DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Remarks
This communication is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/05/2025. Claims 1-20 were pending. Claims 1, 13, 16-18 and 20 are amended. No further changes has been submitted. Claims 1-20 remains currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/02/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 02/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATO et al. (US 20190332856 A1, hereinafter “Sato”) in view of MURAKAMI (US 20130329562 A1, hereinafter “MURAKAMI” ).
Regarding claim 1. (currently amended) Sato discloses a processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store one or more instructions (0043-0044; Figure 2; “[0044] ... Storage unit 13 stores captured images of camera 1, programs executed by processor 12, and the like. ...”); and
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
acquire a video generated by a surveillance camera (0080-0082 and 0043-0044; Figures 7-9; wherein the communication unit acquire the image taken by the camera 1, “[0081] First, processor 12 of server 2 acquires a captured image (frame) transmitted from camera 1 and received by communication unit 11, and assigns a camera ID and a frame number (ST 101). The person detection is performed on the captured image (ST 102). In camera 1, the captured image (frame) with a captured time is transmitted.”; “[0044] Communication unit 11 communicates with camera 1 through a network. … a captured image transmitted from camera 1 is received. Storage unit 13 stores captured images of camera 1, programs executed by processor 12, ...”);
generate a plurality of surveillance target video contents, based on the video (0047 and 0074; Figures 3-5 “[0047] In a premises of a station, there are persons who are staying for a relatively long-time, such as those waiting for an arrival of a train, persons who are taking a break, and persons who are meeting with another person. Such a person does not wander much and continues to stay within the capturing area of one of cameras 1. …, a person who causes dangerous behavior tends to stay in the capturing area of one of cameras 1 and walks over a capturing area of a plurality of cameras 1 while moving around a relatively wide range.”); and
distribute a surveillance target video content generated from a first video of a first surveillance camera placed in a first facility to a terminal apparatus of a first surveillant satisfying a first surveillant condition associated with the first facility (0096 and 0045-0050; Figures 1-3 and 5-7; “[0096] When the wandering detection is performed in this way (ST 108), then, as shown in FIG. 7, a wandering person display is performed (ST 109). Here, a person rectangle for a wandering person is displayed on a person detected as a wandering person by wandering detection on the captured image. At this time, in the wandering person, the long-time stay flag (Long Stay Flag) is “True” in the real time tracking table (see FIG. 5A) and the combination of the camera ID and the person ID that is the same as that of the real time tracking table is registered in the wandering person table (see FIG. 6). …”; “[0050] Further, in the present embodiment, with the difference in the display mode of person rectangle 32, the wandering candidate person and candid wandering person are identified. In the example shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, it is possible to identify by a difference in line type of the frame line of person rectangle 32. That is, with respect to the wandering candidate person, person rectangle 32 is displayed by a dotted line, and with respect to the wandering person, rectangle 32 is displayed in a solid line. In the example shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, a person ID assigned to each person is displayed in the vicinity of person rectangle 32.”, “[0048] … a person is tracked with the captured image 31 of camera 1, and the long-time stay determination is performed as to whether or not the person is a long-time stayer who stays continuously for a long-time in the capturing area of one of cameras 1, when the same person is determined to be the long-time stayer for a plurality of times, the person is detected as a wandering person (person requiring special attention who has a high degree of need of attention), and a monitoring image in which person rectangle 32 (fixed form image, a frame image) representing the wandering person is superimposed on the position corresponding to the person in captured image 31 is generated, and displayed on display device 3.”).
Sato failed to disclose determine whether each surveillant satisfies each surveillant condition associated with each facility where the surveillance camera is placed, the surveillant condition being defined based on a past career other than a career for surveying the surveillance target video contents.
MURAKAMI, however, in the same field of endeavor, shows the processing apparatus comprising determine whether each surveillant satisfies each surveillant condition associated with each facility where the surveillance camera is placed, the surveillant condition being defined based on a past career other than a career for surveying the surveillance target video contents (0005-0006; “[0005] In particular, the operation or monitoring business of the information communication network system include individual characteristic in the system (or unique to the system) and an element (or factor) that exerts influence on the characteristic. As a result, the operator or surveillant depends on individual skill such as associated knowledge and experience in the operation or monitoring businesses. Accordingly, it is a problem in the management or monitoring businesses to be qualitatively maintained and improved in the information communication network system.”, “[0006] In order to compensate for a lack of knowledge or experience for the manager or surveillant, for example, there is a case where a data mining technology is applied. ...”).
