Response After RCE
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed on 01/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 7, and 14 are currently amended.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on January 15, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's response filed January 15, 2026 has been fully considered
and is respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The following is at issue:
[1] Prior art of record fails to teach newly admitted limitations
[2] Amendments overcome double patenting rejection.
[3] Prior art of record fails to teach previously presented Claim 1.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and has applied new art that reads on the amendment.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because the newly admitted limitations have been previously claimed. The double patenting rejection stands.
Regarding [3], the examiner respectfully disagrees because Sammoura teaches previously presented Claim 1 (see below).
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Double Patenting
doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428,46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046,29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13, and 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,224,895. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of 18/236879 are anticipated by claims 1-11, 13, and 16-19 of 11,224,895.
Regarding claim 1, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 1 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “is defined at least in part by,” “surrounding at least a portion of said ultrasound transducer, wherein said peripheral support ring is electrically conductive wherein said peripheral support ring is electrically conductive,” “conductive path of said flexible printed circuit board is,” “inwardly,” “and bends outwardly away from said first surface,” and “without contacting a wire bond” etc. is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 1 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
1. An ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer comprising an annular ultrasound array, wherein said annular ultrasound array
is defined at least in part by
a plurality of concentric annular electrodes provided on a first surface of a piezoelectric layer, and wherein a ground plane electrode is provided on a second surface of said piezoelectric layer; a peripheral support ring
surrounding at least a portion of said ultrasound transducer,
a flexible printed circuit board comprising: an elongate flexible segment; and a distribution segment that is in contact with at least a portion of said peripheral support ring, such that a plurality of conductive paths extending through said elongate flexible segment are routed through said distribution segment to respective contact pads located at different locations on said peripheral support ring; wherein each of the plurality of concentric annular electrodes is electrically connected to a respective contact pad; wherein at least one
conductive path of said flexible printed circuit board is
a ground conductive path that is in electrical contact with said ground plane electrode,
and a backing material contacting and extending from said first surface, wherein a distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is encapsulated in said backing material, such that said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment extends
inwardly
from said peripheral support ring
and bends
outwardly away from said first surface,
within said backing material,
without contacting a wire bond and
without contacting said first surface.
3. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is bent, within said backing material, over an angle ranging between 90 degrees and 180 degrees relative to said first surface.
18/236879
1. An ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer comprising an annular ultrasound array, wherein said annular ultrasound array
comprises
a plurality of concentric annular electrodes provided on a first surface of a piezoelectric layer, and wherein a ground plane electrode is provided on a second surface of said piezoelectric layer; a peripheral support ring;
a flexible printed circuit board comprising: an elongate flexible segment comprising a distal portion that is bent away from a surface of the ultrasound transducer according to an angle of curvature and a distribution segment;
and a backing material.
Regarding claim 2, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 2 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “routed bi-directionally within” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 2 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
2. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said plurality of conductive paths are routed bi-directionally within said distribution segment.
18/236879
2. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said plurality of conductive paths are routed through said distribution segment.
Regarding claim 3, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 3 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “over an angle ranging between 90 degrees and 180 degrees relative to said first surface” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 3 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
3. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is bent, within said backing material, over an angle ranging between 90 degrees and 180 degrees relative to said first surface.
18/236879
3. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is bent within said backing material.
Regarding claim 4, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 16 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “at different locations with gaps defined therebetween” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 16 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 4 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
16. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment comprises a plurality of branched distal segments that contact said peripheral support ring at different locations with gaps defined therebetween.
18/236879
4. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment comprises a plurality of branched distal segments that contact said peripheral support ring.
Regarding claim 5, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claims 18-19 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “to different contact pads” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 18-19 of 11,224,895 claim, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 5 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
18. The ultrasound device according to claim 16 wherein one or more of said plurality of branched distal segments include only two conductive paths.
19. The ultrasound device according to claim 18
wherein said two conductive paths are bi-directionally routed to different contact pads.
