DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
As of the reply filed 9/02/2025, claims 4-9 and 13-15 are pending. Claims 1-3 and 10-12 have been cancelled. Claims 4-8 and 13-15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previously filed claim objections, therefore these objections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “Kim discloses only two slots 20 in which a post 22 is received, and not a first protrusion and a second protrusion slidably disposed within a first slot and a second slot, respectively, of a lower body member and a first protrusion and a second protrusion slidably disposed within a first slot and a second slot, respectively, of an upper body member” (see Remarks page 9), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim et al. clearly teaches two slots (20 in Figs. 3-4 in particular) receiving two respective protrusions (22, col. 3, lines 56-60: “By manipulating finger pieces 22 along their slots 20, the degree of telescopic engagement of the elements with each other can be adjusted and this will adjust the diameter of the trochar”, emphasis added). While Kim et al. does not teach a first and second protrusion in both an upper and lower body member, the rejection as previously filed relies upon legal rationale since it has been held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). Additionally, Lauryssen et al. already contemplates that “sheath 24 can be attached or affixed to one or more portions of the exterior surfaces of elongate members 18, 20” (PP [0030]), so duplicating the mating features as taught by Kim et al. along multiple regions of the sheath would have been obvious in order to “assist in maintaining alignment” (see PP [0030] of Lauryssen et al.) of the upper and lower body portions.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “there can be no proper suggestion to modify the cannula of Lauryssen such that a first protrusion and a second protrusion of an upper lateral panel is slidably disposed within a first slot and a second slot, respectively, of a lower body member, and a first protrusion and a second protrusion of a lower lateral panel is slidably disposed within a first slot and a second slot, respectively, of an upper body member because Lauryssen teaches away from such a modification” (see Remarks pages 9-10), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant specifically argues that “by explicitly articulating the several benefits of using the resilient sheath 24, a person of ordinary skill ‘would be led in a direction divergent from the path that was taken’ by instead using the slots and protrusions in amended claim 13, and therefore Lauryssen teaches away from such a modification” (see Remarks page 10), but the Examiner counters that the MPEP specifically states that “a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed” (DePuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009), see MPEP 2145 X.D.1.). Therefore, Lauryssen et al. teaching the benefits of the resilient sheath does not constitute a direct teaching away from the expansion method as taught by the Kim et al. reference, particularly since Lauryssen explicitly states that “other means for affixing sheath 24 to elongate members 18, 20 are also possible” (PP [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lauryssen et al. (US PGPub 2012/0130161 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 3,789,852).
Please note that due to Applicant’s amendments to make claims 4-9 depend, either directly or indirectly, from claim 13, the following rejections appear out of order to maintain the dependency order of each claim and improve readability.
With respect to claim 13, Lauryssen et al. discloses an expandable cannula assembly (10 in Fig. 3) comprising:
a first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24 in Fig. 4) comprising:
an upper body member (20) that extends along an upper body axis from a first end to a second end (see 20 extend along axis in Fig. 3), the upper body member (20) having a first body edge portion (flat downturned right edge of 20 which engages 18, see Fig. 4 versus Fig. 2) that extends parallel to and offset from the upper body axis (see Figs. 3-4);
an upper lateral panel (right panel of 24) having a first panel edge (edge of right panel of 24 that couples to 20, see Fig. 4) that is coupled to the upper body member (20) at or adjacent to the first body edge portion (flat downturned right edge of 20 which engages 18, see Fig. 4 versus Fig. 2, PP [0030]: “sheath 24 can be attached or affixed to one or more portions of the exterior surfaces of elongate members 18, 20”) of the upper body member (20); and
a second cannula subassembly (18 and left panel of 24 in Fig. 4) comprising:
a lower body member (18) that extends along a lower body axis from a first end to a second end (see 18 extend along axis in Fig. 3), the lower body member (18) having a first body edge portion (flat upturned left edge of 18 which engages 20, see Fig. 4 versus Fig. 2) that extends parallel to and offset from the lower body axis (see Figs. 3-4);
a lower lateral panel (left panel of 24) having a first panel edge (edge of left panel of 24 that couples to 18, see Fig. 4) that is coupled to the lower body member (18) at or adjacent to the first body edge portion (flat upturned left edge of 18 which engages 20, see Fig. 4 versus Fig. 2, see PP [0030] cited above) of the lower body member (18); and
wherein the first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24 in Fig. 4) and the second cannula subassembly (18 and left panel of 24) are displaceable between a first position and a second position (see Figs. 2 versus 4), wherein in the first position, the first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24) and the second cannula subassembly (18 and left panel of 24) have a first cross-sectional assembly shape and in the second position, the first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24) and the second cannula subassembly (18 and left panel of 24) have a second cross-sectional assembly shape that is different than the first cross-sectional assembly shape (see different cross-sectional shapes in Figs. 2 and 4).
