DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “a plurality of pin rows disposed between the first and second internal sidewalls, each pin row including a multitude of pins of the plurality of pins spaced apart from each other in longitudinal direction … for adjacently-disposed pin rows, the pins of a first pin row are offset along the longitudinal direction from the pins of a second pin row” in combination with limitation of “ each pin of the pin rows has a lacriform shape having a rounded end and a pointed end opposite the rounded end” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from claim 1. No new matter should be entered. Applicant discloses (elected figures 20-21) that each passage has only one row of pins, so there would be no adjacently-disposed pin rows nor a plurality of pin rows disposed between the first and second internal sidewalls.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “a plurality of pin rows disposed between the first and second internal sidewalls”, and “each pin of the pin rows has a lacriform shape having a rounded end and a pointed end opposite the rounded end”” in combination with the limitation “wherein for adjacent-disposed pin rows, the pins of a first pin row are offset along the longitudinal direction from the pins of a second pin row” is not supported by the original disclosure. There is only one row of lacriform pins in each passage as disclosed in the elected species shown in figures 20-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Univ Xidian (CN 104465562B) in view of Pruett et al. (US 20110056669A1) and Takenaga et al. (JP 2018032744A). Uni Xidan discloses (figures 1,3 and figure A shown below) a cooling block for cooling a heat generating electronic component (101), comprising a body defining a fluid conduit for circulating a cooling fluid therethrough, the fluid conduit having an inlet and an outlet for receiving and discharging the cooling fluid respectively (see figure A), the body comprising a plurality of pins (see figure A) for deflecting the cooling fluid flowing within the fluid conduit, the fluid conduit comprising a plurality of passage (21,22) extending in a longitudinal direction of the cooling block from an inlet point to an outlet point, each passage of the at least one passage being defined by first and second internal sidewalls of the body facing each other from the inlet point to the outlet point in which the first and second internal sidewalls of the body are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections; a plurality of pin disposed between the first and second internal sidewall, the pin row including a multiple of pins of the plurality of pins spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction, the pins of each pin row being aligned with each other in the longitudinal direction such that a linear axis extending in the longitudinal direction traverses each pin of the pin row, each pin of the pin row being configured to deflect the cooling fluid flowing within the fluid conduit toward channels located on either sides of the linear axis, wherein, for each pin of the pin row, a width of a portion of the channel defined between the pin and at least one of the first or second internal sidewalls facing the pin is constant. (see figure A). Regarding claim 1, Uni Xidan does not disclose that each pin of the pin row having a lacriform and having a rounded end and a pointed end opposite the rounded end, each pin of the pin row being oriented such that the pointed end is downstream from the rounded end.
Pruett et al. discloses (figures 1 and 4C) a heat transfer device that has each pin (12’’’) of the pin row, has a lacriform and has a rounded end ( 20’’’) and a pointed end (24’’’) opposite the rounded end, each pin of the pin row being oriented such that the pointed end (24’’’) is downstream from the rounded end (20’’’) for a purpose of enhancing the cooling efficiency of the heat transfer device. (paragraphs 27 and 28). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Pruett’s teaching in Uni Xidan’s device for a purpose of enhancing the cooling efficiency of the heat transfer device.
Furthermore, Uni Xidan does not disclose a plurality of pin rows and for adjacently pin rows, the pins of a first pin row are offset along the longitudinal direction from the pins of a second pin row.
Takenaga et al. discloses (figures 5-6) a heat dissipation device that has a plurality of rows of pins (14a) disposed in a passage and for adjacently pin rows, the pins of a first pin row are offset along the longitudinal direction from the pins of a second pin row (arranged zigzag configuration) for a purpose of improving the heat transfer rate of the heat dissipation device by having more pin rows within the passage and creating more turbulent flows. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Takenaga’s teaching in Xidian’s device for a purpose of improving the heat transfer rate of the heat dissipation device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination device of Uni Xidan in view of Pruett discloses that the linear axis traverse the pointed end of each pin of the pin row; and each pin of the pin row is symmetric about the linear axis. (the pin is symmetric so that the linear axis divide the pin in half from end to end of the pin).
Regarding claim 3, Uni Xidan discloses (figure A) that for each passage of the at least one passage, the passage has a plurality of expanded portions and a plurality of constricted portions distributed alternatingly with the expanded portion in the longitudinal direction; the expanded portions have a first width measured in the lateral direction; the constricted portions have a second width in the lateral direction; the first width is greater than the second width; and the pins of the pin row are disposed in the expanded portions. (the expanded portion has greater width than the constricted portion, see figure A)
Regarding claim 4, Uni Xidan discloses (see figure A) that for each passage of the at least one passage each of the first and second internal sidewall has a plurality of rounded sections forming the expanded portions of the passage; each rounded section is aligned, along the longitudinal direction, with a corresponding pin of the pin row, each rounded section has a profile having a similar shape as a portion of the corresponding pin such that a spacing between the rounded section and the portion of the corresponding pin is constant. (constant width)
Regarding claim 5, Uni Xidan discloses (figure A) that the first and second internal sidewalls are symmetric to each other about the linear axis.
Regarding claim 7, Uni Xidan discloses (figure A) the fluid conduit further comprises an inlet manifold portion and an outlet manifold portion, in which each passage of the plurality of passages extends between the inlet and the outlet manifold portions.
Figure A: the modified figure corresponds to figure 3 of reference to Univ Xidian with limitations shown.
Conclusion
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763