It would have been within one of ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to hire or assign a surveillant that would be qualified to perform the task of wherein the surveillant condition is defined based on a past career other than a career for surveying the surveillance target video contents as shown by MURAKAMI in the surveillance system of Sato in order to hire a surveillant with an experience other than surveying a surveillance system in order to make sure the performance of the surveillant would not be biased by the past career experience on surveying and increase the efficiently of surveilling the surveillance system.
Regarding claim 2. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
display a list of the surveillance target video contents on the terminal apparatus (0040-0041 and 0099; Figure 7; “[0040] Server 2 is installed at a suitable place in the facility … information on a state of a person in the monitoring area by analyzing the captured image is acquired, a monitoring image including the information is generated, and the monitoring image is displayed on the display device 3 so that the surveillant monitors it. …”); and
in case where the surveillant associated with the terminal apparatus satisfies the surveillant condition of a selected surveillance target video content from the list, distribute the selected surveillance target video content (0040-0041, 0090 and 0096; Figure 7; “[0040] Server 2 is installed at a suitable place in the facility or outside the facility. … information on a state of a person in the monitoring area by analyzing the captured image is acquired, a monitoring image including the information is generated, and the monitoring image is displayed on the display device 3 so that the surveillant monitors it. ...”, “[0090] Next, it is determined whether or not there is a person who is determined as a long-time stayer in the past (ST 107), that is, a person whose long-time stay flag (Long Stay Flag) is “True” in the tracking completion table (see FIG. 5B). Here, when there is no person determined as a long-time stayer in the past (No in ST 107), the process proceeds to the processing of the next captured image (frame). On the other hand, when there is a person who is determined to be a long-time stayer in the past (Yes in ST 107), the wandering detection is performed (ST 108).”, “[0096] When the wandering detection is performed in this way (ST 108), then, as shown in FIG. 7, a wandering person display is performed (ST 109). Here, a person rectangle for a wandering person is displayed on a person detected as a wandering person by wandering detection on the captured image. At this time, in the wandering person, the long-time stay flag (Long Stay Flag) is “True” in the real time tracking table (see FIG. 5A) and the combination of the camera ID and the person ID that is the same as that of the real time tracking table is registered in the wandering person table (see FIG. 6). ...”).
Regarding claim 3. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
display the surveillant condition for each the surveillance target video contents on the list (0040-0041 and 0099; Figure 7; “[0099] … the monitoring screen is displayed on the display device connected to the server to be monitored by the surveillant, and the server and the display device are installed in the monitoring room, so that the monitoring screen of the display device may be monitored by the surveillant, but when the mobile device such as a smart phone or a tablet terminal is configured to be connectable to a server through a wireless communication network such as a wireless LAN, it is possible to monitor the monitoring screen at any place in the facility. …”).
Regarding claim 4. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
in case where the surveillant associated with the terminal apparatus does not satisfy the surveillant condition of the selected surveillance target video content from the list, transmit an error message to the terminal apparatus (0032, 0041 and 0045; claim 6; Figure 1; “[0041] Alarm device 4 is connected to server 2 and performs an alarm operation such as turning on a lamp or outputting a sound in response to an instruction from server 2. In the present embodiment, when a wandering person is detected, alarm device 4 is caused to perform an alarm operation to notify the surveillant of the presence of a wandering person.”).
Regarding claim 5. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
display a list of the surveillance target video contents on the terminal apparatus, wherein the surveillant related to the terminal apparatus satisfies the surveillant condition of the surveillance target video contents (0040-0041 and 0099; Figure 7; “[0040] Server 2 is installed at a suitable place in the facility or outside the facility. … information on a state of a person in the monitoring area by analyzing the captured image is acquired, a monitoring image including the information is generated, and the monitoring image is displayed on the display device 3 so that the surveillant monitors it. … ”, “[0099] … monitoring screen is displayed on the display device connected to the server to be monitored by the surveillant, and the server and the display device are installed in the monitoring room, so that the monitoring screen of the display device may be monitored by the surveillant, …”); and
distribute a selected surveillance target video content from the list at the terminal apparatus (0096; Figures 5-7; “[0096] When the wandering detection is performed in this way (ST 108), then, as shown in FIG. 7, a wandering person display is performed (ST 109). Here, a person rectangle for a wandering person is displayed on a person detected as a wandering person by wandering detection on the captured image. At this time, in the wandering person, the long-time stay flag … is “True” in the real time tracking table (see FIG. 5A) and the combination of the camera ID and the person ID that is the same as that of the real time tracking table is registered in the wandering person table (see FIG. 6). ...”).
