DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated August 22, 2023, claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 should include punctuation at the end of the line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, 13 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akella et al. US11498443B1 (as cited in the IDS dated 12/18/2024).
Regarding claim 1. Akella discloses a system (10) for partially pre-charging an electrical power system (11) (abstract, FIG. 1, column 2, line 36-column 3, line 17) comprising:
a high voltage power source module (15) including a high voltage DC power source (25) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a DC link device (21) connected to the high voltage power source (15), the DC link device (21) including a high voltage DC link capacitor (19) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a low voltage power source (12 V voltage source);
a DC/DC converter (14) connected between the DC link capacitor (19) and the low voltage power source (12 V voltage source), the DC/DC converter (14) being configured to boost the voltage of the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47; column 3 lines 7-14; column 4, lines 55-61);
a first circuit (17) configured to charge the DC link capacitor (19) to a partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) using the voltage from the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) (Fig. 1, col. 5 in. 17-31: col. 5 In. 17-31: Precharge circuit 17 pumps charge onto the first capacitor 19 until the voltage across the first HVDC bus 21 reaches a precharge voltage setpoint, which is higher than the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint. Once the voltage across the first HVDC bus 21 exceeds the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint but before It reaches the precharge voltage setpoint, the DC-to-DC converter 14 will begin to move charge which was output from the precharge circuit 17 on the first HVDC bus 21 to the second HVDC bus 22 so BS to attempt to keep the voltage across first HVDC bus 21 at the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint);
a second circuit (switch arranged on bus 22-battery contactor) configured to limit current flowing to the DC link capacitor (19) from the high voltage power source (12) to charge the DC link capacitor (19) (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors; column 4, lines 33-41 – battery pack 1 is controlled to supply charge into the second capacitor 20 thereby energizing bus 22 and the DC/DC converter 14 generates and supplies charge to the first capacitor 19) based on the limited current flow from the high voltage power source (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors); and
a controller (18) configured to selectively operate (at least turning on and off) the first circuit (17), the second circuit (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors) or the DC/DC converter (14), for charging the DC link capacitor (19) to the partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) (Fig. 1. col. 3 In. 38-60; col. 4 In. 68 to col. 5 In. 3: Controller 18 generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15. The BMS control signal 31 controls operation of the battery pack 15, including opening and closing of the battery contactor(s), operating the resistive heating element 26, and obtaining battery information precharge circuit 17 is controlled by controller 18 via the PC enable signal 28 to pump charge 48 onto the first HVDC bus 21 and into the first capacitor 19, controller 18 controls the operation of the converter 14) ((the language “or” is interpreted as optional language where the controller is capable of operating the circuitry at least on and off).
Regarding claim 6. Akella discloses at least one sensor (30) and wherein the controller (18) is configured to detect faults in the electrical power system based on measurements from the at least one sensor (column 4, lines 28-32 – determines balancing and whether free of faults) while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 3, les 30-37 - controller supplies a precharge enable signal).
Regarding claim 7. Akella discloses that the controller (18) is configured to activate the second circuit (switch arranged on bus 22 – battery contactor) to charge the DC link capacitor (14) from the high voltage power source (25) to charge the DC link capacitor (14) to a full high voltage pre-charge state (column 4, lines 33-41 – battery pack 1 is controlled to supply charge into the second capacitor 20 thereby energizing bus 22 and the DC/DC converter 14 generates and supplies charge to the first capacitor 19).
Regarding claim 8. Akella discloses system (10) for partially pre-charging an electrical power system (11) (abstract, FIG. 1, column 2, line 36-column 3, line 17) comprising:
a high voltage power source module (15) including a high voltage DC power source (25) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a DC link device (21) connected to the high voltage power source (15), the DC link device (21) including a high voltage DC link capacitor (19) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a low voltage power source (12 V voltage source);
a DC/DC converter (14) connected between the DC link capacitor (19) and the low voltage power source (12 V voltage source), the DC/DC converter (14) being configured to boost the voltage of the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47; column 3 lines 7-14; column 4, lines 55-61);
a controller (18) configured to charge the DC link capacitor (14) to a partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) from the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) using the DC/DC converter module (FIG. 1, column 3, lines 42-50; column 4, line 66-column 5, ln 3 – controller generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15, including opening and closing of the battery contactors, operating the resistive heating element 26 and obtaining battery information. Precharge circuit 17 is controlled by controller 18 via the PC enable signal28 to pump charge 48 onto the first HVDC bus 21 and into the first capacitor).
