Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 06/05/2026, regarding the rejection of claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-14, and 16-18 under of 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Seo Joon Ho et al. KR20190115483A (“Seo Joon Ho”) in combination with APRIGLIANO et al. US 20200179217 A1 (“Aprigliano”) and Goffer et al. US 20190133867 A1 (“Goffer”), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As the claims are written, any situation in which “the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being less than a predetermined number”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, could include any situation in which the amount of information already gathered from the sensing data corresponding to the provided context information being insufficient for the system and requiring the obtaining of notification information mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information, which is implicit in the prior art by the fact that the Seo Joon Ho reference teaches that the intention determiner obtains a response to a detected obstacle, as described in further detail below. The problem with the claim language comes down to how broadly the claims are written, and another issue not previously used as the basis for a rejection is the fact it is not clear if the claim is meant to refer to the sensing data being less than a predetermined number, the type of context information received being less than a predetermined number, or the user devices being less than a predetermined number. This is close to being indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), unless it is interpreted broadly, as discussed previously. For these reasons, the claims are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Seo Joon Ho et al. KR20190115483A (“Seo Joon Ho”) in combination with APRIGLIANO et al. US 20200179217 A1 (“Aprigliano”) and Goffer et al. US 20190133867 A1 (“Goffer”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo Joon Ho et al. KR20190115483A (“Seo Joon Ho”) in combination with APRIGLIANO et al. US 20200179217 A1 (“Aprigliano”), Goffer et al. US 20190133867 A1 (“Goffer”), and Lee US 20190375106 A1 (“Lee”).
Regarding Claim 1. Seo Joon Ho teaches an electronic apparatus comprising:
a communication interface (An augmented reality device the user may wear on the face in the form of goggles [paragraph 82], with an image display unit that displays content to the user through said goggles [paragraph 104]); and
at least one processor configured to:
based on at least one sensing data being received from at least one user device through the communication interface, identify the type of the context information corresponding to the at least one sensing data;
identify the information about the dangerous situations based on the safety template information and the type of the context information;
identify whether a surrounding environment of a wearable robot corresponds to a dangerous situation based on the at least one sensing data;
based on identifying that the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation, obtain the control information mapped to each dangerous situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53]. This can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as whether the space of the specific environment is the downhill/uphill space, whether there is a staircase, indoor/outdoor, objects or obstacles, and characteristics of the object such as the type, position, shape, and arrangement are identified [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. The object information 15 about the position of the user, etc. should be obtained, and the intention of the user is determined based on this, and the control signal generator 150 determines the wearable robot 220 based on the identified user's intention. The control signal for the operation of can be generated directly, based on the control signal, the lower wearable robot 220 performs an operation such as walking or moving while avoiding obstacles [paragraph 91]); and
control at least one of the wearable robot or the at least one user device based on the obtained control information (A control signal for controlling the wearable robot is generated in accordance with the user’s intention in the specific environment [paragraph 95], and thereafter, the robot is driven based on the generated control signal [paragraph 96]);
based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being less than a predetermined number:
obtain notification information mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]); and
transmit the obtained notification information to the at least one user device through the communication interface (The present invention relates to a wearable robot control system using augmented reality that can notify a user and control a wearable robot [paragraph 1], wherein the image display unit can display the recognized environment or object [paragraph 20]); and
based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being greater than or equal to the predetermined number, control a driver of the wearable robot to avoid the dangerous situation (A control signal for moving the wearable robot is generated based on whether there is an obstacle or other area that needs to be avoided [paragraph 70]).
Seo Joon Ho does not teach:
obtain safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information, information about dangerous situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each dangerous situation among the dangerous situations.
However, Aprigliano teaches:
obtain safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information (paragraphs 6-7, which describe only providing assistance when necessary in case of an actual risk of falling), information about dangerous situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each dangerous situation among the dangerous situations (Various environmental factors such as slippery or bumpy floors or potentially dangerous conditions in the working environment can pose a potential risk of falling [paragraph 2]. The wearable device of the present invention, contrary to the known devices, combines a system that identifies a balance loss of the user subject, potentially dangerous and bringing to a fall, to a system actively assisting the subject, for helping him/her to regain balance and avoid the fall. More particularly, thanks to the above described device arrangement, it is capable to respond immediately to a balance loss, by driving the flexion/extension of the hip and then change the response of the lower limb articular joints of the subject, promoting his/her adequate standing on two feet and increasing the friction force between the lower limbs and the ground [paragraph 40]. This includes recognizing emergency situations of balance loss and an incipient fall [paragraphs 28-29]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with obtain safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information, information about dangerous situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each dangerous situation among the dangerous situations as taught by Aprigliano so as to give the robot a “safe state” for the robot with which to compare dangerous conditions.
