DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated October 20, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 12-13, the Examiner respectfully does not agree. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because independent claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected base on a combination of the references Hirose and Varughese and not on either reference individually. As discussed, in the non-final action of June 18, 2025, the combined teachings of the reference rendered the claimed invention obvious. Applicant’s argument that Varughese only applies devices already connected” is not persuasive, as Varughese evaluates whether power deliver should be allowed, which necessarily involves estimating the impact of powering the device before granting the request. Such evaluation establishes simulation or estimation of power consumption, as broadly recited. Varughese et al. discloses the external device (Fig. 1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator) to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *The device 180 is expressly disclosed hardware in the form of an external/peripheral device electrically connected to the vehicle via the VAC electrical outlet); matching the information (see at least para. [0028] of Varughese which discloses “The vehicle-side controller 170 may selectively allow the peripheral device 180 to draw the requested power or deny the request according to the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160” and see at least para. [0035] of Varughese which disclose “the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160 is considered when determining whether the request for the increase in electrical power delivery to peripheral device 180 is allowed. The evaluation module 220 may store a value of the electrical loading in the thresholds database 260. The electrical loading may be updated every time there is a request for an increase to the electric power delivery”, *Paragraphs [0028] and [0035] of Varughese further disclose evaluating the power requirements of the external device relative to stored electrical loading data, wherein a vehicle-side controller determines whether the peripheral device may draw the requested power based on electrical loading of the power delivery system, with loading values, i.e. “a value of the electrical loading” stored in a database 260. Comparing requested device power against stored electrical loading values constitutes matching information of the external device to the data in a preset load power database, as broadly as recited, for an external device selected or requested for use) on the at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *it should be noted that a device that is selectively authorized for use based on availability of a shared vehicle power resource constitutes a “to be shared” external device” under the broadest reasonable interpretation) to data (see at least para. [0032] of Varughese which discloses “the data store 240 stores data used by the modules 220 and 230 in executing various functions”) of a preset load power database (DB); obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching (In Varughese, the result of comparing requested device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines whether, and to what extent, power may be supplied to the peripheral device. Varughese teaches obtaining estimated power amount information based on a matched result because the outcome of comparing request device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines the power amount associated with the external device. Therefore, the estimated power amount information is obtained based on the matched result of the matching, as claimed).
The Applicant has amended the scope of the independent claims to include “the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle“ from the non-limiting preamble into the body of the claims. Therefore, the Examiner clarifies that Varughese teaches the electrically connected external device, while Hirose continues to teaches the rental request and estimation framework with the applied combination remaining unchanged and the rejections under 35 USC §103 are maintained.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §101, amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the rejections. The rejections under 35 USC §101 are maintained as outlined below.
Applicant has changed the scope of the claims by amending the claims to requires the “external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle” limitation be included in the body of the claim. However, this amendment does not distinguish the claims over the applied references. In the original claim, the phrase “external device to be electrically connected to an electric vehicle: appeared only in the preamble. Therefore, that language was treated in a non-limiting context since the claim body did not require the electrical connection and Examiner mapped “external device” broadly to Hirose. Hirose discloses an external device involved in the claim process and the preamble did not impose additional structural limitations. Examiner relied on Hirose when “electrically connected” was only in the non-limiting preamble. However, since Applicant has now amended the independent claims and moved that concept into the claim body, Varughese is being relied upon to clarify the external device’s electrical connection to the electric vehicle as originally discussed on page. 13 of the non-final action of June 18, 2025. Therefore, Applicant’s amendments fail to overcome the prior art and the rejections under 35 USC §103 are maintained as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Regarding Step 1 of the Revised Guidance, it must be considered whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention. In the instant case, claims 1-10 are directed to a method of simulating power consumption (i.e., a process); re directed to a system (i.e., a machine); and claim 20 is directed to a server (i.e., a machine).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are within at least one of the four statutory categories (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite a judicial exception (subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity).
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (bolded below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
receiving a request for sharing rental information of the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle from a first device;
receiving information on at least one to-be-shared external device from a second device, the at least one to-be-shared external device being selected through the second device in response to the request;
matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB);
obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching; and
providing the estimated power amount information to the first device.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a judicial exception in terms of a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitations can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” Claim 1 recites a judicial exception in the form of mental processes, including receiving information, comparing information to stored data, and generating an estimate, which are abstract data analysis concepts that can be practically performed by a human or by a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
The independent claim 1 recites the limitations of receiving a request; receiving information ; matching the information; obtaining estimated power amount information; and providing the estimated power amount information.
The receiving and matching limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “sharing rental information of the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle from a first device”; “at least one to-be-shared external device from a second device, the at least one to-be-shared external device being selected through the second device in response to the request”; “a preset load power database (DB)”; and “a matched result of the matching”. That is, other than performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “sharing rental information of the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle from a first device”; “at least one to-be-shared external device from a second device, the at least one to-be-shared external device being selected through the second device in response to the request”; “a preset load power database (DB)”; and “a matched result of the matching” nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. The first device that is claimed, is an additional element. The mere nominal recitation of a first device does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process grouping.
Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 2 evaluation: Practical Application - No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. In the instant application, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
In Claim 1:
receiving a request for sharing rental information of the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle from a first device;
receiving information on at least one to-be-shared external device from a second device, the at least one to-be-shared external device being selected through the second device in response to the request;
matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB);
obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching; and
providing the estimated power amount information to the first device.
The claim recites the additional elements of “sharing rental information of the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle from a first device”; “at least one to-be-shared external device from a second device, the at least one to-be-shared external device being selected through the second device in response to the request”; “a preset load power database (DB)”; and “a matched result of the matching”.
The elements of a first device”,” receiving information on at least one to-be-shared external device from a second device, the at least one to-be- shared external device being selected through the second device in response to the request”, “obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching; and providing the estimated power amount information to the first device amount to mere data reporting and updating, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. This claim calculates and reports an estimate, but never uses that estimate to perform a technical action in the real world.
101 Analysis – Step 2B evaluation: Inventive Concept: - No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, the claim(s) is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
Thus, claim 1 is ineligible.
101 Analysis – Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. These dependent claims inherit the abstract idea set forth in claims 1, 11 and 20. No other technology or action has been recited in claims 2-10 and 12-19 to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 2-10 and 12-19 also do not confer eligibility on the claimed invention and are ineligible for reasons stated above and for similar reasons to claims 1, 11 and 20. Therefore, dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1, 11 and 20.
Therefore, claims 2-10 and 12-19 are also ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US 2017/0098176 A1) in view of Varughese et al. (US 2020/0401200 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose disclose the method (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which
discloses a “method of calculating the amount of energy consumption of a vehicle known at the time of filing of the present application can be appropriately applied”) comprising:
receiving a request (see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “the user terminal device 400X to execute a process to receive the rental request (rental request reception step). The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *This is receiving a request in the rental request reception step) for sharing rental information (see at least para. [0045] of Hirose which discloses ““rental information” that requests use of the shared vehicle Vn”) from a first device (Fig. 1, 400X and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which disclose “device 400X … may be a personal computer, smartphone, PDA (Personal Digital Assistant), or other handheld terminal device”, *Device 400x is a first device since para. [0041] of Applicant’s specification describes “The smart devices may include a first smart device 300 to an nth smart device 300N. The smart devices may include, for example, one or more of a smart terminal, a smartphone, a portable terminal, a mobile phone, a portable device, or the like”);
receiving information (see at least para. [0096] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X executes the rental request reception function (rental request reception step) to receive the input of the rental request. The rental request includes a rental request to request the use of the shared vehicle Vn by the user. The rental request received by the user terminal device 400X is transmitted to the control device 10 of the shared vehicle management device 100”, *This is receiving information on device 100 which is discussed below and is interpreted to be a shared external device) on at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100” and see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information in the form of a rental request and that information is received on the shared external device 100) from a second device (Fig. 1, 500X and see at least para. [0021] of Hirose which discloses “The shared vehicle management device 100 can communicate with the onboard devices 200V1 to 200Vn, user terminal devices 400X to 400Y, and operator terminal devices 600X to 600Y via the facility terminal devices 500X to 500Y and station terminal devices 700X to 700Y”), the at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100”) being selected through the second device in response to the request (see at least para. [0025] of Hirose which discloses “The shared vehicle management device 100 according to one or more embodiments of the present invention accepts a rental of a shared vehicle Vn available from one station PR to a user on the basis of a rental request that is input via the user terminal device 400X, *Examiner interprets that since communication with first device 400 is via second device 500 then the selection occurs through second device 500 in response to a request);
a preset load power database (DB) (Fig. 1, 30 and see at least para. [0031] of Hirose which discloses “database 30 … stores management information 31… The management information 31 includes vehicle state management information 311” and see at least para. [0032] of Hirose which discloses “the vehicle state management information 311 includes … information that represents the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn and the condition of the shared vehicle Vn”, and see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “remaining amount of energy in one or more embodiments of the present invention is the remaining amount in the power source which is installed on the shared vehicle Vn and drives the shared vehicle Vn, such as the remaining charge of battery”, *Examiner interprets database 30 to be the preset load power database since para. [0053] of Applicant’s specification describes “The specification data may include power consumption data indicated in product specifications. A load power database (DB) may store a plurality of pieces of specification data” and the remaining amount in the power source will indicate power consumption data);
obtaining estimated power amount information (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “an estimated amount of energy consumption from the remaining amount of energy at the time of rental. The estimated amount of energy consumption is an amount of energy that is consumed by the shared vehicle Vn”) of the at least one to-be-shared external device; and
providing the estimated power amount information to the first device (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “the amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn being supplied with energy (being charged), and an estimated time when the energy supply (charging) is completed” and see at least para. [0020] of Hirose which discloses “shared vehicles V1 to Vn (which may be collectively referred to as a “shared vehicle Vn” or “shared vehicles Vn,” hereinafter) used by the users, user terminal devices 400X to 400Y (which may be collectively referred to as a “user terminal device 400X”, *Examiner interprets the estimated power amount information will be indirectly applied to the first device 400X since they use the shared vehicle Vn).