However, Lauryssen et al. fails to disclose wherein a first slot is disposed along a first portion of a surface of the upper body member, the first slot of the upper body member extending along a first slot axis from a first end to a second end, and wherein a second slot is disposed along a second portion of the surface of the upper body member, the second slot of the upper body member extending along a second slot axis from a first end to a second end;
wherein a first protrusion is disposed on a first portion of a surface of the upper lateral panel and a second protrusion is disposed on a second portion of the surface of the upper lateral panel;
wherein a first slot is disposed along a first portion of a surface of the lower body member, the first slot of the lower body member extending along a first slot axis from a first end to a second end;
the first slot of the lower body member extending along a first slot axis from a first end to a second end, and wherein a second slot is disposed along a second portion of the surface of the lower body member, the second slot of the lower body member extending along a second slot axis from a first end to a second end; and
a second protrusion is disposed on a second portion of a surface of the lower lateral panel,
wherein the first protrusion of the upper lateral panel is slidably disposed within the first slot of the lower body member, the first protrusion of the lower lateral panel is slidably disposed within the first slot of the upper body member, the second protrusion of the upper lateral panel is slidably disposed within the second slot of the lower body member, and the second protrusion of the lower lateral panel is slidably disposed within the second slot of the upper body member.
In the same field of expandable cannulas (abstract), Kim et al. teaches an expandable sheath (see Figs. 1-2) comprising two panels (24), first mating features comprising protrusions (22, see also Figs. 3-4), and second mating features comprising slots (the slots defined by the overlap of 40 and 20), the slots (defined by the overlap of 40 and 20) each extending from a first end to a second end (see Figs. 3-4), wherein the mating features operatively engage the two panels such each protrusion is displaceable relative to the respective slot (see Figs. 3-4, the pin 22 moves relative to the slot defined by 40 and 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the Lauryssen et al. device to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. and include the mating features as claimed between the upper lateral panel and the upper body, as well as the lower lateral panel and the lower body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification because doing so would have involved applying a known technique (the mating features as taught by Kim et al. in order to yield an expandable sheath) to a similar device (the expandable cannula of Lauryssen et al.) in a way that would have yielded predictable results, particularly since Lauryssen et al. contemplates that “other means for affixing sheath 24 to elongate members 18, 20 are also possible” (PP [0030]).
However, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further fails to disclose wherein a second slot is disposed along a second portion of the surface of the upper body member, the second slot of the upper body member extending along a second slot axis from a first end to a second end;
wherein a second protrusion is disposed on a second portion of the surface of the upper lateral panel;
and wherein a second slot is disposed along a second portion of the surface of the lower body member, the second slot of the lower body member extending along a second slot axis from a first end to a second end;
a second protrusion is disposed on a second portion of a surface of the lower lateral panel,
wherein the second protrusion of the upper lateral panel is slidably disposed within the second slot of the lower body member, and the second protrusion of the lower lateral panel is slidably disposed within the second slot of the upper body member.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the combination of Lauryssen et al. and Kim et al. to incorporate the secondary mating features as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this modification since it has been held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). Additionally, Lauryssen et al. already contemplates that “sheath 24 can be attached or affixed to one or more portions of the exterior surfaces of elongate members 18, 20” (PP [0030]), so duplicating the mating features as taught by Kim et al. would have been obvious in order to “assist in maintaining alignment” (see PP [0030]) of the upper and lower body portions.
Regarding claim 4, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses the upper lateral panel further (right panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) comprising a second panel edge (edge of right panel of 24 that couples to 18, see Fig. 4), wherein each of the first panel edge (edge of right panel of 24 that couples to 20) and the second panel edge (edge of right panel of 24 that couples to 18) of the upper lateral panel (right panel of 24) extend parallel to and offset from the upper body axis (see Figs. 3-4), and
the lower lateral panel (left panel of 24 in Fig. 4) further comprising a second panel edge (edge of left panel of 24 that couples to 20), wherein each of the first panel edge (edge of left panel of 24 that couples to 18) and the second panel edge (edge of left panel of 24 that couples to 20) of the lower lateral panel (left panel of 24 in Fig. 4) extend parallel to and offset from the upper body axis (see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein the upper lateral panel (right panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) is configured to deform along an axis that is parallel to the upper body axis (PP [0029]: “Sheath 24 is generally formed of a flexible or elastic material that is stretchable from an initial configuration upon the application of sufficient force and resiliently returnable to the initial configuration upon release of the force. In one form, sheath 24 can be omni-directionally stretchable”), and the lower lateral panel (left panel of 24 in Fig. 4) is configured to deform along an axis that is parallel to the lower body axis (see PP [0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein the upper body member (20 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) includes a second body edge portion (flat downturned left edge of 20 which engages 18, see Fig. 4 versus Fig. 2) that extends parallel to and offset from the upper body axis (see Figs. 3-4), and wherein the lower body member (18) includes a second body edge portion (flat upturned right edge of 18 which engages 20, see Fig. 4 versus Fig. 2) that extends parallel to and offset from the lower body axis (see Figs. 3-4),
wherein in the second position (see Fig. 2 of Lauryssen et al., see also Fig. 3 of Kim et al.), the first body edge portion (flat downturned right edge of 20 which engages 18 in Figs. 2 and 4 of Lauryssen et al.) of the upper body member (20 in Fig. 2 of Lauryssen et al.) is disposed at or adjacent to the second body edge portion (flat upturned right edge of 18 which engages 20) of the lower body member (18) and the second body edge portion (flat downturned left edge of 20 which engages 18) of the upper body member (20) is disposed at or adjacent to the first body edge portion (flat upturned left edge of 18 which engages 20) of the lower body member (18, see Fig. 4, 18 and 20 are adjacent to one another), and
wherein in the first position (see Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al., see also Fig. 4 of Kim et al.), the first body edge portion (flat downturned right edge of 20 which engages 18 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) of the upper body member (20) is disposed offset from the second body edge portion (flat upturned right edge of 18 which engages 20) of the lower body member (18) and the second body edge portion (flat downturned left edge of 20 which engages 18) of the upper body member (20) is disposed offset from the first body edge portion (flat upturned left edge of 18 which engages 20) of the lower body member (18, see Fig. 4, 18 and 20 are offset).
