DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 and 16-19 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herring (EP 2743428) in view of Durvasula et al. (US 2019/0330869).
Per claim 1, Herring discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) (10) for a swimming pool or spa, the APC comprising a water sensing system (40; [0046] FIG. 4 illustrates a pool cleaning robot, such as the pool cleaning robot 10, including a sensor module 40.). Herring does not disclose a controller, wherein information from the
water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC.
Durvasula et al., also directed toward an automatic swimming pool cleaner ([0001] The present invention relates to the field of swimming pool cleaners and, in particular, to a swimming pool cleaner, such as a robotic and/or motorized pool cleaner, with a filter that is installable and removable via a peripheral wall of the pool cleaner and features that facilitate in-water installation and removal of the same.), disclose providing a controller (165, 265; [0033] Additionally or alternatively, the front 104 may be a portion of the main body 102 defined as the front by logic in a computing device controlling the pool cleaner 100 (e.g., onboard control system 165 shown in FIG. 3).; ), wherein information from a sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC ([0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc.).) in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle ([0058] Additionally or alternatively, the autonomous pool cleaner 100 may interrupt a cleaning cycle to perform these operations, for example, if a fault condition (e.g., full filter) is detected during a cleaning cycle.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the APC of Herring such that it comprises a controller, wherein information from the
water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 2, Herring discloses wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe onboard the APC ([0046] The sensor module 40 can be configured to be removably coupled to the pool cleaning robot 10, such as on the top side 5 of the main housing 2, but not interfere with movement of the handle 12.).
Per claim 4, Herring discloses wherein the at least one water sensing probe is on an outer surface of a body of the APC ([0046] The sensor module 40 can be configured to be removably coupled to the pool cleaning robot 10, such as on the top side 5 of the main housing 2, but not interfere with movement of the handle 12.).
Per claim 5, Herring discloses wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe proximate to but spaced apart from a body of the APC ([0047] In an example, the sensor module 40 can be configured to couple about or over the outlet 4, so as to not prevent fluid communication through the outlet 4.).
Per claim 6, Herring discloses wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe detachable from the APC ([0046] The sensor module 40 can be configured to be removably coupled to the pool cleaning robot 10, such as on the top side 5 of the main housing 2, but not interfere with movement of the handle 12.).
Per claim 8, Herring discloses wherein the water sensing system is communicatively coupled with at least one of a controller of the APC or a remote device ([0043] In an example, a sensor module, as discussed herein in connection with FIGS. 4-5B, can be controlled, adjusted, or programmed by a computer or phone. For example, pool chemistry specifications (e.g., salinity, pH level, water hardness, etc.) can be pre-programmed or controlled in real-time.).
Per claim 9, Herring discloses wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one of an ORP sensor (49; [0051] An oxidation-reduction potential (ORP) sensor 49 configured to monitor or control ORP, as commonly understood in the industry.), a pH sensor (45; [0050] In an example, a pH sensor 45 can be configured to monitor or control a pH level or alkalinity level of the pool water.), a temperature sensor (44; [0049] Further, the sensor module 40 can include a temperature sensor 44, configured to monitor or control the temperature of the pool water. For example, the temperature sensor 44 communicatively coupled, such as hard wired or wirelessly, to a pool heating system.) and/or a salinity sensor (47; [0050] In an example, a salinity or total dissolved solids (TDS) sensor 47 can be configured to monitor or control the salinity or dissolved solids in a pool.).
Per claim 16, Herring discloses a method of managing water of a swimming pool or spa, the method comprising managing the water based on information from a water sensing system ([0048] In an example, the sensor module 40 can be configured to manually or automatically detect, analyze, or adjust the pool chemistry, including, but not limited to, pH, oxidation-reduction potential (ORP), free chlorine, total chlorine, salt level, hydrogen peroxide, temperature, Langelie saturation index, alkalinity, calcium hardness, cyanuric acid level (e.g., stabilizer), or transparency value. The sensor module 40 can be configured to relay monitored pool chemistry values to corresponding equipment wirelessly or by a cable. As discussed herein, the sensor module 40 can communicate pool chemistry values with a computer, server, or phone.) on or proximate to an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) ([0046] The sensor module 40 can be configured to be removably coupled to the pool cleaning robot 10, such as on the top side 5 of the main housing 2, but not interfere with movement of the handle 12.).; [0047] In an example, the sensor module 40 can be configured to couple about or over the outlet 4, so as to not prevent fluid communication through the outlet 4.). Herring does not disclose at least controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system.