Hirose does disclose the external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose
which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100” and see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information in the form of a rental request and that information is received on the shared external device 100).
Hirose may not explicitly disclose the external device to be electrically connected to the
electric vehicle; matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB); obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Varughese et al. discloses the external device (Fig.
1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator) to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *The device 180 is expressly disclosed hardware in the form of an external/peripheral device electrically connected to the vehicle via the VAC electrical outlet); matching the information (see at least para. [0028] of Varughese which discloses “The vehicle-side controller 170 may selectively allow the peripheral device 180 to draw the requested power or deny the request according to the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160” and see at least para. [0035] of Varughese which disclose “the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160 is considered when determining whether the request for the increase in electrical power delivery to peripheral device 180 is allowed. The evaluation module 220 may store a value of the electrical loading in the thresholds database 260. The electrical loading may be updated every time there is a request for an increase to the electric power delivery”, *Paragraphs [0028] and [0035] of Varughese further disclose evaluating the power requirements of the external device relative to stored electrical loading data, wherein a vehicle-side controller determines whether the peripheral device may draw the requested power based on electrical loading of the power delivery system, with loading values, i.e. “a value of the electrical loading” stored in a database 260. Comparing requested device power against stored electrical loading values constitutes matching information of the external device to the data in a preset load power database, as broadly as recited, for an external device selected or requested for use) on the at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *it should be noted that a device that is selectively authorized for use based on availability of a shared vehicle power resource constitutes a “to be shared” external device” under the broadest reasonable interpretation) to data (see at least para. [0032] of Varughese which discloses “the data store 240 stores data used by the modules 220 and 230 in executing various functions”) of a preset load power database (DB); obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching (In Varughese, the result of comparing requested device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines whether, and to what extent, power may be supplied to the peripheral device. Varughese teaches obtaining estimated power amount information based on a matched result because the outcome of comparing request device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines the power amount associated with the external device. Therefore, the estimated power amount information is obtained based on the matched result of the matching, as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hirose to include matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB), and obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching, as taught in Varughese, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively manage power consumption and distribution of the electric vehicle and external devices and to more accurately determine energy availability and whether a requested usage may be permitted. See para. [0033] and [0035] of Varughese for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Hirose, as modified by Varughese, discloses wherein the information on
at least one to-be-shared external device is based on usage information (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “used hours of the battery, the number of times of charging”, *Examiner interprets this to be usage information) of the at least one to-be-shared external device (see at least para. [0020] of Hirose which discloses “a “shared vehicle Vn” or “shared vehicles Vn,” hereinafter) used by the users”).
Regarding claim 3, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information comprises extracting a power consumption characteristic value (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “Each facility terminal device 500X calculates the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.”) according to a type of the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0026] of Hirose which discloses “electric vehicles (EVs) that are driven by electricity stored in batteries. The shared vehicles Vn are not limited to electric vehicles and may be hybrid vehicles that utilize electricity or other vehicles, such as gasoline-fueled vehicles, fuel-cell vehicles, alcohol-fueled vehicles, and hydrogen-fueled vehicles”, *Examiner interprets that since multiple types of electrical vehicles and hybrids of electric vehicles are listed, then they will have different power consumption values).
Regarding claim 4, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information further comprises: obtaining a current external temperature (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “the outside air temperature, the use of electric components such as air conditioner”, *Examiner interprets the outside air temperature to be the external temperature) of the electric vehicle; and determining a temperature factor (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “the number of times of rapid charging, temperature, and presence or absence of the use of air conditioner, as an index for evaluating the current capacity of battery”, *Examiner interests these factors as determining a temperature factor) by matching the current external temperature to a preset temperature range (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “The process to estimate the amount of energy may further take into account the outside air temperature, the use of electric components such as air conditioner”, *Examiner interprets this to be a comparison between the outside air temperature and the preset temperature range of the inside since an air conditioner is used).
Regarding claim 5, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information further comprises: obtaining a current state of charge (SOC) of a battery (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “an index for evaluating the current capacity of battery”, *Examiner interprets this as the current state of charge of the battery) of the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “evaluating the current capacity of battery and the cruising range from the onboard device 200Vn of the shared vehicle Vn”) by applying at least one of the power consumption characteristic value or the temperature factor to power of the battery (see at least para. [0062] of Hirose which discloses “determines that the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn is less than a predetermined remaining amount threshold and the necessity of energy supply (one form of the maintenance) for the shared vehicle Vn is higher than a predetermined reference value, the control device 10 estimates”, *Examiner interprets that since this is claimed in the alternative, only one limitation is required, i.e., the power consumption characteristic value); and obtaining an available power amount remaining until a minimum charge amount of the electric vehicle based on the current SOC of the battery (see at least para. [0052] of Hirose which discloses “When the estimated remaining amount of energy at the time of return is less than a predetermined remaining amount threshold, the control device 10 determines that the necessity level of maintenance of the shared vehicle Vn at the time of return is higher than the predetermined reference value, because the possibility of energy shortage is high during the subsequent travel”, *Examiner interprets this to be applying the power consumption characteristic value and obtaining an available power amount remining).
