Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on 05/16/2024 and 10/08/2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit an external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system” (claim 3)
“a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit a temperature of the charger/discharger” (claim 10)
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description:
“270” (Fig. 4)
“294” (Figs. 10, 11A-11B)
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they are incomplete. 37 CFR 1.83(a) and 37 CFR 183(c) read as follows:
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
Figs. 8 and 13-16 are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels. Although the boxes in the figures are numbered which allows a correlation to each box as one reads the specification, the numbers by themselves do not allow one to quickly ascertain the concept of the invention which is desirable during a later search of analogous art. The numbers should be complimented with words spelled out to facilitate future searches. For example, Fig. 13 needs to include text labels for reference characters “100C”, “210”, “220”, “230”, “250”, and “260”, each of which is presently drawn as a rectangular box. The “210” box should be labeled as “charger/discharger” and so forth, or redrawn in different shapes.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as “The present disclosure provides …”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “the air discharge holes is disposed”, which should be revised to “the air discharge holes [[is]] are disposed” for proper subject-verb agreement.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8 recites “refrigerant circulating therein”. This language is indefinite as to which feature is being referenced by “therein”. For examination, it is interpreted the refrigerant is circulating within the “charger/discharger cooling device”.
Claim 1, line 15 recites “the outside”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claim language. The claim is indefinite as to which feature the air is discharged outside of. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the claim is limiting the air to be discharged outside of the “battery charging/discharging system”.
Claim 2, lines 5-6 recite “a pair of guide rails installed on upper and lower portions of the air discharge holes”. This language is indefinite as to how features can be installed on holes. Figs. 10 and 11A-11B instead show the guide rails (292) being installed on the one side wall surface (201), rather than installed on the air discharge holes (202). For examination purpose, this language is instead interpreted in alignment with the drawings such that “a pair of guide rails installed on upper and lower portions of the one side wall surface including the air discharge holes”.
Claim 2, line 8 recites “slide along the guide rail”. This language is indefinite as to whether the slide door is configured to slide along a particular one or both of the prior-recited “pair of guide rails”. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the slide door is configured to slide along at least one of the pair of guide rails.
Claim 10, line 4 recites “the controller controls a power on/off”. This language is indefinite as to which of the following is intended:
“the controller controls a power on and a power off”
“the controller controls a power on or a power off” (interpretation for examination)
Claims 3-9 and 11-12 are further rejected for their dependency on other rejected claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/236,898 (original claims received 08/22/2023) in view of Kim (KR 2021-0104269 A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
The following table compares the instant and copending applications. The patentably indistinct claim language is identified with bold text.
Instant Application 18/236,844
Copending Application 18/236,898
Claim 1
A battery charging/discharging system comprising:
a battery chamber in which a battery is mounted;
a charger/discharger chamber forming a space isolated from the battery chamber and in which a charger/discharger configured to apply charging/discharging power to the battery is installed;
a charger/discharger cooling device installed inside the charger/discharger chamber and configured to cool the charger/discharger using air in a low-temperature state generated through heat exchange between refrigerant circulating therein and air circulating inside the charger/discharger chamber;
a controller configured to control the charger/discharger
and the charger/discharger cooling device;
a plurality of air discharge holes formed on one side wall surface of the charger/discharger chamber or one side wall surface connected to the charger/discharger chamber to discharge the air in the low-temperature state generated during driving of the charger/discharger cooling device to the outside;
and an opening/closing device operated by a control signal transmitted from the controller according to external temperature conditions and configured to selectively open and close the air discharge holes.
Claim 1
A battery charging/discharging system comprising:
a battery chamber in which a battery is mounted;
a charger/discharger chamber forming a space isolated from the battery chamber and in which a charger/discharger configured to apply charging/discharging power to the battery is installed;
…
a charger/discharger cooling device installed inside the charger/discharger chamber and configured to cool the charger/discharger using air in a low-temperature state generated through heat exchange between refrigerant circulating therein and air circulating inside the charger/discharger chamber.
Claim 7
a controller configured to control the charger/discharger
…
wherein the controller controls a power on/off of the charger/discharger cooling device
(no equivalent claim language)
(no equivalent claim language)
Claim 4
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 1,
wherein the charger/discharger chamber is integrally configured in the form of one structure with the battery chamber.
Claim 2
wherein the charger/discharger chamber is integrally configured in the form of one structure with the battery chamber.
Claim 6
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 1,
wherein the charger/discharger cooling device includes: a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, and an evaporator through which the refrigerant circulates;
and a blowing fan configured to blow the air in the low-temperature state generated through heat exchange with the refrigerant flowing inside the evaporator toward the charger/discharger,
and the evaporator and the blowing fan are installed at positions adjacent to the charger/discharger.
