DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 06/26/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/26/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 3-11 are pending
Claims 1 and 3 are amended
Claims 2 and 12-20 are canceled
Claims 1 and 3-11 remain rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-10 of US Patent No.: 11785652 B2 in view of HARDY et al. (US 20150256391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hardy, and further in view of Fadell et al. (US 20140266669 A1), hereinafter referenced as Fadell, and further in view of Notohardjono et al. (US 20170280274 A1), hereinafter referenced as Notohardjono, and further in view of Sasaki et al. (US 20060045458 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sasaki.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. The claims are not patentably distinct from each other as described below.
Instant Application No. 18/236,846
US Patent No.: 11785652 B2
Claim 1:
Claim 1:
A control device comprising:
A control device comprising:
a housing to receive a faceplate; a surface within the housing, the surface being positioned to be hidden within the housing by the faceplate
a surface that is hidden by a faceplate after installation of the control device;
the surface including one or more codes that are specific to the control device;
an optical code disposed on the surface, the optical code encoding a device identifier of the control device and an authentication code;
(iii) after implementing the provisioning sequence, control a set of connected devices that are included in a control network, the set of connected devices including the wireless computing device that has been authenticated.
the authentication code is usable to authenticate the user device with the control device after the control device is identified using the device identifier during the provisioning sequence of events; and wherein upon authenticating the user device with the control device, the control device is included in a control network within a dwelling, the control network comprising a set of one or more other control devices and a set of connected devices that are controllable by the control device and the set of one or more other control devices.
Claim 2:
Claim 2:
The control device of claim 1,
wherein the surface is disposed on a base assembly of the control device.
wherein the surface is disposed on a base assembly of the control device.
Claim 3:
Claim 3:
The control device of claim 1,
further comprising an exterior panel, wherein the exterior panel hides the surface … when the control device is wall-mounted.
further comprising an exterior panel, wherein the exterior panel hides the surface when the control device is installed.
Claim 4:
Claim 4:
The control device of claim 1,
wherein the one or more codes include an optical code is a Quick Response (QR) code.
wherein the optical code is a Quick Response (QR) code.
Claim 5:
Claim 1:
The control device of claim 1,
further comprising: a wireless transceiver; and wherein the data communicated by the wireless computing device includes an authentication code that is based on the one or more codes.
a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with a user device during a provisioning sequence of events that is initiated based on the user device scanning the optical code to obtain the device identifier and the authentication code,
Claim 6:
Claim 7:
The control device of claim 5,
further comprising control logic configured to: receive wireless user input from the wireless computing device; and
further comprising control logic configured to: receive wireless user input from the user device; and
generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices of the set of connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver.
generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver.
Claim 7:
Claim 8:
The control device of claim 5,
further comprising control logic configured to: receive user input from a user interface element of the control device; and
further comprising control logic configured to: receive user input from a user interface element of the control device; and
generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver.
generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver.
Claim 8:
Claim 10:
The control device of claim 1,
wherein the control device comprises a wall-mountable switch.
wherein the control device comprises a wall-mountable switch.
Claim 9:
Claim 1:
The control device of claim 1,
further comprising logic configured to receive control data from the user device after the provisioning sequence is implemented.
wherein upon authenticating the user device with the control device, the control device is included in a control network within a dwelling, the control network comprising a set of one or more other control devices and a set of connected devices that are controllable by the control device and the set of one or more other control devices;
Claim 10:
Claim 9:
The control device of claim 9,
further comprising network logic configured to operate as a node in the control network after the provisioning sequence of events is carried out.
further comprising network logic configured to operate as a node in the control network after the provisioning sequence of events is carried out.
Claim 11:
Claim 1:
The control device of claim 1,
wherein the one or more codes includes an optical code, wherein the control device interprets the data communicated by the wireless computing device to determine a device identifier and an authentication code required for the control device to initiate the provision in a sequence.
a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with a user device during a provisioning sequence of events that is initiated based on the user device scanning the optical code to obtain the device identifier and the authentication code
US Patent No.: 11785652 B2’s claim 1 as stated in the table above fail to disclose an electrical interface to receive power from a main when the control device is wall-mounted for installation; … a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main, … one or more processors configured, when wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main, to (i) establish communications with a wireless computing device that communicates with the control device using data that is based on the one or more codes, (ii) implement a provisioning sequence based on data communicated by the wireless computing device.
