DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 02/12/2026 are entered. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. The current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
The amendments overcome the previously presented 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 4-5, 12 and 18. The corresponding rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2025/0324366) in view of Li (US 2025/0220582).
Chen discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a method comprising:
performing by a processor of a network node, a transformation of M-bit OOK in a time domain (see 4-bit OOK subsequence “1010” in Fig. 2; and see “4 OOK symbols” recited in paragraph [0130], wherein each OOK symbol corresponds to a value of 1 or 0, which may be represented using at least 1 bit, or a number of bits calculated using formulas shown in paragraph [0119] or [0130], as shown in paragraph [0062]) to generate a LP-WUS (see “LP-WUS” recited in paragraph [0009]) with N SCs (see “the WUS may occupy a plurality of subcarriers or Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), e.g., 100 subcarriers or 200 subcarriers, or 4PRBs, 8PRBs, 16PRBs, 24PRBs, or 32PRBs, etc.” recited in paragraph [0074]; and see “288 subcarriers” recited in paragraph [0130]), wherein the transformation is a DFT (see Fig. 2, wherein transform precoding is performed in step 220; and see “DFT (also called transform precoding operation)” recited in paragraph [0065]) or a least square operation, and wherein K samples (see Fig. 10, wherein Nofdm symbols are generated from the OOK symbols, and in paragraph [0130], that number is 2048 symbols) are generated from the M bits with a signal modification or a signal truncation (see Fig. 11, which shows the OOK sequence with a guard interval inserted and truncated as shown in paragraph [0126]);
performing, by the processor, an IFFT operation for the LP-WUS (see Fig. 5A, wherein IFFT is performed on the LP-WUS), wherein the K is a size of the IFFT (see “the IFFT size is 2048” recited in paragraph [0130]) operation of CP-OFDMA, and wherein the N is less than or equal to the K (see paragraph [0130], wherein N = 288 (subcarriers) and K = 2088 (IFFT size) and 288<2088);
transmitting, by the processor, an LP-WUS configuration to a UE (see “the NW 110 may transmit 360 to the UE 120 a WUS configuration in the system information” recited in paragraph [0088] and similarly in paragraphs [0157]); and
transmitting, by the processor, the LP-WUS based on the WUS configuration to the UE (see “the WUS configuration may comprise a frequency domain resource configuration. The frequency domain resource configuration may indicate a plurality of PRBs or subcarriers where the WUS signal occupies” recited in paragraph [0089]; also see WUS transmission in step 340 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the LP-WUS configuration comprises a monitoring configuration for a LP-WUR, and the monitoring configuration comprises an on-off switch of the LP-WUR corresponding to a duty cycle (see “the WUS configuration may further comprise a time domain resource configuration. The time domain resource configuration may indicate one of the following contents: the periodicity of the WUS, the duty cycle of the WUS, or the number of OOK symbols mapped into an OFDM symbol” recited in paragraph [0091], wherein the duty cycle of the WUS corresponds to the claimed duty cycle) or a continuous monitoring in which the LP-WUR is on.