Claim 3
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 1, wherein the charger/discharger cooling device includes a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, and an evaporator,
and a blowing fan configured to blow the air in the low-temperature state generated through heat exchange with the refrigerant flowing inside the evaporator toward the charger/discharger,
and the evaporator and the blowing fan are installed at positions adjacent to the charger/discharger.
Claim 7
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 6,
wherein the blowing fan is disposed between the charger/discharger and the evaporator.
Claim 4
wherein the blowing fan is disposed between the charger/discharger and the evaporator.
Claim 8
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 6,
wherein the blowing fan is integrally coupled with the evaporator.
Claim 5
wherein the blowing fan is integrally coupled with the evaporator.
Claim 9
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 6,
wherein a space part in which the air circulates is formed between upper surfaces of the evaporator and the blowing fan and a ceiling surface of the charger/discharger chamber.
Claim 6
wherein a space part in which the air circulates is formed between upper surfaces of the evaporator and the blowing fan and a ceiling surface of the charger/discharger chamber.
Claim 10
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 1,
further comprising a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit a temperature of the charger/discharger to the controller,
wherein the controller controls a power on/off of the charger/discharger cooling device according to the temperature of the charger/discharger detected through the temperature sensor.
Claim 7
and a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit a temperature of the charger/discharger to the controller,
and wherein the controller controls a power on/off of the charger/discharger cooling device according to the temperature of the charger/discharger detected through the temperature sensor.
Claim 11
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
wherein an air conditioner configured to adjust a temperature in the battery chamber is installed,
and the air conditioner includes: a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, and an evaporator through which the refrigerant circulates;
a blowing fan configured to blow the air in the low-temperature state generated through heat exchange with refrigerant flowing inside the evaporator into the battery chamber;
and a heater disposed at an upstream side of the blowing fan to heat the air.
Claim 1
an air conditioner configured to adjust a temperature in the battery chamber;
Claim 8
wherein the air conditioner includes: a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve, and an evaporator through which the refrigerant circulates;
a blowing fan configured to blow the air in the low-temperature state generated through heat exchange with refrigerant flowing inside the evaporator into the battery chamber;
and a heater disposed at an upstream side of the blowing fan to heat the air.
Claim 12
The battery charging/discharging system of claim 11,
wherein the heater, the evaporator, and the blowing fan are sequentially disposed in an air flow direction.
Claim 9
wherein the heater, the evaporator, and the blowing fan are sequentially disposed in an air flow direction.
Regarding Claim 1, the copending application does not claim “a plurality of air discharge holes formed on one side wall surface of the charger/discharger chamber or one side wall surface connected to the charger/discharger chamber to discharge the air in the low-temperature state generated during driving of the charger/discharger cooling device to the outside; and an opening/closing device operated by a control signal transmitted from the controller according to external temperature conditions and configured to selectively open and close the air discharge holes”.
Kim teaches (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) a plurality of air discharge holes formed on one side wall surface of the chamber (analogous to the “charger/discharger chamber”) to discharge the air in the low-temperature state generated during driving of the cooling device (analogous to the “charger/discharger cooling device”) to the outside; and an opening/closing device operated by a control signal transmitted from the controller according to external temperature conditions and configured to selectively open and close the air discharge holes.
Kim further teaches the air discharge holes and opening/closing device to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances (¶ [11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system claimed by the copending application to incorporate an opening/closing device controlled by the controller to selectively open/close air discharge holes based on external temperature conditions, as taught by Kim, to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances.
Regarding Claim 3, the copending application does not claim “a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit an external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system to the controller, wherein, when two conditions in which the external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system exceeds a set reference temperature and the charger/discharger is in a low-power (or standby) state are satisfied, the controller performs external air conditioning by opening the air discharge holes through the opening/closing device”.
Kim further teaches (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit an external temperature of the system (analogous to the “battery charging/discharging system”) to the controller, wherein, when a condition in which the external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system exceeds a set reference temperature is satisfied, the controller performs external air conditioning by opening the air discharge holes through the opening/closing device.
Kim further teaches this to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances (¶ [11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system claimed by the copending application (with modifications from Kim) to incorporate a temperature sensor such that the controller performs external air conditioning when the external temperature exceeds a set reference temperature and the charger/discharger is in a low-power (or standby) state, as further taught by Kim, to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances.
Thus, the combo of the copending applications claims and modifications from Kim includes when two conditions in which the external temperature (detected by Kim’s “17”; see note 3-1, included infra) of the battery charging/discharging system (claimed in copending app; analogous Kim system: “1”) exceeds a set reference temperature (Kim: “first threshold value”) and the charger/discharger (claimed in copending app) is in a low-power (or standby) state (per the interpretation of note 3-3, included infra, the copending app’s charger/discharger is in a low-power state, as compared to higher-power electrical systems such as distribution grids) are satisfied, the controller (claimed in copending app; modified to incorporate functions of Kim’s “16”) performs external air conditioning (see note 3-2, included infra) by opening the air discharge holes (Kim: “18”) through the opening/closing device (Kim: “13”, “14”, “15”).
