DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 07/19/2024. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,730,601. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 1 & 6, patent claim 1 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 2 & 13, patent claim 8 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, patent claim 2 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 4, patent claim 3 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, patent claim 4 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 7, patent claim 5 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 8, patent claim 6 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 9, patent claim 7 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 10, patent claim 8 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 11, patent claim 10 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 12, patent claim 11 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 14, patent claim 12 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, patent claim 13 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 16, patent claim 14 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 17, patent claim 15 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, patent claim 16 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13 & 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardini et al. (US 2013/0053968) in view of Bateman et al. (US 5,879,404).
Regarding Claim 1, Nardini discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Nardini teaches a method for manufacturing an orthopedic prosthetic (100), the method comprising:
determining a position of an augment (104) on an outer wall (facing the native socket) of a manufactured shell component (102), the position corresponding to a positive contour of a patient's bone when the manufactured acetabular shell component is positioned in a target orientation (implanted orientation as shown in Fig 1) relative to the patient's bone [0014], the target orientation defining an inclination angle (i.e., aligned with the native socket joint) corresponding to a predetermined inclination angle (i.e., the intended angle required for proper joint operation) or a version angle corresponding to a predetermined version angle; and
additively manufacturing [0014] & [0018] the augment (104) coupled to the outer wall (Fig 1) of the manufactured acetabular shell component (102) at the position on the outer wall, wherein the augment comprises an outer surface that defines a customized patient-specific negative contour shaped to conform to the positive contour of a patient's bone [0014].
However, Nardini does not specifically disclose wherein the manufactured shell is an acetabular shell for implantation in the acetabulum.
Bateman teaches an acetabular cup and method of making an acetabular cup in the same field of endeavor. Said acetabular cup comprises a concave shell (12) and liner (11) which together articulate a spherically shaped femoral head component to form a ball and socket joint (Col 1: lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Nardini to the acetabular shell component, as taught by Bateman, in order to create a patient-specific acetabular shell configured to fill the patient-specific gaps that exist between the prosthetic shell device and the bone surface. As Nardani teaches that the implant can be used to treat any ball and socket joint of the body [0011], applying to the acetabulum would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 2, Nardini discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Nardini teaches an orthopedic prosthetic component comprising:
a manufactured shell component (102) having an outer wall (facing the outer socket), wherein the outer wall of the manufactured acetabular shell component comprises a distal rim (shown) and an outer surface (shown) that extends from the distal rim, and wherein the distal rim defines a component axis (shown); and
an augment (104) coupled to the outer wall of the manufactured acetabular shell component (Fig 1), wherein the augment comprises an outer surface that defines a customized patient-specific negative contour shaped to conform to a positive contour of a patient's bone [0014], and wherein the position of the augment fixes an orientation (i.e., the implanted orientation) of the component axis relative to the positive contour of the patient's bone [0014], and the orientation defines an inclination angle (i.e., aligned with the native socket joint) that corresponds to a predetermined inclination angle (i.e., the intended angle required for proper joint operation) or a version angle that corresponds to a predetermined version angle.
However, Nardini does not specifically disclose wherein the manufactured shell is an acetabular shell for implantation in the acetabulum.
Bateman teaches an acetabular cup and method of making an acetabular cup in the same field of endeavor. Said acetabular cup comprises a concave shell (12) and liner (11) which together articulate a spherically shaped femoral head component to form a ball and socket joint (Col 1: lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Nardini to the acetabular shell component, as taught by Bateman, in order to create a patient-specific acetabular shell configured to fill the patient-specific gaps that exist between the prosthetic shell device and the bone surface. As Nardani teaches that the implant can be used to treat any ball and socket joint of the body [0011], applying to the acetabulum would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein the method further comprises identifying the positive contour of the patient's bone based on one or more medical images of the patient's bone [0014].
Regarding Claim 4, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein identifying the positive contour comprises generating a three-dimensional model of the patient's bone based on the one or more medical images of the patient's bone [0014].
Regarding Claim 5, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein the method further comprises capturing the one or more medical images of the patient's bone [0014], wherein identifying the positive contour comprises identifying the positive contour in response to capturing the one or more medical images [0014].
Regarding Claims 6 & 13, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein the outer wall of the manufactured acetabular shell component comprises a distal rim (shown) and an outer surface (shown) that extends from the distal rim, and wherein the augment extends outwardly from the outer surface at a position adjacent to the distal rim (Fig 1).
Regarding Claims 9 & 16, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein the positive contour of the patient's bone defines a void in the patient's bony geometry [0014].
Regarding Claims 10 & 18, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein the augment comprises an additively manufactured [0014] metallic component [0015].
Regarding Claim 11, the combination (Nardini) teaches wherein the augment comprises a porous outer surface [0015]
Regarding Claim 12, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Further, the combination teaches wherein the augment is coupled to the outer wall of the shell. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the manufactured acetabular shell component comprises a porous coating coupled to the outer wall. Bateman teaches wherein the outer surface of the acetabular shell comprises a porous coating to encourage bone ingrowth (Col 3: lines 22-25). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the porous coating as taught by Bateman to the outer surface of the acetabular shell of the combination in order to encourage bone ingrowth and therefore enhance implant fixation.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination does not disclose wherein the manufactured acetabular shell component comprises a forged metallic component or a machined metallic component. Bateman teaches wherein the acetabular shell can be manufactured form known techniques including machining and molding (Col 4: lines 11-13) in order to properly size and shape the device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a machined of forged acetabular shell, as taught by Bateman, in the construction of the device of the combination in order to properly size and shape the device. Further it would be obvious to use well-known manufacturing techniques in the construction of any implant device.
Claims 7, 8, 14 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardini et al. (US 2013/0053968) in view of Bateman et al. (US 5,879,404) and in further view of Bojarski et al. (US 2011/0087332).
Regarding Claims 7, 8, 14 & 15, as set forth supra, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination does not specifically disclose wherein the positive contour of the patient's bone comprises a bony landmark of the patient's bony geometry and a transverse acetabular ligament landmark.
Bojarski teaches patient-specific implants in the same field of endeavor. Said implants are modeled pre-operatively [0209] and based on surgical imaging data [0264] in order to best match the patient’s biological features [0203]. This system can be utilized in the manufacture of hip implants in order to negatively match the targeted bone-facing surface [0238]. The model can be utilized to reflect any cut or uncut surface of the structure including any bone ridges, plateaus, cartilage surfaces, and/or ligament surfaces [0275]. Lastly, if desired, the implant can be designed to stay clear of ligament structures [0334].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the pre-operative planning/modelling, as taught by Bojarski, to further enhance the pre-operative planning of the combination and fabricate an acetabular shell with a bone-facing side that matched any of the underlying bony landmarks and/or any of the underlying ligaments (e.g., the transverse acetabular ligament). Said matching would enhance fixation of the device, minimize resection, and best mimic the remaining native geometry of the acetabular space.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774