Durvasula et al., also directed toward a method of managing water of a swimming pool or spa, the method comprising managing the water based on information from a sensing system ([0001] The present invention relates to the field of swimming pool cleaners and, in particular, to a swimming pool cleaner, such as a robotic and/or motorized pool cleaner, with a filter that is installable and removable via a peripheral wall of the pool cleaner and features that facilitate in-water installation and removal of the same.; [0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc), disclose providing at least controlling (165, 265; [0033] Additionally or alternatively, the front 104 may be a portion of the main body 102 defined as the front by logic in a computing device controlling the pool cleaner 100 (e.g., onboard control system 165 shown in FIG. 3).; ), a cleaning operation of the APC based on information from a sensing system ([0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc.).) in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle ([0058] Additionally or alternatively, the autonomous pool cleaner 100 may interrupt a cleaning cycle to perform these operations, for example, if a fault condition (e.g., full filter) is detected during a cleaning cycle.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the APC of Herring such that it comprises at least controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system of Herring in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 17, Herring, as modified by Durvasula et al., discloses the method further comprising wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe (See Herring, [0049] In an example, the sensor module 40 can include a water clarity sensor 43, such as turbidity, as is commonly understood in the field. In an example, the water clarity sensor 43 can be configured to detect the presence of dirt, particles, or debris in the pool, such that a path or duration of cleaning time of the pool cleaning robot 10 can be determined or followed. For example, a water clarity reading below a threshold value can communicate to the pool cleaning robot 10 to keep moving, as the water in its present location meets clarity specifications.).
It would have been readily obvious to modify the method of Herring such that it includes wherein controlling the cleaning operation of the APC is based on the information from the water sensing probe of the water sensing system of Herring in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle, a goal of Durvasula et al.
Per claim 18, Herring, as modified by Durvasula et al., as described above, disclose controlling the APC based on the information from the water sensing system. Herring further discloses the method further comprising controlling a piece of pool equipment other than the APC based on the information from the water sensing system ([0048] In an example, the sensor module 40 can include a water clarity sensor 43, such as turbidity, as is commonly understood in the field. In an example, the water clarity sensor 43 can be configured to detect the presence of dirt, particles, or debris in the pool, such that a path or duration of cleaning time of the pool cleaning robot 10 can be determined or followed. For example, a water clarity reading below a threshold value can communicate to the pool cleaning robot 10 to keep moving, as the water in its present location meets clarity specifications…For example, the corresponding equipment can be configured to release chemicals, such as liquid or gaseous, including CO.sub.2, into the pool to control one of more of the pool chemistry parameters. Corresponding equipment can include pool maintenance equipment commonly used in the field, including, but not limited to, pool pumps, pool heaters, solar heating systems, or the like.) in order to, for example, control peripheral equipment affecting the comfort of swimming pool users.
It would have been readily obvious to modify the method of Herring, as modified by Durvasula et al., which already comprises controlling the APC, such that it further comprises controlling a piece of pool equipment other than the APC in addition to controlling the APC based on the information from the water sensing system in order to, for example, control peripheral equipment affecting the comfort of swimming pool users.