Regarding claim 8, an apparatus (see network device 110 shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 20), comprising:
a transceiver (see TX/RX 2040 in Fig. 20) which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one UE (see UE 120 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3); and
a processor (see processor 2010 in Fig. 20) communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
performing, by a processor of a network node, a transformation of M-bit OOK in a time domain (see 4-bit OOK subsequence “1010” in Fig. 2; and see “4 OOK symbols” recited in paragraph [0130], wherein each OOK symbol corresponds to a value of 1 or 0, which may be represented using at least 1 bit, or a number of bits calculated using formulas shown in paragraph [0119] or [0130], as shown in paragraph [0062]) to generate a LP-WUS (see “LP-WUS” recited in paragraph [0009]) with N SCs (see “the WUS may occupy a plurality of subcarriers or Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), e.g., 100 subcarriers or 200 subcarriers, or 4PRBs, 8PRBs, 16PRBs, 24PRBs, or 32PRBs, etc.” recited in paragraph [0074]; and see “288 subcarriers” recited in paragraph [0130]), wherein the transformation is a DFT (see Fig. 2, wherein transform precoding is performed in step 220; and see “DFT (also called transform precoding operation)” recited in paragraph [0065]) or a least square operation, and wherein K samples (see Fig. 10, wherein Nofdm symbols are generated from the OOK symbols, and in paragraph [0130], that number is 2048 symbols) are generated from the M bits with a signal modification or a signal truncation (see Fig. 11, which shows the OOK sequence with a guard interval inserted and truncated as shown in paragraph [0126]);
performing an IFFT operation for the LP-WUS (see Fig. 5A, wherein IFFT is performed on the LP-WUS), wherein the K is a size of the IFFT (see “the IFFT size is 2048” recited in paragraph [0130]) operation of CP-OFDMA, and wherein the N is less than or equal to the K (see paragraph [0130], wherein N = 288 (subcarriers) and K = 2088 (IFFT size) and 288<2088);
transmitting, via the transceiver, an LP-WUS configuration to a UE (see “the NW 110 may transmit 360 to the UE 120 a WUS configuration in the system information” recited in paragraph [0088] and similarly in paragraphs [0157]); and
transmitting, via the transceiver, the LP-WUS based on the WUS configuration to the UE (see “the WUS configuration may comprise a frequency domain resource configuration. The frequency domain resource configuration may indicate a plurality of PRBs or subcarriers where the WUS signal occupies” recited in paragraph [0089]; also see WUS transmission in step 340 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the LP-WUS configuration comprises a monitoring configuration for a LP-WUR, and the monitoring configuration comprises an on-off switch of the LP-WUR corresponding to a duty cycle (see “the WUS configuration may further comprise a time domain resource configuration. The time domain resource configuration may indicate one of the following contents: the periodicity of the WUS, the duty cycle of the WUS, or the number of OOK symbols mapped into an OFDM symbol” recited in paragraph [0091], wherein the duty cycle of the WUS corresponds to the claimed duty cycle) or a continuous monitoring in which the LP-WUR is on.
Regarding claim 15, a method comprising:
Receiving, by a processor of a UE (see UE 120 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3), a LP-WUS configuration from a network node (see “the NW 110 may transmit 360 to the UE 120 a WUS configuration in the system information” recited in paragraph [0088] and similarly in paragraphs [0157]);
wherein the LP-WUS with N SCs (see “the WUS may occupy a plurality of subcarriers or Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs), e.g., 100 subcarriers or 200 subcarriers, or 4PRBs, 8PRBs, 16PRBs, 24PRBs, or 32PRBs, etc.” recited in paragraph [0074]; and see “288 subcarriers” recited in paragraph [0130]) is generated through a transformation of M-bit OOK in a time domain (see 4-bit OOK subsequence “1010” in Fig. 2; and see “4 OOK symbols” recited in paragraph [0130], wherein each OOK symbol corresponds to a value of 1 or 0, which may be represented using at least 1 bit, or a number of bits calculated using formulas shown in paragraph [0119] or [0130], as shown in paragraph [0062]), wherein the transformation is a DFT (see Fig. 2, wherein transform precoding is performed in step 220; and see “DFT (also called transform precoding operation)” recited in paragraph [0065]) or a least square operation, and wherein K samples (see Fig. 10, wherein Nofdm symbols are generated from the OOK symbols, and in paragraph [0130], that number is 2048 symbols) are generated from the M bits with a signal modification or a signal truncation (see Fig. 11, which shows the OOK sequence with a guard interval inserted and truncated as shown in paragraph [0126]), and
wherein the LP-WUS is generated through an IFFT operation (see Fig. 5A, wherein IFFT is performed on the LP-WUS), wherein the K is a size of the IFFT (see “the IFFT size is 2048” recited in paragraph [0130]) operation of CP-OFDMA, and wherein the N is less than or equal to the K (see paragraph [0130], wherein N = 288 (subcarriers) and K = 2088 (IFFT size) and 288<2088).