Regarding Claim 4, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 3.
Regarding Claim 7, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 4.
Regarding Claim 8, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 5.
Regarding Claim 9, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 6.
Regarding Claim 10, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 7.
Regarding Claim 11, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claims 1 and 8.
Regarding Claim 12, the claimed dependent subject matter is included in the copending application’s claim 9.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/236,898 (original claims received 08/22/2023) in view of Kim (KR 2021-0104269 A) and Park et al. (KR 1999-0007105 U).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of the copending applications claims and modifications from Kim includes the opening/closing device (Kim’s “13”, “14”, and “15”) includes: a motor (Kim: “15”) driven through the controller (Kim: “16”) according to the external temperature conditions (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) of the battery charging/discharging system (system claimed by copending application; analogous Kim system: “1” with analogous chamber “10 / 80 / 90”).
The copending application does not claim “a pair of guide rails installed on upper and lower portions of the air discharge holes; and a slide door having a plurality of apertures corresponding to the air discharge holes and configured to slide along the guide rail by interworking with the motor upon driving of the motor and selectively open and close the air discharge holes”.
Park teaches (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) a pair of guide rails installed on upper and lower portions of the air discharge holes; and a slide door having a plurality of apertures corresponding to the air discharge holes and configured to slide along the guide rail by interworking with the motor upon driving of the motor and selectively open and close the air discharge holes.
Park further teaches the opening/closing device structure including two guide rails and a plurality of apertures aligned with the air discharge holes as a structure that better controls the movement of the sliding door and seal the air discharge holes in the closed position (pp. 3, 2nd para.) to better maintain temperatures (pp. 2, 4th-5th paras.) on each side of the wall surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the opening/closing device claimed by the copending application (with modifications from Kim) to incorporate two guide rails and a plurality of apertures aligned with the air discharge holes, as taught by Park, to better controls the movement of the sliding door and seal the air discharge holes in the closed position to better maintain temperatures on each side of the wall surface.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/236,898 (original claims received 08/22/2023) in view of Kim (KR 2021-0104269 A) and Yang et al. (CN 210380335 U; hereinafter “Yang 1”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding Claim 5, the copending application does not claim “the air discharge holes is disposed in an upper portion of the battery charging/discharging system.”.
Yang-1 teaches (see detailed claim mapping included infra in prior art rejection) the air discharge holes is disposed in an upper portion of the battery charging/discharging system.
Yang-1 teaches this arrangement of the air discharge holes to improve the heat dissipation efficiency of the battery charging/discharging system (¶ [75-77]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system claimed by the copending application (with modifications from Kim) to position the air discharge holes in an upper portion of the battery charging/discharging system, as taught by Yang-1, to improve the heat dissipation efficiency of the battery charging/discharging system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 210380335 U; hereinafter “Yang-1”) in view of Yang et al. (CN 211764993 U; hereinafter “Yang 2”), Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0206093 A1), and Kim (KR 2021-0104269 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang-1 discloses a battery charging/discharging system (¶ [46]: “charging battery cabinet 100”; Figs. 1-3) comprising the following features.
Yang-1 further discloses a battery chamber (space within a “battery compartment 200”; Figs. 1-2, 4, 7-8;) in which a battery (battery within “200”; Figs. 1-2, 4, 7-8; ¶ [47]: “the battery to be charged is placed in the battery compartment 200”) is mounted.
Yang-1 further discloses a charger/discharger chamber (remainder of “100” outside of each “200”, including “power supply area 110”, “charging area 120”, and “air intake area 130”; Fig. 2) forming a space isolated (outer housing of “200” isolates the interior of “200”; Figs. 2, 4) from the battery chamber (200) and in which a charger/discharger (“power supply device 300”; Fig. 2) configured to apply charging/discharging power (¶ [55]: “the battery is connected to the charging device and charged by the power supply device 300”) to the battery (within “200”) is installed.
Yang-1 further discloses a charger/discharger cooling device (combo of “air inlet 140”, “air intake fans 520”, “second door 400”, “exhaust fan 190”, “cooling fan 260”; Figs. 2, 5) installed inside the charger/discharger chamber (110, 120, 130) and configured to cool (¶ [64]: “airflow flows upward to the power supply area 110 to dissipate heat from the power supply device 300 located in the power supply area 110”; ¶ [73]: “the airflow in the battery compartment 200 and the air duct 160 can enter the power supply area 110 from the front side to dissipate heat from the power supply device 300”) the charger/discharger (300) using air in a low-temperature state (because the air is cooler than the features being cooled, the air is interpreted to be in a low-temperature state).
