DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding to 101 rejection, applicant argues that claim 17 is directed to a method of treating cellulite is not an abstract idea, and provides significantly more with improved cosmesis after healing as in paragraph [0066] of instant specification ( page 6).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner is not stating that whole method is abstract idea, but as written in previous office action, steps of “determining an instrument insertion location based on a first location of a first treatment site at the buttock, a second location of a second treatment site at the thigh, and a length of the instrument, wherein the instrument insertion location is in a crease or fold in skin where the buttock meets the thigh” is identified as “Mental Process” type abstract idea, as it involves concepts performed in the human mind with or without a physical aid, since a human, such as a surgeon can mentally think and consider (using evaluation and observation) first locations and second location for treatment, thus, potential sites for treatments, and consider how long the instrument is to determine how far can the instrument reach from insertion point, and access and can simulate in his head, to find/determine an optimal insertion site at the crease or fold in skin where the buttock meets the thigh.
Claim does have additional limitations that need to be evaluated under Step 2A Prong Two/Step 2B.
Step 2A Prong Two.- integration the judicial exception into a practical application. Additional limitations recite “creating an opening through the skin at the instrument insertion location inserting the instrument through the opening; advancing the instrument, with the instrument inserted through the opening, to first and second treatment sites.” Creating an opening and inserting instrument and advancing the instrument to target location merely amounts to a post-solution insignificant activity. There is no recitation of positively performing treatment by the instrument, but the claim limitation merely recites inserting the instrument to the determined location by mental framework, and advancing the instrument to target locations. Thus, claim 17 currently does not recite any meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, merely amount to insignificant pre/post-solution activities and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
2B Inventive concepts – The examiner notes that claim 17 currently recites “creating an opening through the skin at the instrument insertion location inserting the instrument through the opening; advancing the instrument, with the instrument inserted through the opening, to first and second treatment sites” and does not specify whether the instrument is performing any specific functions. Thus, element of inserting and advancing the instrument to treatment sites are considered to be conventional, as supported by traditional fat extraction tool using conventional tools, Toledo cannula ([0010]) for removing septae (Chomas et al. US 2012/0165725).
Thus, the elements are conventional, commercially available product, and thus, the examiner can conclude that the element is conventional and well-understood element in cellulite treatment field.
Therefore, for at least the above reasons, none of the claim 17 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims17 and 21 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding to 103 rejections, the applicant argues that modification of Chomas by Knowlton, how external treatment of Knowlton has any relevance to inserting location of the tool of minimally invasive procedure of Chomas, and Knowlton creates a separate opening through the skin for every treatment site, which actually teaches away from the present claim, and would not modify the Chomas based on the external punching of Knowlton to arrive at the claimed invention (pages 7-8).
With respect to modification of Chomas, Knowlton with various embodiments of Knowlton 251, applicant argues that Knowlton 251 uses insertion location for cooling fluid injection to contract collagen in the buttock and to deliver RF, which is completely divergent from minimally invasively cutting fibruous septae to release and loosen the dermins from underlying connective tissue of Chomas, and combinations of prior art do not render obvious advancement and treatment at two treatment sites by inserting through one opening of the skin in a minimally invasive procedure, and Figures 54A-B only discloses advancement of a treatment device into buttocks (page 9), and further argues that Knowlton 251’s flapping to remove skin to tighten the buttocks is not relevant to Chomas (page 10).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that combination of Chomas in view of Knowlton, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Specifically, Knowlton was cited for inserting location of the tool, not for combining Chomas with external treatment of Knowlton.
