DEATILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al. (US 2020/0112907) in view of Di Girolamo et al. (US 2022/0116814) in further view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0243728).
Regarding claim 1, Dao teaches a method for remotely controlling a vehicle, the method comprising (Paragraph [0025] teaches remotely controlling a vehicle):
obtaining, by a session management function entity, protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter information corresponding to a plurality of remote control modes of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0041]; [0043]; [0053]; [0073]; [0074] describes the SMF entity obtaining PDU session QoS parameter information corresponding to multiple remote control modes of a vehicle specifically distinguishing between human remote driving (high QoS: 10 Mbps GFBR/10ms PDB) and autonomous/machine driving (low QoS: 1 Mbps GFBR/ 100ms PDB)),
the plurality of remote control modes including a first remote control mode and a second remote control mode (Paragraph [0041]-[0042]; [0053]; [0419]; [0421] describes modes including both remote controlled driving (first remote control mode/manual) and fully automated driving (second remote control mode/machine) );
Dao doesn’t teach receiving, by the session management function entity while the vehicle is controlled according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode, mode switching information from an application function entity, and controlling, by the session management function entity based on the mode switching information, the vehicle to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode.
Di Girolamo teaches receiving, by the session management function entity while the vehicle is controlled according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode, mode switching information from an application function entity (Paragraphs [0035]; [0091];[0096]; [0279] describes the application function (AF) communicating with the SMF while a vehicle is actively operating under a given QoS/PDU session configuration. The network receiving a failure or switching notification message from a network analytics function while the device is actively controlled),
Dao teaches the mode switching information indicating the first remote control mode is to be switched to the second remote control mode (Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]; [0053]; [0084] describes adjusting its operating mode or switching to the second remote control mode );
Di Girolamo teaches and controlling, by the session management function entity based on the mode switching information ([0035]; [0091];[0096]; [0279] describes the SMF while a vehicle is actively operating under a given QoS/PDU session configuration. The network receiving a failure or switching notification message from a network analytics function while the device is actively controlled),
Di Girolamo doesn’t teach the vehicle to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode.
Lee teaches the vehicle to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode (Paragraph [0089] describes based on the signal interface the vehicle to switch from the manual driving mode to the autonomous driving mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dao in view of Di Girolamo to incorporate the teachings of Lee the vehicle to switch from the manual driving mode to the autonomous driving mode to guide drivers on alternative courses of action to allow them to drive more safely and lower the risks of accidents (Lee, Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches wherein the first remote control mode is a manual remote driving mode, and the second remote control mode is a machine remote driving mode (Paragraphs [0025]; [0042]; [0053] describes automated driving and remote controlled driving (by human operator)).
Regarding claim 3, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches controlling, by the session management function entity, the vehicle to establish at least one PDU session for the plurality of remote control modes based on the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the plurality of remote control modes (Paragraphs [0041]; [0053]; [0073]-[0076]; [0178]; [0186] describes the SMF as the controlling entity for PDU session establishment, uses information to make decision about session support and controls the QoS notification process for the session. QoS information type indication in the PDU session request means the session establishment process takes into account multiple QoS types corresponding to different operating modes).
Regarding claim 4, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Lee, teaches further comprising: maintaining, by the session management function entity, the PDU session corresponding to the second remote control mode in an active state before the vehicle is controlled to switch to the remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode (Paragraph [0084] describes the second mode is maintained in active state before the switch happens).
Regarding claim 5, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches wherein the controlling the vehicle to establish the at least one PDU session comprises: controlling, by the session management function entity, the vehicle to establish a same PDU session for the plurality of remote control modes, the PDU session parameter information of the session being different for the plurality of remote control modes (Paragraphs [0041]; [0053]; [0073]; [0075] [0081]-[0082] describes the same PDU sessions continue during handover with changing QoS parameters. The SMF manages these parameter changes within the same session. Different QoS configurations apply depending on network conditions).
Regarding claim 6, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches wherein the controlling the vehicle to establish the at least one PDU session comprises: controlling, by the session management function entity, the vehicle to establish different PDU sessions for the plurality of remote control modes according to different PDU session parameter information for the plurality of remote control modes (Paragraphs [0054]; [0073];[0080]; [0092]; [0186] describes establishing different PDU sessions for different remote control modes under SMF control).