Yang-1 further discloses (see annotated Fig. 3, included infra) a plurality of air discharge holes (“air outlet 150”; Fig. 3) formed on one side wall surface of the charger/discharger chamber (110, 120, 130) or one side wall surface connected to the charger/discharger chamber (110, 120, 130) to discharge the air in the low-temperature state generated during driving (operating fans “520”, “190”, and “260”) of the charger/discharger cooling device (140, 520, 400, 190, 260) to the outside (¶ [47]: “airflow that has completed the heat dissipation of the battery compartment 200 and the power supply device 300 will be discharged to the outside of the cabinet 100 through the exhaust vent 150”).
As addressed supra, Yang-1 discloses a charger/discharger cooling device installed inside the charger/discharger chamber and configured to cool the charger/discharger using air in a low-temperature state. However, Yang-1 does not disclose the air in a low-temperature state is “generated through heat exchange between refrigerant circulating therein and air circulating inside the charger/discharger chamber”.
Yang-1 further does not disclose “a controller configured to control the charger/discharger and the charger/discharger cooling device”.
As addressed supra, Yang-1 discloses a plurality of air discharge holes on the wall of the charger/discharger chamber configured to discharge air to the outside. However, Yang further does not disclose “a plurality of air discharge holes formed on one side wall surface of the charger/discharger chamber or one side wall surface connected to the charger/discharger chamber to discharge the air in the low-temperature state generated during driving of the charger/discharger cooling device to the outside; and an opening/closing device operated by a control signal transmitted from the controller according to external temperature conditions and configured to selectively open and close the air discharge holes”.
Yang-2 teaches a cooling device (combo of “condenser 610”, “compressor 620”, “evaporator 630”, along with connected fans, air ducts, and refrigerant lines; Figs. 2-3, 5-6; analogous to the “charger/discharger cooling device” per note 1-1, included infra) using air in a low-temperature state generated through heat exchange between refrigerant (function performed by “evaporator 630”) circulating therein and air circulating inside the charger/discharger chamber (inside of “cabinet body 100”, except for “battery box 300”; includes “first cavity 110”, “second cavity 120”, and “third cavity 130”; Fig. 3).
NOTE 1-1: Though Yang-2’s teachings are not with respect to a charger/discharger cooling device as claimed, Yang-2’s teachings are with respect to a cooling device. Yang-2 is not relied upon to teach the charger/discharger cooling device, which is already set forth supra by Yang-1. Each of the cooling devices taught by Yang-1 and Yang-2 produce low-temperature air to cool devices. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the teachings of Yang-2 are applicable to the analogous features of Yang-1’s battery charging/discharging system.
Yang-2 further teaches generating air in a low-temperature state via a refrigerating device to produce colder air, thus improving cooling effect.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charger/discharger cooling device disclosed by Yang-1 to incorporate features to perform heat exchange between refrigerant and air circulating inside the charger/discharger chamber, based on the teachings of Yang-2, to improve the cooling of the charger/discharger by producing colder air from the charger/discharger cooling device.
Schaefer teaches a controller (“central energy control device (P-ECU) 48”; Fig. 3; includes “climate control device 90” per ¶ [94]) configured to control the charger/discharger (“charge control device (L-ECU) 65”; Fig. 3) and the cooling device (“air conditioning device 66”; Fig. 3; analogous to the charger/discharger cooling device per note 1-2, included infra).
NOTE 1-2: Though Schaefer’s teachings are not with respect to a charger/discharger cooling device as claimed, Schaefer’s teachings are with respect to a cooling device. Schaefer is not relied upon to teach the charger/discharger cooling device, which is already set forth supra by Yang-1. Each of the cooling devices taught by Yang-1 and Schaefer produce low-temperature air to cool devices. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the teachings of Schaefer are applicable to the analogous features of Yang-1’s battery charging/discharging system.
Schaefer further teaches the controller to optimize control of both charging and cooling functions (¶ [24, 27, 70, 113]), thus improving heat management (¶ [8]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system disclosed by the combo of Yang-1 & Yang-2 to incorporate a controller that controls both the charger/discharger and the charger/discharger cooling device, based on the teachings of Schaefer, to improve heat management of the charger/discharger by optimizing control of both charging and cooling.
Kim teaches a plurality of air discharge holes (“first heat dissipation opening 18”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 4-5, 7a-7b, 8, 9a-9b; may be a plurality of “18” per ¶ [39]) formed on one side wall surface of the chamber (“housing 10, 80, 90”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 4, 7a-7b, 8, 9a-9b; analogous to the “charger/discharger chamber” set forth supra) to discharge the air in the low-temperature state (Fig. 8 shows air being discharged to the outside through “18”) generated during driving of the cooling device (combo of “cooling fan 11” and “heat dissipating member 19”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 4-5, 7a-7b, 8, 9a-9b; analogous to the “charger/discharger cooling device” set forth supra) to the outside.
