DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 03/19/2024 have all been considered and made of record.
Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubish (US 20040256138 A1) in view of Gill (US 20230400657 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Grubish discloses a duct attachment portion (Grubish/Fig4/Duct attachment portion 80) structurally configured to receive a cable, comprising:
a first sub-portion (Fig5/First sub-portion 114) that is structurally configured to have a receiving portion (Fig4/Receiving portion 104; Instance of element 104 as circled below);
a second sub-portion (Fig5/Second sub-portion 112) that is structurally configured to be connected to the first sub-portion;
an auxiliary wire entry portion (Fig8/Auxiliary wire entry portion as indicated within the dotted region below) that is structurally configured to receive an auxiliary wire (Fig8/Auxiliary wire 160);
an auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion that is structurally configured to be located between the first sub-portion and the second sub-portion (Fig5/Auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion 124);
wherein the receiving portion is structurally configured to receive a first connector portion (Figs1&2a/First connector portion 40);
wherein the second sub-portion is structurally configured to receive a second connector portion (Fig5/Second connector portion 198);
wherein the auxiliary wire is associated with the cable (Figures 1, 7a, and 8/Auxiliary wire and cable both enter element 10);
wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion is structurally configured to be penetrated by the auxiliary wire passing through the auxiliary wire entry portion; (Figures 5, 8, and 9) and
wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion is configured to provide an entry point for the auxiliary wire separate from the receiving portion to optimize use of the attachment portion (Fig5), and
the auxiliary wire entry portion is configured to improve protection of the auxiliary wire (Figs5&9/Disposition of element 124 [Grommet] with respect to elements 160 [Wire], 112 [Inside face], and 114 [Outside face]).
Grubish discloses an attachment portion that is structurally configured to receive a cable, but does not specifically disclose whether or not the attachment is configured to receive a cable duct. However, the practice of linking a cable with a duct to an attachment portion exists in the art as exemplified by Gill.
Grubish and Gill are considered to be analogous in the field of attachment structures for information distribution networks. Grubish discloses an attachment portion structurally configured to receive a cable. Gill teaches an attachment portion for a cable with a duct (Gill/Fig1/Attachment portion 7a; Paragraph 7/Lines 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a cable with a duct to the attachment portion disclosed by Grubish as suggested by Gill, since doing so would allow for a more physically durable avenue of communication to and from the attachment portion.
With regards to claim 2, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the duct attachment portion is structurally configured to be a duct port (Grubish/Fig4/Port 104 [Opening for optical cable]). Gill further teaches the duct attachment portion as being structurally configured to be a nozzle (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the duct attachment portion disclosed by Grubish and Gill such that it includes a nozzle since doing so would further protect and secure the duct within the duct attachment portion.
With regards to claim 3, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the first sub-portion is structurally configured to be an outer body (Grubish/Figures 1, 5, and 11 [Element 114 is directed outwardly]). Gill further teaches a portion of an attachment body as being a nozzle (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the duct attachment portion disclosed by Grubish and Gill such that it includes a nozzle since doing so would further protect and secure the duct within the duct attachment portion.
With regards to claim 4, Grubish and Gill the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the second sub-portion is structurally configured to be an inner body (Grubish/Figures 1, 5, and 11 [Element 112 is directed inwardly]). Gill further teaches a portion of an attachment body as being a nozzle (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the duct attachment portion disclosed by Grubish and Gill such that it includes a nozzle since doing so would further protect and secure the duct within the duct attachment portion.
With regards to claim 5, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the duct receiving portion is structurally configured to be a port (Figs1&4/Element 104 allows for communication between interior and exterior of element 10).
With regards to claim 6, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the duct receiving portion is a first duct receiving portion, and the duct attachment portion further comprises a second duct receiving portion (Fig4/Second duct receiving portion; Instance of element 104 as circled below).
With regards to claim 7, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, further comprising a sealing portion that is structurally configured to be positioned between the first sub-portion and the second sub-portion (Fig4/Sealing portion 82).
With regards to claim 8, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion is structurally configured to be an auxiliary wire window (Fig4/Auxiliary wire window 116).
With regards to claim 9, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion comprises a plurality of auxiliary wire windows (Fig4/Plurality of individual instances of element 116).