Regarding claim 6, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information further comprises predicting an estimated time to reach the minimum charge amount (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.“).
Regarding claim 7, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein predicting the
estimated time (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “an estimated time when the energy supply (charging) is completed”) further comprises predicting an estimated SOC of the battery (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “estimates the time when the energy supply (charging) is completed, on the basis of the state of the shared vehicle Vn to be supplied with energy”).
Regarding claim 8, Hirose, as modified by Varughese, discloses wherein the usage
information (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “used hours of the battery, the number of times of charging”, *Examiner interprets this to be usage information) includes basic power consumption information (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “Each facility terminal device 500X calculates the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.”, *Examiner interprets this to be power consumption characteristic information).
Varughese further discloses a scheduled duration of time for use (see at least para. [0056] of Varughese which discloses “a ramp-down rate that specifies a time period over which the peripheral device 180 is to either ramp down the electrical power to the requested power value”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus of Hirose, as modified by Varughese, to include a scheduled duration of time for use, as further taught by Varughese with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively utilize the advance calculation of the power consumption amount. See para. [0056] of Varughese for motivation.
Regarding claim 9, Hirose, as modified by Varughese, discloses adding data (see at least
para. [0085] of Hirose which discloses “acquires programs for utilizing the car sharing system managed by the shared vehicle management device 100 via an electric communication line”, *Examiner interprets the program are data that will be added via the electric communication line) of a new device (see at least para. [0086] of Hirose which discloses “The input information is transmitted to the shared vehicle management device 100 via the communication device 420”) to the preset load power DB (Fig. 1, 30 and see at least para. [0031] of Hirose which discloses “database 30 … stores management information 31… The management information 31 includes vehicle state management information 311” and see at least para. [0032] of Hirose which discloses “the vehicle state management information 311 includes … information that represents the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn and the condition of the shared vehicle Vn”, and see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “remaining amount of energy in one or more embodiments of the present invention is the remaining amount in the power source which is installed on the shared vehicle Vn and drives the shared vehicle Vn, such as the remaining charge of battery”, *Examiner interprets database 30 to be the preset load power database since para. [0053] of Applicant’s specification describes “The specification data may include power consumption data indicated in product specifications. A load power database (DB) may store a plurality of pieces of specification data” and the remaining amount in the power source will indicate power consumption data); and recalculating estimated power amount information of the new device and the at least one to-be-shared external device (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “Each facility terminal device 500X estimates the time when the energy supply (charging) is completed, on the basis of the state of the shared vehicle Vn to be supplied with energy. Each facility terminal device 500X calculates the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.”, *Examiner interprets the recalculation of the estimated power amount information of the new device occurs since the completed energy supply changes as devices are added).
Regarding claim 10, Hirose, as modified by Varughese, discloses wherein adding data of the
new device comprises receiving information on the new device from a server (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0030] of Hirose which discloses “device 100 functions as a server“ and see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “information 312 is information that is acquired by the management server of the energy supply facility CST such as a charging station and the management server of the maintenance facility MST such as a maintenance station and manages the state of each facility in an integrated manner”).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Hirose disclose A system (Fig. 1, 1000 and see at
least para. [0020] of Hirose which describes (“system 1000”), the system comprising: a server (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0030] of Hirose which discloses “device 100 functions as a server“ and see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “information 312 is information that is acquired by the management server of the energy supply facility CST such as a charging station and the management server of the maintenance facility MST such as a maintenance station and manages the state of each facility in an integrated manner”) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “a CPU (Central Processing Unit) as an operation circuit that executes the programs (steps) stored in the ROM to perform each function; and a RAM (Random Access Memory) that functions as an accessible storage device” and see at least para. [0035] of Hirose which discloses “a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 11 as an operation circuit that executes the programs (steps) stored in the ROM 12 to function as the shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets processing unit and CPU 11 to include at least one processor) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see at least claim 15 of Hirose which discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a computer”), storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see at least claim 15 of Hirose which discloses “storing instructions executable by a computer” and see at least para. [0133] which discloses “the control device 10 (computer) that has a CPU 11, a ROM 12, and a RAM 13 is exemplified as a form of the shared vehicle management device”, *Examiner interprets that since a computer includes a processor the instructions are executed by the processor), cause the at least one processor to perform operations including receiving a request (see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “the user terminal device 400X to execute a process to receive the rental request (rental request reception step). The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this a receiving a request in the rental request reception step) for sharing rental information (see at least para. [0045] of Hirose which discloses ““rental information” that requests use of the shared vehicle Vn”) from a first device (Fig. 1, 400X and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which disclose “device 400X … may be a personal computer, smartphone, PDA (Personal Digital Assistant), or other handheld terminal device”, *Examiner interprets device 400x to be a first device since para. [0041] of Applicant’s specification describes “The smart devices may include a first smart device 300 to an nth smart device 300N. The smart devices may include, for example, one or more of a smart terminal, a smartphone, a portable terminal, a mobile phone, a portable device, or the like”), receiving information (see at least para. [0096] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X executes the rental request reception function (rental request reception step) to receive the input of the rental request. The rental request includes