However, Hardy teaches one or more processors configured, when wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main, to (i) establish communications with a wireless computing device that communicates with the control device using data that is based on the one or more codes (Fig. 8. Para. [0108]-Hardy discloses Mobile device 1502 can run a software application that provisions network device 1504 by scanning optical code 1506 that is affixed to network device 1504, and interfaces with a device-provisioning server 1508 over a network 1510 to provision network device 1504. (See also Para. [0150]). Para. [0039]-Hardy discloses determining whether the optical code's unique identifier corresponds to a known device may include an analysis module further configured to: decode the unique identifier from the optical code; and determine whether the unique identifier is a known identifier. Fig. 17, Para. [0138]-Hardy discloses system 2402 includes a processor 2404, a memory 2406, a storage device 2408, and a display 2410),
(ii) implement a provisioning sequence based on data communicated by the wireless computing device (Fig. 8. Para. [0108]-Hardy discloses Mobile device 1502 can run a software application that provisions network device 1504 by scanning optical code 1506 that is affixed to network device 1504, and interfaces with a device-provisioning server 1508 over a network 1510 to provision network device 1504. (See also Para. [0150])).
US Patent No.: 11785652 B2 and Hardy are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems dealing with identification and authentication of internet accessible devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the US Patent No.: 11785652 B2 to incorporate the teachings of Hardy on device provisioning, with a motivation to establish communication, and guarantee providing verified user with access to data and technology resources, (Hardy, Para. [0008]).
US Patent No.: 11785652 B2’s claim 1 as stated in the table above fail to disclose an electrical interface to receive power from a main when the control device is wall-mounted for installation; … a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main.
However, Fadell teaches an electrical interface to receive power from a main when the control device is wall-mounted for installation (Para. [0142]-Fadell discloses by virtue of being mounting in place of traditional wall switches, the wall switch 108 has access to plentiful electrical operating power, such as by connecting to wiring (e.g., to 120V "hot" line voltage wires) that is behind the walls 154 of the smart-home environment 100 and that is present at virtually all standard home wall light switches);
a housing to receive a faceplate (Para. [0142]-Fadell discloses installation locations throughout the home, and the reasonably ample physical space on its face plate and in its housing to fit the necessary components, combine to enable the wall switch 108 to accommodate a rich and wide variety of sensing, interface, and communications capabilities for the smart-home environment 100).
Fadell is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with network-connected devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the US Patent No.: 11785652 B2 in view of Hardy to incorporate the teachings of Fadell on device installation, with a motivation to consider wall-mounted control devices, and guarantee authentication and/or provisioning of wireless network devices (Hardy, Para. [0011]).
US Patent No.: 11785652 B2’s claim 1 as stated in the table above fails to disclose a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main.
However, Notohardjono teaches a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main (Para. [0021]-Notohardjono discloses in some electronic system configurations, however, a serial number label or marking placed on a top, bottom or side surface of an electronic device may be hidden from view when the device is installed within the electronic equipment rack. Para. [0020]-Notohardjono discloses electronic systems such as computers, servers and networking/telecommunications equipment are often housed within electronic equipment racks. Para. [0059]-Notohardjono discloses the side surface 139 can be at a distance 160 from a reference location 152, located on a vertical surface 156 of an electronic equipment rack door 154, attached to electronic equipment rack 138).
Notohardjono is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with provisioning of electronic devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the US Patent No.: 11785652 B2 in view of Hardy and Fadell to incorporate the teachings of Notohardjono on a surface that is hidden after installation of the control device, with a motivation to secure the device structure and/or the device identifiers and secret codes, and make it difficult or impossible to read the serial number of a particular device without removing the device from the electronic equipment rack. (Notohardjono, Para. [0021]).
US Patent No.: 11785652 B2’s claim 1 as stated in the table above fails to disclose the side flange in part extends outward from the housing.