All of prior arts, Chomas, Knowlton and Knowlton 251 are concerned with treatment of cellulites, and specifically in areas of thighs and buttocks. Thus, combination of Chomas, Knowlton and Knowlton 251 are not bodily incorporating and combining three inventions of instrument and treatment. Since claims are directed to cellulite treatment method, and does not specify whether the treatment is invasive or non-invasive, but all three prior arts are concerned with moving or locating the instrument to the target for treatment of cellulites. The examiner also specifically cited Knowlton 251 for teaching treating cellulite (apparatus used to correct buttock ptosis and diminishment of cellulite [0258]), in infragluteal folds, uniform flap is raised with closed dissection over the buttocks and the superior aspect of the posterior lateral thigh ([0297]; which reads on the limitation of “a crease or fold in the skin where the buttocks meets the thigh”) and a dissecting tissue in a substantially uniform plane of dissection includes a housing configured to be advanced under a tissue layer (abstract) and advancing the instrument to target region ([0155] and [0249]), and figures 54A and 54B show inserted instrument at the transition of buttocks and thigh, advanced toward buttocks regions and transecting the septae to correct cellulite ([0249]), thus, reads on claimed advancing the instrument from first to second treatment site with the instrument inserted through the opening. Knowlton 251 further teaches closed advancement using a closed flap dissection with a uniform flap ([0083] Figures 68-71) and surgeon can advance the instrument to stop at a selected end point within tissue site and withdraw back to the incision site or some selected point in between ([0288]). The discussion about flap and invasiveness of the procedure is not applicable, as modification of Chomas, Knowlton with Knowlton 251’s teaching would be inserting the cutter of Chomas into the skin in a crease or fold where buttocks meet thigh, advancing the instrument to target regions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide cellulite correction in the buttocks and thighs ([0362] Knowlton).
Thus, combination of Knowlton and Knowlton 251 would be modifying movement of the cutter of Chomas, such that cutter can be inserted into the skin in a crease or fold where buttocks meets thigh and the cutter is advanced to the target regions, first and second locations.
The examiner further submits that Knowlton 251 is directed to treating cellulite by transecting the septae ([0249]), which is analogous to Chomas’ cutting tool for creating a plane of dissection which cuts or resects the fibrous septae responsible for creating the chambers of fat cells, treatment ([0165]). Thus, Knowlton 521 is analogous with Chomas in treating cellulites, and they are concerned with treating cellulite by disrupting septum.
Therefore, rejection is proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Statutory Category: Yes - The claims recite a method of treating, with an instrument, cellulite on a thigh and a buttock of a patient, and therefore, is a method.
Step 2A, Prong 1, Judicial Exception: Yes - The claim recites the limitation
Of claim 17, “determining an instrument insertion location based on a first location of a first treatment site at the buttock, a second location of a second treatment site at the thigh, and a length of the instrument, wherein the instrument insertion location is in a crease or fold in skin where the buttock meets the thigh.”
Of claim 21,“determining the instrument insertion location when the patient is standing.”
This limitation, as drafted, is a process step that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind as it is regarding a concept relating to determining a location in a crease or fold in skin where the buttock meets the thigh, based on target treatment locations and length of the instrument to be inserted. The determination of the location can be performed by observing the crease or fold of buttock and the thigh, specifically when the patient is standing, and surgeon can find a best location of insertion, by judging based on shortest travel of the instrument to first and second target sites and length of the instrument that can reach the target site from the insertion point. These determination can be conducted by mental framework of observation, judgement and opinion. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and/or being performed with the aid of a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites a mental process-type abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2, Integrated into Practical Application: No - The claim recites the following additional elements:
“creating an opening through the skin at the instrument insertion location inserting the instrument through the opening; advancing the instrument, with the instrument inserted through the opening, to first and second treatment sites.”
Creating an opening and inserting instrument and advancing the instrument to target location merely amounts to a post-solution insignificant activity. There is no recitation of positively performing treatment by the instrument, but the claim limitation merely recites inserting the instrument to the determined location by mental framework, and advancing the instrument to target locations.
These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, merely amount to insignificant post-solution activities and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This claim is therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept: No - Similarly to Step 2A Prong 2, claim 17 recites additional element:
“creating an opening through the skin at the instrument insertion location inserting the instrument through the opening; advancing the instrument, with the instrument inserted through the opening, to first and second treatment sites.”
