DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows.
“cooperating bracket feature” in Claim 1, third and fourth lines from the bottom.
“corresponding bracket features” in Claim 3, lines 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over MacKay et al (US 2018/0225908 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, MacKay discloses
a single space parking meter (100, 300a, 300b), as illustrated in figures 1-3, comprising:
parking meter components, i.e., such as card reader (1934), coin chute (1936), and contactless payment card reader and antenna (1938), as mentioned in paragraph 172 and as illustrated in figure 24, as well as the meter mechanism as mentioned at paragraph 145, for example, providing metering functionality for a parking space, as mentioned at paragraph 7, for example; and
a housing, i.e., front cover (102) and rear cover (104), bottom plate (306), saddle plate (106) and coin vault housing (108), for example, as mentioned at paragraphs 138 and 145, comprising:
a rear housing, (102) secured to a mounting structure, i.e., saddle plate (106), coin vault housing (108) and lower protrusion (112), as illustrated in figure 4, located in the vicinity of the parking space, the rear housing (102) comprising a cooperating bracket feature, i.e., rails (702), as mentioned at paragraph 154 and 156 and figure 7, for example; and
a front housing, i.e., front cover (104), comprising an interior side with one or more of the parking meter components (1934, 1936, 1938), coupled to the interior side, as illustrated in figure 10, for example, the front housing (104) further comprising at least one bracket, i.e., rail guides (1004), as illustrated in figure 10 and as mentioned at paragraph 159, extending from a bottom of the front housing (104), the front housing (104), at least partially separable from the rear housing (102), wherein:
in a secured orientation of the housing (102, 104, 106, 108, 306), the rear housing (102) and the front housing (104) are mounted to the mounting structure, i.e., saddle plate (106), coin vault housing (108) and lower protrusion (112), and provide protection
to the parking meter components (1934, 1936, 1938) from an external environment, as mentioned in paragraph 67; and
in a maintenance orientation of the housing (102, 104, 106, 108, 306), as mentioned at paragraphs 134, 146, 160, 176 and 180, as illustrated in figures 20-30, the front housing (104), is mounted to the rear housing (102), by the bracket, i.e., rails (1004), as illustrated in figure 10, extending from the bottom of the front housing (104) engaging with the cooperating bracket feature, i.e., rails (702) of the rear housing (102), as illustrated in figures 7 and 10 and as mentioned at paragraphs 154, 156, 158 and 159, to provide access to the parking
meter components (1934, 1936, 1938) to facilitate performing maintenance on one or more of the parking meter components (1934, 1936, 1938), as mentioned at paragraphs 134, 146, 154, 156, 158, 159, 160, 163, 171, 175, 176, 180 and 182, which states as follows.
[0134] Further, and unlike traditional parking meter mechanisms in which components are permanently or least semi-permanently secured, the parking meter of the present disclosure may make use of quick-connect connections for securing components, such as radio boards or modules, as well as payment components or modules, such as contact-based card readers, coin chutes, and contactless payment readers within the parking meter. The quick-connect connections may simplify the maintenance process as individual components that may have failed or malfunctioned may now be quickly and easily replaced with functioning components. Similarly, the modules or components may be easily and quickly replaced with new modules or components that provide improved performance, updated configurations or new/different features. For example, a radio module may be replaced with a new version that provides increased transmission range while reducing power consumption. The quick-connect connections may be employed so as to secure the removable components or modules to an internal structure of the single space parking meter using tool-less connectors (e.g., thumbscrews). In turn, a main processing board of the single space parking meter, which includes a processor, may be communicatively coupled to one or more of the removable components and may provide metering functionality for a parking location.
0146] The front assembly 302 may be locked to the rear assembly 304 using a locking mechanism, which may be operated via a keyhole 202 in the rear cover 102 as depicted in FIG. 2. The locking mechanism may be affixed to the rear cover and engage with and secure the front cover in the locked position, or alternatively the locking mechanism may be affixed to the front cover and engage with and secure the rear cover when in the locked position. The front assembly 302 may be removed and replaced as a complete assembly, for example, by fully raising or lifting the front assembly vertically until its bottom end clears the rails of the rear assembly. Partially or fully raising the front assembly 302 from the rear assembly 304 may be done to, for example, inspect components or perform routine maintenance such as replacing batteries or clearing card reader or coin chute blockages. The rails may provide a spring-catch assembly (not shown) that allows the front assembly 302 to be lifted and held at any one of multiple partially raised positions which allows hands free service work and testing of the meter to be carried out while in the partially raised or lifted position. Releasing the spring-catch would release the front assembly 302 allowing it to freely slide up or down on the rails or profiles. Alternatively, the front assembly 302 may be raised to a first position such that the rail guides of the front assembly 302 may be released from the rails of the rear assembly 304 at this first position, while the bottom of the front assembly 302 remains engaged with the rear assembly. Under this alternative configuration, there would also be a hinge, such as a telescoping or folded metal rod, located at a release point. For example, the hinge may be fixed at or near the top of the front assembly at one of its ends (such as at or near the top of the rail guides) and at the other end fixed at or near the top of the rear assembly (such as at or near the top of the rails). Releasing, separating or detaching the front assembly from the rear assembly at the release point allows the hinge to unfold or extend to a stopping point and the front assembly to tilt forward to a non-vertical or horizontal position. The bottom of the front assembly that remains engaged with the bottom of the rear assembly is pivotably configured at such bottom location so as to allow the front assembly to rotate forward from its vertical position to the more horizontal position. Such pivotable configuration may require that the rail guides at the bottom of the front assembly be partially releasable or hinge-able relative to the bottom of the rails and/or bottom of the rear assembly in order to allow for the rotation of the front assembly. Such rotation, which involves pivoting or hinging about an axis at the bottom location, thus allows for the back side or internally-facing components of the front assembly to be exposed for service work. The ability to raise the front assembly in this regard is advantageous for more openly exposing some or all of the internal parking meter components as compared with traditional single space parking meters. This may make repair, servicing and/or replacement of such components easier and/or quicker. With respect to the coin chute, a mirror (not shown) may be positioned just above a coin inspection slot or opening for the purpose of facilitating or making easier the inspection of the coin chute for blockages. Alternatively, payment devices may have quick release knobs allowing them to be disengaged from a normally fixed/rigid position on the front cover, such that they can be quickly and easily inspected, serviced and/or removed without the use of tools.