Seo Joon Ho also does not teach:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information.
However, Goffer teaches:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information (an exoskeleton device that can include one or more sensors, including a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of a power source of the exoskeleton device and generate the information if the temperature measurement indicates a malfunctioning power source [paragraph 7]. This is further showed in FIG. 4, where a power failure detection circuit can detect that the battery is overheating [paragraph 41]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information as taught by Goffer so as to allow the system to detect when the battery or similar power supply system is overheating.
Seo Joon Ho also does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model.
However, Lee teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model (Lee describes training an artificial neural network with training data in paragraphs 71-73, wherein the training is for a robot having a function of recognizing an environment and performing an operation according to its own judgment [paragraph 51]. In addition, motion trajectories may be generated such that an obstacle that hinders the robot 100 from moving is avoided [paragraph 122], which means that the system can identify dangerous situation information in the robot's environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model as taught by Lee so as to allow the system to be trained to identify new dangerous situations.
Regarding Claim 2. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying first context information and second context information based on the at least one sensing data received from the at least one user device, identify first dangerous situation information and second dangerous situation information corresponding to the type of the first context information and the type of the second context information;
identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to a first dangerous situation based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the first context information;
identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the second dangerous situation based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the second context information; and
based on identifying the first dangerous situation and the second dangerous situation, obtain first control information mapped to the first dangerous situation and second control information mapped to the second dangerous situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. While it is not explicit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho to repeat the process of identifying a first obstacle to identify a second obstacle based on new context information. This would be an obvious modification of the existing disclosure of Seo Joon Ho to produce a predictable result with a high chance of success).
Regarding Claim 3. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises the wearable robot, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying that a same type of context information is obtained based on at least two sensing data received from the at least one user device, identify dangerous situation information based on the identified same type of context information;
based on identifying that the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation corresponding to the dangerous situation information based on the at least two sensing data, obtain a control signal mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information; and
control the driver based on the control signal (The wearable robot should be controlled while changing the stiffness of a driving unit (not shown in figures). The generation unit may generate a control signal for changing the stiffness along with a control signal for the operation of the leg worn robot at 220 at the same time [paragraph 91]. When the environmental information in the specific environment and the object information about the position of the object such as an obstacle are obtained by means of the image obtainment unit, and an environment and an object in the specific environment are recognized, the robot identifies the intention of the user on the basis of the environmental characteristics of the specific environment or the characteristics of the object and generates a control signal for controlling the wearable robot according to the user’s intention, and drives the wearable robot on the basis of the generated control signal [paragraphs 48-51 and 95-96]).
Regarding Claim 4. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 3.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the at least two sensing data comprises first sensing data and second sensing data, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based on identifying the dangerous situation based on the first sensing data and identifying the dangerous situation based on the second sensing data, obtain the control signal mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information (When the environmental information in the specific environment and the object information about the position of the object information about the position of the object such as an obstacle are obtained by means of the image obtainment unit such as a camera and an environment and an object in the specific environment are recognized or the characteristics of the object, and generating a control signal for controlling the wearable robot according to the intention of the user in the specific environment [paragraphs 48-51, 53, 58, 91, and 95]).
Regarding Claim 7. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least one of surrounding object recognition information, surrounding terrain recognition information, altitude recognition information, temperature/humidity recognition information, time zone recognition information, or hyper-exercise recognition information (The environment information can include surrounding environment information [paragraph 1], which can include staircases, uphill or downhill inclines [paragraph 41]),
wherein dangerous situation information comprises at least one of collision avoidance situation information, unavailability situation information, use caution situation information, use restriction situation information, or malfunction situation information (A control signal for moving the wearable robot is generated based on whether there is an obstacle or other area that needs to be avoided [paragraph 70]), and
wherein the control information comprises at least one of sound notification information, exercise intensity information of the wearable robot, power control information, ambient sound listening control information, or flash control information (The present invention relates to a wearable robot control system using augmented reality that can notify a user and control a wearable robot [paragraph 1], wherein the image display unit can display the recognized environment or object [paragraph 20]).
Regarding Claim 8. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a server, and wherein the server is configured to transmit a control signal to at least one of the wearable robot or the at least one user device through the communication interface based on the obtained control information.