However, Sasaki teaches the side flange in part extends outward from the housing (Fig. 1A, Para. [0071]-Sasaki discloses the rotation in the reverse direction to the winding direction of the spool 13 can be stopped by the rotation stopper 11b on the primary baseboard 11 and the rotation stopper catching slot 13f provided on the back side of the flange 13b of the spool 13. As for the extension holders 10_E1 and 10_E2, similar arrangements enable the rotations in the reverse directions to respective winding directions of the spools 17 and 19 to be stopped. Fig. 1A, Para. [0068-0073]-Sasaki discloses primary baseboard 11 and the rotation stopper catching slot 13f provided on the back side of the flange 13b of the spool 13 ... guide channel 13e is provided in order to prevent the optical code 20_1 from protruding beyond the surface of the flange 13b. Fig. 4B, Para. [0009-0020]-Sasaki discloses positional relationship between the rack pillar 101, the rack side 102, the unit 103, the holder 104, and the door 110 … optical code area P shown in FIG. 4B is an area for accommodating the code 20 … The inside wall surface of the cabinet is equipped with a plurality of optical cable guides. Adapter guides are freely insertably and removably provided with adapter plates having a plurality of adapters connected to core wire ends branched from a trunk cable ... another example is an optical connecting box housing optical connectors).
Sasaki is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with structure and work area for organizing optical code.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the US Patent No.: 11785652 B2 in view of Hardy, Fadell and Notohardjono to incorporate the teachings of Sasaki on device structure for optical code, with a motivation for side flange surface, and guarantee authentication and/or provisioning of wireless network devices (Hardy, Para. [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARDY et al. (US 20150256391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hardy, in view of Fadell et al. (US 20140266669 A1), hereinafter referenced as Fadell, and further in view of Notohardjono et al. (US 20170280274 A1), hereinafter referenced as Notohardjono, and further in view of Sasaki et al. (US 20060045458 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sasaki.
Regarding claim 1, Hardy teaches a control device (Para. [0039]-Hardy discloses the apparatus may be further configured to include a communication module to communicate the secret string to the device. Para. [0039]-Hardy discloses a communication module may include wireless circuitry and/or control logic for controlling wireless circuitry (e.g., wifi, Bluetooth, one or more RF radios, etc.)) comprising:
the surface including one or more codes that are specific to the control device (Fig. 13. Para. [0027]-Hardy discloses capturing an image of an optical code affixed to a network device, wherein the optical code encodes a unique identifier for the device. Para. [0028]-Hardy discloses the optical code may encode a secret string);
one or more processors configured, when wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main, to (i) establish communications with a wireless computing device that communicates with the control device using data that is based on the one or more codes (Fig. 8. Para. [0108]-Hardy discloses Mobile device 1502 can run a software application that provisions network device 1504 by scanning optical code 1506 that is affixed to network device 1504, and interfaces with a device-provisioning server 1508 over a network 1510 to provision network device 1504. (See also Para. [0150]). Para. [0039]-Hardy discloses determining whether the optical code's unique identifier corresponds to a known device may include an analysis module further configured to: decode the unique identifier from the optical code; and determine whether the unique identifier is a known identifier. Fig. 17, Para. [0138]-Hardy discloses system 2402 includes a processor 2404, a memory 2406, a storage device 2408, and a display 2410),
(ii) implement a provisioning sequence based on data communicated by the wireless computing device (Fig. 8. Para. [0108]-Hardy discloses Mobile device 1502 can run a software application that provisions network device 1504 by scanning optical code 1506 that is affixed to network device 1504, and interfaces with a device-provisioning server 1508 over a network 1510 to provision network device 1504. (See also Para. [0150])), and
(iii) after implementing the provisioning sequence, control a set of connected devices that are included in a control network, the set of connected devices including the wireless computing device that has been authenticated (Para. [0004]-Hardy discloses many computing devices [user device] are equipped for communication over one or more types of computer networks, including wireless networks [control network]. Before a computing device is able to connect to a particular wireless computer network, the device typically may undergo some form of device provisioning.... For example, a customer-provided equipment (CPE) device (e.g., laptop, desktop, mobile device, etc.) [user device] may be provisioned with certain network settings that enable the device to connect and communicate with a particular wireless (or wired) network. In addition, network components (including access points, wireless routers, etc.) may be added to existing networks or may establish their own network, and may also need to be provisioned [controll device]. In other examples, networks or devices, including sensors and home monitoring, security, and/or entertainment devices [control device], may be provisioned with network settings that enable the devices (e.g., wireless sensors, cameras, etc.) to connect and communicate with other wireless sensors and with each other. Para. [0031]-Hardy discloses provisioning the device may involve: decoding a secret string from the optical code; and sending the secret string to the device as an authentication password for accessing the device's access point).
Hardy fails to teach an electrical interface to receive power from a main when the control device is wall-mounted for installation; a housing to receive a faceplate; a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main.
