DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 8, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jia et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0187442).
With regard to independent claim 1, Jia et al teaches an optical imaging lens (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 1), in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, comprising: a first lens assembly comprising, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a first lens (Figure 1, element L1) having negative refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 4-5), a second lens (Figure 1, element L2) having negative refractive power(page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 5-6), and a third lens (Figure 1, element L3) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 6-7), wherein an object-side surface of the first lens is a convex surface toward the object side (Figure 1, element S1 and page 5, Curvature data for S1), and an image-side surface of the first lens is a concave surface toward the image side (Figure 1, element S2 and page 5, Curvature data for S2); both of an object-side surface of the second lens and an image-side surface of the second lens are concave surfaces (Figure 1, elements S3 and S4 and page 5, Curvature data for S3 and S4); both of an object-side surface of the third lens and an image-side surface of the third lens are convex surfaces (Figure 1, elements S5 and S6 and page 5, Curvature data for S5 and s6); an aperture (Figure 1, element STO); a second lens assembly comprising, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a fourth lens (Figure 1, element L4) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 7-8), a fifth lens (Figure 1, element L5) having negative refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 8-9), a sixth lens (Figure 1, element L6) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 9-10), and a seventh lens (Figure 1, element L7) having negative refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0103], lines 11-12), wherein both of an object-side surface of the fourth lens and an image-side surface of the fourth lens are convex surfaces (Figure 1, elements S7 and S8 and page 5, Curvature data for S7 and S8); both of an object-side surface of the fifth lens and an image-side surface of the fifth lens are concave surfaces (Figure 1, elements S9 and S10 and page 5, Curvature data for S9 and S10); both of an object-side surface of the sixth lens and an image-side surface of the sixth lens are convex surfaces (Figure 1, elements S11 and S12 and page 5, Curvature data for S11 and S12); an object-side surface of the seventh lens is a concave surface toward the object side, and an image-side surface of the seventh lens is a convex surface toward the image side (see annotated Figure 1 below).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: L7R2/V7 < 1, as defined (page 5, wherein L7R2 – 2.1865; V7 = 23.5; and L7R2/V7 = 0.09).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: -3.5 ≤ f7/f(4567), as defined (page 5, wherein f7 = -6.34; f(4567) [calculated] = 3.02; and f7/f(4567) = 2.1).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: 1 ≤ f3/f6, as defined (page 5, wherein f3 = 3.7; f6 = 2.37; and f3/f6 = 1.56).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: -3.5 ≤ f4/f5, as defined (page 5, wherein f4 = 2.11; f5 = -2.33; and f4/f5 = -0.91).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: -3.5 ≤ f6/f7, as defined (page 5, wherein f6 = 2.37; f7 = -6.34; and f6/f7 = -0.37).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: 1 ≤ f(4567)/F, as defined (page 5, wherein f(4567) [calculated] = 3.02; F = 1.28; and f(4567)/F = 2.36).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: 1 ≤ f3/f(4567) ≤ 3, as defined (page 5, wherein f3 = 3.7; f(4567) [calculated] = 3.02; and f3/f(4567) = 1.23).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: f6/f(4567) ≤ 1, as defined (page 5, wherein f6 = 2.37; f(4567) [calculated] = 3.02; and f6/f(4567) = 0.78).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: -1 ≤ 1/f1+1/f2+1/f3+1/f4+1/f5+1/f6+1/f7 ≤ 1, as defined (page 5, wherein f1 = -4.95; f2 = -2.66; f3 = 3.7; f4 = 2.11; f5 = -2.33; f6 = 2.37; f7 = -6.34; and 1/f1+1/f2+1/f3+1/f4+1/f5+1/f6+1/f7 = 0.001).
With regard to dependent claim 14, Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: -3.5 ≤ f(4567)/L7R2, as defined (page 5, wherein f(4567) [calculated] = 3.02; L7R2 = 2.1865; and f(4567)/L7R2 = 1.38).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0036289).
