DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7 Line 7 of the specification recites: “Fig. 5B depicts a front perspective view…”. It is recommended to be changed to read “Fig. 5B depicts a rear perspective view…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 of claim 2 recites: “…to store video data to video the second internal storage media…”. It is recommended to be changed to read: “…to store video data to the second internal storage media…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alakarhu et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0360205).
Regarding claim 1, Alakarhu discloses a two-piece body-worn video camera (FIGS. 1-5; wherein (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]; and (A250) has the same features as (A160), auxiliary recording device, [0086]) comprising: a docking unit (FIG. 4, (A210), [0075]) comprising: a docking bay ((A215), [0076-0079]), a display ((A118), [0055]; “The display may be similar to display A118 of recording device A100…”, [0084]), a first internal battery (“…power supply…battery…”, [0083]), a first internal storage media (“memory”, [0083, 0110]), and a transceiver (“…network interface, receiver…”, [0083]; “…A100 comprises a wired or wireless communication interface…coupled to a remote or third-party network…”, [0097]; “‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]), wherein the docking unit includes a mounting assembly (“…A210 may be configured to couple (e.g., mount) to a user…”, [0080]) for mounting the docking unit to a first location on a body of a user (“…A210 may mount to a location on the user…a second location…may mount to a belt mount, a chest mount, or a shoulder mount…”, [0080]; [0082]); and a removable camera unit ((A250), [0075]) having a size that is configured to mount on the body of the user (“…A250 may be configured to couple (e.g., mount) to a user…A250 may mount to a location on the user…a first location…may mount to a chest mount, a shoulder mount, an eyewear mount, an earpiece mount, a lapel mount…”, [0081]; [0082]), comprising: a camera ((A260), [0085, 0087]), a second internal battery (“…power supply, battery…”, [0086]; “…A250 comprising a rechargeable power supply…”, [0093]), and a second internal storage media (“memory”, [0086]), wherein the removable camera unit is selectively docked with the docking unit via the docking bay (FIG. 4, [0076-0079]).
Regarding claim 2, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn video camera of claim 1, wherein the removable camera unit is configured to store video data to (“…A260 of…A250 may capture images and store the images in local memory on…A250 while…A250 is detached from …A210…”, [0094]).
Regarding claim 3, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn video camera of claim 2, wherein the removable camera unit is configured to automatically transfer the video data stored on the second internal storage media to the first internal storage media when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit (“In response to…A250 coupled to…A210…A250 may transfer the images to memory on…A210 for storage.”, [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn video camera of claim 3, wherein the docking unit further comprised a wireless transceiver operable to transfer the video data via an Internet connection to cloud-based storage (“…A100 comprises a wired or wireless communication interface…coupled to a remote or third-party network…”, [0097]; “‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]; wherein (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]).
Regarding claim 6, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn video camera of claim 1, wherein the docking unit is configured to transfer stored energy from the first internal battery of the docking unit to the second internal battery of the removable camera unit when the removable camera unit is attached to the docking unit (“…A270 may also be configured to enable the transmission of power from …A210 to…A250…”, [0088]; “…A250…may power its components and/or recharge the rechargeable power supply with power from…A210 in response to being coupled to…A215.”, [0093]).
Regarding claim 7, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn video camera of claim 1, wherein the docking unit further comprised an additional camera integrated into the docking unit ((A130) of (A100), [0033, 0039, 0043, 0044, 0101-0105]; (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]).
Regarding claim 8, Alakarhu discloses a two-piece body-worn camera system for recording and storing video of an event (FIGS. 1-5; wherein (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]; and (A250) has the same features as (A160), auxiliary recording device, [0086]), comprising: a docking unit (FIG. 4, (A210), [0075]) comprising: a docking bay ((A215), [0076-0079]), a first internal battery (“…power supply…battery…”, [0083]), a first internal storage media (“memory”, [0083, 0110]), a transceiver (“…network interface, receiver…”, [0083]; “…A100 comprises a wired or wireless communication interface…coupled to a remote or third-party network…”, [0097]; “‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]), and a first mounting assembly (“…A210 may be configured to couple (e.g., mount) to a user…”, [0080]) for mounting the docking unit to a first location on a body of a user (“…A210 may mount to a location on the user…a second location…may mount to a belt mount, a chest mount, or a shoulder mount…”, [0080]; [0082]), wherein the transceiver is configured to wirelessly couple the two-piece body-worn camera system to cloud-based storage (“‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]); and a removable camera unit ((A250), [0075]) for capturing the video of the event ([0094]), comprising: a camera ((A260), [0085, 0087]), a second internal battery unit (“…power supply, battery…”, [0086]; “…A250 comprising a rechargeable power supply…”, [0093]), a second internal storage media (“memory”, [0086]), and a second mounting assembly for mounting the removable camera unit to a second location on the body of the user (“…A250 may be configured to couple (e.g., mount) to a user…A250 may mount to a location on the user…a first location…may mount to a chest mount, a shoulder mount, an eyewear mount, an earpiece mount, a lapel mount…”, [0081]; [0082]), wherein the docking bay is configured to receive the removable camera unit bay (FIG. 4, [0076-0079]), wherein the removable camera unit is configured to transfer the video of the event from the second internal storage media of the removable camera unit to the first internal storage media of the docking unit when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit (“In response to…A250 coupled to…A210…A250 may transfer the images to memory on…A210 for storage.”, [0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn camera system of claim 8, wherein the docking unit is configured to transfer the video of the event to the cloud-based storage (“…A100 comprises a wired or wireless communication interface…coupled to a remote or third-party network…”, [0097]; “‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]).