With regards to claim 10, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 9, wherein a separate one of the auxiliary wire windows is provided for each of a plurality of the duct receiving portion (Fig4/The number of elements 116 is equal to the number of duct receiving portions 104 [4]).
With regards to claim 11, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion is structurally configured to be located adjacent the auxiliary wire entry portion (Fig5/Relative positions of elements 116 and 124).
With regards to claim 12, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 1, wherein the duct attachment portion comprises a plurality of the duct receiving portion, and the duct attachment portion comprises exactly one of the auxiliary wire entry portion for each of the duct receiving portions (Fig4/The number of elements 116 is equal to the number of duct receiving portions 104 [4]).
With regards to claim 13, Grubish discloses an attachment portion structurally configured to receive a cable, comprising:
a receiving portion (Fig4/Receiving portion 104; Instance of element 104 as circled below);
an auxiliary wire entry portion that is structurally configured to receive an auxiliary wire (Fig8/Auxiliary wire entry portion as indicated within the dotted region below);
an auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion (Fig5/Auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion 124);
wherein the auxiliary wire is associated with the cable (Figures 1, 7a, and 8/Auxiliary wire and cable both enter element 10);
wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion is structurally configured to be penetrated by the auxiliary wire passing through the auxiliary wire entry portion (Figures 5, 8, and 9); and
wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion is configured to provide an entry point for the auxiliary wire separate from the receiving portion to optimize use of the attachment portion (Fig5), and
the auxiliary wire entry portion is configured to improve protection of the auxiliary wire (Figs5&9/Disposition of element 124 [Grommet] with respect to elements 160 [Wire], 112 [Inside face], and 114 [Outside face]).
Grubish discloses an attachment portion that is structurally configured to receive a cable, but does not specifically disclose whether or not the attachment is configured to receive a cable duct. However, the practice of linking a cable with a duct to an attachment portion exists in the art as exemplified by Gill.
Grubish and Gill are considered to be analogous in the field of attachment structures for information distribution networks. Grubish discloses an attachment portion structurally configured to receive a cable. Gill teaches an attachment portion for a cable with a duct (Gill/Fig1/Attachment portion 7a; Paragraph 7/Lines 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a cable with a duct to the attachment portion disclosed by Grubish, as suggested by Gill, since doing so would allow for a more physically durable avenue of communication to and from the attachment portion.
With regards to claim 14, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the duct receiving portion comprises a first sub-portion (Fig5/First sub-portion 114), and a second sub-portion (Fig5/Second sub-portion 112) that are structurally configured to be connected to the first sub-portion.
With regards to claim 15, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the duct attachment portion is structurally configured to be a duct port (Grubish/Fig4/Port 104 [Opening for optical cable]). Gill further teaches the duct attachment portion as being structurally configured to be a nozzle (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the duct attachment portion disclosed by Grubish and Gill such that it includes a nozzle since doing so would further protect and secure the duct within the duct attachment portion.
With regards to claim 16, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, further comprising a first sub-portion (Fig5/First sub-portion 114) that is structurally configured to receive the duct receiving portion, and a second sub-portion (Fig5/Second sub-portion 112) that is structurally configured to be connected to the first sub-portion.
With regards to claim 17, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 16, wherein the first sub-portion is structurally configured to be an outer body (Grubish/Figures 1, 5, and 11 [Element 114 is directed outwardly]), and the second sub-portion is structurally configured to be an inner body (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]). Gill further teaches a portion of an attachment body as being a nozzle (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second sub-portions disclosed by Grubish and Gill such that they include a nozzle since doing so would further protect and secure the ducts within the duct attachment portions.
With regards to claim 18, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the duct receiving portion is structurally configured to be a port (Figs1&4/Element 104 allows for communication between interior and exterior of element 10).
With regards to claim 19, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the duct receiving portion is a first duct receiving portion, and the duct attachment portion further comprises a second duct receiving portion (Fig4/Second duct receiving portion; Instance of element 104 as circled below).
With regards to claim 20, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion is structurally configured to be an auxiliary wire window (Fig4/Auxiliary wire window 116).
With regards to claim 21, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion comprises a plurality of auxiliary wire windows (Fig4/Plurality of individual instances of element 116).