Regarding claim 6. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 5,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
display a video time for each the surveillance target video contents on the list (0062-0067, 0096 and 0050; Figures 3-7; wherein the table shown in figures 5A-5B and 6 shows the time duration of surveillance on the target person, “[0062] First, in the example shown in FIG. 4, person Id1 appears in the captured image of second camera 1 CamB, and since the staying period of time is long, the person is determined to be a long-time stayer and is displayed by the person rectangle of the wandering candidate person. …”, “[0096] When the wandering detection is performed in this way (ST 108), then, as shown in FIG. 7, a wandering person display is performed (ST 109). Here, a person rectangle for a wandering person is displayed on a person detected as a wandering person by wandering detection on the captured image. ...”; “[0050] …, with the difference in the display mode of person rectangle 32, the wandering candidate person and candid wandering person are identified. … FIGS. 3A and 3B, it is possible to identify by a difference in line type of the frame line of person rectangle 32. That is, with respect to the wandering candidate person, person rectangle 32 is displayed by a dotted line, and with respect to the wandering person, rectangle 32 is displayed in a solid line. … person ID assigned to each person is displayed in the vicinity of person rectangle 32.”).
Regarding claim 7. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
generate the surveillance target video content connecting, in a time-series order, parts capturing a person included in the acquired video (0047 and 0074; Figures 3-5; wherein the duration of the person staying at a given location is the target, “[0047] In a premises of a station, there are persons who are staying for a relatively long-time, such as those waiting for an arrival of a train, persons who are taking a break, and persons who are meeting with another person. Such a person does not wander much and continues to stay within the capturing area of one of cameras 1. ...”, “[0074] Here, the item that is the latest staying time (Exist Time) in the real time tracking table shown in FIG. 5A is determined to be the tracking end time, that is, the last time detected in the captured image when the target person leaves the capturing area of camera 1 and the tracking is ended. Others are the same as the real time tracking table.”).
Regarding claim 9. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
set the surveillant condition based on a capturing time of the video (0047 and 0102; Figures 3-7; “[0102] A person's behavior monitoring device and the person's behavior monitoring system according to the present disclosure have an effect that it is possible to efficiently perform a monitoring work for monitoring a person staying in the facility in real time by appropriately paying attention to a person requiring special attention, by the surveillant even in an environment where many persons come and go, and are useful as a person's behavior monitoring device and the person's behavior monitoring system that generate a monitoring image from captured images of a plurality of cameras installed in a facility and display the monitoring image on a display device and the like.”).
Regarding claim 10. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
set the surveillant condition based on a characteristic of a person captured in the video (0047 and 0102; Figures 3-7; “[0102] A person's behavior monitoring device and the person's behavior monitoring system according to the present disclosure have an effect that it is possible to efficiently perform a monitoring work for monitoring a person staying in the facility in real time by appropriately paying attention to a person requiring special attention, by the surveillant even in an environment where many persons come and go. ...”).
Regarding claims 13. (currently amended) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine whether a[[n]] person extracted from the acquired video is a target requiring surveillance, and generate the surveillance target video content connecting, in a time-series order, parts capturing a person determined as a target requiring surveillance (0062-0079, 0096 and 0050-0055; Figures 3-7; the table shown in figures 5A-5B and 6 shows the time duration of surveillance on the target person; “[0062] First, in the example shown in FIG. 4, person Id1 appears in the captured image of second camera 1 CamB, and since the staying period of time is long, the person is determined to be a long-time stayer and is displayed by the person rectangle of the wandering candidate person. ...”, “[0096] When the wandering detection is performed in this way (ST 108), then, as shown in FIG. 7, a wandering person display is performed (ST 109). ...”, “[0050] … with the difference in the display mode of person rectangle 32, the wandering candidate person and candid wandering person are identified. In the example shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, it is possible to identify by a difference in line type of the frame line of person rectangle 32. …”).
Regarding claim 14. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to extract a plurality of persons from the acquired video, and generate, for each of the extracted persons, a surveillance target video contents connecting, in a time-series order, parts capturing each of the extracted persons (0096 and 0068-0079; Figures 5-7; wherein the table shown in figures 5A-5B and 6 shows the time duration of surveillance on the target person, “[0096] When the wandering detection is performed in this way (ST 108), then, as shown in FIG. 7, a wandering person display is performed (ST 109). Here, a person rectangle for a wandering person is displayed on a person detected as a wandering person by wandering detection on the captured image. At this time, in the wandering person, the long-time stay flag (Long Stay Flag) is “True” in the real time tracking table (see FIG. 5A) and the combination of the camera ID and the person ID that is the same as that of the real time tracking table is registered in the wandering person table (see FIG. 6). ...”).