Regarding claim 10, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn camera system of claim 8, wherein the video of the event comprises video data for a predetermined period of time prior to (“Information about the incident may be gather before, during, or after an incident. Incident information may be recorded (e.g., audio, video) to document an incident…”, [0024]) the user actuating an input to instruct recording by the two-piece body-worn camera system ([0049, 0050]; “…activation event is an audio input captured by the audio sensor, e.g., a verbal cue by a user…”, [0097]; “…verbal instruction by a user…”, [0098]; “…a voice command instruction…”, [0107]; “…other input (e.g., verbal or touch) by a user…”, [0108]).
Regarding claim 11, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn camera system of claim 8, wherein the removable camera unit comprises an additional transceiver operable to wirelessly couple the removable camera unit to at least one of the docking unit or the cloud-based storage (“…network interface, transmitter…”, [0085]; “…a network interface of…A250 (e.g., a transmitter) may communicate with a network interface of… A210 (e.g., a receiver)…The network interface of…A250 may also communicate with the network interface of…A210 to receive commands and instructions…”, [0087]; “…A250…may establish a wireless electronic communication with…A210”, [0092]; “…A250 may transmit images to…A210 via the wireless electronic communication. A processor of…A210 may transmit (via a network interface) instructions and commands to…A250 via the wireless electronic communication.”, [0095]).
Regarding claim 12, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn camera system of claim 8, wherein the docking unit further comprises an additional camera for capturing additional video of the event ((A130) of (A100), [0033, 0039, 0043, 0044, 0101-0105]; (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]).
Regarding claim 13, Alakarhu further discloses the two-piece body-worn camera system of claim 8, wherein the removable camera unit further comprises a microphone for capturing audio (“…a video camera with an integrated microphone…”, [0156]).
Regarding claim 15, Alakarhu discloses a method of capturing video using a two-piece body-worn camera system (FIGS. 1-5; wherein (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]; and (A250) has the same features as (A160), auxiliary recording device, [0086]), the method comprising: responsive to detecting an actuation of an input by a user (“…activation event is an audio input captured by the audio sensor, e.g., a verbal cue by a user…”, [0097]; “…verbal instruction by a user…”, [0098]; “…a voice command instruction…”, [0107]; “…other input (e.g., verbal or touch) by a user…”, [0108]), capturing video data of an event by a camera ((A260), [0085, 0087]) of a removable camera unit ((A250), [0075]; [0049, 0050, 0099]), wherein the removable camera unit is undocked from a docking unit (FIG. 4, (A210), [0075]) when the actuation is detected (“…A260 of…A250 may capture images and store the images in local memory on…A250 while…A250 is detached from …A210…”, [0094]), wherein the removable camera unit and the docking unit are separately mounted on a body of the user when the actuation is detected (“…A210 may mount to a location on the user…a second location…may mount to a belt mount, a chest mount, or a shoulder mount…”, [0080]; [0082]; and “…A250 may mount to a location on the user…a first location…may mount to a chest mount, a shoulder mount, an eyewear mount, an earpiece mount, a lapel mount…”, [0081]; [0082]); storing the video data by the removable camera unit in a first internal storage medium (“memory”, [0086]) of the removable camera unit (“…A260 of…A250 may capture images and store the images in local memory on…A250 while…A250 is detached from …A210…”, [0094]); responsive to detecting that the removable camera unit has been docked on the docking unit: transferring the video data of the event to a second internal storage medium (“memory”, [0083, 0110]) of the docking unit (“In response to…A250 coupled to…A210…A250 may transfer the images to memory on…A210 for storage.”, [0094]); and transferring stored electrical energy from a first internal battery of the docking unit to a second internal battery of the removable camera unit (“…A270 may also be configured to enable the transmission of power from …A210 to…A250…”, [0088]; “…A250…may power its components and/or recharge the rechargeable power supply with power from…A210 in response to being coupled to…A215.”, [0093]); and subsequent to the event, transferring the video from the second internal storage medium of the docking unit to cloud-based storage via a wireless network transceiver (“…A100 comprises a wired or wireless communication interface…coupled to a remote or third-party network…”, [0097]; “‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]; wherein (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]).