With regards to claim 22, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 21, wherein a separate one of the auxiliary wire windows is provided for each of a plurality of the duct receiving portion (Fig4/The number of auxiliary wire windows 116 is equal to the number of duct receiving portions 104 [4]).
With regards to claim 23, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion is structurally configured to be located adjacent the auxiliary wire entry portion (Fig5/Relative positions of elements 116 and 124).
With regards to claim 24, Grubish and Gill together disclose the duct attachment portion of claim 13, wherein the duct attachment portion comprises a plurality of the duct receiving portion, and the duct attachment portion comprises exactly one of the auxiliary wire entry portion for each of the duct receiving portions (Fig4/The number of auxiliary wire windows 116 is equal to the number of duct receiving portions 104 [4]).
With regards to claim 25, Grubish discloses a first portion (Grubish/Fig5/First portion 114) structurally configured to receive a cable, comprising:
a receiving portion (Fig4/Receiving portion 104; Instance of element 104 as circled below);
an auxiliary wire entry portion (Fig5/Auxiliary wire entry portions 116);
an auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion (Fig5/Auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion 124);
wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion seal portion is structurally configured to be penetrated by an auxiliary wire passing through the auxiliary wire entry portion (Figures 5, 8, and 9);
wherein the auxiliary wire is associated with a cable (Fig6/Cable 106); and
wherein the auxiliary wire entry portion is configured to provide an entry point for the auxiliary wire separate from the receiving portion to optimize use of the first portion (Fig5), and
the auxiliary wire entry portion is configured to improve protection of the auxiliary wire (Figs5&9/Disposition of element 124 [Grommet] with respect to elements 160 [Wire], 112 [Inside face], and 114 [Outside face]).
Grubish discloses a first portion that is structurally configured to receive a cable, but does not specifically disclose whether or not the first portion is configured to receive a cable duct. However, the practice of linking a cable with a duct to a first portion exists in the art as exemplified by Gill.
Grubish and Gill are considered to be analogous in the field of attachment structures for information distribution networks. Grubish discloses a first portion structurally configured to receive a cable. Gill teaches a first portion for attachment to a cable with a duct (Gill/Fig1/First portion 7a; Paragraph 7/Lines 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a cable with a duct to the attachment portion disclosed by Grubish as suggested by Gill, since doing so would allow for a more physically durable avenue of communication to and from the first portion.
With regards to claim 26, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 25, further comprising an auxiliary wire entry portion (Fig8/Auxiliary wire entry portion as indicated within the dotted region below) that is structurally configured to receive the auxiliary wire.
With regards to claim 27, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 25, wherein the duct receiving portion is structurally configured to receive a cable duct (Grubish/Fig6; Gill/Fig1).
With regards to claim 28, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 25, wherein the first portion is structurally configured to be a duct port (Grubish/Fig4/Port 104 [Opening for optical cable]). Gill further teaches a portion as being structurally configured to be a nozzle (Gill/Figs1&2/Duct port nozzle as circled below [As seen in both figures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the duct attachment portion disclosed by Grubish and Gill such that it includes a nozzle since doing so would further protect and secure the duct within the duct attachment portion.
With regards to claim 29, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 25, wherein the duct receiving portion is a first duct receiving portion, and the first portion further comprises a second duct receiving portion (Fig4/Second duct receiving portion; Instance of element 104 as circled below).
With regards to claim 30, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 25, further comprising a plurality of auxiliary wire windows (Fig4/Plurality of individual instances of element 116).
With regards to claim 31, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 30, wherein a separate one of the auxiliary wire windows is provided for each of a plurality of the duct receiving portion (Fig4/The number of auxiliary wire windows 116 is equal to the number of duct receiving portions 104 [4]).
With regards to claim 32, Grubish and Gill together disclose the first portion of claim 25, wherein the first portion comprises a plurality of the duct receiving portion, and the first portion comprises exactly one auxiliary wire entry portion for each of the duct receiving portions (Fig4/The number of individual auxiliary wire entry portions 116 is equal to the number of duct receiving portions 104 [4]).
Conclusion
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar structure and/or similar optical elements to what is disclosed and/or claimed in the instant application:
Parikh (US 7333706 B2) [Fig3]
Cobb (US 5097529 A) [Figures 5-9]
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874