Regarding claim 9. Akella discloses a method for partially pre-charging an electrical power system (11) (abstract, FIG. 1, column 2, line 36-column 3, line 17), the system comprising a high voltage power source (15) including a high voltage DC power source (25) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47), a DC link device (21) connected to the high voltage power source (15), the DC link device (21) including a high voltage DC link capacitor (19) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47), a DC/DC converter (14) connected between the DC link capacitor (19) and the low voltage power source (12 V voltage source), the method comprising:
providing a first circuit (17) configured to charge the DC link capacitor (19) to a partial pre- charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) using the voltage from the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) (Fig. 1, col. 5 in. 17-31: col. 5 In. 17-31: Precharge circuit 17 pumps charge onto the first capacitor 19 until the voltage across the first HVDC bus 21 reaches a precharge voltage setpoint, which is higher than the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint. Once the voltage across the first HVDC bus 21 exceeds the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint but before It reaches the precharge voltage setpoint, the DC-to-DC converter 14 will begin to move charge which was output from the precharge circuit 17 on the first HVDC bus 21 to the second HVDC bus 22 so BS to attempt to keep the voltage across first HVDC bus 21 at the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint);
providing a second circuit (switch arranged on bus 22-battery contactor) configured to limit current flowing to the DC link capacitor (19) from the high voltage power source (12) to charge the DC link capacitor (19) (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors; column 4, lines 33-41 – battery pack 1 is controlled to supply charge into the second capacitor 20 thereby energizing bus 22 and the DC/DC converter 14 generates and supplies charge to the first capacitor 19) to a partial pre-charge state based on the limited current flow (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors); and
selectively (at least turning on and off) operating one of the first circuit (17), the second circuit (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors), or the DC/DC converter (19), for charging the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) (Fig. 1. col. 3 In. 38-60; col. 4 In. 68 to col. 5 In. 3: Controller 18 generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15. The BMS control signal 31 controls operation of the battery pack 15, including opening and closing of the battery contactor(s), operating the resistive heating element 26, and obtaining battery information precharge circuit 17 is controlled by controller 18 via the PC enable signal 28 to pump charge 48 onto the first HVDC bus 21 and into the first capacitor 19, controller 18 controls the operation of the converter 14) (the language “or” is interpreted as optional language where the controller is capable of operating the circuitry at least on and off).
Regarding claim 13. Akella discloses detecting faults in the electrical power system (column 4, lines 28-32 – determines balancing and whether free of faults) based on measurements from at least one sensor (30) while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 3, les 30-37 - controller supplies a precharge enable signal).
Regarding claim 20. Akella discloses a system (10) for partially pre-charging an electrical power system (11) (abstract, FIG. 1, column 2, line 36-column 3, line 17) comprising:
a high voltage power source module (15) including a high voltage DC power source (25) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a DC link device (21) connected to the high voltage power source (15), the DC link device (21) including a high voltage DC link capacitor (19) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a low voltage power source (12 V voltage source);
a circuit (switch arranged on bus 22-battery contactor) configured to limit current flowing to the DC link capacitor (19) from the high voltage power source (12) to charge the DC link capacitor (19) (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors; column 4, lines 33-41 – battery pack 1 is controlled to supply charge into the second capacitor 20 thereby energizing bus 22 and the DC/DC converter 14 generates and supplies charge to the first capacitor 19) to a partial pre-charge state based on the limited current flow (column 3, lines 43-47 control signal opens and closes battery contactors); and
a controller (18) configured to selectively operate (at least turning on and off) the circuit switch arranged on bus 22-battery contactor) for charging the DC link capacitor (19) to the partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) (Fig. 1. col. 3 In. 38-60; col. 4 In. 68 to col. 5 In. 3: Controller 18 generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15. The BMS control signal 31 controls operation of the battery pack 15, including opening and closing of the battery contactor(s)).