Per claim 19, Herring discloses further comprising generating an alert or notification on a device remote from the APC based on information from the water sensing system ([0048] Further, the computer, server, or phone can be configured to share the pool chemistry values with a technician, so as to trouble shoot or provide recommendations on pool treatment. For example, the corresponding equipment can be configured to release chemicals, such as liquid or gaseous, including CO.sub.2, into the pool to control one of more of the pool chemistry parameters.). Herring, as modified by Durvasula et al., does not disclose providing the information used by the controller to control the cleaning operation of the APC.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of choice to generate an alert or notification on a device remote from the APC based on the information used by the controller to control the cleaning operation of the APC in order to, for example, keep an operator of the APC advised of any initiation or interruption of a cleaning operation.
Claims 1-5, 8-9 and 16-19 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schloss et al. (WO 2021/100033) in view of Durvasula et al. (US 2019/0330869).
Per claim 1, Schloss et al. disclose an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) (Fig. 1) for a swimming pool or spa (abstract, A pool cleaner includes a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet, a propulsion system, and a suction system including a motorized pump for drawing liquid through the inlet and expelling it through the outlet. A filter located between the inlet and the pump is configured to trap debris.), the APC comprising a water sensing system ([0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.) and a controller ([0042] In some cases, a controller of the pool cleaner (e.g., located within the pool cleaner, e.g., near a propulsion motor of the pool cleaner or elsewhere internally, or located externally to the pool cleaner, e.g., on or near an external power supply that is connected by cable to the pool cleaner, or elsewhere externally) may be configured to control one or more sanitization agents (e.g., dispensing of a substance or generation of energy). Schloss et al. do not disclose wherein information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC.
Durvasula et al., also directed toward an automatic swimming pool cleaner ([0001] The present invention relates to the field of swimming pool cleaners and, in particular, to a swimming pool cleaner, such as a robotic and/or motorized pool cleaner, with a filter that is installable and removable via a peripheral wall of the pool cleaner and features that facilitate in-water installation and removal of the same.), disclose providing a controller (165, 265; [0033] Additionally or alternatively, the front 104 may be a portion of the main body 102 defined as the front by logic in a computing device controlling the pool cleaner 100 (e.g., onboard control system 165 shown in FIG. 3).; ), wherein information from a sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC ([0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc.).) in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle ([0058] Additionally or alternatively, the autonomous pool cleaner 100 may interrupt a cleaning cycle to perform these operations, for example, if a fault condition (e.g., full filter) is detected during a cleaning cycle.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the APC of Schloss et al. such that it comprises wherein information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 2, Schloss et al. disclose wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe onboard the APC ([0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.).
Per claim 3, Schloss et al. disclose wherein the at least one water sensing probe is within a body (12) of the APC (Fig. 2; [0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.; [0070] In the example shown, sanitization chamber 20 is located partly within cleaner housing 12.).
Per claim 4, Schloss et al. disclose wherein the at least one water sensing probe is on an outer surface of a body of the APC ([0072] Alternatively, all of sanitization chamber 20 may be located outside of (e.g., mounted to an outer surface of) cleaner housing 12.; [0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.).
Per claim 5, Schloss et al. disclose wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe proximate to but spaced apart from a body of the APC ([0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.; [0072] Alternatively, all of sanitization chamber 20 may be located outside of (e.g., mounted to an outer surface of) cleaner housing 12.).
Per claim 8, Schloss et al. disclose wherein the water sensing system is communicatively coupled with at least one of a controller of the APC or a remote device ([0042] In some cases, a controller of the pool cleaner (e.g., located within the pool cleaner, e.g., near a propulsion motor of the pool cleaner or elsewhere internally, or located externally to the pool cleaner, e.g., on or near an external power supply that is connected by cable to the pool cleaner, or elsewhere externally) may be configured to control one or more sanitization agents (e.g., dispensing of a substance or generation of energy), or to issue an alert to an operator of the pool cleaner, based on one or more sensed values.).
Per claim 9, Schloss et al. disclose wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one of an ORP sensor, a temperature sensor and a conductivity sensor ([0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.).
Per claim 16, Schloss et al. disclose a method of managing water of a swimming pool or spa, the method comprising managing the water based on information from a water sensing system on or proximate to an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) ([0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.; [0072] Alternatively, all of sanitization chamber 20 may be located outside of (e.g., mounted to an outer surface of) cleaner housing 12.). Schloss et al. do not disclose at least controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system.
