DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-16, 18, 21, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marinovich et al. (2018/0319029), hereinafter Marinovich.
Regarding claim 1, Marinovich teaches a cutting tool with a blade assembly, comprising:
a blade body 312 having a blade cutting edge 314; and
a blade attachment attached to the blade body, at least a portion of the blade cutting edge extending beyond the blade attachment between a first attachment edge and a second attachment edge of the blade attachment,
wherein the first attachment edge includes a flat region, a curved region (curved edges of the edge 404 in the knife thickness and in the blade surface that formed a narrow U-shaped recess), and a recess region disposed between and connecting the flat region and the curved region,
wherein the recess region is intersected by the blade cutting edge.
As to the limitation “a recess region”, since the shape and the boundary of the recess region is not clearly defined, the Examiner considers the “recess region” beginning from the flat region. Therefore, the blade cutting edge intersects the recess region.
See Fig. 27 and its annotation.
Regarding claim 11, Marinovich teaches a method of manufacturing blade assembly for use within a cutting tool, the method comprising:
providing a blade body 312 having a blade cutting edge; and
forming a blade attachment attached to the blade body, at least a portion of the blade cutting edge extending across a cutting channel between a first attachment edge on a first side of the cutting channel and a second attachment edge on a second side of the cutting channel opposite the first side of the cutting channel;
wherein the first attachment edge includes a flat region, a curved region (curved edges of the edge 404 in the knife thickness and in the blade surface that formed a narrow U-shaped recess).
See Fig. 27 and its annotation.
Regarding claim 21, Marinovich teaches a cutting tool with a blade assembly, comprising:
a blade body 312 having a blade cutting edge 314; and
a blade attachment attached to the blade body, at least a portion of the blade cutting edge extending beyond the blade attachment between a first attachment edge and a second attachment edge of the blade attachment, wherein the first attachment edge includes a flat region, a curved region (curved edges of the edge 404 in the knife thickness and in the blade surface that formed a narrow U-shaped recess), and a recess region connecting the flat region and the curved region, and the recess region is located adjacent to an intersection point of the curved region of the first attachment edge and the blade cutting edge, and
wherein the recess region is concave and defines a pocket between the flat region and the blade cutting edge that is offset below a cutting plane defined by the flat region.
See Fig. 27 and its annotation.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, a cutting channel 336 is best seen in Fig. 27.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the plat region defining a cutting plane is best seen in Fig. 27.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the recess region, the curved region, and the first attachment edge are connected along a common plane defined by the blade 312. See Fig. 27.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the curve region extending along an extending direction of the cutting channel 336 is best seen in Fig. 27.
Regarding claim 6, a handle adaptor 248 connecting the blade assembly 330 to the handle 220 is best seen in Fig. 40.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the cutting edge of the blade forming an angle with respect to the flat region is best seen in Fig. 27.
Regarding claim 9, the blade having a triangular shaped cross section at the cutting edge. See Fig. 38C.
Regarding claim 10, Marinovich teaches a steel blade.
Regarding claim 22, the curved edge (region) of the slot perpendicularly spaced apart (in a thickness direction) from the recessed region.
Regarding claim 24, the cutting channel is best seen in Fig. 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marinovich et al. (2018/0319029), hereinafter Marinovich, in view of Jacobs et al. (2021/0283760), hereinafter Jacobs.
Marinovich teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the blade assembly including a handle adaptor having a securing mechanism.
Jacobs teaches a blade assembly 601 including a handle adaptor 675 having a securing mechanism 680 for removably connecting with a handle 685. See Fig. 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the blade assembly in Marinovich including a handle adaptor having a securing mechanism as taught by Jacobs so that the blade assembly in Marinovich can be used with the handle in Jacob or the handle in Marinovich can be used with different blade assemblies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 and the limitation “a recess region”, since the shape and the boundary of the recess region is not clearly defined, the Examiner considers the “recess region” beginning from the flat region. Therefore, the blade cutting edge intersects the recess region.
Regarding claim 11, the cutting channel 336 is best seen in Fig. 27. The channel has two opposite sides. The blade 313 extends across the cutting channel and its ends are retained in the blade head.
Regarding claim 21, the recess region in annotated Fig. 27 defines a pocket. The blade edge 314 being spaced apart from the flat region is best seen in annotated Fig. 27.
Conclusion
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724