a rental request to request the use of the shared vehicle Vn by the user. The rental request received by the user terminal device 400X is transmitted to the control device 10 of the shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information on device 100 which is discussed below and is interpreted to be a shared external device) on at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100” and see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information in the form of a rental request and that information is received on the shared external device 100) from a second device (Fig. 1, 500X and see at least para. [0021] of Hirose which discloses “The shared vehicle management device 100 can communicate with the onboard devices 200V1 to 200Vn, user terminal devices 400X to 400Y, and operator terminal devices 600X to 600Y via the facility terminal devices 500X to 500Y and station terminal devices 700X to 700Y”), the at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100”) being selected through the second device in response to the request (see at least para. [0025] of Hirose which discloses “The shared vehicle management device 100 according to one or more embodiments of the present invention accepts a rental of a shared vehicle Vn available from one station PR to a user on the basis of a rental request that is input via the user terminal device 400X, *Examiner interprets that since communication with first device 400 is via second device 500 then the selection occurs through second device 500 in response to a request), a preset load power database (DB) (Fig. 1, 30 and see at least para. [0031] of Hirose which discloses “database 30 … stores management information 31… The management information 31 includes vehicle state management information 311” and see at least para. [0032] of Hirose which discloses “the vehicle state management information 311 includes … information that represents the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn and the condition of the shared vehicle Vn”, and see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “remaining amount of energy in one or more embodiments of the present invention is the remaining amount in the power source which is installed on the shared vehicle Vn and drives the shared vehicle Vn, such as the remaining charge of battery”, *Examiner interprets database 30 to be the preset load power database since para. [0053] of Applicant’s specification describes “The specification data may include power consumption data indicated in product specifications. A load power database (DB) may store a plurality of pieces of specification data” and the remaining amount in the power source will indicate power consumption data), and obtaining estimated power amount information (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “an estimated amount of energy consumption from the remaining amount of energy at the time of rental. The estimated amount of energy consumption is an amount of energy that is consumed by the shared vehicle Vn”) of the at least one to-be-shared external device; and providing the estimated power amount information to the first device (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “the amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn being supplied with energy (being charged), and an estimated time when the energy supply (charging) is completed” and see at least para. [0020] of Hirose which discloses “shared vehicles V1 to Vn (which may be collectively referred to as a “shared vehicle Vn” or “shared vehicles Vn,” hereinafter) used by the users, user terminal devices 400X to 400Y (which may be collectively referred to as a “user terminal device 400X”, *Examiner interprets the estimated power amount information will be indirectly applied to the first device 400X since they use the shared vehicle Vn).
Hirose does disclose the external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose
which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100” and see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information in the form of a rental request and that information is received on the shared external device 100).
Hirose may not explicitly disclose an additional database that is a preset load power
database (DB); the external device to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle; and matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB), and obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Varughese et al. discloses a load power database
(DB) (Fig. 2, 260 and see at least para. [0038] of Varughese which discloses “the thresholds database 260 stores, in one approach, an electrical power limit value that corresponds to the power delivery system 160“); the external device (Fig. 1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator”) to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *The device 180 is expressly disclosed hardware in the form of an external/peripheral device electrically connected to the vehicle via the VAC electrical outlet); and matching the information (see at least para. [0028] of Varughese which discloses “The vehicle-side controller 170 may selectively allow the peripheral device 180 to draw the requested power or deny the request according to the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160” and see at least para. [0035] of Varughese which disclose “the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160 is considered when determining whether the request for the increase in electrical power delivery to peripheral device 180 is allowed. The evaluation module 220 may store a value of the electrical loading in the thresholds database 260. The electrical loading may be updated every time there is a request for an increase to the electric power delivery”, *Paragraphs [0028] and [0035] of Varughese further disclose evaluating the power requirements of the external device relative to stored electrical loading data, wherein a vehicle-side controller determines whether the peripheral device may draw the requested power based on electrical loading of the power delivery system, with loading values, i.e. “a value of the electrical loading” stored in a database 260. Comparing requested device power against stored electrical loading values constitutes matching information of the external device to the data in a preset load power database, as broadly as recited, for an external device selected or requested for use) on the at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *it should be noted that a device that is selectively authorized for use based on availability of a shared vehicle power resource constitutes a “to be shared” external device” under the broadest reasonable interpretation) to data (see at least para. [0032] of Varughese which discloses “the data store 240 stores data used by the modules 220 and 230 in executing various functions”) of the preset load power database (DB); obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching (In Varughese, the result of comparing requested device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines whether, and to what extent, power may be supplied to the peripheral device. Varughese teaches obtaining estimated power amount information based on a matched result because the outcome of comparing request device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines the power amount associated with the external device. Therefore, the estimated power amount information is obtained based on the matched result of the matching, as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hirose to include a load power database (DB); and matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB), and obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching, as taught in Varughese, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively manage power consumption and distribution of the electric vehicle and external devices and to more accurately determine energy availability and whether a requested usage may be permitted. See para. [0033] and [0035] of Varughese for motivation.