Durvasula et al., also directed toward a method of managing water of a swimming pool or spa, the method comprising managing the water based on information from a sensing system ([0001] The present invention relates to the field of swimming pool cleaners and, in particular, to a swimming pool cleaner, such as a robotic and/or motorized pool cleaner, with a filter that is installable and removable via a peripheral wall of the pool cleaner and features that facilitate in-water installation and removal of the same.; [0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc), disclose at least controlling (165, 265; [0033] Additionally or alternatively, the front 104 may be a portion of the main body 102 defined as the front by logic in a computing device controlling the pool cleaner 100 (e.g., onboard control system 165 shown in FIG. 3).) a cleaning operation of the APC based on information from a sensing system ([0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc.).) in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle ([0058] Additionally or alternatively, the autonomous pool cleaner 100 may interrupt a cleaning cycle to perform these operations, for example, if a fault condition (e.g., full filter) is detected during a cleaning cycle.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the APC of Schloss et al. such that it comprises at least controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system of Herring in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 17, Schloss et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., disclose the method further comprising controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system, the water sensing system comprising at least one water sensing probe (see Schloss et al. [0042] In some cases, a sanitization chamber may include one or more sensors of one or more types. The sensors may be configured to monitor one or more properties of liquid that flows through the sanitization chamber. For example, such a sensor may include an amperometric sensor, temperature sensor, oxidation reduction potential sensor, pH sensor, flowmeter, optical density sensor, or other sensor for measuring one or more physical or chemical properties of liquid flowing through the sanitization chamber.).
It would have been readily obvious to modify the method of Schloss et al. such that it includes wherein controlling the cleaning operation of the APC is based on the information from the water sensing probe of the water sensing system of Schloss et al. in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 18, Schloss et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., as described above, disclose controlling the APC. Schloss et al. disclose the method further comprising controlling a piece of pool equipment other than the APC based on the information from the water sensing system ([0042] In some cases, a controller of the pool cleaner (e.g., located within the pool cleaner, e.g., near a propulsion motor of the pool cleaner or elsewhere internally, or located externally to the pool cleaner, e.g., on or near an external power supply that is connected by cable to the pool cleaner, or elsewhere externally) may be configured to control one or more sanitization agents (e.g., dispensing of a substance or generation of energy), or to issue an alert to an operator of the pool cleaner, based on one or more sensed values.; [0043] In the case where a substance dispenser, energy source, or sensor requires electrical power in order to operate, the electrical power may be provided by the same power sources that provide power for operation of the suction and propulsion systems (e.g., by an electrical cable that connects to the devices), or by a separate power source (e.g., by a storage or replaceable battery that is contained within the sanitization chamber). For example, an electric cable may extend from the interior of the chamber, through a watertight gland, to a control circuit of the pool cleaner. For example, the pool cleaner controller may be located within an enclosure of the propulsion assembly that includes the motor. The cable may be configured to carry electrical power, control signals (e.g., from the controller to controlled components), monitoring signals (e.g., from one or more sensors), or other electrical, optic, or other signals or power.) in order to, for example, control peripheral equipment affecting the comfort of swimming pool users.
It would have been readily obvious to modify the method of Schloss et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., which already comprises controlling the APC, such that it further comprises controlling a piece of pool equipment other than the APC in addition to controlling the APC based on the information from the water sensing system in order to, for example, control peripheral equipment affecting the comfort of swimming pool users.
Per claim 19, Schloss et al. disclose further comprising generating an alert or notification on a device remote from the APC ([0042] In some cases, a controller of the pool cleaner (e.g., located within the pool cleaner, e.g., near a propulsion motor of the pool cleaner or elsewhere internally, or located externally to the pool cleaner, e.g., on or near an external power supply that is connected by cable to the pool cleaner, or elsewhere externally) may be configured to control one or more sanitization agents (e.g., dispensing of a substance or generation of energy), or to issue an alert to an operator of the pool cleaner, based on one or more sensed values.). Schloss et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., does not disclose the alert or notification is based on the information from the water sensing system.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to generate an alert or notification on a device remote from the APC based on the information from the water sensing system in order to, for example, keep an operator of the APC advised of any initiation or interruption of a cleaning operation.