Regarding claim 15. (original) Sato further discloses the processing apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
acquire a plurality of the videos generated by a plurality of the surveillance cameras (0080-0082 and 0043-0044; Figures 7-9; “[0080] … executed by processor 12 of server 2 will be described. FIG. 7 is a flowchart showing a procedure of processing executed by processor 12 of server 2. FIG. 8 is a flowchart showing a procedure of processing of the long-time stay determination (ST 105). FIG. 9 is a flowchart showing a procedure of processing of wandering detection (ST 108).”, “[0081] First, processor 12 of server 2 acquires a captured image (frame) transmitted from camera 1 and received by communication unit 11, and assigns a camera ID and a frame number (ST 101). ...”), and
generate, for each of the extracted persons, the surveillance target video contents connecting parts of the plurality of the videos (0068-0079 and 0096; Figures 5-7; the table shown in figures 5A-5B and 6 shows the time duration of surveillance on the target person; “[0050] … with the difference in the display mode of person rectangle 32, the wandering candidate person and candid wandering person are identified. … FIGS. 3A and 3B, it is possible to identify by a difference in line type of the frame line of person rectangle 32. That is, with respect to the wandering candidate person, person rectangle 32 is displayed by a dotted line, and with respect to the wandering person, rectangle 32 is displayed in a solid line. …”).
Regarding claims 16. currently amended and claim 17. (original) Claims 16 and 17 recites similar features as the limitation of claims 7 and 13-14. Therefore, claims 16 and 17 are rejected for the same reasoning of obviousness as used on the rejection of claims 7 and 13-14 above.
Regarding claim 18. (currently amended) Processing method claim 18 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 18 is rejected for same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 19. (original) Processing method claim 19 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 2. Therefore method claim 19 is rejected for same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20. (currently amended) Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 20 is drawn to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of using the corresponding to the apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of MURAKAMI as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of MORIYA (US 20190163966 A1, hereinafter “Moriya”).
Regarding claim 8. (original) Sato in view of MURAKAMI show the processing apparatus according to claim 7 as discussed on the rejection above, but failed to show wherein the surveillant condition can be registered by a person in charge at each facility where the surveillance camera is placed.
However, Moriya, in the same field of endeavor, shows wherein the surveillant condition can be registered by a person in charge at each facility where the surveillance camera is placed (0094; Figure 11; “[0094] The result search unit 1109 receives a condition input by a surveillant from the input device 119 connected to the suspicious person detection device 110 ... . The result display unit 1110 displays the detection result searched for by the result search unit 1109 on the display 111 connected to the suspicious person detection device 110. …”).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the entry/registry of the surveillant condition by a person in charge at each facility where the surveillance camera is placed as shown by Moriya in the surveillance system of Sato in view of MURAKAMI in order to increase the efficiency of the surveillance and security of the surveilled environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of MURAKAMI as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of KATO (US 20180025175 A1, hereinafter “Kato”).
Regarding claim 11. (original) Sato in view of MURAKAMI show processing apparatus according to claim 10 as discussed on the rejection above, but failed to show wherein the characteristic of the person captured in the video is whether the person captured in the video is registered in a blacklist.
However, Kato, in the same field of endeavor, shows wherein the characteristic of the person captured in the video is whether the person captured in the video is registered in a blacklist (0069 and 0050; Figures 5 and 3; “[0069] … the image data of the person appearing in the image, which is configured by image data, against image data of a person registered in a blacklist and the like, to determine whether or not a person viewed as dangerous is present in the store 100. ...”).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine the determination of whether the person captured in the video is registered in a blacklist or not of Kato in the surveillance system of Sato in view of MURAKAMI in order to increase the efficiency of the surveillance and security of the surveilled environment by quick determination of suspicious person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of MURAKAMI as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of NAKAGAWA et al. (US 20190236374 A1, hereinafter “Nakagawa”).
Regarding claim 12. (original): Sato in view of MURAKAMI show processing apparatus according to claim 7, but failed to disclose wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
set the surveillant condition based on a capturing day of a week of the video.
However, Nakagawa, in the same field of endeavor, shows wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
set the surveillant condition based on a capturing day of a week of the video (0052, 0063 and 0073; Figures 1, 4-8; “[0052] ... the time information is information indicating a weekday, Saturday, Sunday and national holiday, a specific time slot, a combination of a day of the week and a time slot …”).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to combine setting the surveillant condition based on a capturing day of a week of the video of Nakagawa in the surveillance system of Sato in view of MURAKAMI in order to increase the efficiency of the surveillance and security of the surveilled environment by quick determination of suspicious person.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot based on the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASMAMAW TARKO/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482