Regarding claim 12, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein the
information on at least one to-be-shared external device is based on usage information (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “used hours of the battery, the number of times of charging”, *Examiner interprets this to be usage information) of the at least one to-be-shared external device (see at least para. [0020] of Hirose which discloses “a “shared vehicle Vn” or “shared vehicles Vn,” hereinafter) used by the users”).
Regarding claim 13, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information comprises extracting a power consumption characteristic value (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “Each facility terminal device 500X calculates the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.”, *Examiner interprets this to be a power consumption characteristic value) according to a type of the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0026] of Hirose which discloses “electric vehicles (EVs) that are driven by electricity stored in batteries. The shared vehicles Vn are not limited to electric vehicles and may be hybrid vehicles that utilize electricity or other vehicles, such as gasoline-fueled vehicles, fuel-cell vehicles, alcohol-fueled vehicles, and hydrogen-fueled vehicles”, *Examiner interprets that since multiple types of electrical vehicles and hybrids of electric vehicles are listed, then they will have different power consumption values).
Regarding claim 14, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information further comprises: obtaining a current external temperature (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “the outside air temperature, the use of electric components such as air conditioner”, *Examiner interprets the outside air temperature to be the external temperature) of the electric vehicle; and determining a temperature factor (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “the number of times of rapid charging, temperature, and presence or absence of the use of air conditioner, as an index for evaluating the current capacity of battery”, *Examiner interests these factors as determining a temperature factor) by matching the current external temperature to a preset temperature range (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “The process to estimate the amount of energy may further take into account the outside air temperature, the use of electric components such as air conditioner”, *Examiner interprets this to be a comparison between the outside air temperature and the preset temperature range of the inside since an air conditioner is used).
Regarding claim 15, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information further comprises: obtaining a current state of charge (SOC) of a battery (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “an index for evaluating the current capacity of battery”, *Examiner interprets this as the current state of charge of the battery) of the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “evaluating the current capacity of battery and the cruising range from the onboard device 200Vn of the shared vehicle Vn”) by applying at least one of the power consumption characteristic value or the temperature factor to power of the battery (see at least para. [0062] of Hirose which discloses “determines that the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn is less than a predetermined remaining amount threshold and the necessity of energy supply (one form of the maintenance) for the shared vehicle Vn is higher than a predetermined reference value, the control device 10 estimates”, *Examiner interprets that since this is claimed in the alternative, only one limitation is required, i.e., the power consumption characteristic value); and obtaining an available power amount remaining until a minimum charge amount of the electric vehicle based on the current SOC of the battery (see at least para. [0052] of Hirose which discloses “When the estimated remaining amount of energy at the time of return is less than a predetermined remaining amount threshold, the control device 10 determines that the necessity level of maintenance of the shared vehicle Vn at the time of return is higher than the predetermined reference value, because the possibility of energy shortage is high during the subsequent travel”, *Examiner interprets this to be applying the power consumption characteristic value and obtaining an available power amount remining).
Regarding claim 16, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein obtaining the
estimated power amount information further comprises predicting an estimated time to reach the minimum charge amount (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.“).
Regarding claim 17, Hirose, as modified by Varughese et al. disclose wherein predicting the
estimated time (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “an estimated time when the energy supply (charging) is completed”) further comprises predicting an estimated SOC of the battery (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “estimates the time when the energy supply (charging) is completed, on the basis of the state of the shared vehicle Vn to be supplied with energy”).
Regarding claim 18, Hirose, as modified by Varughese, discloses wherein the usage
information (see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “used hours of the battery, the number of times of charging”, *Examiner interprets this to be usage information) includes basic power consumption information (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “Each facility terminal device 500X calculates the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.”, *Examiner interprets this to be power consumption characteristic information)
Varughese further discloses a scheduled duration of time for use (see at least para. [0056] of Varughese which discloses “a ramp-down rate that specifies a time period over which the peripheral device 180 is to either ramp down the electrical power to the requested power value”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus of Hirose, as modified by Varughese, to include a scheduled duration of time for use, as further taught by Varughese with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively utilize the advance calculation of the power consumption amount. See para. [0056] of Varughese for motivation.