Regarding claim 7, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches wherein the PDU session parameter information for each of the plurality of remote control modes includes quality of service (QoS) parameter information, the QoS parameter information including an uplink QoS parameter and a downlink QoS parameter; and the uplink QoS parameters corresponding to the plurality of remote control modes are different (Paragraphs [0157]; [0186]; [0365] describes QoS parameter information including both uplink and downlink parameters for PDU sessions, the uplink QoS parameters are different).
Regarding claim 8, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Di Girolamo teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the session management function entity, the PDU session parameter information for the switch by the vehicle to the application function entity after the vehicle is controlled to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode, wherein the application function entity transmits a remote control instruction to the vehicle based on the received PDU session parameter information (Paragraphs [0035]; [0091];[0096]; [0279] describes the AF triggers a switch, the SMF executes the switch the SMF reports back to the AF with actual session parameters, and AF generating remote control instructions based on received session parameters).
Regarding claim 9, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches wherein the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode and the second remote control mode are respectively determined by a policy control function entity and the application function entity before the vehicle is remotely controlled according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode (Paragraphs [0075]; [0166]; [0148]; [0229]-[0230]; [0244] describes PCF determines parameters for first remote control mode and AF determines parameters for second remote control mode).
Regarding claim 10, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches wherein the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode is determined before the vehicle is remotely controlled according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode, and the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode is determined while the vehicle is remotely controlled with the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode (Paragraphs [0041]; [0073]-[0075]; [0079] describes first mode parameters determined before active remote control begins, second mode parameters determined while vehicle is actively controlled under first mode. First mode pre-configured, vehicle operates under first mode, second mode parameters determined during operation).
Regarding claim 13, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Lee teaches further comprising: while the vehicle is remotely controlled in the manual remote driving mode, determining that the vehicle is to switch from the manual remote driving mode to the machine remote driving mode based on at least one of road condition information or network state information of a driving road segment of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0009]; [0089] describes while vehicle is under manual remote driving mode active decision that mode switch should occur, manual to machine driving mode based on road condition information).
Regarding claim 14, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Lee teaches further comprising: while the vehicle is remotely controlled in the machine remote driving mode, determining that the vehicle is to switch from the machine remote driving mode to the manual remote driving mode based on at least one of road condition information or network state information of a driving road segment of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0009]; [0089] describes while vehicle is under machine remote driving mode active decision that mode switch should occur, machine to manual driving mode based on road condition information).
Regarding claim 15, Dao in view of Di Girolamo and Lee, Dao teaches an apparatus for remotely controlling a vehicle, the apparatus comprising: processing circuitry configured to (Paragraph [0042]; [0073]; [0352] describes an apparatus for remotely controlling a vehicle):
Dao teaches obtain protocol data unit (PDU) session parameter information corresponding to a plurality of remote control modes of the vehicle (Paragraphs [0041]; [0043]; [0053]; [0073]; [0074] describes the SMF entity obtaining PDU session QoS parameter information corresponding to multiple remote control modes of a vehicle specifically distinguishing between human remote driving (high QoS: 10 Mbps GFBR/10ms PDB) and autonomous/machine driving (low QoS: 1 Mbps GFBR/ 100ms PDB)),
Dao teaches the plurality of remote control modes including a first remote control mode and a second remote control mode (Paragraph [0041]-[0042]; [0053]; [0419]; [0421] describes modes including both remote controlled driving (first remote control mode/manual) and fully automated driving (second remote control mode/machine));
Dao doesn’t teach receive, while the vehicle is controlled according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode, mode switching information from an application function entity, and control, based on the mode switching information, the vehicle to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode.
Di Girolamo teaches receive, while the vehicle is controlled according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the first remote control mode, mode switching information from an application function entity (Paragraphs [0035]; [0091];[0096]; [0279] describes the application function (AF) communicating with the SMF while a vehicle is actively operating under a given QoS/PDU session configuration. The network receiving a failure or switching notification message from a network analytics function while the device is actively controlled),
Dao teaches the mode switching information indicating the first remote control mode is to be switched to the second remote control mode (Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]; [0053]; [0084] describes adjusting its operating mode or switching to the second remote control mode);
Di Girolamo doesn’t the vehicle to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode.
Lee teaches the vehicle to switch to remote control according to the PDU session parameter information corresponding to the second remote control mode (Paragraph [0089] describes based on the signal interface the vehicle to switch from the manual driving mode to the autonomous driving mode).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 respectively.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 respectively.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 respectively.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5 respectively.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 respectively.
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464