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 16-19 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson et al. (WO 2017/046808) in view of Durvasula et al. (US 2019/0330869).
Per claim 1, Witelson et al. disclose an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) () for a swimming pool or spa ([0035] The pool maintenance system may be a pool cleaning robot;), the APC comprising a water sensing system ([00144] The inventors found that having one or more additional sensors (that are not spectroscopy based sensor) may further improve the quality of the fluid analysis.; [00165] The spectroscopic device may include at least one out of (a) a spectroscopic sensor that extends outside a housing of the pool cleaning robot such as the front, (b) an interface for coupling a battery operated spectroscopic device to the pool cleaner, (c) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned within a housing of the pool cleaning robot, (d) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a bottom portion of the pool cleaning robot, (e) the spectroscopic sensor may be electrically coupled to (and/or incorporated within) a motor unit, (f) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a rear portion of the pool cleaning robot, (g) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a left portion of the pool cleaning robot.; [00169] The spectroscopic device may provide a comprehensive pool fluid analysis that may include a chemical analysis (chemical compound such as: free Chlorine, combine Chlorine, Calcium, Cyanuric-acid, etc.), a biological analysis (organic materials such as: sweat, urine, plants, micro-organisms, etc.) and a physical analysis (temperature, pressure, turbidity, etc.).) and a controller (166; [00263] The controller 166 may control the operation of the pool cleaning robot (movement, execution of an analysis of the fluid of the pool cleaning robot) based on detection signals from the additional sensor and/or based on an analysis result provided by the spectroscopic device.). Witelson et al. do not disclose wherein information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC.
Durvasula et al., also directed toward an automatic swimming pool cleaner ([0001] The present invention relates to the field of swimming pool cleaners and, in particular, to a swimming pool cleaner, such as a robotic and/or motorized pool cleaner, with a filter that is installable and removable via a peripheral wall of the pool cleaner and features that facilitate in-water installation and removal of the same.), disclose providing a controller (165, 265; [0033] Additionally or alternatively, the front 104 may be a portion of the main body 102 defined as the front by logic in a computing device controlling the pool cleaner 100 (e.g., onboard control system 165 shown in FIG. 3).; ), wherein information from a sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC ([0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc.).) in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle ([0058] Additionally or alternatively, the autonomous pool cleaner 100 may interrupt a cleaning cycle to perform these operations, for example, if a fault condition (e.g., full filter) is detected during a cleaning cycle.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the APC of Witelson et al. such that it comprises wherein information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 2, Witelson et al. disclose wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe onboard the APC ([00165] The spectroscopic device may include at least one out of (a) a spectroscopic sensor that extends outside a housing of the pool cleaning robot such as the front, (b) an interface for coupling a battery operated spectroscopic device to the pool cleaner, (c) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned within a housing of the pool cleaning robot, (d) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a bottom portion of the pool cleaning robot, (e) the spectroscopic sensor may be electrically coupled to (and/or incorporated within) a motor unit, (f) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a rear portion of the pool cleaning robot, (g) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a left portion of the pool cleaning robot.).
Per claim 3, Witelson et al. wherein the at least one water sensing probe is within a body of the APC ([00196] The sensor 110 may be positioned within housing and preferably before a filtering unit (not shown) of the pool cleaning robot 100.; [00165] The spectroscopic device may include at least one out of (a) a spectroscopic sensor that extends outside a housing of the pool cleaning robot such as the front, (b) an interface for coupling a battery operated spectroscopic device to the pool cleaner, (c) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned within a housing of the pool cleaning robot, (d) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a bottom portion of the pool cleaning robot, (e) the spectroscopic sensor may be electrically coupled to (and/or incorporated within) a motor unit, (f) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a rear portion of the pool cleaning robot, (g) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a left portion of the pool cleaning robot.).