[0154] FIG. 7 depicts an isometric view of the rear cover. As depicted, the rear cover 102 may be formed as an extrusion that has been machined to provide additional features. The machining may include boring a hole for a lock as well as machining a location for the rear status LEDs 204. The extrusion of the rear cover 102 includes rails, protrusions or similar structures 702 that the front assembly can engage with, and slide up and down on. The rails 702 may be located on the circumferential ends of the semi-circular rear cover 102. As depicted in FIG. 7, the extended cylindrical portions 604 may comprise a slit running the length of each extended cylindrical portion 604. The slits allow the rear cover 102 to be formed as an extrusion. An upper portion 704 of the rear cover extrusion is machined to remove an upper portion of the rails 702 and an upper portion of the extended cylindrical portions 604. The machining of the upper portion 704 of the rear cover allows the front assembly 302 to be received within the rear cover 102. While a rear cover formed as an extrusion as described above may include formed rails 702 that the front assembly can engage with, it should be recognized that equivalent rails, protrusions or structures can be created using a rear cover created from formed and folded stainless steel, or injection molded high strength plastic or polycarbonate co-polymer resins. Injection molded covers may include one or more formed vertical channels around the inside perimeter of the cylindrical wall which may accept hardened reinforcing rods that extend from the bottom plate up to the top of the cylinder. The vertical channels may take the form of extended cylindrical portions 604. The reinforcement rods may be used to augment the high strength housing, and act as a deterrent to vandal attack using hack saws, or other common cutting tools. Similar reinforcements may be applied to injection molded covers or housings in strategic areas, such as connection points, surrounding openings, or in likely points of attack by vandals. The reinforcing metal components may be inserted into formed channels, pockets, or similar structures for receiving the reinforcing components. Additionally or alternatively, the reinforcing metal components may be incorporated into the injection molded covers using an over molding technique.
[0156] As described above, the rear cover may include rails, protrusions or similar structures that can engage with corresponding features of the front assembly. Accordingly, the front assembly may be engaged to the rear cover 102 by sliding the front assembly down the rails 702 of the rear cover. The rear cover 102 may be secured to the bottom plate 306 by bolts or threaded rods extending through the extended cylindrical portions 604 on the interior of the rear cover 102. Alternatively, the bottom plate 306 may be welded to the rear cover 102. The bottom plate 306 may be secured to the saddle 106 plate by a twist or rotation lock mechanism on the extended bolts 402 securing the saddle plate 106 to the coin vault housing 108. Accordingly, if the bottom plate 306 is prevented from rotating, the bottom plate 306 and the attached rear cover 102 will not be able to be removed from the saddle plate 106 and coin vault housing 108. Further, if the front assembly 302 is prevented from being slid vertically on or along the rear cover rails 702, the entire parking meter assembly 101 will be rigidly secured to the existing coin vault housing 108.
[0158] FIG. 9 depicts a top view of the rear cover 102 and bottom plate 306 secured to the saddle plate 106. As depicted in FIG. 9, when the bottom plate 306 is rotated or twisted in the clockwise direction, the large diameter heads 420 of the bolts 402 secure the bottom plate 306 to the saddle plate 106. The nuts 606 secure the bolts passing through the extended cylindrical portions 604 of the rear cover 102 to the bottom plate 306. The rail like structures 702 upon which the front assembly may slidably engage are depicted in the Figure.
