DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 29 – 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1 – 10, 23, 24, 26 – 28 and 33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Pervan (US 8,245,477; also published as US 2005/0208255).
With respect to claims 1 and 26, Pervan teaches a sound attenuating laminated panel (Fig.2b), having a laminate structure comprising a plurality of layers (Fig.2a, ltems 34 - 36), wherein an outside layer of the plurality of layers includes a decorative paper (Fig.2a, Item 35), and a wear layer (Fig.2a, Item 34) applied to the decorative paper (Fig.2a, Item 35), wherein the wear layer comprises a thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material having a sound attenuating characteristic (Col.4, Lines 40 – 42 and Col.8, Lines 59 – 67).
With respect to claim 2, Pervan teaches wherein said laminated panel is one of a floor covering, or a floor panel (Fig.4b; Col.8, Line 59).
With respect to claim 3, Pervan teaches wherein said laminated panel comprises a decorative layer, a core layer, a backing layer, and a wear layer (Figs. 4a and 4b; Col.8, Lines 24 – 67).
With respect to claims 4 – 8 and 23, Pervan teaches wherein the plurality of layers includes treated layer been formed by pre-impregnating a selected layer, with the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material prior to production of said laminated panel; or wherein the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material is a liquid, solid or film; or wherein the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material comprises a natural or synthetic resin with elastomeric properties, applied to the paper layers and/or the wood core; or wherein the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material is a one component or multi-component, thermoset, thermoplastic (TPE), solution polymer or water-based or solvent-based dispersion and latexes (Col.9, Lines 1 – 46).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the limitations do not depart from the scope and spirit of the Pervan invention; additionally, the Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the sound attenuating laminated panel layers being made from particular materials and having particular dimensions because it would tune the panel to provide a desired acoustic performance as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416; also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claims 24, 27 and 28, Pervan teaches the use of a wear layer (Fig.2a, Item 34) and wherein the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material (Col.4, Lines 40 – 42) is applied to the decorative paper (Fig.2a, Item 35) such that the decorative paper is bonded to one or more of the other layers of the plurality of layers (Fig.2a) or wherein the plurality of layers includes a fiberboard, and wherein the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material is applied to the decorative paper such that the decorative paper is bonded to the fiberboard (Col.8, Lines 24 – 58).
With respect to claim 33, Pervan teaches wherein the thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material is applied directly to the decorative layer (Col.4, Lines 40 – 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 34 – 36 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pervan (US 8,245,477; also published as US 2005/0208255).
With respect to claim 34 and 36, Pervan teaches the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fails to particularly disclose wherein another layer of thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material is applied to the backing layer or wherein the panel defines at least one edge surface for forming a panel joint.
The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide another layer of thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material being applied to the backing layer or to use the panel to define at least one edge surface for forming a panel joint because it would help tune the laminated panel to exhibit a predetermined acoustic performance as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application without departing form the scope and spirit of the Pervan invention. Furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d - 164 7 (1987) ; and it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With respect to claims 35, the Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ a thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material composed of a desired chemical combination because it would help tune the laminated panel to exhibit a predetermined acoustic performance and structural integrity as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application without departing form the scope and spirit of the Pervan invention; additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Double Patenting
Claims (1, 2), 3, (5, 10), (6, 7), 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, (8,9), 4, 2, 3 and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,468. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they describe the same invention.
Claims 1 – 3, (5, 10) and 7 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 2, 4, 8, 6, 7 and 9, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,041,305. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claimed subject matter is contained in the patented claims and they describe the same invention.
Claims 1 – 3, (5, 10) and 7 – 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 7, 9, 4, 2, 3 and 5, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,287,771. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claimed subject matter is contained in the patented claims and they describe the same invention.
Claims (1, 4), 2, 3, (5, 7, 10), 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7, 2, 3, 7, 8 and 9, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 8,678,133. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claimed subject matter is contained in the patented claims and they describe the same invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner considers that Pervan teaches the limitations described in the claims as discussed above.
The Examiner considers that any person with ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that Pervan clearly discloses in Figure 2a and Col.4, Lines 38 – 42 and Col.8, Lines 59 – 67, a sound attenuating laminated panel, having a laminate structure comprising a plurality of layers, wherein an outside layer of the plurality of layers includes a decorative paper, and a wear layer applied to the decorative paper, wherein the wear layer comprises a thermosetting melamine resin-impregnated material having a sound attenuating characteristic as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
January 16, 2026