Per claim 4, Witelson et al. wherein the at least one water sensing probe is on an outer surface of a body of the APC ([00165] The spectroscopic device may include at least one out of (a) a spectroscopic sensor that extends outside a housing of the pool cleaning robot such as the front, (b) an interface for coupling a battery operated spectroscopic device to the pool cleaner, (c) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned within a housing of the pool cleaning robot, (d) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a bottom portion of the pool cleaning robot, (e) the spectroscopic sensor may be electrically coupled to (and/or incorporated within) a motor unit, (f) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a rear portion of the pool cleaning robot, (g) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a left portion of the pool cleaning robot.)
Per claim 5, Witelson et al. wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe proximate to but spaced apart from a body of the APC ([00165] The spectroscopic device may include at least one out of (a) a spectroscopic sensor that extends outside a housing of the pool cleaning robot such as the front, (b) an interface for coupling a battery operated spectroscopic device to the pool cleaner, (c) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned within a housing of the pool cleaning robot, (d) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a bottom portion of the pool cleaning robot, (e) the spectroscopic sensor may be electrically coupled to (and/or incorporated within) a motor unit, (f) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a rear portion of the pool cleaning robot, (g) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a left portion of the pool cleaning robot.).
Per claim 6, Witelson et al. wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one water sensing probe detachable from the APC ([00126] The spectroscopic devices of both the first and second embodiments may be removable.).
Per claim 8, Witelson et al. wherein the water sensing system is communicatively coupled with at least one of a controller of the APC or a remote device ([0035] The pool maintenance system may be a pool cleaning robot; wherein the pool cleaning robot may include a sensor for sensing a status of the pool cleaning robot; and a controller; wherein the controller may be configured to control a movement of the pool cleaning robot based on a status of the pool cleaning robot as sensed by the sensor and based on one or more scheduled analysis of the fluid of the pool by the spectroscopic device.; [00118] The power supply may be able to emit the data - by means of Bluetooth® or a Wi-Fi from the spectroscopic device - to any receiving communication utility: a home computer, smartphone and the like. [00176] IO interface 40 may transmit (wirelessly or non-wirelessly) the pool analysis report 14 to another device, may display the pool analysis report 14 to a user, be connected to an alarm or another warning device and the like. IO interface 40 may send status and command 24 to the processing unit 30 that may send commands to the sensor 20.).
Per claim 9, Witelson et al. wherein the water sensing system comprises at least one of an ORP sensor, a temperature sensor, a conductivity sensor and/or a salinity sensor ([00154] According to an embodiment of the invention the at least one additional device may include at least one (or any combination of) of the following sensors: (a) a pH sensor, (b) a ORP sensor, (c) a temperature sensor, (d) an electrical conductivity sensor, (e) a pressure sensor, (f) ion-selective electrodes, (g) a flow rate sensor, (h) a free Chlorine sensor, (i) a combined Chlorine sensor, (j) a turbidity sensor, (k) a Cyanuric sensor, (1) an Alkalinity sensor, (m) a Salinity sensor.; [00169] The spectroscopic device may provide a comprehensive pool fluid analysis that may include a chemical analysis (chemical compound such as: free Chlorine, combine Chlorine, Calcium, Cyanuric-acid, etc.), a biological analysis (organic materials such as: sweat, urine, plants, micro-organisms, etc.) and a physical analysis (temperature, pressure, turbidity, etc.).).