[0159] FIG. 10 depicts a rear isometric view of the front assembly. The front assembly 302 may provide a removable parking meter mechanism. The front assembly 302 comprises a front cover 104 and attached parking meter components. The front assembly 302 may include rail guides 1004 that engage with the rails 702 of the rear cover 102. The rail guides 1004 of the front assembly 302 may be formed as part of the front cover 104, or may be provided as separate components that may be attached to the front cover 104. If provided as separate components, the rail guides 1004 may be formed from metal and secured to the front cover by screws or bolts. In addition to providing a strong connection to the rear assembly, the engagement of the metal rails 702 with the rail guides 1004 may provide additional strength against vandalism. The front assembly 302 comprises a plurality of parking meter components mounted, either directly or indirectly, to the front cover 104. The parking meter components comprise a coin chute component 1006 that can discriminate a value of a coin inserted into the parking meter mechanism. The parking meter components may also comprise a magnetic stripe and chip card reader 1008, as well as a contactless payment reader 1010 for carrying out transactions. An inner frame 1012, which is depicted in greater detail in FIGS. 12 and 13, is mounted to the front cover 104 and may be used to mount electronic components, including, for example, a main processing board comprising a processor and associated memory for storing and executing control code to provide the desired software functionality of the parking meter. As well, a radio module or modem may be mounted to or in the vicinity of the inner frame 1012. A battery compartment 1014, described in further detail with reference to FIG. 14, may be pivotally connected to the inner frame 1012. The battery compartment 1014 may include a main battery compartment (not visible in FIG. 10) and rechargeable battery compartment 1016. The pivotally connected battery compartment 1014 may be secured in the position depicted in FIG. 10 by clasps or similar structures. The battery compartment 1014 may be released from the inner frame 1012, and so rotated outwards to allow replacement of the batteries, by pressing release tabs 1018. The front assembly 302 may further include a radio transceiver 1020 as well as a solar panel 136 located at the top of the front assembly 302. Further, the front assembly 302 may include a locking mechanism 1022 for securing the front assembly to the rear assembly 304, as well as for preventing the joined front and rear assemblies from rotating when connected to the saddle plate. Alternatively, the rear assembly 304 may include the locking mechanism 1022 for securing the front assembly 302 to the rear assembly 304, as well as for preventing the joined front and rear assemblies from rotating when connected to the saddle plate.
[0160] FIG. 11 depicts a rear isometric view of the front assembly's front cover or housing. The front cover 104 may be formed from plastic or other high strength materials, including, for example, metals or alloys. Advantages of high strength plastic include lower interference with wireless communications from the parking meter and stronger protection of internal components (as compared to prior parking meters that included antennas with no high strength housing protection). The front cover 104 may be molded or otherwise machined to provide the exterior surface, as well as to provide a plurality of mounting points for connecting the parking meter components. The front cover 104 if injected molded using high strength plastic formulations, may include strategically placed features or projections on the inside surfaces for the attachment of steel rod or sheet metal which may provide additional vandal resistance against common cutting tools. In addition, the injected molded plastic formulations may include a mixture of small glass or ceramic beads providing anti-drilling protection. The front cover 104 may include rearward projecting protrusions 1102 that may extend toward the rear cover. The rearward projecting protrusions 1102 may provide screw or bolt holes for securing a lock plate, described further below with particular reference to FIGS. 15 and 16. The front cover 104 may include a recess 1104 at the top of the front cover 104 for receiving a solar panel. The solar panel recess 1104 may include a secondary radio antenna recess 1106 located towards the front of the front cover 104. The radio antenna recess 1106 may provide a location for a flexible antenna that may be used for various communications, including for example cellular data communications related to authorization of payment transactions, verification of parking meter status, and/or updating of parking meter functions. Preferably, the antenna is located at or close to the curved inner surface of the front cover 104 within the recess 1106. Alternatively, the antenna may be integrated into or surface mounted to the top facing surface of the solar panel. The solar panel recess 1104 and radio antenna recess 1106 may be fixedly part of, or rigidly attached to, the front cover 104, or, alternatively, the solar panel recess 1104 and radio antenna recess 1106 may be removable components that are replaceable in the field. The solar panel may optionally be covered with a transparent material that may be applied after the solar panel is received in the solar panel recess. Also, the solar panel may be permanently sealed or glued in the recess using an adhesive, such as a 3M adhesive gasket. In the alternative, the solar panel 136 may be provided in a solar panel assembly or module that slidably engages with or is removably coupled or secured to the front cover 104, and further electrically engages with a battery of the parking meter when the solar panel assembly is fully engaged with the front cover. The solar panel assembly allows the solar panel to be replaceable/serviceable in the event of vandalism, failure or other damage. Such solar panel assembly may include the one or more lights, such as LED-type lights, that may be positioned at or near where the top of the flat portion 114 transitions from the recessed flat portion 114 to the cylindrical perimeter of the front cover 104. Such solar panel assembly may further include status LEDs or holes for permitting the visibility of such status LEDs. In addition to the alternative solar panel assembly, the radio antenna may alternatively be provided in a radio antenna compartment that slidably engages with or is removably coupled or secured to the front cover 104, and further electrically engages with the main electronics board when the radio antenna compartment is fully engaged with the front cover. This allows the radio and antenna combination to be quickly and easily swapped out in the field for maintenance/service, to replace/inspect a SIM card, or to switch the meter from one cellular network to another alternative network that may have better coverage or signal strength than the original network. The inside surface of the front cover 104 comprises a number of mounting locations for other components. The mounting points may include, for example, a mounting location for display and input components 1108, a mounting location for a contactless reader 1110, a mounting location for a magnetic stripe and chip reader 1112 as well as a mounting location for a coin chute 1114. Although a specific molding of a front cover is depicted, it will be appreciated that the particular locations of the mounting points and other features may vary, and will depend upon the specific components incorporated into the parking meter.
