Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US 20100261448) in view of Chiang (US 20220201456) in view of Ghanbari (US 20140122109).
Regarding claim 1, Peter teaches, a method (abstract: methods for handling text messages directed to special numbers, such as emergency text messaging), comprising:
receiving an emergency request, the emergency request including a first text message a geolocation (Paragraph 29: a text message may be manually entered into the sending device by a user and directed to the predefined universal special number using conventional text messaging techniques. In certain embodiments, a text messaging application executing on the sending device or on a server device with which the sending device is in communication may aid the user in generating and sending a text message. For instance, a text messaging application may provide various predefined text messages from which a user may select to send. This may expedite the user's generation of a text message, and/or may aid a user in completing certain information to be included in a text message of a certain type. As one example, a user may select a predefined text message of "I am having a heart attack" to send. As another example, a user may select a certain type of message, such as a Medical Emergency type of message, and responsive to such selection the text messaging application may prompt the user for certain information, such as the type of medical emergency, the name of the user's physician, etc. that is to be included in the text message. In certain implementations, responsive to a user selecting a certain type of message to send (e.g., Medical Emergency type), the text messaging application may present the user (on the sending device interface) a form or template text message that includes various fields, such as type of medical emergency, name of user's physician, etc., that may be completed by the user. This may aid the user in providing necessary/important information concerning the type of emergency being experienced. In certain embodiments, various user-defined text messages, which may be pre-populated by the user with various information, such as the user's medical condition, physician name and contact information, etc. may be stored for selection by the user to send. Thus, for example, a user with a known heart condition may have a pre-stored text message that can be quickly selected and sent upon the user experiencing symptoms of a heart attack, rather than the user being required to type out a text message while experiencing those symptoms) and a geolocation (abstract: routing a geographically-sensitive text message comprises receiving, at an intermediate router (between the sender and service point), a geographically-sensitive text message from a sending device and paragraph 3); the emergency request identifying an address (Paragraph 33, 59);
determining a call center, at least in part based on the geolocation (abstract: based at least in part on the sending device's physical location, a proper service point (e.g., PSAP) to which the text message is to be routed is determined. The text message may be reformatted into a text output format of a text output display employed at the service point. The router sends the reformatted text message to the identified proper service point for display on the text output display);
Peter does not teach converting content of the first text message to a first voice message; and transmitting the first voice message to the call center.
Chiang in the same art of endeavor teaches converting content of the first text message to a first voice message; and transmitting the first voice message to the call center (Fig. 1, el. 120: text to speech engine and Paragraph 33), receiving an emergency response including a second voice message (Paragraph 14-16 and see response above to argument); converting the second voice message to a second text message: and transmitting the second text message to the address (Paragraph 14, 16) and (Chiang: Paragraph 65, 89: callback the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peter with Chiang in order to improve the system and enhance the user experience and accommodate different format based on user’s needs and device capabilities.
Peter in view of Chiang Does not teach determining a key event, at least in part based on the first text message and at least one of a dictionary of key events, a thesaurus of key events, or a database that links words to key as claimed.
Ghanbari teaches determining a key event, at least in part based on the first text message and at least one of a dictionary of key events, a thesaurus of key events, or a database that links words to key (Paragraph 48: The NLP system detects symptoms and characteristics of those symptoms while the patient enters the data and updated the display on the end-user terminal 12 in real-time based on the extracted information. NLP leverages medical ontologies to recognize key sympotomic concepts, and analyzes the text around these symptoms for aspects to annotate those symptoms. For example, if a patient entered: "severe headache that started 3 days ago," then in one embodiment, the NLP system would identify the word "headache" to classify one symptom as being a headache, detect "severe" as being near "headache" and apply the "severe" aspect to the diagnosis and create a temporal map identifying the headache as having started 3 days ago. The symptom ("headache") is detected using medical concept dictionaries that provide a semantic map from particular words and phrases to medical concepts. For example, a medical concept dictionary could include entries such as "head hurts. fwdarw. headache" and "head throbbing. fwdarw. headache". The characteristics of the detected symptom ("severe" and "three days ago") are detected based on parsing sentence structure and relating modifiers to the identified symptoms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peter in view of Chiang with Ghanbari in order to improve the system and enhance the user experience and provide the best assistance.
Regarding claim 3, Peter in view of Chiang in view of Ghanbari teaches, standardizing the first text message to a key event to extract the content (Peter: paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 8, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 10, see claim 3 rejections.
Regarding claim 15, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 3 rejections.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters (US 20100261448) in view of Chiang (US 20220201456) in view of Ghanbari (US 20140122109) in view of Sabeur (US 20170366954).
Regarding claim 2, Peter in view of Chiang in view of Ghanbari teaches, the claimed method.
Peter in view of Chiang in view of Ghanbari does not teach receiving a registration request identifying a jurisdiction of the call center, wherein the determining is performed at least in part based on the jurisdiction of the call center.
Sabeur in the same art of endeavor teaches registration request identifying a jurisdiction of the call center, wherein the determining to select the PSAP is performed at least in part based on the jurisdiction of the call center (Paragraph 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peter in view of Ghanbari with Sabeur in order to improve the system enhance the ensure routing the call to the closest PSAP.
Regarding claim 4, Peter in view of Chiang in view of Ghanbari in view of Sabeur teaches, determining a language of the call center, at least in part based on the registration request; and translating the content to the language of the call center, wherein the first voice message is in the language of the call center (Chiang: Paragraph 16-17).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 2 rejections.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 4 rejections.
Regarding claim 16, see claim 2 rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 rejections.
Conclusion
/MARIA EL-ZOOBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692