Regarding claim 19, Hirose, as modified by Varughese, discloses wherein the operations
further include: adding data (see at least para. [0085] of Hirose which discloses “acquires programs for utilizing the car sharing system managed by the shared vehicle management device 100 via an electric communication line”, *Examiner interprets the program are data that will be added via the electric communication line) of a new device (see at least para. [0086] of Hirose which discloses “The input information is transmitted to the shared vehicle management device 100 via the communication device 420”) to the preset load power DB (Fig. 1, 30 and see at least para. [0031] of Hirose which discloses “database 30 … stores management information 31… The management information 31 includes vehicle state management information 311” and see at least para. [0032] of Hirose which discloses “the vehicle state management information 311 includes … information that represents the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn and the condition of the shared vehicle Vn”, and see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “remaining amount of energy in one or more embodiments of the present invention is the remaining amount in the power source which is installed on the shared vehicle Vn and drives the shared vehicle Vn, such as the remaining charge of battery”, *Examiner interprets database 30 to be the preset load power database since para. [0053] of Applicant’s specification describes “The specification data may include power consumption data indicated in product specifications. A load power database (DB) may store a plurality of pieces of specification data” and the remaining amount in the power source will indicate power consumption data); and recalculating estimated power amount information of the new device and the at least one to-be-shared external device (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “Each facility terminal device 500X estimates the time when the energy supply (charging) is completed, on the basis of the state of the shared vehicle Vn to be supplied with energy. Each facility terminal device 500X calculates the time required for power feeding from the chargeable electric energy which is obtained on the basis of the degradation level of the battery of the shared vehicle Vn, the number of times of charging the battery, etc.”, *Examiner interprets the recalculation of the estimated power amount information of the new device occurs since the completed energy supply changes as devices are added).
Regarding claim 20, Hirose discloses A server (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0030] of
Hirose which discloses “device 100 functions as a server“ and see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “information 312 is information that is acquired by the management server of the energy supply facility CST such as a charging station and the management server of the maintenance facility MST such as a maintenance station and manages the state of each facility in an integrated manner”)
comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “a CPU (Central Processing Unit) as an operation circuit that executes the programs (steps) stored in the ROM to perform each function; and a RAM (Random Access Memory) that functions as an accessible storage device” and see at least para. [0035] of Hirose which discloses “a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 11 as an operation circuit that executes the programs (steps) stored in the ROM 12 to function as the shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets processing unit and CPU 11 to include at least one processor); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see at least claim 15 of Hirose which discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a computer”), storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see at least claim 15 of Hirose which discloses “storing instructions executable by a computer” and see at least para. [0133] which discloses “the control device 10 (computer) that has a CPU 11, a ROM 12, and a RAM 13 is exemplified as a form of the shared vehicle management device”, *Examiner interprets that since a computer includes a processor the instructions are executed by the processor), cause the at least one processor to perform operations including receiving a request (see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “the user terminal device 400X to execute a process to receive the rental request (rental request reception step). The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this a receiving a request in the rental request reception step) for sharing rental information (see at least para. [0045] of Hirose which discloses ““rental information” that requests use of the shared vehicle Vn”) from a first device(Fig. 1, 400X and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which disclose “device 400X … may be a personal computer, smartphone, PDA (Personal Digital Assistant), or other handheld terminal device”, *Examiner interprets device 400x to be a first device since para. [0041] of Applicant’s specification describes “The smart devices may include a first smart device 300 to an nth smart device 300N. The smart devices may include, for example, one or more of a smart terminal, a smartphone, a portable terminal, a mobile phone, a portable device, or the like”), receiving information (see at least para. [0096] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X executes the rental request reception function (rental request reception step) to receive the input of the rental request. The rental request includes a rental request to request the use of the shared vehicle Vn by the user. The rental request received by the user terminal device 400X is transmitted to the control device 10 of the shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information on device 100 which is discussed below and is interpreted to be a shared external device) on at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100” and see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information in the form of a rental request and that information is received on the shared external device 100) from a second device (Fig. 1, 500X and see at least para. [0021] of Hirose which discloses “The shared vehicle management device 100 can communicate with the onboard devices 200V1 to 200Vn, user terminal devices 400X to 400Y, and operator terminal devices 600X to 600Y via the facility terminal devices 500X to 500Y and station terminal devices 700X to 700Y”), the at least one to-be- shared external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100”) being selected through the second device in response to the request (see at least para. [0025] of Hirose which discloses “The shared vehicle management device 100 according to one or more embodiments of the present invention accepts a rental of a shared vehicle Vn available from one station PR to a user on the basis of a rental request that is input via the user terminal device 400X, *Examiner interprets that since communication with first device 400 is via second device 500 then the selection occurs through second device 500 in response to a request), a preset load power database (DB) (Fig. 1, 30 and see at least para. [0031] of Hirose which discloses “database 30 … stores management information 31… The management information 31 includes vehicle state management information 311” and see at least para. [0032] of Hirose which discloses “the vehicle state management information 311 includes … information that represents the remaining amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn and the condition of the shared vehicle Vn”, and see at least para. [0038] of Hirose which discloses “remaining amount of energy in one or more embodiments of the present invention is the remaining amount in the power source which is installed on the shared vehicle Vn and drives the shared vehicle Vn, such as the remaining charge of battery”, *Examiner interprets database 30 to be the preset load power database since para. [0053] of Applicant’s specification describes “The specification data may include power consumption data indicated in product specifications. A load power database (DB) may store a plurality of pieces of specification data” and the remaining amount in the power source will indicate power consumption data), obtaining estimated power amount information (see at least para. [0051] of Hirose which discloses “an estimated amount of energy consumption from the remaining amount of energy at the time of rental. The estimated amount of energy consumption is an amount of energy that is consumed by the shared vehicle Vn”) of the at least one to-be-shared external device and providing the estimated power amount information to the first device (see at least para. [0033] of Hirose which discloses “the amount of energy of the shared vehicle Vn being supplied with energy (being charged), and an estimated time when the energy supply (charging) is completed” and see at least para. [0020] of Hirose which discloses “shared vehicles V1 to Vn (which may be collectively referred to as a “shared vehicle Vn” or “shared vehicles Vn,” hereinafter) used by the users, user terminal devices 400X to 400Y (which may be collectively referred to as a “user terminal device 400X”, *Examiner interprets the estimated power amount information will be indirectly applied to the first device 400X since they use the shared vehicle Vn).