[0163] FIG. 15 depicts a locking mechanism. FIG. 16 depicts components of the locking mechanism of FIG. 15. The locking mechanism 1022 may be secured to the front cover 104 and used to secure the front assembly 302 to the rear assembly 304, and also to prevent rotation of the rear assembly 304, and in particular to prevent rotation of the bottom plate 306, relative to the saddle plate 106. Alternatively, the locking mechanism 1022 may be secured to the rear cover 102 and used to secure the front assembly 304 to the rear assembly 302, and also to prevent rotation of the rear assembly 302. In particular, the locking mechanism 1022 in this regard may prevent rotation of the bottom plate 306 relative to the saddle plate 106. As depicted, the locking mechanism 1022 comprises a lower lock plate 1506 that is secured to the front cover 104. The lower lock plate 1506 includes openings 1518a, 1518b through which the elevated overhangs 816a, 816b of the bottom plate 306 may be received. The lower lock plate 1506 comprises an upwardly turned portion 1508 that provides a mounting location for other locking mechanism components, including a cylinder lock 1502. The cylinder lock has a rotating barrel that rotates when an appropriate key is turned. The rotating barrel is attached to an actuating cam plate 1504 that rotates and extends or retracts locking arms 1514a, 1514b attached to the cam plate. It is noted that the connection between the rotating cam plate 1504 and the locking arms 1514a, 1514b is not depicted in FIG. 15 for simplicity. A capture plate 1510 may be secured to the upturned section 1508 of the lower lock plate 1506. The capture plate 1510 may have bent sections 1512 on either end of the capture plate 1510. When attached to the lock plate 1506, the capture plate 1510, and in particular the bent sections 1512, provide a guide channel through which the lock arms 1514a, 1514b may pass. The guide channels allow the locking arms 1514a, 1514b to move inwards and outwards when the lock is turned. In FIG. 15, the locking arms 1514a, 1514b are depicted in the locked position. In the locked position, horizontal surfaces of the locking arms 1514a, 1514b, which are parallel to the lower lock plate 1506, are located under lower surfaces of the elevated overhangs 816a, 816b and adjacent to openings 1518a, 1518b, respectively. With the locking arms 1514a, 1514b retained or secured under the elevated overhangs 816a, 816b of the bottom plate 306 of the rear assembly 304, the locking mechanism 1022, and the attached front assembly 302 become rigidly coupled to the rear assembly 304. As a result, vertical separation of the front assembly 302 from the rear assembly 304 is prevented. In addition to vertically securing the front assembly to the rear assembly, the locking mechanism 1022 also prevents rotation of the bottom plate 306 relative to the saddle plate 106, as openings 1516a, 1516b engage the large diameter heads 420 of the bolts 402, which are stationary relative to the locking mechanism 1022 of the front assembly 302 when fully inserted into and engaged with the rear assembly 304. In the unlocked position, the horizontal surfaces of the locking arms 1514a, 1514b as described above are retracted out from under the elevated overhangs 816a, 816b, and as such the front assembly 302 may be slid vertically upward on or along the rear assembly 304, and in such situation the rear assembly 304 including bottom plate 306 may be rotated, thus permitting rotation of the full parking meter assembly 101. Having the ability to vertically slid the front assembly 302 alone in an upward direction when in the unlocked position is advantageous, as it allows, for example, maintenance personnel access to the electronic and other components of the front assembly 302 in the event that repair or replacement is required, or inspection of components (such as coin or card payment components) is desirable.
[0171] FIG. 20 depicts a rear isometric view of the single space parking meter of FIG. 19 with the parking meter mechanism partially raised. As depicted, a rear assembly 1920 can be secured to the coin vault 108 and saddle plate 1922. The rear assembly 1920 may comprises a bottom plate 1924 that can be secured to bolts securing the saddle plate 1922 to the coin vault housing 108 using a twisting motion to capture the bolts within narrowing openings in the bottom plate. A rear cover 1989 may be secured to the bottom plate 1924 using any number of fastening techniques such as welding, screws, bolts, etc. Although not visible in FIG. 20, the rear assembly also includes a locking assembly that comprises a locking component that prevents rotation of the rear assembly 1920 relative to the bolts securing the saddle plate 1924 to the coin vault housing 108. As described above, bolt heads of the bolts cannot be withdrawn through the narrowed portion of the openings in the bottom plate, and, as such, when rotation of the rear assembly is prevented, removal of the rear assembly from the saddle plate and coin vault housing is also prevented. The locking assembly further comprises a locking component for preventing vertical movement of a front assembly 1926 relative to the rear assembly 1920 when engaged with the front assembly in a lowered position. When the vertical locking component is disengaged, the front assembly 1926 may be slid up and/or down the rear assembly 1920. The front assembly 1926 may be partially slid up the rear assembly 1920 to a service position as depicted in FIG. 20 that allows for inspection and servicing of internal parking meter components. Although described as sliding vertically to a service position, it is possible for other movements to be provided. For example, it is possible for the front assembly 1926 to slide vertically and then rotate or hinge so as to place the front assembly in an angled or at least partially horizontal position to facilitate servicing and inspections. The front assembly 1926 may be completely removed from the rear assembly 1920 for replacement or other purposes.
[0175] FIG. 23 depicts a side view of the internal structure of FIG. 22 attached to the front cover of FIG. 21. As depicted, when the front cover 1918 is secured to the internal structure 1928, the corresponding bearing surfaces 1946, 1952 of the front cover 1918 and the internal structure 1928, respectively, are in close proximity to each other forming a channel 1958. The channel 1958 captures a rail of the rear assembly 1920 to secure the front assembly 1926 to the rear assembly 1920 while allowing the front assembly 1926 to slide up and down the rear assembly 1920.