Per claim 16, Witelson et al. disclose a method of managing water of a swimming pool or spa, the method comprising managing the water based on information from a water sensing system on or proximate to an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) ([00165] The spectroscopic device may include at least one out of (a) a spectroscopic sensor that extends outside a housing of the pool cleaning robot such as the front, (b) an interface for coupling a battery operated spectroscopic device to the pool cleaner, (c) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned within a housing of the pool cleaning robot, (d) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a bottom portion of the pool cleaning robot, (e) the spectroscopic sensor may be electrically coupled to (and/or incorporated within) a motor unit, (f) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a rear portion of the pool cleaning robot, (g) a spectroscopic sensor that is positioned at a left portion of the pool cleaning robot.; [00169] The spectroscopic device may provide a comprehensive pool fluid analysis that may include a chemical analysis (chemical compound such as: free Chlorine, combine Chlorine, Calcium, Cyanuric-acid, etc.), a biological analysis (organic materials such as: sweat, urine, plants, micro-organisms, etc.) and a physical analysis (temperature, pressure, turbidity, etc.).). Witelson et al. do not disclose at least controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system.
Durvasula et al., also directed toward a method of managing water of a swimming pool or spa, the method comprising managing the water based on information from a sensing system ([0001] The present invention relates to the field of swimming pool cleaners and, in particular, to a swimming pool cleaner, such as a robotic and/or motorized pool cleaner, with a filter that is installable and removable via a peripheral wall of the pool cleaner and features that facilitate in-water installation and removal of the same.; [0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc), disclose providing at least controlling (165, 265; [0033] Additionally or alternatively, the front 104 may be a portion of the main body 102 defined as the front by logic in a computing device controlling the pool cleaner 100 (e.g., onboard control system 165 shown in FIG. 3).; ), a cleaning operation of the APC based on information from a sensing system ([0070] Initially, at 910, the onboard control system 265 causes the pool cleaner 100 to conduct cleaning operations in pool 10 in accordance with any cleaning techniques now known or developed hereafter (e.g., wall-to-wall cleaning, radial cleaning, sensor-based cleaning, etc.).) in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle ([0058] Additionally or alternatively, the autonomous pool cleaner 100 may interrupt a cleaning cycle to perform these operations, for example, if a fault condition (e.g., full filter) is detected during a cleaning cycle.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the APC of Witelson et al. such that it comprises at least controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system of Herring in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle.
Per claim 17, Witelson et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., disclose wherein the water sensing system comprises as least one water sensing probe ([0035] The pool maintenance system may be a pool cleaning robot; wherein the pool cleaning robot may include a sensor for sensing a status of the pool cleaning robot; and a controller; wherein the controller may be configured to control a movement of the pool cleaning robot based on a status of the pool cleaning robot as sensed by the sensor and based on one or more scheduled analysis of the fluid of the pool by the spectroscopic device.), the method further comprising controlling a cleaning operation of the APC based on the information from the water sensing system (see Witelson et al. [0035] The pool maintenance system may be a pool cleaning robot; wherein the pool cleaning robot may include a sensor for sensing a status of the pool cleaning robot; and a controller; wherein the controller may be configured to control a movement of the pool cleaning robot based on a status of the pool cleaning robot as sensed by the sensor and based on one or more scheduled analysis of the fluid of the pool by the spectroscopic device.; [00105] The communication of results to a process monitoring computer control or automation system is used to command operations of a variety of spectroscopic devices to better process and treat the fluid under analysis.; [00263] The controller 166 may control the operation of the pool cleaning robot (movement, execution of an analysis of the fluid of the pool cleaning robot) based on detection signals from the additional sensor and/or based on an analysis result provided by the spectroscopic device.).
It would have been readily obvious to modify the method of Witelson et al. such that it includes wherein controlling the cleaning operation of the APC is based on the information from the water sensing probe of the water sensing system of Witelson et al. in order to, for example, initiate or interrupt a cleaning cycle, a goal of Durvasula et al.
Per claim 18, Witelson et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., as described above, disclose controlling the APC. Witelson et al. further disclose the method comprising controlling a piece of pool equipment other than the APC based on the information from the water sensing system ([00112] In another embodiment, the spectroscopic device may be installed or connected to pool equipment. [00125] All communications of the preferred embodiment are meant to advise the end user about the state of the pool fluid and automatically - or subject to a manual command - proceed to activate the dosing equipment to regulate the chemistry composition of the pool fluid.) in order to, for example, control peripheral equipment affecting the comfort of swimming pool users.
