Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicants’ amendment of 29 May 2026. The amendments to the specification have overcome the objections to the disclosure. The amendments to the claims have overcome, the 35 USC 112(b) rejections and the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection and the 35 USC 103 rejection over claims 2, 4, 5, 9, 12 and 13. The 35 USC 103 art rejection over claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 11 and 14 has been modified in view of the amendment to the composition of the Alnico alloy powder.
Claim Interpretation
Since claims 2and 9 teaches the alloy contain 0% Cu, this teaching is being interrupted as meaning the alloy of these claims does not contain any copper impurities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended to now teach the AlNiCo alloy does not include Cu apart from inevitable impurities thereof. While the originally filed disclosure supports the newly added limitation that the AlNiCo alloy does not include Cu, there is no teaching in the originally filed specification that copper is an inevitable impurity in the taught alloy. Thus the newly added limitation to these claims that the alloy contains inevitable copper impurities is new matter. Dependent claims 3-7 and 10-14 implicitly include this limitation and thus also include new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2020/0391285.
This reference teaches a powder of AlNiCo base particles, a titanium oxide film on the base particle and a silver film on the titanium oxide film and a security ink comprising this powder. Paragraphs [0028] and [0059]-[0061] teach the taught AlNiCo alloy contains Al, Ni, Co, Fe, at least one of Cu, Ti and Si and inevitable impurities. Given this teaching that copper is an optional component, the reference suggests a AlNiCo alloy that does not contain copper. The taught alloy powder has a coercivity of 100-500 Oe and a preferred residual magnetization of 15-30 emu/g. These ranges falls within the ranges of claims 4 and 5 which means the taught AlNiCo base particles are semi-hard magnetic particles. Since the taught particles have the same structure and composition as that claimed, they must be a white powder having an L* value within the range of claim 6, absent any showing to the contrary. The produced alloy powder has an average particles diameter of 3-12 microns. The titanium oxide film has a thickness of 50-100 nm and the silver film has a thickness of 50-100 nm. Thus the taught powder has an average particle diameter of 4-14 microns, based on the sum of the film thicknesses and the size of the alloy particles. This size range overlaps the size range of claim 6. Since the taught alloy can have the claimed composition, the average particles diameter overlaps the claimed range and particles are produced same method as that claimed; the specific surface are of the produced alloy particles would be expected to at least overlap the range of claims 6 and 14, absent any showing to the contrary since the specific surface area is based on the shape of the particles, the particles size of the particles and the density of the alloy.
The reference teaches producing the AlNiCo alloy powder by atomization, heat treating the powder in an inert atmosphere at 700-800oC for 30 minutes to 2 hours, forming the titanium oxide film of the AlNiCo alloy powder and then forming a silver film of the titanium oxide film. This is the process of claims 8 and 10. Since the taught alloy powder has a residual magnetization of 15-20 emu/g, it appears the taught heat treatment step turns the alloy particles to a semi-hard powder having residual magnetization within the claimed range. The heat treatment time and temperature range overlap the conditions of claim 13. The produced alloy powder has an average particles diameter of 3-12 microns. This size range falls within that of claim 11. Since the taught alloy has an overlapping composition with that claimed, the average particles diameter falls within the claimed range and particles are produced same method as that claimed; the specific surface are of the produced alloy particles would be expected to at least overlap the range of claim 11, absent any showing to the contrary since the specific surface area is based on the shape of the particles, the particles size of the particles and the density of the alloy. The reference suggests the process of claims 8 and 10-13.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are not convincing. As discussed above, the reference teaches that the presence of copper in the taught AlNiCo alloy is optional and the argued copper containing alloy is a preferred embodiment. Since refences are not limited to the preferred embodiments, but are good for all they teach, the rejection, as modified above, is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
There is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record of a white powder comprising base particles made of AlNiCo alloy having the composition of claim 2, a titanium oxide film and a metallic silver film that is disposed in that order on the surfaces of the base particles outwardly from the surfaces and the method for making the powder, as set forth in claim 8, wherein the base particles used in the claimed method are made of AlNiCo alloy having the composition of claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C Melissa Koslow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734
cmk
6/15/26