Regarding claim 19, performing, by the processor, an on-off switch of a LP-WUR corresponding to a duty cycle according to a monitoring configuration for the LP-WUR in the LP-WUS configuration (see “the WUS configuration may further comprise a time domain resource configuration. The time domain resource configuration may indicate one of the following contents: the periodicity of the WUS, the duty cycle of the WUS, or the number of OOK symbols mapped into an OFDM symbol” recited in paragraph [0091], wherein the duty cycle of the WUS corresponds to the claimed duty cycle); or performing, by the processor, a continuous monitoring according to the monitoring configuration for the LP-WUR in the LP-WUS configuration, wherein the LP-WUR is on in performing the continuous monitoring.
Chen does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1 and 8, wherein the LP-WUS associates with a UE group ID; regarding claims 4 and 11, wherein the LP-WUS contains one or more sequences for detecting or selecting the LP-WUS, wherein the one or more sequences are determined based on a sequence detection or a sequence selection, or based on the encoded bits, and wherein the one or more sequences are associated with at least one of a configurable sequence type, an encoding scheme and additional bits; regarding claim 15, determining, by the processor, whether to wake up according to the LP-WUS; and wherein the LP-WUS associates with a UE group ID.
Li discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, wherein the LP-WUS associates with a UE group ID (see “The second part of the LP-WUS may include a group ID, sub-group ID or unicast ID for the UE” recited in paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, wherein the LP-WUS contains one or more sequences for detecting or selecting the LP-WUS, wherein the one or more sequences are determined based on a sequence detection (see “a LP-WUS may include two parts wherein the first part is for a sequence for LP-WUS detection” recited in paragraph [0052]) or a sequence selection, or based on the encoded bits, and wherein the one or more sequences are associated with at least one of a configurable sequence type, an encoding scheme and additional bits (see “a LP-WUS may include two parts wherein the first part is for a sequence for LP-WUS detection, and the second part is with payload” recited in paragraph [0052], wherein the sequence for LP-WUS detection is considered bits additional to the second part).
Regarding claim 15, determining, by the processor, whether to wake up according to the LP-WUS (see “if a UE detects a valid LP-WUS (ON) for the UE, the UE may or may not turn on the main receiver according to the indication of the LP-WUS. The detected valid LP-WUS can indicate whether to wake up the main receiver or not for the UE. Otherwise, if the UE does not detect a valid LP-WUS, one from the following options may be considered” recited in paragraph [0103]) and wherein the LP-WUS associates with a UE group ID (see “The second part of the LP-WUS may include a group ID, sub-group ID or unicast ID for the UE” recited in paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Chen using features, as taught by Li, in order to allow the UE to detect the LP-WUS (see paragraph [0052] of Li).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 9-10, 12 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Li as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Suh (US 2018/0227070).
Chen and Li disclose the features as shown above.
Chen also discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, wherein in an event that the OOK value corresponds to a first value, the N SCs are modulated (see “a first number of subcarriers mapped with non-zero values can be used to generate an OOK ON-symbol” recited in paragraph [0071]), and wherein in an event that the OOK value represents a second value, the N SCs are zero power from a baseband point of view (see “a second number of subcarriers mapped with zero values or near-zero values can be used to generate an OOK OFF-symbol” recited in paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein in an event that the OOK value corresponds to a first value, the N SCs are modulated (see “a first number of subcarriers mapped with non-zero values can be used to generate an OOK ON-symbol” recited in paragraph [0071]), and wherein in an event that the OOK value represents a second value, the N SCs are zero power from a baseband point of view (see “a second number of subcarriers mapped with zero values or near-zero values can be used to generate an OOK OFF-symbol” recited in paragraph [0071]).
Li also discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the LP-WUS contains one or more sequences for detecting or selecting the LP-WUS, wherein the one or more sequences are determined based on a sequence detection (see “a LP-WUS may include two parts wherein the first part is for a sequence for LP-WUS detection” recited in paragraph [0052]) or a sequence selection, or based on encoded bits.