This element is performed by inserting the instrument and moving the instrument toward treatment sites.
The element of inserting and advancing the instrument to treatment sites are considered to be well-understood and conventional in the field of cellulite treatment, as supported by traditional fat extraction tool using conventional tools, Toledo cannula ([0010]) for removing septae (Chomas et al. US 2012/0165725).
Therefore, the examiner concludes inserting the instrument and advancing the instrument, with the instrument inserted into the opening, to the target sites are common use in cellulite treatment, and thus, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception is not significantly more when recited with a claim with a judicial exception, fails to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception individually and in combination.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim. In light of the above, claims 17 and 21 are ineligible.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 1 and 17, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and when independent claim 17 is amended to overcome 101 rejection set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following rejection has been modified in view of applicant's arguments and/or amendments.
Claims 1, 4, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Chomas et al.,” US 2012/0165725 (hereinafter Chomas), “Knowlton,” US 2018/0000504 (hereinafter Knowlton), and “Knowlton et al.,” US 2004/0049251 (hereinafter Knowlton 251).
Regarding to claim 1, Chomas teaches a cellulite treatment method comprising:
creating an instrument insertion location (a cutting tool is inserted through a conduit through entry hole through the skin [0084], a cutting tool penetrate the skin or be placed through a hole in the skin [0140]; applicator inserted through the skin using a subdermal catheter through a hole in the skin [0179]; incision or other hole in the skin created by various dissection devices [0185]);
inserting an instrument through the insertion site opening through the skin ([0084], inserting cutting blade percutaneously [0194]);
advancing the instrument, to treatment site to disrupt a septum at the treatment site (cutting tool for creating a plane of dissection which cuts or resects the fibrous septae responsible for creating the chambers of fat cells, treatment [0165]).
Chomas discloses treating a cellulite wherein the patient has a thigh and a buttocks ([0016]), but does not teach the instrument insertion location is in a crease or fold in the skin where the buttocks meets the thigh, and advancing the instrument to first and second treatment site at the buttocks and the thigh.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor in cellulite treatment method, Knowlton teaches treating cellulite ([0434]), in infragluteal folds ([0477]; which reads on the limitation of “a crease or fold in the skin where the buttocks meets the thigh”) and advancing instrument in treating cellulite in areas of buttocks and thighs ([0362] discloses cellulite treatment is applied for areas of the skin with cobblestone appearances in the buttocks and lateral thighs, thus instrument is advanced to the treatment sites of thigh and buttocks).
Knowlton does not further teach advancing instrument to first and second site with the instrument inserted through the opening.
However, the examiner submits Knowlton 251 teaches treating cellulite (apparatus used to correct buttock ptosis and diminishment of cellulite [0258]), in infragluteal folds, uniform flap is raised with closed dissection over the buttocks and the superior aspect of the posterior lateral thigh ([0297]; which reads on the limitation of “a crease or fold in the skin where the buttocks meets the thigh”) and a dissecting tissue in a substantially uniform plane of dissection includes a housing configured to be advanced under a tissue layer (abstract) and advancing the instrument to target region ([0155] and [0249]), and figures 54A and 54B show inserted instrument at the transition of buttocks and thigh, advanced toward buttocks regions and transecting the septae to correct cellulite ([0249]), thus, reads on claimed advancing the instrument from first to second treatment site with the instrument inserted through the opening. Knowlton 251 further teaches closed advancement using a closed flap dissection with a uniform flap ([0083] Figures 68-71) and surgeon can advance the instrument to stop at a selected end point within tissue site and withdraw back to the incision site or some selected point in between ([0288]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify insertion site as taught by Chomas to incorporate teaching of Knowlton and Knowlton 251, since device entering the gluteal fold was well known in the art as taught by Knowlton and advancing to target region was well known in the art as disclosed by Knowlton 251. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by Chomas with no change in their respective functions, inserting the cutter into the skin in a crease or fold where buttocks meet thigh, advancing the instrument to target regions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide cellulite correction in the buttocks and thighs ([0362] Knowlton), and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding to claim 4, Chomas, Knowlton, and Knowlton 251 together teach all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Knowlton further teaches the patient is in a standing in figures 54A-B which shows determining location is in the cease where the buttock meets the thigh.