However, Lee teaches:
wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a server, and wherein the server is configured to transmit a control signal to at least one of the wearable robot or the at least one user device through the communication interface based on the obtained control information (FIG. 1 shows a server in communication with the wearable robot [paragraph 50]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a server, and wherein the server is configured to transmit a control signal to at least one of the wearable robot or the at least one user device through the communication interface based on the obtained control information as taught by Lee because having a remote server perform these functions is purely a matter of design choice.
Regarding Claim 10. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Seo Joon Ho does not teach:
wherein the at least one user device comprises at least one of a smartphone, a smart watch or a Bluetooth earphone.
However, Lee teaches:
wherein the at least one user device comprises at least one of a smartphone, a smart watch or a Bluetooth earphone (FIG. 1 shows a smartphone being used as the terminal at 200 [paragraph 64]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the at least one user device comprises at least one of a smartphone, a smart watch or a Bluetooth earphone as taught by Lee because having the user device be a smartphone is purely a matter of design choice.
Regarding Claim 11. Seo Joon Ho teaches a controlling method of an electronic apparatus, the controlling method comprising:
based on at least one sensing data being received from at least one user device through a communication interface, identifying the type of the context information corresponding to the at least one sensing data;
identifying the information about the dangerous situations based on the safety template information and the type of the context information;
identifying whether a surrounding environment of a wearable robot corresponds to a dangerous situation based on the at least one sensing data;
based on identifying that the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation, obtaining the control information mapped to each dangerous situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53]. This can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as whether the space of the specific environment is the downhill/uphill space, whether there is a staircase, indoor/outdoor, objects or obstacles, and characteristics of the object such as the type, position, shape, and arrangement are identified [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. The object information 15 about the position of the user, etc. should be obtained, and the intention of the user is determined based on this, and the control signal generator 150 determines the wearable robot 220 based on the identified user's intention. The control signal for the operation of can be generated directly, based on the control signal, the lower wearable robot 220 performs an operation such as walking or moving while avoiding obstacles [paragraph 91]); and
controlling at least one of the wearable robot or the at least one user device based on the obtained control information (A control signal for controlling the wearable robot is generated in accordance with the user’s intention in the specific environment [paragraph 95], and thereafter, the robot is driven based on the generated control signal [paragraph 96]),
wherein the obtaining control information comprises, based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being less than a predetermined number;
obtaining notification information mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]), and
transmitting the obtained notification information to the at least one user device (The present invention relates to a wearable robot control system using augmented reality that can notify a user and control a wearable robot [paragraph 1], wherein the image display unit can display the recognized environment or object [paragraph 20]); and
wherein the obtaining control information comprises, based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being greater than or equal to the predetermined number, controlling a driver of the wearable robot to avoid the dangerous situation (A control signal for moving the wearable robot is generated based on whether there is an obstacle or other area that needs to be avoided [paragraph 70]).
Seo Joon Ho does not teach:
obtaining safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information, information about dangerous situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each dangerous situation among the dangerous situations.
However, Aprigliano teaches:
obtaining safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information (paragraphs 6-7, which describe only providing assistance when necessary in case of an actual risk of falling), information about dangerous situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each dangerous situation among the dangerous situations (Various environmental factors such as slippery or bumpy floors or potentially dangerous conditions in the working environment can pose a potential risk of falling [paragraph 2]. The wearable device of the present invention, contrary to the known devices, combines a system that identifies a balance loss of the user subject, potentially dangerous and bringing to a fall, to a system actively assisting the subject, for helping him/her to regain balance and avoid the fall. More particularly, thanks to the above described device arrangement, it is capable to respond immediately to a balance loss, by driving the flexion/extension of the hip and then change the response of the lower limb articular joints of the subject, promoting his/her adequate standing on two feet and increasing the friction force between the lower limbs and the ground [paragraph 40]. This includes recognizing emergency situations of balance loss and an incipient fall [paragraphs 28-29]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with obtaining safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information, information about dangerous situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each dangerous situation among the dangerous situations as taught by Aprigliano so as to give the robot a “safe state” for the robot with which to compare dangerous conditions.
Seo Joon Ho also does not teach:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information.
However, Goffer teaches:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information (an exoskeleton device that can include one or more sensors, including a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of a power source of the exoskeleton device and generate the information if the temperature measurement indicates a malfunctioning power source [paragraph 7]. This is further showed in FIG. 4, where a power failure detection circuit can detect that the battery is overheating [paragraph 41]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information as taught by Goffer so as to allow the system to detect when the battery or similar power supply system is overheating.
Seo Joon Ho also does not teach:
based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model.