Kim further teaches an opening/closing device (combo of “first cover member 13”, “moving mechanism 14”, and “opening and closing motor 15”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 4-5, 7a-7b, 8, 9a-9b) operated by a control signal (“MCS” signal from “16” to “15”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 8, 9a-9b) transmitted from the controller (“controller 16”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 8, 9a-9b) according to external temperature conditions (¶ [34]: “temperature sensing signal measured by a temperature sensor (17)”; ¶ [17]: “temperature sensor that measures … temperature inside the receiving space”; ¶ [18]: “opens the first cover member when the temperature sensing signal is above a first threshold value”; these temperature conditions are considered to be “external” per the interpretation of note 1-3, included infra) and configured to selectively open (Figs. 1, 3b-3c, 7b, 8, & 9b show “13” in position to open “18”) and close (Figs. 3a, 7a, & 9a show “13” in position to close “18”) the air discharge holes (18).
NOTE 1-3: It is noted there is no limiting language in claim 1 to specify where the “external temperature conditions” are external to. Thus, the “external temperature conditions” may be interpreted to be external to any feature. In Kim’s system, the “external temperature conditions” is external to the device “12” (analogous to the “charger/discharger”) that is intended to be cooled by the cooling device.
Kim further teaches the opening/closing device to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances (¶ [11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system disclosed by the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, & Schaefer to incorporate an opening/closing device controlled by the controller to selectively open/close the air discharge holes based on external temperature conditions, as taught by Kim, to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances.
Regarding Claim 3, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
Yang-1 does not disclose “a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit an external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system to the controller, wherein, when two conditions in which the external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system exceeds a set reference temperature and the charger/discharger is in a low-power (or standby) state are satisfied, the controller performs external air conditioning by opening the air discharge holes through the opening/closing device”.
Kim further teaches a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor 17”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 8, 9a-9c) configured to detect and transmit an external temperature (¶ [34]: “temperature sensing signal measured by a temperature sensor (17)”; ¶ [17]: “temperature sensor that measures … temperature inside the receiving space”; ¶ [48]: “control unit (16) detects the temperature based on the temperature sensing signal measured by the temperature sensor (17)”; this temperature is considered to be “external” per the interpretation of note 3-1, included infra) of the system (“1” with analogous chamber “10 / 80 / 90”; Kim’s system “1” is analogous to the “battery charging/discharging system” set forth supra) to the controller (16).
NOTE 3-1: It is noted there is no limiting language in claim 3 to specify where the “external temperature of the battery charging/discharging system” is external to. Thus, the “external temperature” may be interpreted to be external to any feature of the “battery charging/discharging system”. In Kim’s system, the “external temperature” is external to the device “12” (analogous to the “charger/discharger” within the “charging/discharging chamber”) that is intended to be cooled by the cooling device.
Kim further teaches that when a condition in which the external temperature (temperature detected by “17”, external to “12”) of the system (1) exceeds a set reference temperature (¶ [51]: “when the measured temperature is above the first threshold value, the control unit (16) drives the opening/closing motor (15) to open the first cover member (13)”) is satisfied, the controller (16) performs external air conditioning (warmed air is output through “18” and blown by “” to the exterior of the chamber; see note 3-2, included infra) by opening (Figs. 1, 3b-3c, 7b, 8, & 9b show “13” in position to open “18”) the air discharge holes (18) through the opening/closing device (13, 14, 15).
NOTE 3-2: The Merriam-Webster online dictionary definitions of “air condition” are “to equip (something, such as a building or vehicle) with an apparatus for washing air and controlling its humidity and temperature” and “to subject (air) to these processes” (URL: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/air-condition). Thus, the term “air conditioning” is broadly interpreted to not require cooling of the air, but instead the control of temperature, meaning cooling or heating the air. By outputting warmer air to the exterior of the chamber when the holes “18” are open, Kim is warming the external air, thus performing “external air conditioning”. If claim 3 included additional that the external air conditioning required the air discharged from the battery charging/discharging system be cooler than the external temperature, the language would be interpreted as more limiting.
Kim further teaches to perform external air conditioning by opening the air discharge holes under these conditions to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances (¶ [11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system disclosed by the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim to incorporate a temperature sensor such that the controller performs external air conditioning when the external temperature exceeds a set reference temperature and the charger/discharger is in a low-power (or standby) state, as further taught by Kim, to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances.
NOTE 3-3: The claim 2 condition “the charger/discharger is in a low-power (or standby) state” can be interpreted broadly because no claimed definition of “low-power” is provided. Thus, any battery charger/discharger can be considered to be in a “lower power” state, as compared to higher-power electrical systems such as grid-level, high-voltage distribution systems. Though not read into the claims, the instant application’s specification ¶ [108] reads “a non-operating state (a low-power state or a standby state)”. If claim 3 instead recited this condition as “the charger/discharger is in a non-operating state”, then the language would be more limiting and would require that the charger/discharger not be operating when the controller performs external air conditioning.
