DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,731,890. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 1:
The claims of the patent disclose the septic system, comprising: a septic tank having: a plurality of compartments; a tank inlet configured to receive untreated wastewater; a tank outlet configured to discharge at least partially treated wastewater; and a plurality of passages within the septic tank arranged and configured to transmit a flow of wastewater between the tank inlet and tank outlet (see claims 1 and 19) while initiating at least four nitrogenation-denitrogenation cycles in the flow of wastewater, in which each cycle includes a period during which aerobic bacteria is predominant, operating to decompose organic material in the flow of wastewater while depleting oxygen and releasing free nitrogen in the flow of wastewater, and a period during which anaerobic bacteria is predominant, operating to decompose organic material while depleting the free nitrogen in the flow of wastewater (see claims 23 and 24).
Regarding Claim 2:
The claims of the patent disclose the septic system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of passages includes: a first vault positioned within one of the plurality of compartments and configured to receive the flow of wastewater at a level near a fluid surface level within the septic tank; a first flow inducer positioned within the one of the plurality of compartments and configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the first vault at a level near a bottom of the septic tank and to release the flow of wastewater into a main volume of the one of the plurality of compartments at a level near the fluid surface level; and a second vault positioned within the one of the plurality of compartments and configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the main volume of the one of the plurality of compartments at a level near the bottom of the septic tank (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 3:
The claims of the patent disclose the septic system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of passages includes: a third vault positioned within a second of the plurality of compartments and configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the second vault at a level near the fluid surface level; a second flow inducer positioned within the second of the plurality of compartments and configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the third vault at a level near the bottom of the septic tank and to release the flow of wastewater into a main volume of the second of the plurality of compartments at a level near the fluid surface level; and a fourth vault positioned within the second of the plurality of compartments and configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the main volume of the second of the plurality of compartments at a level near the bottom of the septic tank and to discharge the flow of wastewater from the septic tank via the tank outlet (see claim 5).
Regarding Claim 4:
The claims of the patent disclose the method for treating wastewater, comprising: introducing a stream of wastewater into a first compartment of a septic tank via a tank inlet; initiating a first nitrogenation-denitrogenation cycle by directing the stream of wastewater from the tank inlet toward a bottom of the septic tank within a first compartment of the septic tank ;initiating a second nitrogenation-denitrogenation cycle by reoxygenating the stream of wastewater in a first passage near a fluid surface level within the septic tank and directing the stream of wastewater from the first passage toward the bottom of the septic tank within a first vault positioned within the septic tank; transmitting the stream of wastewater from the first vault to a first flow inducer and toward the fluid surface level within first flow inducer; reoxygenating the stream of wastewater by discharging the stream of wastewater from the first flow inducer into a main volume of a second compartment of the septic tank at a level near the fluid surface level; initiating a third nitrogenation-denitrogenation cycle by directing the stream of wastewater in the main volume of the second compartment toward the bottom of the septic tank; initiating a fourth nitrogenation-denitrogenation cycle by reoxygenating the stream of wastewater in a second passage near the fluid surface level and directing the stream of wastewater from the second passage toward the bottom of the septic tank within a second vault positioned within the septic tank (see claims 1, 19, 23, and 24).
Regarding Claim 5:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 4, comprising: directing the stream of wastewater from the main volume of the second compartment into a third vault and toward the fluid surface level; and transmitting the stream of wastewater from the third vault to the second vault via the second passage (see claims 5 and 19).
Regarding Claim 6:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 4, comprising: transmitting the stream of wastewater from the second vault to a second flow inducer and toward the fluid surface level within a second flow inducer; and reoxygenating the stream of wastewater by discharging the stream of wastewater from the second flow inducer into a main volume of a third compartment of the septic tank at a level near the fluid surface level (see claim 5, 14).
Regarding Claim 7:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 6, comprising initiating a fifth nitrogenation- denitrogenation cycle by directing the stream of wastewater in the main volume of the third compartment toward the bottom of the septic tank (see claim 16). The same flow through compartments are disclosed, therefore the same cycles will be initiated.
Regarding Claim 8:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 7, comprising: directing the stream of wastewater from the main volume of the third compartment into a fourth vault and toward the fluid surface level; and discharging the stream of wastewater from the septic tank via a tank outlet coupled to the fourth vault (see claims 5 and 6).
Regarding Claim 9:
The claims of the patent disclose the method for retrofitting a septic tank, comprising: positioning, in a working septic tank, a first vault configured to receive a flow of wastewater from a first compartment of the septic tank at a level near a fluid level of the septic tank; positioning, in the septic tank, a first flow inducer configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the first vault at a level near a bottom of the septic tank and to discharge the flow of wastewater into a main volume of a second compartment of the septic tank at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank (see claims 1 and 2). The claims do not explicitly refer to “retrofitting” however as the same structure is disclosed retrofitting would be obvious.
Regarding Claim 10:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 9, comprising positioning, in the septic tank, a second vault configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the second compartment at a level near the bottom of the septic tank (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 11:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 10, comprising: positioning, in the septic tank, a third vault configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the second vault at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank; positioning, in the septic tank, a second flow inducer configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the third vault at a level near the bottom of the septic tank and to discharge the flow of wastewater into a main volume of a third compartment of the septic tank at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank (see claim 5).
Regarding Claim 12:
The claims of the patent disclose the method of claim 11, comprising: positioning, in the septic tank, a second vault configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the third compartment at a level near the bottom of the septic tank, and coupled to a tank outlet of the septic tank at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim states “configured to receive untreated wastewater” and “transmit a flow of wastewater”. It is not clear if these are the same or different wastewater streams.
The remaining claims are rejected as they depend from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 2015/0239761).
Regarding Claim 9:
Smith teaches the method for retrofitting a septic tank, comprising: positioning, in a working septic tank, a first vault configured to receive a flow of wastewater from a first compartment of the septic tank at a level near a fluid level of the septic tank; positioning, in the septic tank (chambers are present, therefore they have been positioned) (see para. 0009), a first flow inducer configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the first vault at a level near a bottom of the septic tank and to discharge the flow of wastewater into a main volume of a second compartment of the septic tank at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank (see fig. 1 annotated below).
Regarding Claim 10:
Smith teaches the method of claim 9, comprising positioning, in the septic tank, a second vault configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the second compartment at a level near the bottom of the septic tank (see fig. 2, annotated above).
Regarding Claim 11:
Smith teaches the method of claim 10, comprising: positioning, in the septic tank, a third vault configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the second vault at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank; positioning, in the septic tank, a second flow inducer configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the third vault at a level near the bottom of the septic tank and to discharge the flow of wastewater into a main volume of a third compartment of the septic tank at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank (see Fig. 2, annotated above).
Regarding Claim 12:
Smith teaches the method of claim 11, comprising: positioning, in the septic tank, a second vault configured to receive the flow of wastewater from the third compartment at a level near the bottom of the septic tank, and coupled to a tank outlet of the septic tank at a level near the fluid level of the septic tank (see Fig. 2 annotated above).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 9/22/2025