DETAILED ACTION
Currently amended claims 1-3, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 24-26, and 29, (8/18/2023), are pending and under consideration by the Examiner.
Claims 4-7, 11-12, 14-16, 20-23, and 27-28, have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/18/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner.
Applicant is reminded of their duty to disclose to the Office all information known to the person to be material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56. As stated therein, “[e]ach individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section”.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), written description
4a. Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13,17-19, 24-26, and 29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims require administration of “a PD-L1 inhibitor”. The claims, however, do not require that the “PD-L1” recited in claim 1 possess any particular conserved structure, or other distinguishing feature.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, and any combination thereof. In this case, the only factor present in the claim that is sufficiently disclosed is a recitation of a desired activity. The specification does not identify any particular portion of the structure, nor does it provide a disclosure of structure/function correlation. The distinguishing characteristics of the claimed genus for the antigens or the targeting means are not described. Accordingly, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus of antigens or targeting means.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 [41 USPQ2d 1961] (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 [10 USPQ2d 1614] (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”). Thus, an applicant complies with the written-description requirement “by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious,” and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention.” Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572.
See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 68 USPQ2d 1424 (DC WNY 2003) and University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. et al. CAFC [(03-1304) 13 February 2004]. In University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co. a patent directed to method for inhibiting prostaglandin synthesis in human host using an unspecified compound, in order to relieve pain without side effect of stomach irritation, did not satisfy written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. §112, since the patent described the compound's desired function of reducing activity of the enzyme PGHS-2 without adversely affecting PGHS-1 enzyme activity, but did not identify said compound, since invention consists of performing “assays” to screen compounds in order to discover those with desired effect. The patent did not name even one compound that assays would identify as suitable for practice of invention, or provide information such that one skilled in art could identify suitable compound. And since specification did not indicate that compounds are available in public depository, the claimed treatment method cannot be practiced without compound. Thus the inventors cannot be said to have “possessed” claimed invention without knowing of a compound or method certain to produce compound. Thus said patent constituted an invitation to experiment to first identify, then characterize, and then use a therapeutic a class of compound defined only by their desired properties.
Therefore the full breadth of the claims fails to meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph. In the instant case, for example, Applicants have failed to describe which “PD-L1 inhibitor” has the property of treating colon cancer. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision.
To demonstrate possession of a method of treatment one must provide substantially more than the description of a compound or collection of related compounds having an in vitro activity (PD-L1 inhibitor), in combination with a hypothesis that the administration of a compound having that activity to an individual suffering from a particular disease or disorder might produce a beneficial effect. What is required is an established nexus between the administration of such a compound to an individual and a beneficial result consequent thereto. Such a nexus can be established by the presentation of evidence demonstrating clinical efficacy of the claimed method in the treatment of a particular disease or disorder, demonstrating efficacy of that method in the treatment of an art accepted animal model of a disease or disorder wherein that model is known to be reasonably predictive of the efficacy of a treatment protocol in the treatment of that disease or disorder, or providing evidence of an in vitro activity for the recited compound in combination with a showing that other compounds possessing that activity (mode of action) have been shown to have clinical efficacy in the treatment of the recited disease or disorder. The instant specification fails to show possession of the claimed method as of the effective filing date of the instant application because it provides none of these.
As stated in M.P.E.P. § 2163(II)(A)(3), a specification may describe an actual reduction to practice by showing that the inventor constructed an embodiment or performed a process that met all the limitations of the claim and determined that the invention would work for its intended purpose. Cooper v. Goldfarb, 154 F.3d 1321, 1327, 47 USPQ2d 1896, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1998). See also UMC Elecs. Co. v. United States, 816 F.2d 647, 652, 2 USPQ2d 1465, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (“[T]here cannot be a reduction to practice of the invention ... without a physical embodiment which includes all limitations of the claim.”); Estee Lauder Inc. v. L’Oreal, S.A., 129 F.3d 588, 593, 44 USPQ2d 1610, 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“[A] reduction to practice does not occur until the inventor has determined that the invention will work for its intended purpose.”); Mahurkar v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 79 F.3d 1572, 1578, 38 USPQ2d 1288, 1291 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (determining that the invention will work for its intended purpose may require testing depending on the character of the invention and the problem it solves).
