DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/26/2026 has been entered. Claim 2 was cancelled. Claims 1 and 3 – 15 remain pending in the application.
The Applicant’s amendment has overcome all claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections on record, except the rejection of Claim 12, and they have been withdrawn.
Please see the repeated 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of Claim 12 below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Please see the current rejections below for further details.
Applicant's newly amended claim limitations necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “wherein the a body portion” in line 2, which should recite “wherein the
Claim 9 recites “a body portion” in line 3, which should recite “the body portion” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the term “preferably” in the claim language. This yields the claim indefinite, since it is unclear if the structure following “preferably” is positively recited in the claim. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained
Regarding “preferably”, preferably is defined as ideally, if possible. What is providing the structure following “preferably” is not possible? If it is not possible, this limitation is not positively recited.
This yields the claim indefinite.
To overcome this rejection, the Examiner recommends deleting “preferably” from the claim language.
Claim 14 recites “in particular a decorative element according to claim 1” in lines 6-7. This yields the claim indefinite, since it is unclear if the structure following “in particular” is positively recited in the claim. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained
Regarding “in particular”, in particular is defined as ideally, if possible. What is providing the structure following “in particular” is not possible? If it is not possible, this limitation is not positively recited.
This yields the claim indefinite.
To overcome this rejection, the Examiner interprets “providing a decorative element, in particular a decorative element according to claim 1” to recite “providing a decorative element according to claim 1”.
Claim 15 is rejected for its dependency on Claim 14.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2017171204A, English Machine Translation provided previously relied upon below) in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,162,551).
Regarding Claim 1, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
A decorative element (16) for an air vent (10), wherein the decorative element (16) comprises a base body (the body of 16, as illustrated in Figure 1) including at least one connecting part (34), wherein the at least one connecting part (34) comprises a first joining element (34 is a joining element that joins with the case of 12) for forming a locking connection (as illustrated in Figure 2 and described on Page 4, lines 1-12) with a second joining element (24) formed on an air vent housing (12, 14) of the air vent (10) or on a screen of the air vent (it is noted 24 is formed on the air vent housing 12 of air vent 10, satisfying the “or” limitation), wherein
the first joining element (34) comprises a body portion (3402) projecting from (as illustrated in Figure 1) the base body (the body of 16, as illustrated in Figure 1) and is configured to join with (as illustrated in Figure 2 and described on Page 4, lines 1-12) the second joining element (24).
However, Sasaki lacks showing the body portion comprises a recessed portion with an open end and a closed end.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle air vents, Yamamoto teaches (Figures 3, 4, and 5):
It is known in the air vent (register, title) art for a first joining element (2a) to comprise a body portion (the body of 2a, as illustrated in Figure 5), wherein the body portion (the body of 2a, as illustrated in Figure 5) comprises a recess portion (the center recess portion of 2a, as illustrated in Figure 5) with an open end (the left end of 2a is open to receive 1a, as illustrated in Figure 5) and a closed end (the right end of 2a is closed, as illustrated in Figure 5) and is configured to join with (as illustrated in Figures 3, 4, and 5, 2a joins with 1a) a second joining element (1a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the first joining element with the body portion that comprises a recessed portion with an open end and a closed end taught by Yamamoto for the first joining element shown by Sasaki to make it easier to remove the decorative element after installation to retrieve an object from inside the air vent, because it does no more than yield predictable results of joining the decorative cover to the air vent housing, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Sasaki (Figures 1 and 2) and Yamamoto (Figures 3, 4, and 5) teaches:
The body portion (Yamamoto: the body of 2a, as illustrated in Figure 5) projecting from the base body (Sasaki: the body of 16, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the decorative element (Sasaki: 16) is configured to be received (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 2, Yamamoto: as illustrated in Figure 4) a recessed portion (Sasaki: the recessed portion between 2612 and 30) formed at least partly in (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 2) the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14) or in a screen of the air vent.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Sasaki (Figures 1 and 2) and Yamamoto (Figures 3, 4, and 5) teaches:
The first joining element (Sasaki: 34, as modified in view of Yamamoto in Claim 1 above) of the decorative element (Sasaki: 16) is configured so as to form a snap or latch connection (Yamamoto: as illustrated in Figures 3, 4, and 5, 2a forms a latch connection with 1a) with the second joining element (Sasaki: 24) of the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14) or the screen of the air vent.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Sasaki (Figures 1 and 2) and Yamamoto (Figures 3, 4, and 5) teaches:
An air vent (Sasaki: 10) for vehicles (Sasaki: vehicle, Page 2, line 6), comprising an air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14) and a decorative element (Sasaki: 16) according to Claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above), wherein the decorative element (Sasaki: 16) is connected or connectable to (Sasaki: via 34, as illustrated in Figure 2) the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14) in a detachable or exchangeable manner (Sasaki: 34 is able to detach from 24, since this is not a permanent connection) in such a way that the base body (Sasaki: the body of 16, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the decorative element (Sasaki: 16) is placed at least partly in a portion (Sasaki: 16 is placed in 2608, which is a portion of the opening) of an air outlet opening (Sasaki: opening defined within 2602 on the left side, 2604, 2602 on the right side, and 2606, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the air vent (Sasaki: 10).
