DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 09/16/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra NONTU et al. (US 2018/0192335 A1), hereinafter NONTU, in view of Jiangwei YING et al. (US 2022/0174553 A1), hereinafter YING.
For claim 1, NONTU teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a first base station, an Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs) indicating that a wireless device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the second base station; wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities compared to a non-reduced capability type (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach Referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. In other words, since the measurement report has such indication, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the measurement is the Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs).); and
transmit, to the target base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message indicating that a wireless device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). Then, the target cell responds with X2AP: HO request Acknowledgement (S515).).
YING further teaches receiving, by a base station from a target base station, an Xn message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1. Specification of current application further define the Xn message is an application protocol message, the application protocol message is an Xn setup message, the Xn setup message is an Xn setup request message or an Xn setup response message; therefore, in other word, the Xn setup response message is the Xn message); and
transmitting, by the base station to the target base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message (YING, Fig. 3B step 104a and paragraph 213 teach transmitting handover request from PNA1 to PNA 2 based on the Xn setup response message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU with receiving, by a base station from a target base station, an Xn message; and transmitting, by the base station to the target base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message taught in YING to have receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, an Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements(IEs) indicating that a wireless device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the second base station; wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities compared to a non-reduced capability type; and transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover request message based on the one or more Xn IEs information elements indicating that a wireless device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell to effectively process or hand over a session of a terminal in a terminal handover process. [YING: summary].
For claim 2, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the reduced capabilities comprise one or more of: a reduced bandwidth; a reduced number of antennas; and a half-duplex operation (NONTU, paragraph 115 teaches Where a standard-compliant UE has additional capabilities/limitations which are non-compliant with standards or those capabilities/limitations are not covered in the standards yet, the UE capabilities/limitations are required to be informed to the target cell, if the target cell is also capable of supporting UEs with these additional capabilities/limitations. For example, the additional capability of a special UE may involve providing special content services to the users with better or specialized QoS. Such limitations may include half-duplex operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU to have the reduced capabilities comprise one or more of: a reduced bandwidth; a reduced number of antennas; and a half-duplex operation because they are well known in the art.).
For claim 3, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the Xn message is an application protocol message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1, where the message includes information 2.).
For claim 4, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 3, wherein the application protocol message is an Xn setup message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1, where the message includes information 2.).
For claim 5, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 4, wherein the Xn setup message is an Xn setup request message or an Xn setup response message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1, where the message includes information 2.).
For claim 6, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 5, wherein the handover request message indicates a request for handover to the first cell of the second base station (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power.).
For claim 7, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 6, wherein the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU to have the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type because NONTU teaches the reduced capability type before sending the handover request message.).
For claim 8, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the handover request message indicates a request for handover to the first cell of the second base station (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power.).
For claim 9, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 8, wherein the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU to have the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type because NONTU teaches the reduced capability type before sending the handover request message.).
For claim 10, NONTU and YING further teach the method of claim 8, further comprising receiving a handover request acknowledge message in response to transmitting the handover request message (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). Then, the target cell responds with X2AP: HO request Acknowledgement (S515).).
For claim 11, NONTU teaches a base station (NONTU, Fig. 2B item 110) comprising:
one or more processors (NONTU, Fig. 2B item 16); and
memory (NONTU, Fig. 2B item 14) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to:
receive a message comprising one or more information elements indicating that a wireless device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the second base station; wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities compared to a non-reduced capability type (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach Referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. In other words, since the measurement report has such indication, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the measurement is the Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs)); and
transmit, to the target base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message indicating that a wireless device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). Then, the target cell responds with X2AP: HO request Acknowledgement (S515).).
YING further teaches receiving, by a base station from a target base station, an Xn message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1. Specification of current application further define the Xn message is an application protocol message, the application protocol message is an Xn setup message, the Xn setup message is an Xn setup request message or an Xn setup response message; therefore, in other word, the Xn setup response message is the Xn message); and
transmitting, by the base station to the target base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message (YING, Fig. 3B step 104a and paragraph 213 teach transmitting handover request from PNA1 to PNA 2 based on the Xn setup response message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU with receiving, by a base station from a target base station, an Xn message; and transmitting, by the base station to the target base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message taught in YING to have receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, an Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements(IEs) indicating that a wireless device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the second base station; wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities compared to a non-reduced capability type; and transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover request message based on the one or more Xn IEs information elements indicating that a wireless device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell to effectively process or hand over a session of a terminal in a terminal handover process. [YING: summary].