However, Fadell teaches an electrical interface to receive power from a main when the control device is wall-mounted for installation (Para. [0142]-Fadell discloses by virtue of being mounting in place of traditional wall switches, the wall switch 108 has access to plentiful electrical operating power, such as by connecting to wiring (e.g., to 120V "hot" line voltage wires) that is behind the walls 154 of the smart-home environment 100 and that is present at virtually all standard home wall light switches);
a housing to receive a faceplate (Para. [0142]-Fadell discloses installation locations throughout the home, and the reasonably ample physical space on its face plate and in its housing to fit the necessary components, combine to enable the wall switch 108 to accommodate a rich and wide variety of sensing, interface, and communications capabilities for the smart-home environment 100).
Fadell is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with network-connected devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy to incorporate the teachings of Fadell on device installation, with a motivation to consider wall-mounted control devices, and design smart home networks to provide automated control of devices, appliances and systems, such as heating, ventilation, and air conditioning ("HVAC") system, lighting systems, home theater, entertainment systems, as well as security systems, (Fadell, Para. [0002]).
Hardy fails to teach a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main.
However, Notohardjono teaches a surface disposed on a side flange of a base assembly of the control device, the surface being positioned to be hidden by the faceplate when the control device is wall-mounted and connected to receive power from the main (Para. [0021]-Notohardjono discloses in some electronic system configurations, however, a serial number label or marking placed on a top, bottom or side surface of an electronic device may be hidden from view when the device is installed within the electronic equipment rack. Para. [0020]-Notohardjono discloses electronic systems such as computers, servers and networking/telecommunications equipment are often housed within electronic equipment racks. Para. [0059]-Notohardjono discloses the side surface 139 can be at a distance 160 from a reference location 152, located on a vertical surface 156 of an electronic equipment rack door 154, attached to electronic equipment rack 138).
Hardy and Notohardjono are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with provisioning of electronic devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy to incorporate the teachings of Notohardjono on a surface that is hidden after installation of the control device, with a motivation to secure the device structure and/or the device identifiers and secret codes, and make it difficult or impossible to read the serial number of a particular device without removing the device from the electronic equipment rack. (Notohardjono, Para. [0021]).
Hardy fails to disclose the side flange in part extends outward from the housing.
However, Sasaki teaches the side flange in part extends outward from the housing (Fig. 1A, Para. [0071]-Sasaki discloses the rotation in the reverse direction to the winding direction of the spool 13 can be stopped by the rotation stopper 11b on the primary baseboard 11 and the rotation stopper catching slot 13f provided on the back side of the flange 13b of the spool 13. As for the extension holders 10_E1 and 10_E2, similar arrangements enable the rotations in the reverse directions to respective winding directions of the spools 17 and 19 to be stopped. Fig. 1A, Para. [0068-0073]-Sasaki discloses primary baseboard 11 and the rotation stopper catching slot 13f provided on the back side of the flange 13b of the spool 13 ... guide channel 13e is provided in order to prevent the optical code 20_1 from protruding beyond the surface of the flange 13b. Fig. 4B, Para. [0009-0020]-Sasaki discloses positional relationship between the rack pillar 101, the rack side 102, the unit 103, the holder 104, and the door 110 … optical code area P shown in FIG. 4B is an area for accommodating the code 20 … The inside wall surface of the cabinet is equipped with a plurality of optical cable guides. Adapter guides are freely insertably and removably provided with adapter plates having a plurality of adapters connected to core wire ends branched from a trunk cable ... another example is an optical connecting box housing optical connectors).
Sasaki is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with structure and work area for organizing optical code.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy in view of Fadell and Notohardjono to incorporate the teachings of Sasaki on device structure for optical code, with a motivation for side flange surface, and guarantee authentication and/or provisioning of wireless network devices (Hardy, Para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 1,
Hardy fails to teach an exterior panel, wherein the exterior panel hides the-_surface disposed on the side flange of the base assembly of the control device when the control device is wall-mounted.