Regarding to claims 11-12, Chomas, Knowlton, and Knowlton 251 together teach all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Knowlton discloses Langer’s lines are used for directional guidance of the instrument ([0506]) wherein resection field is achieved by following Langer’s lines ([0392]) and also at right angles to Langer’s line ([0392] and [0398]).
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chomas and Knowlton, and Knowlton 251 as applied to claim 1 (and claim 2 for claims 3 and 5-6, and 14-15) above, and further in view of “Hart,” US 2014/0335072 (hereinafter Hart).
Regarding to claim 2, Chomas and Knowlton, and Knowlton 251 together teach all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Chomas further teaches following limitations:
marking a dimple to be treated at the first treatment site (a physician applies a reference mark to the dermis to identify a cellulite dimple for a treatment [0190])
marking the instrument insertion location (entry hole [0019], [0084], capturing dimpled cellulite into the recessed portion of the handpiece [0192]);
advancing the deployable pull-back cutter below the skin generally parallel to the surface of the skin or angles with respect thereto toward a marked dimple (conduit will penetrate into the tissue disposed within the recessed area, substantially parallel to the surface of the tissue [0087])
deploying a cutting blade of the instrument at the first/second treatment site (cutting blade is slidably disposed within sleeve[0093], cutting blades of the cutting tool is deployed [0195]); and
retracting the cutting blade to cut a septum associated with the dimple at the first/second treatment site(cut the fibrous septa [0031], [0073], reciprocating cutting blade [0091]-[0092], cutting tool is moved in a forward and reverse direction [0196])
Chomas does not further explicitly disclose marking dimples “while a patient is standing,” and “observing transillumination, from a transillumination through the skin from an illuminating source on the instrument, through the skin while advancing the instrument to the first treatment site” as claimed.
However, in the same field of a cellulite treatment, Knowlton 251 teaches advancing the tool to dissect fibrous septa to correct cellulite ([0249]), and the tool includes a transcutaneous visualization with LED integral or attached to the tool to transilluminate through the skin to provide the physician with a real time indication of the tissue flap thickness and dissection depth ([0251]-[0255]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deployable cutting tool as taught by Chomas to incorporate teaching of Knowlton 251, since cutting tool with visualization structure was well known in the art of dissecting and treating cellulite as taught by Knowlton 251. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by cutter with no change in their respective functions, but add/integrate with LED to the device housing, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to provide real time monitoring of the tissue dissection ([0253]), and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Knowlton 521 further discloses patient is in a standing position (Figures 54A-B), but does not state that dimple is marked while the patient is standing, the examiner submits that dimples are usually evaluated while the patient is in upright position and provides “Hart” to support that it is well known in the art to measure dimple in a standing patient.
In a same field of endeavor in treating or reducing cellulite, Hart teaches that dimples are visually evident when the patient is standing ([0021]), and marking an instrument insertion location ([0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify marking the dimples as taught by Chomas to incorporate teaching of Hart, since assessing dimples while patient is standing was well known in the art as taught by Hart. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by Chomas with no change in their respective functions, performing the marking the dimples while the patient is standing as taught by Hart, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to visual assessment of the treatment areas ([0021]), and provides visual assessment of treatment area without manipulation ([0047]) and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding to claims 5, Chomas, Knowlton, Knowlton 251, and Hart together teach all limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Chomas further teaches following limitations:
Of claim 5, wherein the instrument has a linkage which pushes the cutting blade generally parallel to the surface of the skin (Figures 18, 19A-C, blades are pivotally associated with the tool [0142]-[0143], [0147], [0149]), and generally perpendicular to septa (Figures 27A-D show piercing perpendicularly to the septa, [0212])
Regarding to claim 6, Chomas, Knowlton, and Hart together teach all limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Knowlton further teaches following limitations wherein the illuminating source is a light emitting diode (LED [0251]).