Regarding claim 21. Akella discloses system (10) for partially pre-charging an electrical power system (11) (abstract, FIG. 1, column 2, line 36-column 3, line 17) comprising:
a high voltage power source module (15) including a high voltage DC power source (25) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a DC link device (21) connected to the high voltage power source (15), the DC link device (21) including a high voltage DC link capacitor (19) (FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47);
a low voltage power source (12 V voltage source)
a circuit (17) configured to charge the DC link capacitor (19) to a partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) using the voltage from the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) (Fig. 1, col. 5 in. 17-31: col. 5 In. 17-31: Precharge circuit 17 pumps charge onto the first capacitor 19 until the voltage across the first HVDC bus 21 reaches a precharge voltage setpoint, which is higher than the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint. Once the voltage across the first HVDC bus 21 exceeds the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint but before It reaches the precharge voltage setpoint, the DC-to-DC converter 14 will begin to move charge which was output from the precharge circuit 17 on the first HVDC bus 21 to the second HVDC bus 22 so BS to attempt to keep the voltage across first HVDC bus 21 at the HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint);
a controller (18) configured to selectively operate (at least turning on and off) the circuit for charging the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) (Fig. 1. col. 3 In. 38-60; col. 4 In. 68 to col. 5 In. 3: Controller 18 generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15. Obtaining battery information precharge circuit 17 is controlled by controller 18 via the PC enable signal 28 to pump charge 48 onto the first HVDC bus 21 and into the first capacitor 19, controller 18 controls the operation of the converter 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella et al. US11498443B1 in view of Tzivanopoulos US20150256014A1 (hereinafter “Tziv”).
Regarding claim 2. Akella discloses that the second circuit (switch arranged on bus 22-battery contactor) comprises a pair of contactors for controlling the supply of power to charge the high voltage DC link capacitor (Column 3, lines 44-46 – “opening and closing of the battery contactor(s)” meaning there may be one or more which includes a pair).
Akella does not explicitly disclose a resistor network and a contactor connected in parallel with one contactor of the pair of contactors and wherein the controller limits the duration of current flowing through the resistor network to gradually charge the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state.
Tziv discloses a resistor network (2) and a contactor (12/13) connected in parallel with one contactor (3) of the pair of contactors (3/11) and wherein the controller (15) limits the duration of current flowing through the resistor network (2) to gradually charge the DC link capacitor (5) to the partial pre-charge state (¶35 – switching control device controls the switching elements 12/13; ¶33 – charging current is controlled through the pre-charging resistor 2 to the DC link capacitor by the switching elements 12/13).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include the resistor network and contactor, as taught by Tziv, to the second circuit of Akella, in order to provide control of the charging current to avoid overloading a load (Tziv; ¶3-4),
Regarding claim 10. Akella discloses that charging the DC link capacitor (19) to the partial pre-charge state using the second circuit comprises controlling a pair of contactors (Column 3, lines 44-46 – “opening and closing of the battery contactor(s)” meaning there may be one or more which includes a pair),
Akella does not explicitly disclose a resistor network and a contactor connected in parallel with one contactor of the pair of contactors to limit the current from the high voltage power source by flowing it through the resistor network to gradually charge the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state.
Tziv discloses a resistor network (2) and a contactor (12/13) connected in parallel with one contactor (3) of the pair of contactors (3/11) and wherein the controller (15) limits the duration of current flowing through the resistor network (2) to gradually charge the DC link capacitor (5) to the partial pre-charge state (¶35 – switching control device controls the switching elements 12/13; ¶33 – charging current is controlled through the pre-charging resistor 2 to the DC link capacitor by the switching elements 12/13).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further include the resistor network and contactor, as taught by Tziv, to the second circuit of Akella, in order to provide control of the charging current to avoid overloading a load (Tziv; ¶3-4),
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella et al. US11498443B1 in view of Itten et al. US20210408907A1.
Regarding claim 3. Akella discloses that the first circuit (17) connected between the DC link capacitor (19) and the low voltage power source (12 V power source) and wherein the controller (16) is configured to charge the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) (Fig. 1. cal. 3 In. 42-60; col. 4 In. 68 to col. 5 In. 3: Controller 18 generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15. The BMS control signal 31 controls operation of the battery pack 15, including opening and closing of the battery contactor(s), operating the resistive heating element 26, and obtaining battery information precharge circuit 17 is controlled by controller 18 via the PC enable signal 28 to pump charge 48 onto the first HVDC bus 21 and into the first capacitor 19).
Akella does not explicitly teach the first circuit comprises a resistor network and a plurality of contactors; the controller is configured to close the plurality of contactors such that current flows through the resistor network to the DC link capacitor.
Itten discloses that the first circuit (pre-charging circuit 11) comprises a resistor network (12) and a plurality of contactors (13) the controller (14) is configured to close the plurality of contactors such that current flows through the resistor network to the DC link capacitor (¶36 – control unit 14 drives the switch 13 of the precharging circuit 11 to open during a precharging phase of capacitors in order to charge the capacitors to the desired precharging voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the details of the pre-charging circuit as taught by Itten to the precharger of Akella in order to provide further control to the charging of the capacitor thus lowering power losses (¶36, 47).