Regarding claim 7, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein when the first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) and the second cannula subassembly (18 and left panel of 24) displace from the first position (see Fig. 4) to the second position (see Fig. 2), the upper body member (20) displaces in a direction normal to the upper body axis or the lower body member (18) displaces in a direction normal to the lower body axis (see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein the upper body member (20 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) has a cross-sectional shape that is a segment of a first circle (see Figs. 3-4, 20 is hemispherical) and the lower body member (18) has a cross-sectional shape that is a segment of a second circle (see Figs. 3-4, 18 is hemispherical), and in the second position (see Fig. 2), the second cross-sectional assembly shape is a circular cross-sectional shape (18 and 20 abut one another to form a circular shape, see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein in the first position (see Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.), the cross-sectional shape of the upper body member (20) and the upper lateral panel (right panel of 24) and the cross-sectional shape of the lower body member (18) and the lower lateral panel (left panel of 24) cooperate to form a first cross-sectional assembly shape that is an ovular cross-sectional shape (see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein:
(a) when the first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) and the second cannula [sub]assembly (18 and left panel of 24) are in the first position (see Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al., see also Fig. 4 of Kim et al.), the first protrusion (40 in Fig. 4 of Kim et al.) of the upper lateral panel (right panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) is disposed at or adjacent to the first end of the first slot (40 in Fig. 4 of Kim et al.) of the lower body member (18 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al., the combination as proposed would yield this by placing the slot on the lower body member and allowing the protrusion to translate in the slot) and the first protrusion (22 in Fig. 4 of Kim et al.) of the lower lateral panel (left panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) is disposed at or adjacent to the first end of the first slot (40 in Fig. 4 of Kim et al.) of the upper body member (20 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al., the combination as proposed would yield this by placing the slot on the upper body member and allowing the protrusion to translate in the slot), and
(b) when the first cannula subassembly (20 and right panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) and the second cannula [sub]assembly (18 and left panel of 24) are in the second position (see Fig. 2 of Lauryssen et al., see also Fig. 3 of Kim et al.), the first protrusion (40 in Fig. 3 of Kim et al.) of the upper lateral panel (left panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) is disposed at or adjacent to the second end of the first slot (40 in Fig. 3 of Kim et al.) of the lower body member (18 in Fig. 2 of Lauryssen et al., the combination as proposed would yield this by placing the slot on the lower body member and allowing the protrusion to translate in the slot) and the first protrusion (22 in Fig. 3 of Kim et al.) of the lower lateral panel (left panel of 24 in Fig. 4 of Lauryssen et al.) is disposed at or adjacent to the second end of the first slot (40 in Fig. 3 of Kim et al.) of the upper body member (20 in Fig. 2 of Lauryssen et al., the combination as proposed would yield this by placing the slot on the lower body member and allowing the protrusion to translate in the slot).
Regarding claim 15, Lauryssen et al. as modified by Kim et al. further discloses wherein:
(a) when the first cannula subassembly and the second cannula subassembly are in the second position, the second protrusion of the upper lateral panel is disposed at or adjacent to the second end of the second slot of the lower body member and the second protrusion of the lower lateral panel is disposed at or adjacent to the second end of the second slot of the upper body member (see above rejection for claim 13, the combination as proposed would yield this limitation as claimed, see Figs. 3-4 of Kim et al.), and
(b) when the first cannula subassembly and the second cannula subassembly are in the first position, the second protrusion of the upper lateral panel is disposed at or adjacent to the first end of the second slot of the lower body member and the second protrusion of the lower lateral panel is disposed at or adjacent to the first end of the second slot of the upper body member (see above rejection for claim 13, the combination as proposed would yield this limitation as claimed, see Figs. 3-4 of Kim et al.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIDGET E. RABAGLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771