However, Lee teaches:
based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model (Lee describes training an artificial neural network with training data in paragraphs 71-73, wherein the training is for a robot having a function of recognizing an environment and performing an operation according to its own judgment [paragraph 51]. In addition, motion trajectories may be generated such that an obstacle that hinders the robot 100 from moving is avoided [paragraph 122], which means that the system can identify dangerous situation information in the robot's environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model as taught by Lee so as to allow the system to be trained to identify new dangerous situations.
Regarding Claim 12. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the controlling method as claimed in claim 11.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
further comprising, based on identifying first context information and second context information based on the at least one sensing data received from the at least one user device, identifying first dangerous situation information and second dangerous situation information corresponding to the type of the first context information and the type of the second context information,
wherein the identifying whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation comprises:
identifying whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to a first dangerous situation based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the first context information; and
identifying whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the second dangerous situation based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the second context information, and
wherein the obtaining control information comprises, based on identifying the first dangerous situation and the second dangerous situation, obtaining first control information mapped to the first dangerous situation and second control information mapped to the second dangerous situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. While it is not explicit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho to repeat the process of identifying a first obstacle to identify a second obstacle based on new context information. This would be an obvious modification of the existing disclosure of Seo Joon Ho to produce a predictable result with a high chance of success).
Regarding Claim 13. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the controlling method as claimed in claim 11.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the electronic apparatus comprises the wearable robot,
wherein the identifying dangerous situation information comprises, based on identifying that a same type of context information is obtained based on at least two sensing data received from the at least one user device, identify dangerous situation information based on the identified same type of context information, and
wherein the obtaining control information comprises, based on identifying that the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation corresponding to the dangerous situation information based on the at least two sensing data, obtaining a control signal mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information, and
wherein the controlling comprises controlling the driver based on the control signal (The wearable robot should be controlled while changing the stiffness of a driving unit (not shown in figures). The generation unit may generate a control signal for changing the stiffness along with a control signal for the operation of the leg worn robot at 220 at the same time [paragraph 91]. When the environmental information in the specific environment and the object information about the position of the object such as an obstacle are obtained by means of the image obtainment unit, and an environment and an object in the specific environment are recognized, the robot identifies the intention of the user on the basis of the environmental characteristics of the specific environment or the characteristics of the object and generates a control signal for controlling the wearable robot according to the user’s intention, and drives the wearable robot on the basis of the generated control signal [paragraphs 48-51 and 95-96]).
Regarding Claim 14. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the controlling method as claimed in claim 13.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the at least two sensing data comprises first sensing data and second sensing data, and
wherein the obtaining the control signal further comprises, based on identifying the dangerous situation based on the first sensing data and identifying the dangerous situation based on the second sensing data, obtaining the control signal mapped to the dangerous situation based on the safety template information (When the environmental information in the specific environment and the object information about the position of the object information about the position of the object such as an obstacle are obtained by means of the image obtainment unit such as a camera and an environment and an object in the specific environment are recognized or the characteristics of the object, and generating a control signal for controlling the wearable robot according to the intention of the user in the specific environment [paragraphs 48-51, 53, 58, 91, and 95]).
Regarding Claim 16. Seo Joon Ho teaches an electronic apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions;
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to:
based on at least one sensing data being received from at least one user device, identify the type of the context information corresponding to the at least one sensing data;
based on identifying that a surrounding environment of a wearable robot corresponds to a situation based on the at least one sensing data, obtain control information mapped to each situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53]. This can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as whether the space of the specific environment is the downhill/uphill space, whether there is a staircase, indoor/outdoor, objects or obstacles, and characteristics of the object such as the type, position, shape, and arrangement are identified [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. The object information 15 about the position of the user, etc. should be obtained, and the intention of the user is determined based on this, and the control signal generator 150 determines the wearable robot 220 based on the identified user's intention. The control signal for the operation of can be generated directly, based on the control signal, the lower wearable robot 220 performs an operation such as walking or moving while avoiding obstacles [paragraph 91]); and
control at least one of the wearable robot or the at least one user device based on the obtained control information (A control signal for controlling the wearable robot is generated in accordance with the user’s intention in the specific environment [paragraph 95], and thereafter, the robot is driven based on the generated control signal [paragraph 96]);
based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being less than a predetermined number;
obtain notification information mapped to the situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]); and
transmit the obtained notification information to the at least one user device (The present invention relates to a wearable robot control system using augmented reality that can notify a user and control a wearable robot [paragraph 1], wherein the image display unit can display the recognized environment or object [paragraph 20]); and
based on the at least one sensing data corresponding to the type of context information received from the at least one user device being greater than or equal to the predetermined number, control a driver of the wearable robot to avoid the dangerous situation (A control signal for moving the wearable robot is generated based on whether there is an obstacle or other area that needs to be avoided [paragraph 70]).
