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have included a range of the inclination angle is about 10 degrees to about 45 degrees because such a range is consistent with opening of the door (Fig. 2 to 6) shown in US’839 and because changes of angle or proportion do not patentably distinguish a claim from the prior art where they do not function differently. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent no. 6,984,839 (Igarashi) in view of US PG Pub No. US 20190371638 A1 (WU).
Re-claim 16 US ‘839 is discloses the substrate processing device (element 50) also discloses among the plurality of substrates (element 1) stored inside the substrate carrier (element 2), to be taken out from the substrate carrier (col.6, lines 61-64). Also includes a position senser (element 9).
It does not disclose of wherein the substrate carrier comprises a position sensor inside of the substrate carrier.
US ‘638 teaches the substrate carrier (Fig. 1 element, 102) comprises a position sensor (Fig. 1, element 116, 118) configured to measure a vertical level of a substrate (Fig. 5A and B, paragraph [0024] line 35-40)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified US ‘839 to relocate a position sensor inside the substrate carrier to measure the vertical level of substrates as taught by US ‘638 because doing so; moving the sensor without modifying the operation of sensor would have been obvious because simple relocation without a change in operation does not patentably distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
claim 17 is canceled.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent no. 6,984,839 (Igarashi) in view of US PG Pub No. US 20170178942 A1 (Sakata).
Re-claim 19 US ‘839 is discloses a substrate processing device comprising (element 50):
a substrate carrier configured to stack and store a plurality of substrates (element 1) therein in a direction perpendicular to a lower surface thereof, the substrate carrier (element 2) comprising an entrance (element 10) facing in a first direction;
a transfer chamber (element 52) connected to the substrate carrier (element 2) through the entrance (element 10) and comprising a transfer robot (element 54) therein, the transfer robot being configured to transfer the plurality (col.6, lines 61-64) of substrates from the substrate carrier into an inside of the transfer chamber (element 52).
It also disclosed a door configured to selectively block the entrance (element 10) of the substrate carrier and be selectively attached (Fig. 7) to or detached (Fig. 6) from the substrate carrier (element 2); a door opener disposed (element 56) below the substrate carrier (element 2) and configured to attach (Fig. 7) or detach (Fig. 6) the door to or from the entrance of the substrate carrier (element 2), wherein, when the door is detached from the entrance, the door opener is coupled to the door, and the door opener and the door move together as a one unit (Fig. 6);
and a control unit configured (element 56) to control, after the transfer robot (54) takes out a first a substrate (col.6, lines 61-64) from the substrate carrier, the door opener such that:
the door opener coupled to the door is aligned to be adjacent to a front side of the entrance (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4),
the door coupled to the door opener is inclined at an inclination angle with respect to the entrance (Col.8, line 5-20),
the door coupled to the door opener is apart from the entrance by a separation distance increasing in a direction toward an upper portion of the door (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4), and
a vertical level of an uppermost end of the door coupled with the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate taken out from the substrate carrier to take out a second substrate from the substrate carrier (In Fig. 4-6 it can be seen the upper most end of the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate…), and
the door opener coupled to the door and the front side of the entrance are apart from each other by a predetermined distance to keep the entrance in an opened state (as per annotation in, above Fig. 4).
It does not disclose a fan filter unit disposed on the transfer chamber and configured to introduce outside air into the transfer chamber.
US ‘942 teaches a fan filter unit (Fig. 2, element 5) disposed on the transfer chamber (Fig. 2, element 3) and configured to introduce outside air into the transfer chamber (paragraph [0045], lines 26-30) for supplying air downward toward the inner portion of the mini-environment and a high-performance filter for removing contaminants such as minute dust and organic materials present in the incoming air (paragraph [0045], lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified US ‘839 to include a fan filter unit to transfer the outside into the transfer chamber in view of US ‘942 for supplying air downward toward the inner portion of the mini-environment and a high-performance filter for removing contaminants such as minute dust and organic materials present in the incoming air.
Re-claim 20 US ‘839 is discloses the substrate processing device (element 50) of wherein the substrate carrier comprises a position sensor (element 9) configured to measure a vertical level of a substrate (element 9 col. 11 lines 35 to 64), to be taken out from the substrate carrier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 of the remarks, “FIG. 4 shows that the lid 4 is opened and the mapping frame 5 operates to detect wafers, FIG. 5 shows that the wafer detection (mapping) is finished, and FIG. 6 shows that the mapping frame 5 is returned to the waiting position.” This argument is not persuasive.
On column 9 lines, 28-30, Fig. 4 shows “a state in which the lid 4 is open and closed and the mapping frame 5…” which is considered as a disclosure of how the door is opening and closing. Therefore, the rejection is deemed proper.
Applicant further argues on page 7 of the remarks, “During this continuous lowering of the lid 4 for detection, no wafer is removed from a pod 2 storing the wafers, and the opener 3 is not realigned after any wafer is removed.” This argument is not persuasive.
Wafer is being taken out. For this operation see column 6, lines 61-64 is disclosing, “Also, the robot arm 54 of a transport robot is provided in the interior of the minienvironment 52. After the lid 4 of the pod 2 is opened, the robot arm 54 puts in and out the wafer 1 contained in the pod 2 through an opening in the pod 2 and the access opening 10”.
Igarashi discloses that the wafer removal operation occurs after the door reaches the lower position. The claimed aligning step is broadly recited and reasonably encompasses the closing of the door, since closing results in realignment of the door. The rejection is deemed proper.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the remark, amended claim 11 recites “a control unit configured to control, after the transfer robot takes a first substrate from the substrate carrier, the door opener coupled to the door to be aligned such that a vertical level of an uppermost end of the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate to take out a second substrate from the substrate carrier, wherein the door opener coupled to the door is adjacent to a front side of the entrance and the door coupled to the door opener is inclined at an inclination angle with respect to the entrance,” which is similarly recited in claim 1. Accordingly, claim 11 and its dependent claims are believed to be patentable over Igarashi. Furthermore, on page 12 of remark applicant argues “these limitations are similarly recited in claims 1 and 11. At least for the reasons discussed regarding claims 1 and 11, claim 19 and its dependent claims are believed to be patentable over the cited references.”
Regarding the claims 1, 11 and 19 of the instant application recites that, “the door opener is lower than a vertical level of the first substrate”.
The claims are broad enough to read on a door that is opened all the way below in the opening stage as per column 9 lines, 28-30.
It should be noted that “lower” is not limited to just below the level of the first substrate (wafer) and/or covering a portion of the entrance of the substrate carrier.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 11, 19 and all the other dependent claims are still deemed proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited prior art shows the alignment of the door in Fig. 13 and 14 and it shows that door can be in hold position while substrate is taken out from substrate carrier in Fig. 15 (See ¶0093 and ¶0094). Also, in ¶0098 discloses types of objects and in ¶0103 discloses the control unit for opening and closing of the door.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652