It would have been readily obvious to modify the method of Witelson et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., which already comprises controlling the APC, such that it further comprises controlling a piece of pool equipment other than the APC in addition to controlling the APC based on the information from the water sensing system in order to, for example, control peripheral equipment affecting the comfort of swimming pool users.
Per claim 19, Witelson et al. disclose the method further comprising generating an alert or notification on a device remote from the APC ([00125] All communications of the preferred embodiment are meant to advise the end user about the state of the pool fluid and automatically - or subject to a manual command - proceed to activate the dosing equipment to regulate the chemistry composition of the pool fluid.; [00176] IO interface 40 may transmit (wirelessly or non-wirelessly) the pool analysis report 14 to another device, may display the pool analysis report 14 to a user, be connected to an alarm or another warning device and the like. IO interface 40 may send status and command 24 to the processing unit 30 that may send commands to the sensor 20.). Witelson et al., as modified by Durvasula et al., does not disclose the alert or notification being based on the information from the water sensing system.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to generate an alert or notification on a device remote from the APC based on the information from the water sensing system in order to, for example, keep an operator of the APC advised of any initiation or interruption of a cleaning operation.
Claim 7 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of Herring (‘428), Schloss et al. (‘033) and Witelson et al. (‘808) in view of Durvasula et al. (‘869).
Per claim 7, none of the primary references explicitly disclose at least one water sensing probe on cabling for the APC.
It is submitted that it would have readily obvious for the skilled artisan to place at least one water sensing probe on cabling for the APC in order to, for example, detect water quality parameters of the water within the pool to be cleaned. Further, applicant has not provided for the record a proper showing (e.g., comparative test data) of any new and unexpected result achieved by placing at least one water probe on the cabling for the APC. Moreover, placing the sensor on APC cabling is clearly a routine matter of design choice, absent a showing of any new and unexpected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant broadly asserts that none of Herring, Schloss nor Witelson teach or suggest at least "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16. However, as described above, the examiner notes that Durvasula et al. disclose that an APC may be provided with an onboard controller that functions to control a cleaning operation itself (i.e., the pool cleaner itself) based off information from at least one sensor. Accordingly, while applicant’s arguments have been reviewed and carefully considered, it is the examiner’s position that any one of Herring, Schloss and Witelson in combination with Durvasula et al. fairly suggests and/or renders obvious the subject matter of at least claims 1 and 16.
Applicant asserts that that Herring fails to teach or suggest at least controlling operation of the pool cleaner itself or "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16, and asserts that claims 1 and 16 are thus allowable over Herring. The examiner disagrees for the reasons provided in the rejection above, as Herring in combination with Durvasula fairly suggests and/or renders obvious controlling operation the pool cleaner itself or at least "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16. Accordingly, while applicant’s arguments have been carefully reviewed and considered, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that that Schloss fails to teach or suggest controlling operation of the pool cleaner itself or at least "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16, and asserts that claims 1 and 16 are thus allowable over Schloss. The examiner disagrees for the reasons provided in the rejection above, as Schloss in combination with Durvasula fairly suggests and/or renders obvious controlling operation of the pool cleaner itself or at least "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16. Accordingly, while applicant’s arguments have been carefully reviewed and considered, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Witelson fails to teach or suggest controlling operation of the pool cleaner itself or at least "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16, and asserts that claims 1 and 16 are thus allowable over Witelson. The examiner disagrees for the reasons provided in the rejection above, as Witelson in combination with Durvasula fairly suggests and/or render obvious controlling operation of the pool cleaner itself or at least "information from the water sensing system is used by the controller to control a cleaning operation of the APC" as recited in claim 1, for example, and as similarly recited in claim 16. Accordingly, while applicant’s arguments have been carefully reviewed and considered, the arguments are not persuasive.
For at least the reasons provided above, claims 1 and 16 and the claims which depend from claims 1 and 16, respectively, are not patentable over the prior art and a holding of obviousness is required.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779