Regarding claim 19, Alakarhu further discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the second internal storage medium has a greater storage capacity than the first internal storage medium, and the first internal battery has greater energy capacity than the second internal battery of the removable camera unit (“…A160 may comprise a memory configured to buffer or temporarily store images before transmission to a (primary) recording device.”, [0061]; “…A250…may power its components and/or recharge the rechargeable power supply with power from…A210 in response to being coupled to…A215.”, [0093]; wherein (A210) has the same features as (A100), primary recording device, [0083, 0084]; and (A250) has the same features as (A160), auxiliary recording device, [0086]; the storage and energy capacity of the primary recording device are inherently greater to permanently store images and to recharge the auxiliary recording device).
Regarding claim 20, Alakarhu further discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the removable camera unit is configured to continue to capture and store the video data when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit during the event (“…A260 may be configured to capture images both while…A250 is coupled to…A210 and while…A250 is detached from…A210…”, [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alakarhu et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0360205) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-13, 15, 19, and 20 above.
Regarding claim 5:
Alakarhu discloses the two-piece body-worn video camera of claim 1, wherein the removable camera unit is configured to automatically transfer the video data to the docking unit when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit (“In response to…A250 coupled to…A210…A250 may transfer the images to memory on…A210 for storage.”, [0094]; and the display of the docking unit visually displays data regarding primary and auxiliary recording devices and/or an incident recording ([0055, 0167]).
Alakarhu does not specifically disclose automatically displaying video data captured by the camera on the display of the docking unit when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit.
Since Alakarhu already discloses that the removable camera unit (A250) transfers video data to the docking unit (A210) when docked, and the display of the docking unit visually displays various information/data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the removable camera unit to be configured to automatically display video data captured by the camera on the display of the docking unit when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit for the purpose of providing the user a visual display of the video data recorded without needing another viewing device such as a monitor.
Regarding claim 16:
Alakarhu discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the removable camera unit is configured to transfer the video data to the docking unit when the removable camera unit is docked with the docking unit (“In response to…A250 coupled to…A210…A250 may transfer the images to memory on…A210 for storage.”, [0094] and undocked with the docking unit (“…A250 may transmit images to…A210 via the wireless electronic communication…”, [0095]); and the display of the docking unit visually displays data regarding primary and auxiliary recording devices and/or an incident recording ([0055, 0167]).
Alakarhu does not specifically disclose displaying the video data on a display of the docking unit during the event.
Since Alakarhu already discloses that the removable camera unit (A250) is capable of transferring video data to the docking unit (A210) when docked and undocked, and the display of the docking unit visually displays various information/data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable displaying the video data on a display of the docking unit during the event for the purpose of providing the user a visual display of the video data being recorded without needing another viewing device such as a monitor.
Regarding claim 17:
Alakarhu discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the video is transmitted to the cloud-based storage (“…A100 comprises a wired or wireless communication interface…coupled to a remote or third-party network…”, [0097]; “‘network’ may further include any cloud, cloud computing system…any suitable communication channel, such as…the internet, a wireless communication…”, [0160]); and data regarding primary and auxiliary recording devices and/or an incident recording are displayed on a display of the docking unit ([0055, 0167]).
Alakarhu does not specifically disclose that responsive to a determination that the video was successfully transmitted to the cloud-based storage, displaying a transfer confirmation on a display of the docking unit.
Since Alakarhu already discloses that video can be transmitted to the cloud-base storage, and the display of the docking unit visually displays various information/data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable that responsive to a determination that the video was successfully transmitted to the cloud-based storage, display a transfer confirmation on a display of the docking unit
for the purpose of notifying the user signaling when the video file in the local storage may be deleted to create space for further recording.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alakarhu et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0360205) as applied to claims 1-13, 15-17, 19, and 20 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0390302).
Regarding claim 18:
Alakarhu discloses the method of claim 17.
Alakarhu does not specifically disclose deleting the video data from at least one of the first internal storage medium and the second internal storage medium responsive to the determination.
Smith teaches a system/method, comprising deleting the video data from at least one of the first internal storage medium and the second internal storage medium responsive to the determination (“…emptied after the previously recorded information was transmitted…”, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Smith’s with the method taught by Alakarhu for the purpose of creating space for further recording.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alakarhu et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2021/0360205) as applied to claims 1-13, 15-17, 19, and 20 above, and further in view of Keen et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2020/0050898).
Regarding claim 14:
Alakarhu discloses the two-piece body-worn camera system of claim 8.
Alakarhu does not specifically disclose that the camera is operable to record video data at a resolution of at least 1080p and at a frame rate of at least 30 frames per second.
Keen teaches an image capturing device, wherein the camera is operable to record video data at a resolution of at least 1080p and at a frame rate of at least 30 frames per second ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Keen’s with the camera system taught by Alakarhu for the purpose of enabling the user to create slow motion footage in video editing and to crop portions of footage without losing clarity (Keen: [0064]).
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852