18/236879
5. The ultrasound device according to claim 4 wherein one or more of said plurality of branched distal segments comprises two conductive paths,
wherein said two conductive paths are bi-directionally routed.
Regarding claim 6, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 17 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 6 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
17. The ultrasound device according to claim 16 wherein one or more wire bonds are formed within each gap.
18/236879
6. The ultrasound device according to claim 4 wherein one or more wire bonds are formed within each gap.
Regarding claim 7, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 1 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “wherein said peripheral support ring is electrically conductive,” “conductive path of said flexible printed circuit board is,” “that is in electrical contact with said ground plane electrode,” “inwardly from said peripheral support ring,” “and bends,” “within said backing material,” and “without contacting a wire bond”, etc. is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 7 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
1. An ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer comprising an annular ultrasound array, wherein said annular ultrasound array
is defined at least in part by
a plurality of concentric annular electrodes
provided on a first surface of a piezoelectric layer, and wherein a ground plane electrode is provided on a second surface of said piezoelectric layer; a peripheral support ring
surrounding at least a portion of said ultrasound transducer,
a flexible printed circuit
board comprising: an elongate flexible segment; and a distribution segment that is in contact with at least a portion of said peripheral support ring, such that a plurality of conductive paths extending through said elongate flexible segment are routed through said distribution segment to respective contact pads located at different locations on said peripheral support ring;
wherein each of the plurality of concentric annular electrodes is electrically connected to a respective contact pad;
wherein at least one
18/236879
7. An ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer comprising an annular ultrasound array, wherein said annular ultrasound array
comprises
a plurality of concentric annular electrodes,
a piezoelectric layer,
a ground plane electrode;
a peripheral support ring
surrounding at least a portion of said ultrasound transducer;
a flexible printed circuit comprising an elongate flexible segment that is bent away from a surface of the ultrasound transducer,
wherein each of the plurality of concentric annular electrodes is electrically connected to a respective contact pad.
conductive path of said flexible printed circuit board is
a ground conductive path that is in electrical contact with said ground plane electrode,
and a backing material contacting and extending from said first surface, wherein a distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is encapsulated in said backing material, such that said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment extends
inwardly
from said peripheral support ring
and bends
outwardly away from said first surface,
within said backing material,
without contacting a wire bond and
without contacting said first surface.
3. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is bent, within said backing material, over an angle ranging between 90 degrees and 180 degrees relative to said first surface.
Regarding claim 8, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 13 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “and emerges from a distal surface of said backing material without extending beyond a side surface of said backing material” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of 11,224,895 claim, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 8 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
13. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said elongate flexible segment is encapsulated within said backing material and emerges from a distal surface of said backing material without extending beyond a side surface of said backing material.
18/236879
8. The ultrasound device according to claim 7 further comprising an elongate flexible segment that is encapsulated within said backing material.
.
Regarding claim 9, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 4 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 4 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 9 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
4. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein an initial radius of curvature of said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is less than 8 mm.
18/236879
9. The ultrasound device according to claim 7 further comprising an elongate flexible segment, wherein a radius of curvature of said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is less than 8 mm.
Regarding claim 10, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 5 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “is spatially offset from said first surface” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 10 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
5. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein a contact surface of said peripheral support ring that contacts said distribution segment is spatially offset from said first surface.
18/236879
10. The ultrasound device according to claim 7 wherein a contact surface of said peripheral support ring contacts said distribution segment.
Regarding claim 11, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 6 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 11 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
6. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said elongate flexible segment extends outwardly from said peripheral support ring.
18/236879
11. The ultrasound device according to claim 7 further comprising an elongate flexible segment that extends outwardly from said peripheral support ring.
Regarding claim 12, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 11 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 of 11,224,895 claim, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 12 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
11. The ultrasound device according to claim 1
wherein said ultrasound transducer is disc shaped, and wherein said peripheral support ring is at least a portion of an annulus.
7/542962
12. The ultrasound device according to claim 7
wherein said ultrasound transducer is disc shaped, and wherein said peripheral support ring is at least a portion of an annulus.