[0176] FIG. 24 depicts a top perspective view of removable components of the parking meter of FIG. 19. As described above, the internal structure 1928 (not shown in FIG. 24) and the front cover 1918 may provide mounting features to allow the payment components, such as coin chute 1936, card reader 1934 and contactless payment reader 1938 to be releasably secured within the parking meter. As an example, the payment components may be secured to the front cover 1918 and internal structure 1928 using thumbscrews 1960. The thumbscrews 1960 allow the components to be easily disengaged from the meter housing or covering for inspection, service, or removal from the meter housing or covering if necessary. The thumbscrews 1960 may be inserted through a capturing component on the internal structure and turned an amount, such as a quarter turn, in order to secure the connection. For example, during routine maintenance on the street, a coin chute 1936 may be quickly replaced with another coin chute by unscrewing the thumbscrew or thumbscrews and removing the coin chute 1936. Additionally or alternatively, unscrewing the thumbscrew may allow the payment component to be moved to a partially attached position which allows the payment component to be easily inspected while not being fully separated from the parking meter. For example, the payment components may be pivotally connected to the parking meter's front cover. Unscrewing the thumbscrew may allow the payment component to become partially disengaged from the meter housing or covering and swing outwards into a disengagement position. Such a disengagement position may provide improved visibility for inspection and improved access for service without actual removal of the payment component from the parking meter. Once inspection or service has been completed, the payment component may be swung or rotated back to a fully engaged position and the thumbscrew re-attached to secure the payment device in the fully engaged position. If upon inspection or servicing it is determined that the payment component should be replaced, it can be removed from the disengagement position and a replacement component secured to the parking meter.
[0180] FIG. 28 depicts a side view of the front assembly and radio assembly (or radio communication component). In addition to the slidable solar panel assembly 1970 described above, the radio antenna of the parking meter may be provided in a radio antenna compartment or removable radio module 1930 that slidably engages with or is removably coupled or secured to the front assembly 1926 and further electrically engages with the main electronics board when it is fully engaged onto the front assembly. The radio antenna compartment 1930 may be secured in position by, for example, thumbscrews 1960. The radio antenna compartment 1930 comprises a housing 1978 that can enclose radio electronics such as radio transceivers. An electrical connector 1984 may be secured to the housing 1978 so that when the radio antenna compartment is slid into the front assembly, the electrical connector mates with a corresponding connection to establish power and data connections. This allows the radio and antenna combination to be quickly and easily swapped out in the field for maintenance/service, to replace/inspect a SIM card, or to switch the meter from one cellular network to another alternative network that may have better coverage or signal strength than the original network. The radio antenna compartment 1930 may include a metal ground plane 1980 above which an antenna board 1982 may be located. As will be appreciated, the metal ground plane may be used to provide desired radio frequency (RF) transmission performance from the antenna of the antenna board 1982. The radio antenna compartment 1930 may also include conductive sprays applied onto inside surfaces of the compartment for the purpose of shielding the radio and reducing spurious emissions. As depicted in FIG. 29, the radio antenna board 1982 (as seen from above) may be contoured in order to follow the shape of the front cover 1918 in order to locate the antenna in a favorable location adjacent the front cover.
[0182] FIG. 31 depicts a perspective view of the rear assembly. The rear assembly 1920 includes a rear cover 1989 that provides the rear portion of the protective housing. The rear cover 1989 includes two rails 1990, 1992 that can be received within the channel 1958 between the bearing surfaces of the front cover 1918 and the internal structure 1928 (as shown in FIG. 23). The front assembly can be slid up and down the rails 1990, 1992. The rails may include an indent 1994 that can engage a releasable locking pin to maintain the front assembly in a partially raised position, such as that of FIG. 20, to facilitate servicing and inspections. The rear assembly 1920 further includes the cylindrical lock 1984 and attached hook bar 1986 for securing the front assembly to the rear assembly and preventing vertical movement. The rear assembly further includes a second locking component 1995 that prevents rotation of the rear assembly 1920. As described above, the rear assembly may be secured to the coin vault housing by twisting the rear cover, and attached bottom plate, so that expanded bolt heads secured to the coin vault housing are positioned above a reduced-sized opening. The bolt heads in this position, in combination with the reduced-sized openings of the bottom plate, prevent the rear assembly from being lifted away from the coin vault assembly. As a result, the combination of the second locking component 1995 and bolt heads positioned above reduced-sized openings prevents withdrawal or removal of the rear assembly from the coin vault assembly and ensures the two assemblies are secured together. The second locking component or rotational lock 1995 comprises a locking arm 1996 pivotally connected to the bottom plate 1924. The locking arm 1996 includes two protrusions 1998, although other numbers of protrusions are possible, that when the locking arm is in a lowered locked position, protrude through openings in the bottom plate and are received in corresponding apertures in the coin vault assembly to prevent rotation. When in an unlocked position, the protrustions 1998 do not extend into the apertures of the coin vault assembly, and the rear assembly can be rotated such that the securing bolt heads of the coin vault assembly may be positioned within the expanded portions of the bottom plate openings. As such, the securing bolt heads can be lifted or withdrawn through the openings. Alternatively, the rear assembly may be secured to the coin vault housing using other fastening techniques such as screws or bolts, wherein the bottom plate is not rotatable in the manner as described above.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 3, MacKay discloses
wherein the front housing (104, 1918, 1926) comprises a pair of brackets, i.e. channels (1958), as illustrated in figure 31, locking arms (1514a, 1514b) as illustrated in figure 15, that slidably engage with corresponding bracket features, i.e.., rails (1990, 1992) of the rear housing (102) to hold the front housing (104, 1989, 1929, 1924) in a substantially horizontal orientation, as mentioned at paragraphs 146, 163, 171 and 176, for example.