Whereas a reduction to practice of an uncomplicated invention such as a simple mechanical or electrical device can be achieved by merely providing a diagram of the device wherein one skilled in the relevant art can predict the likely operability of the device by reviewing the diagram, the operability of the claimed invention cannot be predicted by merely reviewing diagrams or illustrations. To demonstrate the reduction to practice of a method of treating a subject afflicted with a particular disease or disorder requires either a working embodiment, a demonstration of operability in the treatment of an art accepted animal model of the condition to be treated, wherein that animal model has been shown to be reliably predictive of efficacy in the treatment of the condition, or a demonstration that the therapeutic agent employed therein possesses an activity in which the majority of compounds possessing that activity have been shown to be effective in the treatment of that condition in the absence of further inventive contribution. In the instant case, Applicant has provided none of these. Consequently, Applicant has failed to demonstrate possession of the claimed method encompassing treatment on colon cancer with “a PD-L1 inhibitor” as of the earliest effective filing date of the instant application.
With respect to the demonstration of a reduction to practice of a generic invention, MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(ii) states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus, above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
The above position is further supported by In re Clarke, 148 USPQ 665, (CCPA 1966), which held that;
“It appears to be well settled that a single species can rarely, if ever, afford support for a generic claim. In re Soll, 25 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1309, 97 F.2d 623, 38 USPQ 189; In re Wahlforss et al., 28 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 867, 117 F.21 270, 48 USPQ 397. The decisions do not however fix any definite number of species which will establish completion of a generic invention and it seems evident therefrom that such number will vary, depending on the circumstances of particular cases. Thus, in the case of a small genus such as halogens, consisting of four species, a reduction to practice of three, or perhaps even two, might serve to complete the generic invention, while in the case of a genus comprising hundreds of species, a considerably large number of reductions to practice would probably be necessary.”
In the instant case, Applicant has failed to demonstrate a reduction to practice of a method of treatment of colon cancer listed in the instant specification by the administration of a “PD-L1 inhibitor” as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
5a. Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 24-26, and 29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 4, is vague and indefinite because it recites the limitation “PD-L1 inhibitor” and the metes and bounds of this term are unclear because the term encompasses for example, proteins, antibodies, siRNA, well as chemical compounds. It is suggested that the claim be amended to recite the specific “PD-L1 inhibitor” for which there is a basis in the instant specification.
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 17-19, and 24-25 are rejected as vague and indefinite for the reasons set forth above because they recite the limitation “PD-L1 inhibitor”.
Claims 10, 13, and 26-29 are rejected as vague and indefinite insofar as they depend on the above rejected claims for their limitations.
Claim rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6a. Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 24-26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason et al (February 2017) in view of Kwok et al (2016).
Mason teaches CFI-402257 as a bioavailable anticancer agent to treat cancer in mouse models. (See Abstract; page 3128, column 1, Fig 1A).
Figure 1 Structure of Fig 1A
Mason also teaches that the combination therapy of CFI-402257 with an anti-PD-1 antibody caused complete tumor regression in two of the eight tumors tested. (See page 3129 2nd column bridging paragraph – page 3130 column 1; page 3131, column 2, Figure 6). The method of treatment performed in Mason featured mice immunocompetent BALB/cJ mice inoculated with CT26 mouse colon carcinoma cells. (See page 3129 column 2 bridging paragraph - page 3130 column 1). Mason teaches that the method used a hydrochloride or bisphosphate hemihydrate salt forms of CFI-402257 (page 3131 column 2, 2nd sentence under “Compounds and Plasmids”) and that the PD-1 inhibitor restored anti-tumor T-cell activity and blocked T-cell inhibition in the combination therapy of CFI-402257 and an anti-PD-1 antibody. The reference is silent with respect to treating colon cancer by administering the combination therapy of CFI-402257 and a PD-L1 inhibitor.
However, Kwok et al teaches administering anti-PD-L1 antibody, BMS-936559, to block tumor PD-L1 expression because PD-L1 expression is a major mechanism by which tumor cells can evade immune attack (see page 2778, column 1, first full paragraph; and column 2, first and second full paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the instant invention was conceived, to modify the method as disclosed by Mason et al, to substitute a PD-L1 antibody for a PD-1 antibody, and administer the combination therapy of CFI-402257 and an anti-PD-L1 antibody (BMS-936559), because Kwok et al teaches that PD-L1 expression is a major mechanism by which tumor cells can evade immune attack. Therefore, Kwok et al provides the motivation and expectation of success to administer the combination therapy of CFI-402257 and a PD-L1 inhibitor. To combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. The combination would have been obvious to the skilled artisan and the results achieved would have been expected (In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069). Therefore, the combination of references renders obvious claims 1-3, 8-10, 13, 17-19, 24-26, and 29 in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13,17-19, 24-26, and 29 are rejected.
Advisory Information
/PREMA M MERTZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646