Regarding claim 13, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 9 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 13 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
9. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 and wherein said peripheral support ring is in electrical communication with said ground conductive path and said ground plane electrode.
18/236879
13. The ultrasound device according to claim 7 and wherein said peripheral support ring is in electrical communication with a ground conductive path and a ground plane electrode.
Regarding claim 14, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 1 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “wherein said peripheral support ring is electrically conductive,” “conductive path of said flexible printed circuit board is a ground conductive path that is in electrical contact with said ground plane electrode,” “inwardly,” “outwardly,” and “within said backing material, without contacting a wire bond and without contacting said first surface” etc. is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 14 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
1. An ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer comprising an annular ultrasound array, wherein said annular ultrasound array
is defined at least in part by
a plurality of concentric annular electrodes provided on a first surface of a piezoelectric layer, and wherein a ground plane electrode is provided on a second surface of said piezoelectric layer; a peripheral support ring surrounding at least a portion of said ultrasound transducer,
wherein said peripheral support ring is electrically conductive;
3. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is bent, within said backing material, over an angle ranging between 90 degrees and 180 degrees relative to said first surface.
18/236879
1. An ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound
transducer comprising an annular ultrasound array, wherein
said annular ultrasound array
comprises
a plurality of concentric annular electrodes provided on a first surface of a piezoelectric layer, and wherein a ground plane electrode is provided on a second surface of said
piezoelectric layer; a peripheral support ring surrounding at
least a portion of said ultrasound transducer;
a flexible printed circuit board comprising: an elongate flexible segment; and a distribution segment that is in contact with at least a portion of said peripheral support ring, such that a plurality of conductive paths extending through said elongate flexible segment are routed through said distribution segment to respective contact pads located at different locations on said peripheral support ring; wherein each of the plurality of concentric annular electrodes is electrically connected to a respective contact pad; wherein at least one
conductive path of said flexible printed circuit board is a ground conductive path that is in electrical contact with said ground plane electrode,
and a backing material contacting and extending from said first surface, wherein a distal portion of said elongate flexible segment is encapsulated in said backing material, such that said distal portion of said elongate flexible segment extends
inwardly
from said peripheral support ring
and bends outwardly away from said first surface,
within said backing material,
without contacting a wire bond and
without contacting said first surface.
a flexible printed circuit board comprising: an elongate
flexible segment comprising a distal portion that is bent away from a surface of the ultrasound transducer according to an angle of curvature; and a distribution segment that is in contact with at least a portion of said peripheral support ring.
Regarding claim 15, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 2 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 15 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
2. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein
said plurality of conductive paths are routed bi-directionally within said distribution segment.
18/236879
15. The ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said plurality of conductive paths are routed bi-directionally within said distribution segment.
Regarding claim 16, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 7 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 7 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 16 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
7. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein
said peripheral support ring has a transverse width of less than 1 mm.
18/236879
16. The ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said peripheral support ring has a transverse width of less than 1 mm.
Regarding claim 17, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 8 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 17 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
8. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein
said peripheral support ring completely surrounds said ultrasound transducer.
18/236879
17. The ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said peripheral support ring completely surrounds said ultrasound transducer.
Regarding claim 18, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 11 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 of 11,224,895 claim, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 18 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
11. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein
said ultrasound transducer is disc shaped, and wherein said peripheral support ring is at least a portion of an annulus.
18/236879
18. The ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said ultrasound transducer is disc shaped, and wherein said peripheral support ring is at least a portion of an annulus.
Regarding claim 19, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 9 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application (the language of “said ground conductive path and” is omitted), one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Hence, while the claims are not identical, nonetheless, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 19 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
9. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 and wherein said peripheral support ring is in electrical communication with said ground conductive path and said ground plane electrode.
18/236879
19. The ultrasound device according to claim 14 and wherein said peripheral support ring is in electrical communication with said ground plane electrode.