However, Sasaki teaches an exterior panel, wherein the exterior panel hides the-_surface disposed on the side flange of the base assembly of the control device when the control device is wall-mounted (Fig. 1A, Para. [0071]-Sasaki discloses the rotation in the reverse direction to the winding direction of the spool 13 can be stopped by the rotation stopper 11b on the primary baseboard 11 and the rotation stopper catching slot 13f provided on the back side of the flange 13b of the spool 13. As for the extension holders 10_E1 and 10_E2, similar arrangements enable the rotations in the reverse directions to respective winding directions of the spools 17 and 19 to be stopped. Fig. 1A, Para. [0068-0073]-Sasaki discloses primary baseboard 11 and the rotation stopper catching slot 13f provided on the back side of the flange 13b of the spool 13 ... guide channel 13e is provided in order to prevent the optical code 20_1 from protruding beyond the surface of the flange 13b. Fig. 4B, Para. [0009-0020]-Sasaki discloses positional relationship between the rack pillar 101, the rack side 102, the unit 103, the holder 104, and the door 110 … optical code area P shown in FIG. 4B is an area for accommodating the code 20 … The inside wall surface of the cabinet is equipped with a plurality of optical cable guides. Adapter guides are freely insertably and removably provided with adapter plates having a plurality of adapters connected to core wire ends branched from a trunk cable ... another example is an optical connecting box housing optical connectors).
Sasaki is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with structure and work area for organizing optical code.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy in view of Fadell and Notohardjono to incorporate the teachings of Sasaki on device structure for optical code, with a motivation to hide the surface disposed on the side flange, and guarantee authentication and/or provisioning of wireless network devices (Hardy, Para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 1,
Hardy further teaches the one or more codes include an optical code is a Quick Response (QR) code (Para. [0020]-Hardy discloses the step of obtaining may include obtaining optically (by taking an image of a code, such as a QR code, bar code, alphanumeric code, etc.) on one of the network device and/or computing device. Para. [0067]-Hardy discloses apparatuses and methods may also require more than one independent pathway to verify/confirm authorization codes).
Regarding claim 5, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 4,
Hardy further teaches a wireless transceiver; and wherein the data communicated by the wireless computing device includes an authentication code that is based on the one or more codes (Fig. 8. Para. [0108]-Hardy discloses Mobile device 1502 can run a software application that provisions network device 1504 by scanning optical code 1506 that is affixed to network device 1504, and interfaces with a device-provisioning server 1508 over a network 1510 to provision network device 1504. (See also Para. [0150]). Para. [0039]-Hardy discloses determining whether the optical code's unique identifier corresponds to a known device may include an analysis module further configured to: decode the unique identifier from the optical code; and determine whether the unique identifier is a known identifier. Fig. 17, Para. [0138]-Hardy discloses system 2402 includes a processor 2404, a memory 2406, a storage device 2408, and a display 2410).
Regarding claim 8, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 1,
Hardy fails to teach the control device comprises a wall-mountable switch.
However, Fadell teaches the control device comprises a wall-mountable switch (Fig. 1. Para. [0028]-ME discloses the smart-home environment 100 of FIG. 1 further includes one or more intelligent, multi-sensing, network-connected wall switches 108 (herein after referred to as "smart wall switches 108")).
Fadell is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with network-connected devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy in view of Fadell and Notohardjono to incorporate the teachings of Fadell on switches, with a motivation to consider wall-mounted control devices, and design smart home networks to provide automated control of devices, appliances and systems, such as heating, ventilation, and air conditioning ("HVAC") system, lighting systems, home theater, entertainment systems, as well as security systems. (Fadell, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 1,
Hardy further teaches to receive control data from the user device after the provisioning sequence is implemented (Para. [0004]-Hardy discloses many computing devices [user device] are equipped for communication over one or more types of computer networks, including wireless networks [control network]. Before a computing device is able to connect to a particular wireless computer network, the device typically may undergo some form of device provisioning.... For example, a customer-provided equipment (CPE) device (e.g., laptop, desktop, mobile device, etc.) [user device] may be provisioned with certain network settings that enable the device to connect and communicate with a particular wireless (or wired) network. In addition, network components (including access points, wireless routers, etc.) may be added to existing networks or may establish their own network, and may also need to be provisioned [controll device]. In other examples, networks or devices, including sensors and home monitoring, security, and/or entertainment devices [control device], may be provisioned with network settings that enable the devices (e.g., wireless sensors, cameras, etc.) to connect and communicate with other wireless sensors and with each other).
Regarding claim 11, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 1,
Hardy further teaches the one or more codes includes an optical code, wherein the control device interprets the data communicated by the wireless computing device to determine a device identifier and an authentication code required for the control device to initiate the provision in a sequence (Fig. 8. Para. [0108]-Hardy discloses Mobile device 1502 can run a software application that provisions network device 1504 by scanning optical code 1506 that is affixed to network device 1504, and interfaces with a device-provisioning server 1508 over a network 1510 to provision network device 1504. (See also Para. [0150]). Para. [0039]-Hardy discloses determining whether the optical code's unique identifier corresponds to a known device may include an analysis module further configured to: decode the unique identifier from the optical code; and determine whether the unique identifier is a known identifier. Fig. 17, Para. [0138]-Hardy discloses system 2402 includes a processor 2404, a memory 2406, a storage device 2408, and a display 2410).
