DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-37 and 41-59 are cancelled.
Claims 38-40 and 60-64 are pending.
No claims are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/5/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 38-40 and 60-64 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is being made.
Double Patenting
Claims 38 and 61 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,750,854. The patent covers the invention at the headend, while the instant claims cover the invention at the user device. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to broaden the claims of the patent to remove or alter limitations to yield the instant claims.
Instant Claims
US Patent
38. A method for use in providing addressable assets in a satellite broadcast network, comprising: receiving, at a user equipment device (UED) of said satellite network, a satellite transmission having multiple multiplexes (MUXs) wherein a first MUX of said satellite transmission includes a first programming channel and first asset channels that include first asset options for a first asset delivery opportunity (ADO) of said first programming channel;
obtaining, at said UED, first asset selection information concerning a first asset of said first asset options to be delivered at said UED at said first ADO of said first programming channel;
detecting, at said UED, a first ADO signal indicating an occurrence of said first ADO;
and tuning said UED from said first programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said first asset channels associated with said first asset responsive to said first asset selection information and said first ADO signal.
1. A method for use in providing addressable assets in a satellite broadcast network, comprising: providing, in connection with said satellite television network, a satellite transmission, from a satellite source to a terrestrial receiver, having multiple multiplexes (MUXs) where each MUX includes multiple content channels;
inserting a first programming channel in a first MUX of said satellite transmission; inserting another programming channel in another MUX of said satellite transmission;
and inserting one or more first asset channels in said first MUX of said satellite transmission, said asset channels including asset options for one or more programming channels;
said first programming channel having an asset delivery opportunity occurring in a first time window and each of said first asset channels including an asset in said first time window.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-40 and 60-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 2008/0276271), hereinafter referred to as Anderson, in view of Smallcomb (US 2013/0201895), hereinafter referred to as Smallcomb.
Regarding claim 38, Anderson discloses a method for use in providing addressable assets in a satellite broadcast network, comprising: receiving, at a user equipment device (UED) of said satellite network, a satellite transmission having multiple multiplexes (MUXs) wherein a first MUX of said satellite transmission includes a first programming channel and first asset channels that include first asset options for a first asset delivery opportunity (ADO) of said first programming channel (paragraphs 82, 108-109 and 283 wherein users over multiple channels (some or all users of each channel) can be aggregated (relative to a given asset and time window) to define a virtual channel having significant user numbers matching a targeted audience classification);
obtaining, at said UED, first asset selection information concerning a first asset of said first asset options to be delivered at said UED at said first ADO of said first programming channel (paragraphs 112, 251 wherein CPE includes a channel selector which is operative to switch to an asset channel associated with a desired asset at the beginning of a break and to return to the programming channel at the end of the break);
and detecting, at said UED, a first ADO signal indicating an occurrence of said first ADO (paragraph 96 wherein the cue generally occurs a few seconds before the start of the asset delivery insertion opportunity and may occur, for example, during programming or during the break (e.g., during a national ad)).
However, Anderson is silent in regards to disclosing tuning said UED from said first programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said first asset channels associated with said first asset responsive to said first asset selection information and said first ADO signal
Smallcomb discloses tuning said UED from said first programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said first asset channels associated with said first asset responsive to said first asset selection information and said first ADO signal (paragraph 43 wherein upon determining that one of the terrestrial stream pipes is designated for terrestrial content only, the terrestrial repeater ignores any received data contained within the designated pipe and functions to inject additional local content in the designated pipe, and wherein local content may include some form of advertisement or local service including broadcast data unique to the local area, such as weather or traffic alerts).
Smallcomb provides motivation to combine the references wherein additional data capacity realized by improved or enhanced hierarchical modulation techniques can provide unique opportunities to enhance legacy SDARS services or other legacy broadcast services of systems that transmit data using diversity streams (paragraph 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Anderson with the teachings of Smallcomb wherein additional data capacity realized by improved or enhanced hierarchical modulation techniques can provide unique opportunities to enhance legacy SDARS services or other legacy broadcast services of systems that transmit data using diversity streams.
Regarding claim 39, Anderson discloses the method as set forth in Claim 38, further comprising tuning said UED from said selected one of said first asset channels to said first programming channel after delivering said first asset (paragraph 104 wherein platform associated with the headend inserts programming from the program feed and assets from the asset source into the video stream of an individual channel).
Regarding claim 40, Anderson discloses the method as set forth in Claim 38, further comprising operating said UED to provide one of vote information for use in selecting asset options to be provided in said satellite transmission or report information concerning one or more assets delivered at said UED (paragraph 113 wherein the determination of which asset to show may be made at the headend. For example, an asset may be selected based on voting as described below, and inserted at the headend into the programming channel without options on other asset channels).
Regarding claim 60, Anderson discloses the method as set forth in Claim 38, wherein said satellite transmission further comprises a second programming channel in a second MUX different than said first MUX, and one or more second asset channels in said second MUX of said satellite transmission, said second programming channel having a second ADO occurring in a second timewindow and said second asset channels including second asset options in said second time window, and said method further comprises: obtaining, at said UED, second asset selection information concerning a second asset of said second asset options to be delivered at said UED at said second ADO of said second programming channel (fig. 6, paragraphs 82, 108-109 and 283 wherein users over multiple channels (some or all users of each channel) can be aggregated (relative to a given asset and time window) to define a virtual channel having significant user numbers matching a targeted audience classification);
and detecting, at said UED, a second ADO signal indicating an occurrence of said second ADO (paragraph 96 wherein the cue generally occurs a few seconds before the start of the asset delivery insertion opportunity and may occur, for example, during programming or during the break (e.g., during a national ad)).