Thus, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches that when two conditions in which the external temperature (detected by Kim’s “17”; see note 3-1, included supra) of the battery charging/discharging system (Yang-1: “100”; analogous Kim system: “1”) exceeds a set reference temperature (Kim: “first threshold value”) and the charger/discharger (Yang-1: “300”) is in a low-power (or standby) state (per the interpretation of note 3-3, included supra, Yang-1’s charger/discharger is in a low-power state, as compared to higher-power electrical systems such as distribution grids) are satisfied, the controller (incorporated from Schaefer: “48”; modified to incorporate functions of Kim’s “16”) performs external air conditioning (see note 3-2, included supra) by opening the air discharge holes (Yang-1: “150”; Kim: “18”) through the opening/closing device (Kim: “13”, “14”, “15”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
Yang-1 further discloses (see annotated Fig. 2, included supra) the charger/discharger chamber (110, 120, 130) is integrally configured in the form of one structure (100) with the battery chamber (200).
Regarding Claim 5, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
Yang-1 further discloses (see annotated Fig. 3, included supra) the air discharge holes (150) is disposed in an upper portion (¶ [76]: “150 is located near the top of the cabinet 100”) of the battery charging/discharging system (100).
Regarding Claim 6, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the charger/discharger cooling device (Yang-1’s “140”, “520”, “400”, “190”, and “260”; modified to incorporate features from Yang-2) includes the following features.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a compressor (Yang-2: “compressor 620”; Fig. 3), a condenser (Yang-2: “condenser 610”; Figs. 2-3, 5), an expansion valve (per Yang-2’s ¶ [52], there is “expansion” between “condensation” and “evaporation” in accordance with “well-known existing technology in the art”; thus, there is an expansion valve), and an evaporator (Yang-2: “evaporator 630”; Figs. 3, 6) through which the refrigerant circulates (¶ [52]: “the refrigeration device contains refrigerant in the circulation pipeline, and the compressor 620 provides power for the circulation of the refrigerant; the refrigerant exchanges heat with the hot air entering the air duct 700 in the evaporator 630, the refrigerant evaporates and absorbs heat, and the hot air becomes cold air; the refrigerant exchanges heat with the outside air in the condenser 610, the refrigerant condenses and releases heat”).
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a blowing fan (Yang-1: “cooling fan 260”, located at bottom of “fourth side plate 224”; Fig. 8) configured to blow the air in the low-temperature state (Yang-1’s “cooling fan 260” blows the cool air upwards in the system; Yang-1 was prior modified to make the air colder by incorporating the refrigerant circuit from Yang-2 in the lower section of Yang-1’s system) generated through heat exchange with the refrigerant (refrigerant circuit incorporated from Yang-2) flowing inside the evaporator (Yang-2’s “630” incorporated in the lower section “130” of Yang-1’s system) toward the charger/discharger (Yang-1’s cooling air flows upward through the system; Yang-1’s charger/discharger “300” is located in the upper section “110”).
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the evaporator (from Yang-2: “630”, incorporated into Yang-1’s lower section “130”) and the blowing fan (Yang-1: “260”) are installed at positions adjacent (after the modifications described supra, each of Yang-2’s evaporator “630” and Yang-1’s blowing fan “260” are located within Yang-1’s system “100”; thus each is nearby/adjacent to the charger/discharger “300”; see note 6-1, included infra) to the charger/discharger (Yang-1: “300”; analogous Yang-2: “500”).
NOTE 6-1: The term “adjacent” is interpreted in accordance with the Merriam-Webster online dictionary (URL: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/adjacent) definition of “not distant : nearby”.
Regarding Claim 7, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 6.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the blowing fan (Yang-1: “260”, positioned on the bottom of each “200”, blowing air upward within “100”) is disposed between (each of Yang-1’s “200” and thus “260” are located in the middle section “120”) the charger/discharger (Yang-1: “300”, positioned in the upper section “110”) and the evaporator (Yang-2’s “630”, incorporated within Yang-1’s lower section “130”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 6.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a space part (Yang-1: interior of upper section “110”) in which the air circulates is formed between upper surfaces (both the evaporator and the blowing fan are below “110”) of the evaporator (from Yang-2: “630”, incorporated into Yang-1’s lower section “130”) and the blowing fan (Yang-1: “260”, positioned on the bottom of each “200”, blowing air upward within “100”) and a ceiling surface (Yang-1: upper surface of “110”) of the charger/discharger chamber (Yang-1: “100”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
Yang-1 does not disclose “a temperature sensor configured to detect and transmit a temperature of the charger/discharger to the controller, wherein the controller controls a power on/off of the charger/discharger cooling device according to the temperature of the charger/discharger detected through the temperature sensor”.