Claims 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARDY et al. (US 20150256391 A1), hereinafter referenced as Hardy, in view of Fadell et al. (US 20140266669 A1), hereinafter referenced as Fadell, and further in view of Notohardjono et al. (US 20170280274 A1), hereinafter referenced as Notohardjono, and further in view of Sasaki et al. (US 20060045458 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sasaki, and further in view of KWON et al. (US 20180160301 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kwon.
Regarding claim 6, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 5,
Hardy further teaches receive wireless user input from the wireless computing device (Para. [0038]-Hardy discloses a user-input module to obtain a user-specified selection of a device site within which the network device is to operate. Fig. 1, Para. [0070]-Hardy discloses the network devices 104 can be processing devices having a memory which may use both wireless communications or hard wired communications as an input-output means. Fig. 17, Para. [0139]-Hardy discloses Data 2424 can include any data that is required as input); and
Hardy fails to teach generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices of the set of connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver.
However, Kwon explicitly teaches generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices of the set of connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver (Fig. 2 and 4. Para. [0117]-Kwon discloses the host stack (or host module) 20 refers to hardware for transmitting or receiving a Bluetooth packet to and from a wireless transceiver module receiving a Bluetooth signal of 2.4 GHz, and is connected to a Bluetooth module, the controller stack 10, to control the Bluetooth module and performs an operation. Fig. 4. Para. [0119]-Kwon discloses the BR/EDR PHY layer 12 is a layer transmitting and receiving a 2.4 GHz wireless signal).
Kwon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless network, dealing with device provisioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki to incorporate the teachings of Kwon and generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver, with a motivation to control remote electric devises as desired, and allowing various devices to be wirelessly connected in a near field to exchange data. (Kwon, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 5,
Hardy fails to teach receive user input from a user interface element of the control device; and generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver.
However, Kwon explicitly teaches receive user input from a user interface element of the control device (Fig. 2. Para. [0089]-Kwon discloses the input unit 112, 122 refers to a module providing a user input to a controller, like a screen button, to allow the user to control an operation of a device); and
generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver. (Fig. 2 and 4. Para. [0117]-Kwon discloses the host stack (or host module) 20 refers to hardware for transmitting or receiving a Bluetooth packet to and from a wireless transceiver module receiving a Bluetooth signal of 2.4 GHz, and is connected to a Bluetooth module, the controller stack 10, to control the Bluetooth module and performs an operation. Fig. 4. Para. [0119]-Kwon discloses the BR/EDR PHY layer 12 is a layer transmitting and receiving a 2.4 GHz wireless signal).
Kwon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless network, dealing with device provisioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki to incorporate the teachings of Kwon on control logic configured to: receive user input from a user interface element of the control device; and generate signals to wirelessly control one or more connected devices in response to the user input using the wireless transceiver, with a motivation to control remote electric devises by directly entering user input into the provisioned device, and allowing various devices to be wirelessly connected in a near field to exchange data. (Kwon, Para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki teaches the control device of claim 9,
Hardy fails to teach to operate as a node in the control network after the provisioning sequence of events is carried out.
However, Kwon explicitly teaches to operate as a node in the control network after the provisioning sequence of events is carried out (Fig. 1, 2, 6, 7, and 9. Para. [0316]-Kwon discloses the provisioning procedure is a procedure for providing information for a provisioner 400 of the mesh network to join the mesh network, and through the provisioning procedure, the first device 100 may obtain an address of the network, keys, a device identifier, and various types of information to operate as part of the mesh network. Para. [0269]-Kwon discloses a mesh network may be formed by devices equipped with Bluetooth as a scheme for controlling through a multi-hop connection between several devices).
Kwon is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless network, dealing with device provisioning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Hardy in view of Fadell, Notohardjono and Sasaki and Yang to incorporate the teachings of Kwon on network logic configured to operate as a node in a mesh network after the provisioning sequence of events is carried out, with a motivation to control multiple remote electric devises, and allowing various devices to be wirelessly connected in a near field to exchange data. (Kwon, Para. [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (Sasaki et al. (US 20060045458 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472