Hirose does disclose the external device (Fig. 1, 100 and see at least para. [0022] of Hirose
which discloses “external devices such as the shared vehicle management device 100” and see at least para. [0087] of Hirose which discloses “The user terminal device 400X receives the input of the rental request which requests the use of the shared vehicle Vn. Then, the user terminal device 400X transmits the received rental request to the external shared vehicle management device 100”, *Examiner interprets this as receiving information in the form of a rental request and that information is received on the shared external device 100).
Hirose may not explicitly disclose the external device to be electrically connected to the
electric vehicle; matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB); obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Varughese et al. discloses the external device (Fig.
1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator) to be electrically connected to the electric vehicle (see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *The device 180 is expressly disclosed hardware in the form of an external/peripheral device electrically connected to the vehicle via the VAC electrical outlet); matching the information (see at least para. [0028] of Varughese which discloses “The vehicle-side controller 170 may selectively allow the peripheral device 180 to draw the requested power or deny the request according to the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160” and see at least para. [0035] of Varughese which disclose “the electrical loading of the power delivery system 160 is considered when determining whether the request for the increase in electrical power delivery to peripheral device 180 is allowed. The evaluation module 220 may store a value of the electrical loading in the thresholds database 260. The electrical loading may be updated every time there is a request for an increase to the electric power delivery”, *Paragraphs [0028] and [0035] of Varughese further disclose evaluating the power requirements of the external device relative to stored electrical loading data, wherein a vehicle-side controller determines whether the peripheral device may draw the requested power based on electrical loading of the power delivery system, with loading values, i.e. “a value of the electrical loading” stored in a database 260. Comparing requested device power against stored electrical loading values constitutes matching information of the external device to the data in a preset load power database, as broadly as recited, for an external device selected or requested for use) on the at least one to-be-shared external device (Fig. 1, 180 and see at least para. [0033] of Varughese which discloses “the peripheral device 180 is a mini-refrigerator connected to a 120 VAC electrical outlet inside the vehicle 100”, *it should be noted that a device that is selectively authorized for use based on availability of a shared vehicle power resource constitutes a “to be shared” external device” under the broadest reasonable interpretation) to data (see at least para. [0032] of Varughese which discloses “the data store 240 stores data used by the modules 220 and 230 in executing various functions”) of a preset load power database (DB); obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching (In Varughese, the result of comparing requested device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines whether, and to what extent, power may be supplied to the peripheral device. Varughese teaches obtaining estimated power amount information based on a matched result because the outcome of comparing request device power to stored electrical loading values directly determines the power amount associated with the external device. Therefore, the estimated power amount information is obtained based on the matched result of the matching, as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hirose to include a load power database (DB); and matching the information on the at least one to-be-shared external device to data of a preset load power database (DB), and obtaining estimated power amount information of the at least one to-be-shared external device based on a matched result of the matching, as taught in Varughese, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively manage power consumption and distribution of the electric vehicle and external devices and to more accurately determine energy availability and whether a requested usage may be permitted. See para. [0033] and [0035] of Varughese for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Iwai (US 2019/0197608 A1) discloses a storage battery module rental system further includes a power generation facility that is established so as to correspond to the providing point and that generates electric power as renewable energy for charging the storage battery module. The acquisition unit may acquire power generation information related to an amount of power generated by the power generation facility. Tsuchiya (US 2021/0170902 A1) discloses a server and a power management system capable of suppressing excessively high power run-out risk of a power storage (and compromise of convenience of a user of the power storage) caused by regulation of supply and demand of electric power in requesting a user of the power storage to regulate supply and demand of electric power.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662 /D.D.I/January 15, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662