Regarding Claim 4, MacKay discloses
wherein the pair of brackets, i.e., such as locking arms (1514a, 1514b), as illustrated in figure 15, are received within corresponding recesses in the parking meter in the secured orientation, as mentioned at paragraph 163, for example.
Regarding Claim 5, MacKay discloses wherein the corresponding recesses are at least partially within the mounting structure of the parking meter, noting that there are numerous recesses in the internal structure of both the first (102, 1989, 1929, 1924) and second portions (104, 1918, 1926), as illustrated in figures 3-16 and 20-34.
Regarding Claim 6, MacKay discloses, wherein the bracket of the front housing is one of:
a separate component that is secured to the front housing (104, 1918, 1926), as mentioned in paragraph 14, i.e., “[i]n accordance with a further embodiment of the parking meter, the one or more rail guides of the front assembly are formed as separate components and attached to the edges of the front cover of the front assembly”, paragraph 138, 3rd from the last sentence, i.e., “[t]he separate locking components may be operated or actuated individually”, 145, i.e., 3rd from the last sentence, i.e., “[t]he rail guides of the front assembly 302 may be formed as part of the front cover 104, or may be provided as separate components that may be attached to the front cover 104”, paragraph 149, 8th and 9th sentences, i.e., “[a]lthough described above as two separate securing mechanisms, the two securing mechanisms may be inter-related” and “[f]or example, as depicted in FIG. 4, the saddle plate 106 may be secured to the coin vault housing 108 using a plurality of bolts 402”, paragraph 159, 3rd and 4th sentences, i.e., “[t]he rail guides 1004 of the front assembly 302 may be formed as part of the front cover 104, or may be provided as separate components that may be attached to the front cover 104” and “[i]f provided as separate components, the rail guides 1004 may be formed from metal and secured to the front cover by screws or bolts”; and
formed as an integral component of the front housing (104, 1918, 1926), as mentioned at paragraph 168, 3rd sentence from the bottom, i.e., “[a]lternatively, the bottom plate and the rear cover, or other portions of a protective outer covering of the parking meter assembly, may be integrally formed as a single component”.
Regarding Claim 7, MacKay discloses wherein the accessible parking meter
components are arranged substantially horizontally when the housing is in the maintenance orientation, as mentioned at paragraphs 146, 163, 171 and 176.
Regarding Claim 8, MacKay discloses wherein the housing can be placed in a
second maintenance position with the accessible parking meter components arranged substantially vertically, as mentioned at paragraphs 146, 163, 171 and 176, noting in particular the second and third sentences from the bottom of paragraph 171, i.e., “[a]lthough described as sliding vertically to a service position, it is possible for other movements to be provided” and “[f]or example, it is possible for the front assembly 1926 to slide vertically and then rotate or hinge so as to place the front assembly in an angled or at least partially horizontal position to facilitate servicing and inspections”, and noting paragraph 143 mentions moving the solar panel to any one of two or more vertical slopes or angles relative to the horizon, for example.
Regarding Claim 9, MacKay discloses wherein the rear housing is secured to the mounting structure in both the secured orientation and the maintenance orientation, and as mentioned at paragraphs 146, 163, 171 and 176.
Regarding Claim 10, MacKay discloses wherein the front housing is locked to the rear housing in the secured orientation, as mentioned at paragraphs 146, 163, 171 and 176.
Regarding Claim 11, MacKay discloses, wherein a keyed lock is accessible through the first portion of the housing, as mentioned at paragraphs 146, 163, 171 and 176, for example.
Regarding Claim 12, see the rejection of Claims 1-11, above.
Note that paragraphs 146, 171 and 185 discloses as follows.