Regarding claim 20, the current application (18/236879) is anticipated by claim 10 of 11,224,895. Although the claimed extension of the elongate flexible segment is described more broadly in the current application, one and the same ultrasound device is claimed by both applications. Here, the dependent claims are identical, and therefore, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of 11,224,895 claims, both explicitly and inherently, all of the elements claimed in claim 20 of the current application (18/236879).
11,224,895
10. The ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein
said plurality of concentric annular electrodes are provided in a sparse configuration, thereby defining a sparse annular ultrasound array.
18/236879
20. The ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said plurality of concentric annular electrodes are provided in a sparse configuration, thereby defining a sparse annular ultrasound array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sammoura et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0368574; hereinafter “Sammoura”) in view of Burbank et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6261241; hereinafter “Burbank”).
Regarding claim 1, Sammoura teaches an ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs) comprising an annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11), wherein said annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11) comprises a plurality of concentric coplanar (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 82-83) annular electrodes (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83) provided on a first surface (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83 sit on top surface) of a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, active piezoelectric layer I/II), and wherein a ground plane electrode (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84; [0121]) is provided on a second surface (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84 sits on bottom surface) of said piezoelectric layer (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, active piezoelectric layer I/II); a peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85) surrounding (Fig. 8) at least a portion (Fig. 8) of said ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs); and a flexible printed circuit board (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, B) comprising: an elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11); and a distribution segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, segment in B connected to the transducers by the conductive paths); and a backing material (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, via; Fig. 11). Burbank does not teach a distal portion that is bent away from a surface of the ultrasound transducer according to an angle of curvature.
Burbank, however, does teach a distal portion (Fig. 3, 128) that is bent
away (Fig. 3) from a surface (Fig. 3, surface of 102) of the ultrasound transducer (Fig. 3, 102) according to an angle of curvature (Fig. 3, angle of curvature of 128 in relation to surface of 102).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Sammoura to include the distal portion of Burbank because it would enable a first tissue ablation element for electrosurgically separating tissue so as to create an incision thereby improving functionality (Burbank [Column 4, line 46-56]).
Regarding claim 2, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein a plurality of conductive paths (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, conductive paths connecting the segment in B and the transducers in B) are routed through said distribution segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, segment in B connected to the transducers by the conductive paths).
Regarding claim 3, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein a portion (Fig. 8, portion of Diaphragm in contact with via) of said elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11) is bent (Figs. 8-9) within said backing material (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, via; Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 1 wherein a portion (Fig. 8, portion of Diaphragm in contact with via) of said elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11) comprises a plurality of branched distal segments (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 10, branched distal segments forming top electrode) that contact (Figs. 8/10) said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 4 wherein one or more of said branched distal segments (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 10, branched distal segments forming top electrode) comprises two (Figs. 10/11) conductive paths (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, conductive paths connecting the segment in B and the transducers in B), wherein said two (Fig. 11) conductive paths (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, conductive paths connecting the segment in B and the transducers in B) are bi-directionally routed (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 1, wherein a portion of said elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11) is encapsulated (Fig. 8) in said backing material (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, via; Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 7, Sammoura teaches an ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs) comprising an annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11), wherein said annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11) comprises a plurality of concentric coplanar (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 82-83) annular electrodes (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83), a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, active piezoelectric layer I/II), a ground plane electrode (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84; [0121]); a peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85) surrounding (Fig. 8) at least a portion (Fig. 8) of said ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs); and a flexible printed circuit (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, B) wherein each of the plurality of concentric annular electrodes (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83) is electrically connected (Fig. 11, electrical connections between electrodes and pads) to a respective contact pad (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, bond-pads; [0134]). Burbank does not teach a distal portion that is bent away from a surface of the ultrasound transducer according to an angle of curvature.
