Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cylinder, rod shaft, the elevation block, the guide groove, and housing having the rod shaft having a guide groove must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Examples include but are not limited too
Claim 13 recites both “a lead pin” and “the lead pins”, these should not be both plural and singular.
Claim 3 “a cutting unit positioned under” should read “a cutting unit is positioned under”
Claim 3 “the cut hairpins” should read “the hairpins after they have been cut”
Claim 6 “along rails when ends” should read “”along rails after the ends” as they do not happen simultaneously
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fixing unit” “an alignment jig” in claim 1, “a clamping unit” in claim 2 “a cutting unit” “a welding unit” in claim 3 “a visual examination unit” in claim 4. These are being interpreted to mean “a system to hold a stator” “a system used to move a stator” “a system containing a clamp” “a system containing a cutter” “a laser” “a camera”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11: “a straight motion” is mentioned in lines 3 and 5. It is unclear as to whether or not this is the same straight motion
Claim 14: “a first rotator” is unclear as “a rotator” is already mentioned in a prior claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 102400460B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a laser integrated machining system for a stator assembly (1, fig 1), the laser integrated machining system comprising: a frame including rails (3, fig 2) extending a predetermined length; a fixing unit (31, fig 2) seated on the rails, reciprocating in a longitudinal direction of the rails (they can move along the longitudinal direction between each set of rails 3), and configured to fix a stator assembly (1, fig 10) having a large number of hairpins (11, fig 1) inserted therein; and an alignment jig (2, fig 2) including a rotator (321, fig 3) configured to rotate the fixed stator assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the alignment jig further includes a clamping unit (221, fig 5) configured to clamp the large number of hairpins in pairs (11, fig 7), and the alignment jig is reciprocated with the large number of hairpins clamped (this represents intended use of the system, the machine is capable of reciprocating the jig and thus meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein a cutting unit (314, fig 11) positioned under the alignment jig and configured to cut the hairpins and a welding unit (341, fig 3) configured to weld the cut hairpins are further fixedly installed on the frame.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein a vision examination unit (331, fig 3) is further provided on the frame between the cutting unit and the welding unit.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the cutting unit includes: a cutting assembly (314, fig 13) being operated to cut ends of the hairpins clamped by the clamping unit; and an elevation assembly (373, fig 13) configured to move the cutting assembly up and down.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the alignment jig is rotated by the rotator to turn upside down the stator assembly (inverters 321 and 381 serve to fulfill this function, fig 3) and then moved toward the welding unit along the rails when ends of the hairpins are cut by the cutting assembly (after they’re cut they get moved along the rails to the next section being the inspection station).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a carrying rail (3, fig 3) extending a predetermined length on the frame and a moving jig assembly (2, fig 3) mounted on the carrying rail and reciprocating in a longitudinal direction of the carrying rail, and further comprising a clamp (22, 23, fig 5 and 6) installed on the moving jig assembly and configured to hold the stator assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the moving jig assembly includes two moving jig assemblies (311 and 371, fig 2) configured to hold stator assemblies before and after machining, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the alignment jig further includes a jig plate (21, fig 5) having a stator through-hole (224, fig 5) in which a lower end of the stator assembly is partially inserted (fig 4, the stator extends both above and below the plate), and a rail block (212, fig 5) moving along the rails.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein the fixing unit includes: a pressing motor (225, fig 6) configured to generate power for a straight motion (the pressing motor pushes on the pressing blocks to create a straight motion on the pressing blocks); and a pressing block (231, fig 6) connected to the pressing motor to be provided with power for a straight motion from the pressing motor (the pressing blocks get pushed straight in via the motor and 2342, fig 6), and configured to selectively come in surface contact with an outer surface of the stator assembly (the pressing blocks are used to hold the stator in place).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the rotator includes: a pair of rotary plates (3211, one on each side of the jig, fig 2) coupled to both sides of the jig plate, respectively, and rotatably installed on the rail block (fig 2, the rotators connect to the rail blocks); and a rotation motor (3212, fig 2) configured to rotate the rotary plates.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the clamping unit includes: a first plate (222, fig 8, the plurality of shaft support blocks form a plate shape when inserted) having first holes that are formed therethrough and in which the hairpins are inserted; a second plate (213, fig 8) disposed on a bottom of the first plate and having second holes that are formed therethrough and in which the hairpins passing through the first holes are inserted; a first rotator (2211, fig 8) configured to rotate the first plate in a first direction; and a second rotator (224, fig 8) configured to rotate the second plate in a second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yu (KR20220153225A).
