DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed limitations in claims 1-3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include any reference sign(s) neither in the drawings, nor in the description to support the claimed limitations. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: please omit the word “of” following “comprising” in line 1 of each claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “12 inches high” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “12 inches high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim can simultaneously be construed as “comprising a height of”, and “may be actuated to 12 inches in height”. Regarding both of these instances, upon amendment, the height will need to be defined relative to supporting structure on the boat itself. For purposes of examination, Examiner will provide rejections for both instances.
Claim 2 recites in the preamble the subcombination of an “speedboat windscreen” that is inconsistent with the body of the claim that recites limitations directed to the combination of the “windscreen” and “the width of the cockpit”. This inconsistency presents the question as to whether the claim recites a combination or subcombination. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation that is directed to the combination rather than to the subcombination because a “cockpit” is not an inherent component of the “windscreen”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the width of the cockpit" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim..
Claim 3 recites in the preamble the subcombination of an “speedboat windscreen” that is inconsistent with the body of the claim that recites limitations directed to the combination of the “windscreen” and “rear bench seat”. This inconsistency presents the question as to whether the claim recites a combination or subcombination. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation that is directed to the combination rather than to the subcombination because a “rear bench seat” is not an inherent component of the “windscreen”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "behind the rear bench seat" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JerseyOutlaw’s forum post on the Online Forum “Baja’s 40 Outlaw Poker Run Theme Boat ‘Split Decisions’” (hereinafter JerseyOutlaw).
Regarding claim 1, JerseyOutlaw teaches a speedboat windscreen comprising a pop-up windscreen (rear pop-up windscreen located in the aft of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, JerseyOutlaw teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the windscreen is 12 inches high (The rear windscreen found in Jersey Outlaw’s post may actuate between lying flat and opening approximately 3 feet in height. As such, windscreen may satisfy the limitation of “12 inches high”) and the width of the cockpit (as depicted in Jersey Outlaw’s post).
Regarding claim 3, JerseyOutlaw teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the windscreen is located behind the rear bench seat (rear pop-up windscreen located in the aft of the vehicle).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dorst (US Patent No. 3021535).
Regarding claim 1, Dorst teaches a speedboat windscreen comprising a pop-up windscreen (Figure 1. Col. 1, lines 35-46).
Regarding claim 3, Dorst teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the windscreen is located behind the rear bench seat (Figure 1. Col. 1, lines 35-46).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hulten (US Patent No. 5832862).
Regarding claim 1, Hulten teaches a speedboat windscreen comprising a pop-up windscreen (Figures 2-3, element 62).
Regarding claim 3, Dorst teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the windscreen is located behind the rear bench seat (Figures 2-3, element 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorst (US Patent No. 3021535).
Regarding claim 2, Dorst teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the windscreen is the width of the cockpit (Figure 1). Dorst fails to specifically teach wherein the windscreen comprises a height of 12 inches, however, Examiner takes official notice that boating windscreens may be purchased commercially off-the-shelf and normally comprise heights spanning from 6 inches in low-profile instances to 24 inches for high-profile windscreens (see updplastics.com/windshield-manufacturers/ or Applicant admitted prior art, Greatlakesskipper.com for extrinsic supporting evidence). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Dorst’s windshield such that is comprised a height of 12 inches, in order to facilitate aerodynamics of the watercraft and minimize drag, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (the windscreen of Dorst), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644