Chen does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 2 and 9, wherein a single-bit OOK is used in one OFDM symbol, and wherein the N SCs of the LP-WUS are modulated based on a plurality of OOK values; regarding claims 5 and 12, wherein the encoded bits comprises an encoding scheme; regarding claims 16, wherein a single-bit OOK is used in one OFDM symbol, and wherein the N SCs of the LP-WUS are modulated based on a plurality of OOK values; regarding claim 18, wherein the encoded bits comprises an encoding scheme.
Suh discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, wherein a single-bit OOK is used in one OFDM symbol (see “An OFDM symbol generation operation 404 is then performed on the OOK mapped data bits to generate corresponding OFDM based symbols. In example embodiments, each data bit is represented by a single OFDM based symbol such that N data bits results in N successive symbols” recited in paragraph [0046]), and wherein the N SCs of the LP-WUS are modulated based on a plurality of OOK values (see “for each symbol, the OFDM symbol generator 404 is used to modulate the same data bit across all of the orthogonal subcarriers of the corresponding OFDM symbol” recited in paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, wherein the encoded bits comprises an encoding scheme (see FCS 266 in the WFC coded portion 268 of the wake up packet 250 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 16, wherein a single-bit OOK is used in one OFDM symbol (see “An OFDM symbol generation operation 404 is then performed on the OOK mapped data bits to generate corresponding OFDM based symbols. In example embodiments, each data bit is represented by a single OFDM based symbol such that N data bits results in N successive symbols” recited in paragraph [0046]), and wherein the N SCs of the LP-WUS are modulated based on a plurality of OOK values (see “for each symbol, the OFDM symbol generator 404 is used to modulate the same data bit across all of the orthogonal subcarriers of the corresponding OFDM symbol” recited in paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claims 18, wherein the encoded bits comprises an encoding scheme (see FCS 266 in the WFC coded portion 268 of the wake up packet 250 in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Chen and Li using features, as taught by Suh, in order to modulate the same data bit across all of the orthogonal subcarriers of the corresponding OFDM symbol (see paragraph [0046] of Suh).
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Li as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2025/0240715).
Chen and Li discloses the features as shown above.
Chen does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 7 and 14, wherein the LP-WUS associates with at least one of a UE ID, a cell ID, cell information, time information, SI change information, tracking area information, RAN information, SFN, a WUR ID and a WUR group ID; regarding claim 20, obtaining, by the processor, at least one of a UE group ID, a UE ID, a cell ID, a WUR ID and a WUR group ID; and determining, by the processor, whether to apply the WUS configuration according to at least one of the UE group I, the UE ID, the cell ID, the WUR ID and the WUR group ID.
Liu discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, wherein the LP-WUS associates with at least one of a UE ID, a cell ID (see “The configuration may further indicate a list of neighbor areas (e.g., cell IDs) in which the LP-WUS will be transmitted” recited in paragraph [0108]), cell information, time information, SI change information, tracking area information, RAN information, SFN, a WUR ID and a WUR group ID.
Regarding claim 20, obtaining, by the processor, at least one of a UE group ID, a UE ID, a cell ID (see “The configuration may further indicate a list of neighbor areas (e.g., cell IDs) in which the LP-WUS will be transmitted” recited in paragraph [0108]), a WUR ID and a WUR group ID; and determining, by the processor, whether to apply the WUS configuration according to at least one of the UE group I, the UE ID, the cell ID, the WUR ID and the WUR group ID (see “The configuration may further indicate a list of neighbor areas (e.g., cell IDs) in which the LP-WUS will be transmitted” recited in paragraph [0108]; and see step 730 in Fig. 7, wherein the UE receives the LP-WUS, as the LP-WUS is transmitted in the cell ID indicated in the LP-WUS configuration 715, the LP-WUS configuration 715 cell ID must be applied in order to receive the LP-WUS in step 730).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Chen and Li using features, as taught by Liu, in order to configure the UE to receive the LP-WUS (see paragraph [0106]-[0108] of Liu).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473