Regarding claim 9, Kim Does not disclose wherein the clamp includes: a cylinder configured to drive a rod shaft configured to move up and down; a housing having the rod shaft inserted therein and having a guide groove formed outward on a side thereof; an elevation block coupled to a first end of the rod shaft to integrally move with the rod shaft; and a pressing block coupled to a side of the elevation block and being guided to slide in the guide groove by up-down movement of the elevation block.
Yu teaches a clamping system for a stator machining system comprising a clamp (100, fig 6) including: a cylinder (235, fig 6) configured to drive a rod shaft (237, fig 6); a housing (270, fig 6) having the rod shaft inserted therein and having a guide groove (271, fig 8) formed outward on a side thereof; an elevation block (331, fig 7) coupled to a first end of the rod shaft to integrally move with the rod shaft; and a pressing block (250, fig 6) coupled to a side of the elevation block and being guided to slide in the guide groove by up-down movement of the elevation block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamping system disclosed by Kim by using the clamping system of Yu. Doing so would allow for better aligning of the hairpins increasing stator quality (page 11, par 3-5), as suggested by Yu.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee (KR 20210071577A).
Regarding claim 13, Kim does not disclose wherein the cutting assembly includes: cutter bodies having a lead pin fastened to a lower end thereof and having a cutter mounted on a side thereof; a guide housing having the cutter bodies seated thereon, having pin movement holes in which the lead pins are inserted, and having body insertion grooves configured to guide the inserted cutter bodies toward the hairpins; a cam follower having a predetermined radius of curvature to convert a rotation motion into a straight motion, and having pin guide grooves in which the lead pins are inserted and that have a predetermined radius of curvature; and a cam follower rotator configured to rotate the cam follower.
Lee teaches a cutter unit (100, fig 12) used to cut hairpins of an electric stator, wherein the cutting assembly includes: cutter bodies (51, fig 12) having a lead pin (55, fig 12) fastened to a lower end thereof and having a cutter (53, fig 11b) mounted on a side thereof; a guide housing (60, fig 12) having the cutter bodies seated thereon, having pin movement holes (50, fig 6) in which the lead pins are inserted, and having body insertion grooves (37, fig 4) configured to guide the inserted cutter bodies toward the hairpins; a cam (81, fig 7) follower having a predetermined radius of curvature (this was determined as it was constructed as the radius of curvature is based on its dimensions) to convert a rotation motion into a straight motion, and having pin guide grooves (89, fig 7) in which the lead pins are inserted and that have a predetermined radius of curvature; and a cam follower rotator (87, fig 12) configured to rotate the cam follower.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cutting system disclosed by Kim by using the cutting system of Lee. Doing so would increase wind length uniformity while reducing occurrence of burrs (page 8, last paragraph), as suggested by Lee.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhang (CN 115156712A).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the hairpins are welded by a laser (page 5, par. 3).
Kim does not disclose the welding unit further includes a lens configured to adjust a focus of the laser that is emitted.
Zhang teaches a welding device (60, fig 10) which uses a laser (61, fig 10) to weld an electric motor, wherein the welding unit comprises a lens (65, fig 10) configured to adjust a focus of the laser that is emitted (a lens by its nature is configured to adjust the focus of a laser as it refracts the light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser welder disclosed by Kim by a lens based on the teaching of Zhang. Doing so would allow the laser beam to be controlled to focus on a whole field rather than just a point (page 10, par 3), as suggested by Zhang.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741