Regarding claim 5. Akella teaches that the controller (18) is configured to use the first circuit (17) to charge the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state from the low voltage power source using the DC/DC converter module (HVDC bus nominal voltage setpoint) (Fig. 1. cal. 3 In. 42-60; col. 4 In. 68 to col. 5 In. 3: Controller 18 generates and supplies a BMS control signal 31 to the BMS 24 of the battery pack 15. The BMS control signal 31 controls operation of the battery pack 15, including opening and closing of the battery contactor(s), operating the resistive heating element 26, and obtaining battery information precharge circuit 17 is controlled by controller 18 via the PC enable signal 28 to pump charge 48 onto the first HVDC bus 21 and into the first capacitor 19).
Akella does not explicitly teach the controller (14) is configured to open the plurality of contactors (13) in the first circuit (11)
Itten wherein the controller (14) is configured to open the plurality of contactors (13) in the first circuit (11) (¶36).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the details of the pre-charging circuit as taught by Itten to the precharger of Akella in order to provide further control to the charging of the capacitor thus lowering power losses (¶36, 47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella et al. US11498443B1 in view of Itten et al. US20210408907A1 and further in view of Barker et al. US20160344286A1
Regarding claim 4. Akella discloses that the partial pre-charge state is equal to the voltage of the low voltage power source.
Barker discloses that the partial pre-charge state (voltage of the capacitor) is equal to the voltage of the low voltage power source (¶9 – voltage in the capacitor is equal to the low voltage source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to limit the voltage of the capacitor of Akella, as taught by Barker, in order to reduce the voltage stress (Barker; ¶9).
Claims 11-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akella et al. US11498443B1 in view of Norimatsu et al. US20110316489A1.
Regarding claim 11. Akella does not explicitly teach charging the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state using the first circuit comprises closing a plurality of contactors in the first circuit such that current flows through a resistor network to limit the current from the low voltage power source to the DC link capacitor to gradually charge the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state.
Norimatsu discloses charging the DC link capacitor (10) to the partial pre-charge state using the first circuit (31-33) comprises closing a plurality of contactors (MOSFETS 31-33) in the first circuit such that current flows through a resistor network to limit the current from the low voltage power source to the DC link capacitor to gradually charge the DC link capacitor (10) to the partial pre-charge state (¶47-the resistance of the circuit is adjusted by adjusting the “on” resistance of the MOSFET thereby providing a resistive network that limits the current).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the details of the precharger of Norimatsu to the precharger of Akella in order to provide a current limitation during precharging to avoid damage (¶73).
Regarding claim 12. Akella discloses charging the DC link capacitor (19) to the partial pre-charge state using the DC/DC converter to charge the DC link capacitor to the partial pre-charge state from the low voltage power source (12V voltage source) using the DC/DC converter module(FIG. 1, column 2, lines 40-47; column 3 lines 7-14; column 4, lines 55-61).
Akella does not explicitly teach that the charging comprises opening a plurality of contactors in the first circuit (MOSFETS 31-33) (¶47).
Norimatsu discloses opening a plurality of contactors in the first circuit (MOSFETS 31-33) (¶47).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the details of the precharger of Norimatsu to the precharger of Akella in order to provide a current limitation during precharging to avoid damage (¶73).
Regarding claim 14. Akella discloses detecting shorts between high voltage DC harnessing and AC harnessing in the electrical power system while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 2, lines 48-55 – detection circuitry detects whether the battery has an internal fault, such as a failure of isolation (short)).
Regarding claim 15. Akella discloses detecting shorts on the DC link device while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 2, lines 48-55 – detection circuitry detects whether the battery has an internal fault, such as a failure of isolation (short)).
Regarding claim 16. Akella discloses detecting faults in high voltage contactors in the electrical power system while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 2, lines 48-55 – detection circuitry detects whether the battery has an internal fault, welded contactor).
Regarding claim 17. Akella discloses detecting ground faults in the electrical power system while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state(column 2, lines 48-55 – detection circuitry detects whether the battery has an internal fault, such as improper ground).
Regarding claim 18. Akella discloses detecting faults in high voltage current sensors in the electrical power system while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 2, lines 48-55 – detection circuitry detects whether the battery has an internal fault).
Regarding claim 19. Akella discloses detecting faults in high voltage contactors in the electrical interface to offboard chargers while the DC link capacitor is in the partial pre-charge state (column 2, lines 48-55 – detection circuitry detects whether the battery has an internal fault, such as a disconnected connector).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakano et al. US20120025768A1 discloses a precharging circuit that includes a plurality of switches.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859