Regarding to claims 3, Chomas, Knowlton, Knowlton 251, and Hart together teach all limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Hart further teaches following limitations:
Of claim 3, wherein the dimple at the first treatment site is marked with a circle ([0013] and [0051] Figure 1 dimple is marked with circle)
Regarding to claims 14-15, claims 14-15 are rejected in the same manner as claims 2-3 as set forth above, as the examiner notes that Knowlton already disclosed first and second treatment sites as buttocks and thighs, and same rejection applied to the limitations and can be applied to first and second treatment sites.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chomas, Knowlton, and Hart as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of “Clark, III et al.,” US 2014/0257272 (hereinafter Clark, III).
Regarding to claim 8, Chomas, Knowlton, and Hart together teach all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Chomas does disclose a squeezing tool on the dimples (vacuum, suction [0082]), but does not disclose using the tool after the treatment effect confirmation as claimed.
However, in the same field of endeavor in cellulite treatment, Clark, III teaches using a squeezing tool on the treated dimple as a post procedural treatment ([0275]-[0276] Figures 37A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify vacuuming the dimples as taught by Chomas to incorporate teaching of Clark, III, since post procedural vacuum treatment was well known in the art as taught by Clark, III. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the vacuuming the tissue as claimed by Chomas with no change in their respective functions, by performing post procedural vacuuming the dimples and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to reduce re-depression ([0275]), and improve healing ([0275]), and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chomas, Knowlton, Knowlton 251, and Hart as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of “Davidson et al.,” US 2018/0250217 (hereinafter Davidson).
Regarding to claims 9-10 and 16, Chomas, Knowlton, Knowlton 521, and Hart together teach all limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
In the analogous field of endeavor in cellulite treatment, Davidson teaches following limitations:
Scanning the skin of the patient, using a scanner associated with a computerized controller (computer generated images [0055]), to identify the dimple at the first treatment site (Figures 2A-E, 4A-E, 5A-E [0208], [0212], [0213]-[0215]); and
Storing pre-treatment scanning data (pre-treatment and post-treatment images are shown side by side [0234]; [0281]-[0284]);
Scanning the skin of the patient to generate after-treatment data (pre-treatment and post-treatment images are shown side by side [0234]; [0281]-[0284]); and
Comparing the pre-treatment scanning data to the after-treatment data (Figure 6B and Figures 10A-B, pre-treatment and post-treatment images are shown side by side [0234]; [0281]-[0284])
Although, Davidson does not explicitly teach storing the data, the examiner submits that computerized controller is equipped with memory system, supported by Knowlton 251 ([0308] and [0309]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify vacuuming the dimples as taught by Chomas to incorporate teaching of Davidson, since scanning target with pre and post treatment was well known in the art as taught by Davidson. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the vacuuming the tissue as claimed by Chomas with no change in their respective functions, by using the scanning device to provide pre and post treatment images, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation would have been to assessment for treatment ([0281]-[0284]) and there was reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding to claim 16, Chomas, Knowlton, Knowlton 521, and Hart in combination of Davidson together teach all limitations of claim 9 as discussed above.
Claim 16 is rejected in the same manner as claim 9, as Knowlton discloses first and second treatment site to be buttocks and thighs, and same rejection applied to the limitations and can be applied to first and second treatment sites.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwarz (US 10,549,110) teaches that the treatment location is gluteal sulcus (gluteal fold) (Col. 34 lines 44-51, Figure 15).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA J PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793