Seo Joon Ho does not teach:
obtain safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information, information about situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each situation among the situations.
However, Aprigliano teaches:
obtain safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information (paragraphs 6-7, which describe only providing assistance when necessary in case of an actual risk of falling), information about situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each situation among the situations (Various environmental factors such as slippery or bumpy floors or potentially dangerous conditions in the working environment can pose a potential risk of falling [paragraph 2]. The wearable device of the present invention, contrary to the known devices, combines a system that identifies a balance loss of the user subject, potentially dangerous and bringing to a fall, to a system actively assisting the subject, for helping him/her to regain balance and avoid the fall. More particularly, thanks to the above described device arrangement, it is capable to respond immediately to a balance loss, by driving the flexion/extension of the hip and then change the response of the lower limb articular joints of the subject, promoting his/her adequate standing on two feet and increasing the friction force between the lower limbs and the ground [paragraph 40]. This includes recognizing emergency situations of balance loss and an incipient fall [paragraphs 28-29]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with obtain safety template information comprising a plurality of types of context information, information about situations mapped to a type of the plurality of types of context information, and control information mapped to each situation among the situations as taught by Aprigliano so as to give the robot a “safe state” for the robot with which to compare dangerous conditions.
Seo Joon Ho also does not teach:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information.
However, Goffer teaches:
wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information (an exoskeleton device that can include one or more sensors, including a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of a power source of the exoskeleton device and generate the information if the temperature measurement indicates a malfunctioning power source [paragraph 7]. This is further showed in FIG. 4, where a power failure detection circuit can detect that the battery is overheating [paragraph 41]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the plurality of types of context information comprises at least temperature/humidity recognition information as taught by Goffer so as to allow the system to detect when the battery or similar power supply system is overheating.
Seo Joon Ho also does not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model.
However, Lee teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model (Lee describes training an artificial neural network with training data in paragraphs 71-73, wherein the training is for a robot having a function of recognizing an environment and performing an operation according to its own judgment [paragraph 51]. In addition, motion trajectories may be generated such that an obstacle that hinders the robot 100 from moving is avoided [paragraph 122], which means that the system can identify dangerous situation information in the robot's environment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho with wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: based on identifying dangerous situation information, identify whether the surrounding environment of the wearable robot corresponds to the dangerous situation by providing the at least one sensing data and the dangerous situation information to a trained artificial intelligence model as taught by Lee so as to allow the system to be trained to identify new dangerous situations.
Regarding Claim 17. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 16.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
based on identifying that a same type of context information is obtained based on at least two sensing data received from the at least one user device, identify situation information based on the identified same type of context information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. While it is not explicit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho to have sensors from multiple devices, such as the goggles located on the person’s face and the wearable robotic device on the user’s leg, and then identifying the situation information based on the combination of both sensor information. This would be an obvious modification of the existing disclosure of Seo Joon Ho to produce a predictable result with a high chance of success).
Regarding Claim 18. Seo Joon Ho in combination with Aprigliano, Goffer, and Lee teaches the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 17.
Seo Joon Ho also teaches:
wherein the at least two sensing data comprises first sensing data and second sensing data, and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based on identifying the situation based on the first sensing data and identifying the situation based on the second sensing data, obtain a control signal mapped to the situation based on the safety template information (An image acquisition unit capable of recognizing an environment or an object of the environment from information obtained through the image acquisition unit [paragraph 53], which can include obtaining environmental characteristics such as various obstacles [paragraph 55]. An intention determiner detects the intention of the user based on an environmental feature or an object characteristic of the specific environment recognized by the image recognizer [paragraph 58], and the intention grasping unit includes a database, which includes a user’s state, types and operable information of the wearable robot worn by the user, a driving history of the wearable robot, and the like [paragraph 60]. Thus, when walking or moving while avoiding an obstacle located in the specific environment through the wearable robot, an object such as environmental information 10 and obstacles in the specific environment should be obtained, with the control signal generated based on this [paragraph 91]. While it is not explicit, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Seo Joon Ho to repeat the process of identifying a first obstacle to identify a second obstacle based on new context information. This would be an obvious modification of the existing disclosure of Seo Joon Ho to produce a predictable result with a high chance of success).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656