With regard to independent claim 1, Sun et al teaches an optical imaging lens (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 1), in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, comprising: a first lens assembly comprising, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a first lens (Figure 1, element 110) having negative refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0033], lines 10-11), a second lens (Figure 1, element 120) having negative refractive power(page 3, paragraph [0036], lines 10-11), and a third lens (Figure 1, element 130) having positive refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0037], lines 11-13), wherein an object-side surface of the first lens is a convex surface toward the object side (Figure 1, element S11 and page 3, paragraph [0033], lines 1-2), and an image-side surface of the first lens is a concave surface toward the image side (Figure 1, element S12 and page 3, paragraph [0033], line 3); both of an object-side surface of the second lens and an image-side surface of the second lens are concave surfaces (Figure 1, elements S21 and S22 and page 3, paragraph [0036], lines 1-4); both of an object-side surface of the third lens and an image-side surface of the third lens are convex surfaces (Figure 1, elements S31 and S32 and page 3, paragraph [0037], lines 1-4); an aperture (Figure 1, element 190); a second lens assembly comprising, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a fourth lens (Figure 1, element 150) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0039], lines 10-11), a fifth lens (Figure 1, element 160) having negative refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0040], lines 10-12), a sixth lens (Figure 1, element 170) having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0041], lines 11-13), and a seventh lens (Figure 1, element 180) having negative refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0042], lines 13-15), wherein both of an object-side surface of the fourth lens and an image-side surface of the fourth lens are convex surfaces (Figure 1, elements S51 and S52 and page 4, paragraph [0039], lines 1-4); both of an object-side surface of the fifth lens and an image-side surface of the fifth lens are concave surfaces (Figure 1, elements S61 and S62 and page 4, paragraph [0040], lines 1-4); both of an object-side surface of the sixth lens and an image-side surface of the sixth lens are convex surfaces (Figure 1, elements S71 and S72 and page 4, paragraph [0041], lines 1-7); an object-side surface of the seventh lens is a concave surface toward the object side, and an image-side surface of the seventh lens is a convex surface toward the image side (Figure 1, elements S81 and S82 and page 4, paragraph [0042], lines 1-4).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Sun et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical imaging lens wherein the object-side surface of the seventh lens and the image-side surface of the sixth lens are adhered to form a compound lens having positive refractive power (page 4, paragraph [0041], lines 6-8; paragraph [0042], lines 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0187442) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sun et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0036289).
With regard to dependent claim 12, although Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, Jai et al fails to teach such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: V3 > 25, as defined. Jai et al does teach such an optical imaging lens wherein V3 = 23.8 (page 5, Material data for Lens 3). In a related endeavor, Sun et al teaches an optical imaging lens, as outlined above, wherein V3 = 40.9 (page 3, paragraph [0037], lines 12-13), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the glass third lens of the optical imaging lens, as taught by Jai et al, with the glass lens having an Abbe number, as taught by Sun et al, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a known alternative (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
With regard to dependent claim 13, although Jai et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, Jai et al fails to teach such an optical imaging lens satisfying the conditional expression: V7 > 25, as defined. Jai et al does teach such an optical imaging lens wherein V7 = 23.5 (page 5, Material data for Lens 7). In a related endeavor, Sun et al teaches an optical imaging lens, as outlined above, wherein V7 = 29.2 (page 3, paragraph [0037], lines 15-16), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the glass seventh lens of the optical imaging lens, as taught by Jai et al, with the glass lens having an Abbe number, as taught by Sun et al, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a known alternative (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-26 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
Although the prior art teaches an optical imaging lens, in order from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, comprising: a first lens assembly comprising, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a first lens having negative refractive power, a second lens having negative refractive power, and a third lens having positive refractive power; an aperture; a second lens assembly comprising, in order from the object side to the image side along the optical axis, a fourth lens having positive refractive power, a fifth lens having negative refractive power, a sixth lens having positive refractive power, and a seventh lens having negative refractive power, wherein an object-side surface of the seventh lens and an image- side surface of the sixth lens are adhered to form a compound lens having positive refractive power, the prior art fails to teach such an optical imaging lens simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: L7R2/V7<1, as defined and claimed in independent claim 15.
With regard to dependent claims 16-26, claims 16-26 are allowable as they depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claim 15 and therefore inherit all of the limitations of the claim from which they depend.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sato (U.S. Patent Number 5,076,677), Lin (U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0052057), Asami (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0080693), Tsai (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0064577), Yang et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0133460), Chen et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0241348) and Yu et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0411110) all teach optical imaging lenses comprising seven lenses.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
20 August 2025