Regarding Claim 9, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
At least a recessed portion (2608) configured on opposite sides (as illustrated in Figure 2) of the air vent housing (12, 14), in which the recessed portion (2608) the body portion (3402) of the at least one connecting part (34) of the decorative element (16) projecting outward from (as illustrated in Figure 1) the base body (the body of 16) is at least partially receivable (as illustrated in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The air vent (10) comprises a screen (screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) that can be detached or exchangeably connected (via 21) to the air vent housing (12, 14) at the air outlet opening (the air outlet opening of 10, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the air vent (10), wherein the screen (22) comprises at least one joining element (21), which, when the screen (screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) is connected to the air vent housing (12, 14), cooperates with (as illustrated in Figure 1, 21 and 3402 cooperate with each other via their connection to the housing of 12) a body portion (3402) of the at least one connecting part (34) of the decorative element (16) in such a way that the screen (screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) and the decorative element (16) are fastened to (as illustrated in Figure 2) the air vent housing (12, 14).
Regarding Claim 11, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The at least one joining element (21) of the screen (screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) is formed and configured as a protruding part (as illustrated in Figure 1) in order to be received or enclosed at least partly by a recessed portion (recessed portion in 1804 in which 21 is engaged) the body potion of the at least one connecting part of the decorative element (it is noted 21 is engaged with a recessed portion, satisfying the “or” limitation) when the screen (21) is connected to the air vent housing (12, 14). .
Regarding Claim 12, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
At least one recess (the recess below 28, as illustrated in Figure 1) is preferably configured on a face (the top face) of the air vent housing (12, 14) and is associated with (as illustrated in Figure 1, 28 covers 21) with the at least one joining element (21) of the screen (22) and is configured, when the screen (22) is connected to (as illustrated in Figure 1) the air vent housing (12, 14), to at least partly receive the at least one joining element (21) of the screen (22) while forming a snap or latch connection (a latch connection is formed between 28 and 12).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Sasaki (Figures 1 and 2) and Yamamoto (Figures 3, 4, and 5) teaches:
A method (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figures 1 and 3 and described on Page 4) for manufacturing an air vent (Sasaki: 10) for vehicles (Sasaki: vehicle, Page 2, line 6), wherein the method comprises:
providing (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 1, 12 is provided) an air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14);
providing a screen (Sasaki: screen formed by plurality of 22 and provided, as illustrated in Figure 1) that is detachably or exchangeably connectable (Sasaki: via 21) to the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14);
providing (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 1, 16 is provided) a decorative element (Sasaki: 16) according to Claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1 above), wherein
at least one recess portion (Sasaki: 2608) is formed on a face (Sasaki: face of 14, as illustrated in Figure 1, includes 2614 and the front flat surface of rectangle forming 30) in a portion (Sasaki: 16 is placed in 2608, which is a portion of the air outlet opening) of an air outlet opening (Sasaki: air outlet opening of 10, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14), which recess portion (Sasaki: 2608) is configured so as to at least partly receive (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 2) a body portion (Sasaki: 3402) of a connecting part (Sasaki: 34) of the decorative element (Sasaki: 16), and wherein the screen (Sasaki: screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) comprises at least one joining element (Sasaki: 21), which, when the screen (Sasaki: screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) is connected to the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14), cooperates with (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 1, 21 and 3402 cooperate with each other via their connection to the housing of 12) the body portion (Sasaki: 3402) of the at least one connecting part (Sasaki: 34) of the decorative element (Sasaki: 16) in such a way that the screen (Sasaki: screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) and the decorative element (Sasaki: 16) are fastened to (Sasaki: as illustrated in Figure 2) the air vent housing (Sasaki: 12, 14).