[0146] The front assembly 302 may be locked to the rear assembly 304 using a locking mechanism, which may be operated via a keyhole 202 in the rear cover 102 as depicted in FIG. 2. The locking mechanism may be affixed to the rear cover and engage with and secure the front cover in the locked position, or alternatively the locking mechanism may be affixed to the front cover and engage with and secure the rear cover when in the locked position. The front assembly 302 may be removed and replaced as a complete assembly, for example, by fully raising or lifting the front assembly vertically until its bottom end clears the rails of the rear assembly. Partially or fully raising the front assembly 302 from the rear assembly 304 may be done to, for example, inspect components or perform routine maintenance such as replacing batteries or clearing card reader or coin chute blockages. The rails may provide a spring-catch assembly (not shown) that allows the front assembly 302 to be lifted and held at any one of multiple partially raised positions which allows hands free service work and testing of the meter to be carried out while in the partially raised or lifted position. Releasing the spring-catch would release the front assembly 302 allowing it to freely slide up or down on the rails or profiles. Alternatively, the front assembly 302 may be raised to a first position such that the rail guides of the front assembly 302 may be released from the rails of the rear assembly 304 at this first position, while the bottom of the front assembly 302 remains engaged with the rear assembly. Under this alternative configuration, there would also be a hinge, such as a telescoping or folded metal rod, located at a release point. For example, the hinge may be fixed at or near the top of the front assembly at one of its ends (such as at or near the top of the rail guides) and at the other end fixed at or near the top of the rear assembly (such as at or near the top of the rails). Releasing, separating or detaching the front assembly from the rear assembly at the release point allows the hinge to unfold or extend to a stopping point and the front assembly to tilt forward to a non-vertical or horizontal position. The bottom of the front assembly that remains engaged with the bottom of the rear assembly is pivotably configured at such bottom location so as to allow the front assembly to rotate forward from its vertical position to the more horizontal position. Such pivotable configuration may require that the rail guides at the bottom of the front assembly be partially releasable or hinge-able relative to the bottom of the rails and/or bottom of the rear assembly in order to allow for the rotation of the front assembly. Such rotation, which involves pivoting or hinging about an axis at the bottom location, thus allows for the back side or internally-facing components of the front assembly to be exposed for service work. The ability to raise the front assembly in this regard is advantageous for more openly exposing some or all of the internal parking meter components as compared with traditional single space parking meters. This may make repair, servicing and/or replacement of such components easier and/or quicker. With respect to the coin chute, a mirror (not shown) may be positioned just above a coin inspection slot or opening for the purpose of facilitating or making easier the inspection of the coin chute for blockages. Alternatively, payment devices may have quick release knobs allowing them to be disengaged from a normally fixed/rigid position on the front cover, such that they can be quickly and easily inspected, serviced and/or removed without the use of tools.
[0171] FIG. 20 depicts a rear isometric view of the single space parking meter of FIG. 19 with the parking meter mechanism partially raised. As depicted, a rear assembly 1920 can be secured to the coin vault 108 and saddle plate 1922. The rear assembly 1920 may comprises a bottom plate 1924 that can be secured to bolts securing the saddle plate 1922 to the coin vault housing 108 using a twisting motion to capture the bolts within narrowing openings in the bottom plate. A rear cover 1989 may be secured to the bottom plate 1924 using any number of fastening techniques such as welding, screws, bolts, etc. Although not visible in FIG. 20, the rear assembly also includes a locking assembly that comprises a locking component that prevents rotation of the rear assembly 1920 relative to the bolts securing the saddle plate 1924 to the coin vault housing 108. As described above, bolt heads of the bolts cannot be withdrawn through the narrowed portion of the openings in the bottom plate, and, as such, when rotation of the rear assembly is prevented, removal of the rear assembly from the saddle plate and coin vault housing is also prevented. The locking assembly further comprises a locking component for preventing vertical movement of a front assembly 1926 relative to the rear assembly 1920 when engaged with the front assembly in a lowered position. When the vertical locking component is disengaged, the front assembly 1926 may be slid up and/or down the rear assembly 1920. The front assembly 1926 may be partially slid up the rear assembly 1920 to a service position as depicted in FIG. 20 that allows for inspection and servicing of internal parking meter components. Although described as sliding vertically to a service position, it is possible for other movements to be provided. For example, it is possible for the front assembly 1926 to slide vertically and then rotate or hinge so as to place the front assembly in an angled or at least partially horizontal position to facilitate servicing and inspections. The front assembly 1926 may be completely removed from the rear assembly 1920 for replacement or other purposes.
Emphasis provided.
Reasons for Allowance
These comments are made in addition to the remarks in Applicant’s specification and arguments, concerning the manner in which the invention distinguishes from the art discussed therein. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed combination including particularly
wherein the rear housing first portion and the second portion front housing can be arranged in:
a vertical maintenance position in which the second portion front housing is secured to the first portion rear housing in a generally vertical orientation with at least a portion of the parking meter components accessible for performing maintenance; and a horizontal maintenance position in which the second portion front housing is secured to the first portion rear housing in a generally horizontal orientation by the bracket extending from the bottom of the front housing engaging with the cooperating bracket feature of the rear housing, with one or more of the parking meter components accessible for performing maintenance,
in combination with the remaining elements and limitations as described in Independent Claim 12.
No particular single feature of the claim(s) by itself renders the claim(s) as a whole patentable. Only the claim(s) taken as a whole combination is/are deemed new and unobvious. The prior art lacks this structure or anything equivalent to it.
The foregoing is an Examiner’s Statement of Reasons for Allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that “[t]he recitation of a ‘bracket’ and a ‘cooperating bracket feature’ provides a clear structural anchor for the claims” on p. 6, first two lines, of Applicants’ Remarks received 6/19/26.
However, it is noted that Applicant’s specification only mentions the term “cooperating bracket feature” in paragraph 7 of the specification, which states “[i]n a further embodiment of the single space parking meter, the second portion of the housing comprises at least one bracket extending from a bottom of the second portion of the housing that engages with a cooperating bracket feature of the first portion of the housing“. Cancelled Original Claim 2, states “wherein the second portion of the housing comprises at least one bracket extending from a bottom of the second portion of the housing that engages with a cooperating bracket feature of the first portion of the housing”. The only other mention of the word “cooperating” is in the abstract, third sentence, which states “[t]he first and second housings have cooperating features that allow the second housing, once it is at least partially separated from the first housing, to be supported by the first housing in a position that facilitates performing maintenance on the parking meter components”. Emphasis provided. There is nothing else mentioning a ”cooperating” bracket or feature that identifies what said cooperating bracket or feature is. Applicant asserts that paragraphs 42 and 43 provide support for the limitation “cooperating bracket feature” as being mounting support brackets (206) and engaging rails (208). However, nowhere does Applicant’s specification or disclosure expressly link the phrase “cooperating bracket feature” to these elements. Again, the abstract and specification at paragraph 7 and Cancelled Claim 2 merely proclaim a “cooperating bracket feature”. There are many other potentially cooperating features that either directly or indirectly cooperate to effectuate front housing (112) and rear housing (110) assembly or disassembly.