Kim further teaches a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor 17”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 8, 9a-9c) configured to detect and transmit a temperature (¶ [17]: “temperature sensor that measures … the temperature of the heating element”; ¶ [48]: “control unit (16) detects the temperature based on the temperature sensing signal measured by the temperature sensor (17)”) of the heat-generating device (“heating element 12”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 8, 9a-9b; analogous to the “charger/discharger” set forth supra because each is generating heat and being cooled by the cooling device) to the controller (16).
Kim further teaches the controller (16) controls a power on/off (“16” turns on/off “11” based on the detected temperature of “12”; ¶ [56]: “when the measured temperature is lower than the second threshold, the control unit (16) stops the cooling fan (11) from operating”; ¶ [57]: “when the measured temperature is above the second threshold value, the control unit (16) drives the cooling fan (11) to convect the air”; ¶ [18, 26, 34, 46, 61]) of the cooling device (combo of “cooling fan 11” and “heat dissipating member 19”; Figs. 1, 3a-3c, 4-5, 7a-7b, 8, 9a-9b; analogous to the “charger/discharger cooling device” set forth supra) according to the temperature of the heat-generating device (12) detected through the temperature sensor (17).
Kim further teaches to power on/off the cooling device based on a temperature of the heat-generating device to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances (¶ [11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery charging/discharging system disclosed by the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim to incorporate a temperature sensor and for the controller to power on/off the charger/discharger cooling device based on the detected temperature of the charger/discharger, based on further teachings of Kim, to both improve heat dissipation and prevent internal contamination by foreign substances.
Regarding Claim 11, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
The charger/discharger cooling device set forth supra can also be interpreted to be an air conditioner. Thus, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches an air conditioner (Yang-1’s “140”, “520”, “400”, “190”, & “260”; modified to incorporate features from Yang-2) configured to adjust a temperature (Yang-1 ¶ [72]: “520 to selectively direct external airflow … improving the heat dissipation efficiency of the charging battery cabinet”; ¶ [62]: “cooling fan 260 starts, which speeds up the airflow within the charging area 120 and improves the battery's heat dissipation efficiency”) in the battery chamber (Yang-1: “200”) is installed, and the air conditioner includes the following features.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a compressor (Yang-2: “compressor 620”; Fig. 3), a condenser (Yang-2: “condenser 610”; Figs. 2-3, 5), an expansion valve (per Yang-2’s ¶ [52], there is “expansion” between “condensation” and “evaporation” in accordance with “well-known existing technology in the art”; thus, there is an expansion valve), and an evaporator (Yang-2: “evaporator 630”; Figs. 3, 6) through which the refrigerant circulates (¶ [52]: “the refrigeration device contains refrigerant in the circulation pipeline, and the compressor 620 provides power for the circulation of the refrigerant; the refrigerant exchanges heat with the hot air entering the air duct 700 in the evaporator 630, the refrigerant evaporates and absorbs heat, and the hot air becomes cold air; the refrigerant exchanges heat with the outside air in the condenser 610, the refrigerant condenses and releases heat”).
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a blowing fan (Yang-1: “cooling fan 260”, located at bottom of “fourth side plate 224”; Fig. 8) configured to blow the air in the low-temperature state (Yang-1’s “cooling fan 260” blows the cool air upwards in the system; Yang-1 was prior modified to make the air colder by incorporating the refrigerant circuit from Yang-2 in the lower section of Yang-1’s system) generated through heat exchange with refrigerant (refrigerant circuit incorporated from Yang-2) flowing inside the evaporator (Yang-2’s “630” incorporated in the lower section “130” of Yang-1’s system) into the battery chamber (Yang-1: “200”; Fig. 8 shows blowing fan “260” on the bottom plate “224” of “200”).
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a heater (Yang-2: “heating device 900”; Fig. 3; ¶ [63]: “900 is installed near the air inlet 730”) disposed at an upstream side (Yang-2’s “900” is upstream of other cooling circuit components “610”, “620”, and “630”) of the blowing fan (Yang-1’s blowing fan “260” is already established to be downstream of Yang-2’s evaporator “630”) to heat the air (Yang-2 ¶ [64]: “900 can be turned on to heat the first cavity 110”).
Regarding Claim 12, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 11.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the heater (Yang-2: “900”), the evaporator (Yang-2: “630”), and the blowing fan (Yang-1: “260”) are sequentially disposed in an air flow direction (established by Yang-2 that the evaporator “630” is downstream of the heater “900”; when incorporated into Yang-1, these features of the cooling device are included in the lower section “130” to condition the air prior to being blown by Yang-1’s blowing fan “260” to cool the battery chamber).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 210380335 U; hereinafter “Yang-1”) in view of Yang et al. (CN 211764993 U; hereinafter “Yang 2”), Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0206093 A1), Kim (KR 2021-0104269 A), and Park et al. (KR 1999-0007105 U).