For claim 12, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 11, wherein the reduced capabilities comprise one or more of: a reduced bandwidth; a reduced number of antennas; and a half-duplex operation (NONTU, paragraph 115 teaches Where a standard-compliant UE has additional capabilities/limitations which are non-compliant with standards or those capabilities/limitations are not covered in the standards yet, the UE capabilities/limitations are required to be informed to the target cell, if the target cell is also capable of supporting UEs with these additional capabilities/limitations. For example, the additional capability of a special UE may involve providing special content services to the users with better or specialized QoS. Such limitations may include half-duplex operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU to have the reduced capabilities comprise one or more of: a reduced bandwidth; a reduced number of antennas; and a half-duplex operation because they are well known in the art.).
For claim 13, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 11, wherein the Xn message is an application protocol message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1, where the message includes information 2.).
For claim 14, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 13, wherein the application protocol message is an Xn setup message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1, where the message includes information 2.).
For claim 15, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 14, wherein the Xn setup message is an Xn setup request message or an Xn setup response message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1, where the message includes information 2.).
For claim 16, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 15, wherein the handover request message indicates a request for handover to the first cell of the target base station (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power.).
For claim 17, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 16, wherein the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU to have the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type because NONTU teaches the reduced capability type before sending the handover request message.).
For claim 18, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 11, wherein the handover request message indicates a request for handover to the first cell of the target base station (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power.).
For claim 19, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 18, wherein the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). NONTU, Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117 teach referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU to have the handover request message is associated with a wireless device of the reduced capability type because NONTU teaches the reduced capability type before sending the handover request message.).
For claim 20, NONTU and YING further teach the base station of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the base station to receive a handover request acknowledge message in response to transmitting the handover request message (NONTU, Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118 teach the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). Then, the target cell responds with X2AP: HO request Acknowledgement (S515).).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 1, Applicant argues that NONTU and YING do not teach the following
limitations (Remarks, pages 5-7):
receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, an Xn message
comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs) indicating that a wireless
device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the
second base station;
wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities
compared to a non-reduced capability type; and
transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover
request message based on the one or more Xn IEs indicating that a wireless
device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the detailed
rejection below, which includes added explanations which address all of the Applicant’s
arguments.
NONTU (Fig. 5 step s505 and paragraph 117) teaches referring to FIG. 5, a serving cell receives a measurement report from the UE (S505). The serving cell may choose an appropriate target cell with the help of the measurement report. The serving cell's decision of the target cell may be based on the target cell's capability to support the special UE's requirements. For example, a target cell with the second highest RSRP/RSRQ measurement with the capability of supporting the special UE may be preferred than a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ but without the capability of supporting the special UE. A set of target cells which can support the special UE capabilities and RSRP/RSRQ is above a predefined threshold are selected. Subsequently, a target cell with the highest RSRP/RSRQ among the set is selected as the target cell. The predefined threshold for RSRP/RSRQ is determined based on, for example, estimated SINR from the received RSRQ or received RSRP and an estimate of interference power over thermal noise power. In other words, since the measurement report has such indication, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the measurement is the Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs). Therefore, NONTU teaches “receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, an Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs) indicating that a wireless device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the second base station; wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities compared to a non-reduced capability type”.
NONTU (Fig. 5 step s510 and paragraph 118) teaches the serving cell sends X2AP: HO request to a selected target cell (S510). Then, the target cell responds with X2AP: HO request Acknowledgement (S515). Since the measurement is the Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements (IEs). NONTU teaches “transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover request message based on the one or more Xn IEs indicating that a wireless device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell.”
YING further teaches receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, an Xn message (YING, Fig. 3A step 101b and paragraph 210 teach in the process of setting up the Xn interface connection between the PNA 1 and the PNA 2, the PNA 2 sends an Xn setup response (Xn setup response) message to the PNA 1. Specification of current application further define the Xn message is an application protocol message, the application protocol message is an Xn setup message, the Xn setup message is an Xn setup request message or an Xn setup response message; therefore, in other word, the Xn setup response message is the Xn message); and
transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message (YING, Fig. 3B step 104a and paragraph 213 teach transmitting handover request from PNA1 to PNA 2 based on the setup response message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in NONTU with receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, a Xn message; and transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover request message based on the Xn message taught in YING to have receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, an Xn message comprising one or more Xn information elements(IEs) indicating that a wireless device of a reduced capability type is allowed access via a first cell of the second base station; wherein the reduced capability type is associated with reduced capabilities compared to a non-reduced capability type; and transmitting, by the first base station to the second base station, a handover request message based on the one or more Xn IEs information elements indicating that a wireless device of the reduced capability type is allowed access via the first cell to effectively process or hand over a session of a terminal in a terminal handover process. [YING: summary].
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412