Regarding the term “cooperating bracket feature”, the nonce term can be construed to be the term “feature” with the function being the term “cooperating”. Under the 112(f) three prong analysis, the term “feature” can be construed as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder/nonce term having no specific structural meaning. The term “feature” is modified by the term “cooperating” which is considered to be a functional term.
Note also that Claim 3 refers to the phrase “corresponding bracket features” which is also mentioned in only two places, i.e., paragraph 8 of Applicant’s specification and Original Claim 3. Paragraph 8 states that “[i]n a further embodiment of the single space parking meter, the second portion of the housing comprises a pair of brackets that slidably engage with corresponding bracket features of the first portion of the housing to hold the second portion of the housing in a substantially horizontal orientation”. However, again, nowhere is this term expressly linked with any other structure.
Note that the term “features” can be construed as a nonce term with the term “corresponding” being a functional term. The term “bracket” can be considered as structural, but this term is used to refer to numerous features.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant asserts at p. 6 of The Remarks, that “Amended independent claim 1 (and 12) now requires, among other things, ‘at least one bracket extending from a bottom of the front housing" that engages "with the cooperating bracket feature of the rear housing to provide access’”. Applicant further asserts that “[t]he specification makes clear that the recited bracket is a discrete, localized structure affixed to the bottom of the front housing and projecting downward from that bottom surface so as to engage a cooperating bracket feature on the rear housing in the maintenance orientation”.
However, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the recited bracket is a discrete, localized structure affixed to the bottom of the front housing and projecting downward from that bottom surface so as to engage a cooperating bracket feature on the rear housing in the maintenance orientation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Additionally, note that MacKay ‘908 discloses in a maintenance orientation of the housing (102, 104, 106, 108, 306), as mentioned at paragraphs 134, 146, 160, 176 and 180, as illustrated in figures 7-10, 20 and 31, for example, the front housing (104, 1918), is mounted to the rear housing (102, 1920), by the bracket, i.e., rails (1004), as illustrated in figure 10 and channels (1958) as illustrated in figures 21-23, extending from the bottom of the front housing (104) engaging with the cooperating bracket feature, i.e., rails (702, 1990, 1992) of the rear housing (102, 1920), as illustrated in figures 7, 10 and 20 and as mentioned at paragraphs 154, 156, 158, 159 and 182, to provide access to the parking
meter components (1934, 1936, 1938) to facilitate performing maintenance on one or more of the parking meter components (1934, 1936, 1938), as mentioned at paragraphs 134, 146, 154, 156, 158, 159, 160, 163, 171, 176, 180 and 182.
Note that the rail guides (1004), channels (1958) and rails (702) and (1990, 1992) as illustrated in figures 7, 10, 21-23 and 31 can be seen to extend from the bottom of the front and rear housings (102, 104, 1918, 1920).
Note that Claim 1 states the limitations “the bracket extending from the bottom of the front housing engaging with the cooperating bracket feature of the rear housing”. The bottom is not described further and is not provided with any reference or cartesian coordinates for example that would define it further, inviting the broadest reasonable interpretation to include either rails and mating features that extend all of the length of the front and rear housings or just a portion of their lengths.
Applicant asserts that Claims 1 and 12 recite simpler limitations describing substantially the same structure. However, Applicant’s simplified claimed structure still reads on MacKay’s disclosure and teaching at paragraphs 146, 171 and 185 because, for example, the features including the hinge and the other structure in these paragraphs such as the rail guides that are releasable so that the hinge enables pivoting, as mentioned at paragraph 145. The last three sentences of paragraph 171 state as follows.
Although described as sliding vertically to a service position, it is possible for other movements to be provided. For example, it is possible for the front assembly 1926 to slide vertically and then rotate or hinge so as to place the front assembly in an angled or at least partially horizontal position to facilitate servicing and inspections. The front assembly 1926 may be completely removed from the rear assembly 1920 for replacement or other purposes.
Emphasis provided.
Paragraph 185, last two sentences state as follows.
In addition, and as discussed in greater detail above, the front assembly may be raised to a first position such that rail guides at the top of the front assembly may be released from the rails of the rear assembly at this first position, while the bottom of the front assembly remains engaged with the rear assembly. Under this configuration, there would also be a hinge, such as a telescoping or folded metal rod, located at a release point, thus allowing movement or rotation of the front assembly so that even more convenient access to the internal components for servicing or removal is made possible
Emphasis provided.
Such a telescoping or folded rod might also be construed to be substantially the same as the claimed invention as broadly written in Claims 1 and 12, including when combined with the previously mentioned mating rail to rail and rail to channel structures, for example.
Therefore, Claims 1 and 3-12 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
September 12, 2026