Regarding Claim 15, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The method further comprises the following method steps:
positioning (as illustrated in Figure 1) the decorative element (16) at the air outlet opening (air outlet opening of 10, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the air vent housing (12) in such a way that the body portion (3402) of the at least one connecting part (34) of the decorative element (16) is received at least partly in (as illustrated in Figure 2) the at least one recess portion (2608) of the air vent housing (12, 14); and
connecting (as illustrated in Figure 1) the screen (screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) to the air vent housing (12, 14) in such a way that the joining element (21) of the screen (screen formed by plurality of 22, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) is received or enclosed at least portionally by a recessed portion (recessed portion in 1804 in which 21 is engaged) or hole in the body potion of the at least one connecting part of the decorative element (it is noted 21 is engaged with a recessed portion, satisfying the “or” limitation).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2017171204A, English Machine Translation provided previously relied upon below) and Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,162,551), as recited in Claim 1 above, in view of Kim (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0406722).
Regarding Claim 4, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The base body (the body of 16 as illustrated in Figure 1) of the decorative element (16) is formed at least partly as a brace (as illustrated in Figure 1, 16 is a brace within 14) and is configured so as to be placed in a portion (16 is placed in 2608, which is a portion of the air outlet opening) of an air outlet opening (air outlet opening of 10, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the air vent (10) and connected there (as illustrated in Figure 2), preferably in a detachable or exchangeable manner (via 34), to the air vent housing (12, 14) via the at least one connecting part (34).
However, Sasaki lacks showing the brace is chrome.
In the same field of endeavor of air vents, Kim teaches (Figure 1):
It is known in the air vent (1) art for “increasing cases where decorative components including decorations such as in the form of chrome plating are placed at the outlet of the air vent to improve the design”, Paragraph 0004.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the brace shown by Sasaki to be made of chrome, as taught by Kim, to improve the design of the air vent.
Regarding Claim 5, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The base body (the body of 16, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the decorative element (16) has a width (the width of 16, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) corresponding at least substantially (as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2, the width of 16 corresponds at least substantially to the width of the outlet opening of 10) to a width (the width of the air outlet of 10, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) of the air outlet opening (the air outlet opening of 10, as illustrated in Figure 2) of the air vent (10), and wherein the base body (the body of 16, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the decorative element (16) has a height (the height of 16, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) that is preferably less than (as illustrated in Figure 1, the height of 16 is less than the height of the opening defined by 12) of the air outlet opening (the air outlet opening of 10, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2) of the air vent (10), wherein the at least one connecting part (34) is formed or provided on at least a broadside (as illustrated in Figure 1, the side in which 34 protrudes is a broadside facing 14), and preferably on both opposing broadsides (as illustrated in Figure 1) of the base body (the body of 16), and projects outwardly from (as illustrated in Figure 1, 34 projects outwardly away from 16) from a corresponding broadside with respect to the base body (the body of 16).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2017171204A, English Machine Translation provided previously relied upon below) and Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,162,551), as recited in Claim 1 above, in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,144,269).
Regarding Claim 6, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The decorative element (16) is formed integrally (as illustrated in Figure 1, 16 is one integral piece).
However, Sasaki lacks reciting the decorative element is made of plastic.
In the same field of endeavor of air vents, Zhang teaches::
“The register may be formed of aluminum, plastic, metal alloys, composites, chrome plated plastics, nickel plated composites, or other stiff materials”, Col. 7, line 65 – Col. 8, line 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to specify the decorative element shown by Sasaki to be made of plastic, as taught by Zhang, to reduce the weight of the air vent, by choosing from a finite number of identified materials with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2017171204A, English Machine Translation provided previously relied upon below) and Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,162,551), as recited in Claim 8 above, in view of Vito et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2006/0157901).
Regarding Claim 13, Sasaki shows (Figures 1 and 2):
A portion of the air vent housing (12, 14), the decorative element (16), and the screen (22).
However, Sasaki lacks showing at least one of those components comprises an anti-creaking coating.
In the same field of endeavor of noise generated by vibration, Vito teaches:
It is known to use an anti-creaking coating (“the first and second material layers have two sides, each of which has a coating of the bonding material”, see Claim 6; it is noted that a bonding coating is recited as the anti-creaking coating in Applicant’s Specification Paragraph 0049) for soundproofing in automobiles (Paragraph 0151).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the surfaces of at least one of the air vent housing, the decorative element, or the screen shown by Sasaki to include an anti-creaking coating, as taught by Vito, to soundproof the air vent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D. T./
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762