Burbank, however, does teach a distal portion (Fig. 3, 128) that is bent
away (Fig. 3) from a surface (Fig. 3, surface of 102) of the ultrasound transducer (Fig. 3, 102) according to an angle of curvature (Fig. 3, angle of curvature of 128 in relation to surface of 102).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Sammoura to include the distal portion of Burbank because it would enable a first tissue ablation element for electrosurgically separating tissue so as to create an incision thereby improving functionality (Burbank [Column 4, line 46-56]).
Regarding claim 8, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 7 further comprising wherein said elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11) that is encapsulated (Fig. 8) within a backing material (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, via; Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 9, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 7 further comprising an elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11), wherein a radius of curvature (Figs. 8/14; [0138]) of said distal portion (Fig. 8, portion of Diaphragm in contact with via) of said elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11) is less than 8 mm ([0138]).
Regarding claim 10, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 7 wherein a contact surface (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, contact surface of ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) of said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) contacts (Figs. 8/11) a distribution segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, segment in B connected to the transducers by the conductive paths).
Regarding claim 11, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 7 wherein an elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11) extends outwardly (Figs. 8-9) from said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 7 wherein said ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs) is disc shaped (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs; Fig. 11; [0042]), and wherein said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) is at least a portion of an annulus (Figs. 8/11).
Regarding claim 13, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 7 wherein said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) is in electrical communication (Figs. 8/11) with a ground conductive path (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, conductive paths connecting the segment in B and the transducers in B connected to ground) and a ground plane electrode (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84; [0121]).
Regarding claim 14, Sammoura teaches an ultrasound device comprising: an ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs) comprising an annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11), wherein said annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11) comprises a plurality of concentric coplanar (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 82-83) annular electrodes (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83) provided on a first surface (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83 sit on top surface) of a piezoelectric layer (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, active piezoelectric layer I/II), and wherein a ground plane electrode (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84; [0121]) is provided on a second surface (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84 sits on bottom surface) of said piezoelectric layer (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, active piezoelectric layer I/II); a peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85) surrounding (Fig. 8) at least a portion (Fig. 8) of said ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs); and a flexible printed circuit board (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, B) comprising: an elongate flexible segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, Diaphragm; Fig. 11); and a distribution segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, segment in B connected to the transducers by the conductive paths) that is in contact (Fig. 11) with at least a portion (Fig. 11) of said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]). Burbank does not teach a distal portion that is bent away from a surface of the ultrasound transducer according to an angle of curvature.
Burbank, however, does teach a distal portion (Fig. 3, 128) that is bent
away (Fig. 3) from a surface (Fig. 3, surface of 102) of the ultrasound transducer (Fig. 3, 102) according to an angle of curvature (Fig. 3, angle of curvature of 128 in relation to surface of 102).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Sammoura to include the distal portion of Burbank because it would enable a first tissue ablation element for electrosurgically separating tissue so as to create an incision thereby improving functionality (Burbank [Column 4, line 46-56]).
Regarding claim 15, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said plurality of conductive paths (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, conductive paths connecting the segment in B and the transducers in B) are routed bi-directionally (Fig. 11) within said distribution segment (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 11, segment in B connected to the transducers by the conductive paths).
Regarding claim 16, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) has a transverse width ([0138]) of less than 1 mm ([0138]).
Regarding claim 17, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) completely surrounds (Fig. 8) said ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs).
Regarding claim 18, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said ultrasound transducer (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs) is disc shaped (Figs. 8-14; DEB pMUTs; Fig. 11; [0042]), and wherein said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) is at least a portion of an annulus (Figs. 8/11).
Regarding claim 19, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said peripheral support ring (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, ring of Si substrate and 86 delineating hole 85; [0051]) is in electrical communication (Figs. 8/11) with said ground plane electrode (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 84; [0121]).
Regarding claim 20, Sammoura as modified teaches the ultrasound device according to claim 14 wherein said plurality of concentric annular electrodes (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8, 81-83) are provided in a sparse configuration (Fig. 8), thereby defining a sparse annular ultrasound array (Figs. 8-14; Fig. 8; Fig. 11).
Conclusion
MATA whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner Art Unit 2837
19 February 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837