Smallcomb discloses tuning said UED from said second programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said second asset channels associated with said second asset responsive to said second asset selection information and said second ADO signal (paragraph 43 wherein upon determining that one of the terrestrial stream pipes is designated for terrestrial content only, the terrestrial repeater ignores any received data contained within the designated pipe and functions to inject additional local content in the designated pipe, and wherein local content may include some form of advertisement or local service including broadcast data unique to the local area, such as weather or traffic alerts).
Regarding claim 61, Anderson discloses a user equipment device (UED) for use in providing addressable assets in a satellite broadcast network, comprising: a receiver for receiving a satellite transmission having multiple multiplexes (MUXs) wherein a first MUX of said satellite transmission includes a first programming channel and first asset channels that include first asset options for a first asset delivery opportunity (ADO) of said first programming channel (paragraphs 82, 108-109 and 283 wherein users over multiple channels (some or all users of each channel) can be aggregated (relative to a given asset and time window) to define a virtual channel having significant user numbers matching a targeted audience classification);
and a processor, associated with said receiver, operative for: obtaining first asset selection information concerning a first asset of said first asset options to be delivered at said UED at said first ADO of said first programming channel (paragraphs 112, 251 wherein CPE includes a channel selector which is operative to switch to an asset channel associated with a desired asset at the beginning of a break and to return to the programming channel at the end of the break);
and detecting a first ADO signal indicating an occurrence of said first ADO (paragraph 96 wherein the cue generally occurs a few seconds before the start of the asset delivery insertion opportunity and may occur, for example, during programming or during the break (e.g., during a national ad)).
However, Anderson is silent in regards to disclosing tuning said UED from said first programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said first asset channels associated with said first asset responsive to said first asset selection information and said first ADO signal.
Smallcomb discloses tuning said UED from said first programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said first asset channels associated with said first asset responsive to said first asset selection information and said first ADO signal (paragraph 43 wherein upon determining that one of the terrestrial stream pipes is designated for terrestrial content only, the terrestrial repeater ignores any received data contained within the designated pipe and functions to inject additional local content in the designated pipe, and wherein local content may include some form of advertisement or local service including broadcast data unique to the local area, such as weather or traffic alerts).
Smallcomb provides motivation to combine the references wherein additional data capacity realized by improved or enhanced hierarchical modulation techniques can provide unique opportunities to enhance legacy SDARS services or other legacy broadcast services of systems that transmit data using diversity streams (paragraph 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Anderson with the teachings of Smallcomb wherein additional data capacity realized by improved or enhanced hierarchical modulation techniques can provide unique opportunities to enhance legacy SDARS services or other legacy broadcast services of systems that transmit data using diversity streams.
Regarding claim 62, Anderson discloses the UED as set forth in Claim 61, wherein said processor is further operative for tuning said UED from said selected one of said first asset channels to said first programming channel after delivering said first asset (paragraph 104 wherein platform associated with the headend inserts programming from the program feed and assets from the asset source into the video stream of an individual channel).
Regarding claim 63, Anderson discloses the UED as set forth in Claim 61, wherein said satellite transmission further comprises a second programming channel in a second MUX different than said first MUX, and one or more second asset channels in said second MUX of said satellite transmission, said second programming channel having a second ADO occurring in a second time window and said second asset channels including second asset options in said second time window, and said processor is further operative for: obtaining second asset selection information concerning a second asset of said second asset options to be delivered at said UED at said second ADO of said second programming channel (fig. 6, paragraphs 82, 108-109 and 283 wherein users over multiple channels (some or all users of each channel) can be aggregated (relative to a given asset and time window) to define a virtual channel having significant user numbers matching a targeted audience classification);
and detecting a second ADO signal indicating an occurrence of said second ADO (paragraph 96 wherein the cue generally occurs a few seconds before the start of the asset delivery insertion opportunity and may occur, for example, during programming or during the break (e.g., during a national ad)).
Smallcomb discloses tuning said UED from said second programming channel of said first MUX to a selected one of said second asset channels associated with said second asset responsive to said second asset selection information and said second ADO signal (paragraph 43 wherein upon determining that one of the terrestrial stream pipes is designated for terrestrial content only, the terrestrial repeater ignores any received data contained within the designated pipe and functions to inject additional local content in the designated pipe, and wherein local content may include some form of advertisement or local service including broadcast data unique to the local area, such as weather or traffic alerts).
Regarding claim 64, Anderson discloses the UED as set forth in Claim 61, further comprising operating said processor to provide one of vote information for use in selecting asset options to be provided in said satellite transmission or report information concerning one or more assets delivered at said UED (paragraph 113 wherein the determination of which asset to show may be made at the headend. For example, an asset may be selected based on voting as described below, and inserted at the headend into the programming channel without options on other asset channels).
Conclusion
/CHARLES N HICKS/Examiner, Art Unit 2424
/BENJAMIN R BRUCKART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2424