Regarding Claim 2, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 1.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the opening/closing device (incorporated Kim’s “13”, “14”, and “15” to open/close Yang-1’s air discharge holes “150”) includes the following features.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a motor (Kim: “15”) driven through the controller (incorporated from Schaefer: “48”; analogous Kim controller: “16”) according to the external temperature conditions (Kim: ¶ [34]: “temperature sensing signal measured by a temperature sensor (17)”; ¶ [17]: “temperature sensor that measures … temperature inside the receiving space”; ¶ [18]: “opens the first cover member when the temperature sensing signal is above a first threshold value”; these temperature conditions are considered to be “external” per the interpretation of note 1-3, included supra) of the battery charging/discharging system (Yang-1: “100”; analogous Kim system: “1” with analogous chamber “10 / 80 / 90”).
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a slide door (Kim: “13”) configured to slide (Kim’s “13” slides along the wall of the chamber when driven by motor “15”) by interworking with the motor (Kim: “15”) upon driving of the motor (Kim: “15”) and selectively open (Kim’s Figs. 1, 3b-3c, 7b, 8, & 9b show “13” in position to open “18”) and close (Kim’s Figs. 3a, 7a, & 9a show “13” in position to close “18”) the air discharge holes (Yang-1: “150”; analogous Kim air discharge holes: “18”).
Yang-1 does not disclose “a pair of guide rails installed on upper and lower portions of the air discharge holes”.
Though the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches a slide door, Yang-1 further does not disclose the slide door “having a plurality of apertures corresponding to the air discharge holes”.
Though the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the slide door is configured to slide by interworking with the motor upon driving of the motor and selectively open and close the air discharge holes, Yang-1 further does not disclose the slide door is “configured to slide along the guide rail by interworking with the motor upon driving of the motor and selectively open and close the air discharge holes”.
Park teaches the opening/closing device (combination of features shown in Figs. 3-4; see annotated Figs. 3-4, included infra) includes the following features.
Park further teaches a motor (“motor 29”; Figs. 3-4) that is driven.
Park further teaches a pair of guide rails (“guide rail 22”; two shown in Fig. 3) installed on upper and lower portions (“22” appears to extend the full length on the side wall with the holes “21”) of the one side wall surface including the air discharge holes (“discharge hole 21”; two shown in Figs. 3-4).
Park further teaches a slide door (“sliding cover 25”; Figs. 3-4) having a plurality of apertures (“discharge hole 27”; two shown in Figs. 3-4) corresponding to the air discharge holes (21) and configured to slide along the guide rail (22) by interworking with the motor (29) upon driving of the motor (29) and selectively open and close (annotated Fig. 4 indicates the open and closed positions) the air discharge holes (21).
Park further teaches the opening/closing device structure including two guide rails and a plurality of apertures aligned with the air discharge holes as a structure that better controls the movement of the sliding door and seal the air discharge holes in the closed position (pp. 3, 2nd para.) to better maintain temperatures (pp. 2, 4th-5th paras.) on each side of the wall surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the opening/closing device disclosed by the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim to incorporate two guide rails and a plurality of apertures aligned with the air discharge holes, as taught by Park, to better controls the movement of the sliding door and seal the air discharge holes in the closed position to better maintain temperatures on each side of the wall surface.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 210380335 U; hereinafter “Yang-1”) in view of Yang et al. (CN 211764993 U; hereinafter “Yang 2”), Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0206093 A1), Kim (KR 2021-0104269 A), and Magallanes et al. (US 2019/0254198 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the battery charging/discharging system of claim 6.
The combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim teaches the blowing fan (Yang-1: “260”) and the evaporator (from Yang-2: “630”, incorporated into Yang-1’s lower section “130”).
Yang-1 does not disclose “the blowing fan is integrally coupled with the evaporator”.
Magallanes teaches a cooling device (“evaporator unit 12”, used for air cooling of “electronic equipment 18”; Fig. 3) wherein the blowing fan (“blower 112”, positioned to output cooled air from “110” through “upper outlet 120” to cool the electronic device “18 Fig. 3) is integrally coupled (integrally coupled as part of the “evaporator unit 12” assembly) with the evaporator (“evaporator 110”; Fig. 3).
Magallanes further teaches the combined assembly of the evaporator and output blowing fan to be more portable and improve cooling effect (¶ [6, 38, 54, 59]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charger/discharger cooling device disclosed by the combo of Yang-1, Yang-2, Schaefer, & Kim to incorporate a blowing fan integrally coupled with the evaporator, as taught by Magallanes, to improve portability of the cooling device and further improve cooling of the interior of the battery charging/discharging system.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859