DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Per Applicant’s response dated April 9, 2026, Claims 21, 25, 28, 29, 30, and 40 are amended. Claims 36-39 are canceled. Claim 41-44 are added. Claims 21-35 and 40-44 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
In view of Applicant amendments, the rejections over Kawada and Wada as provided in the Office Action dated February 18, 2026 are withdrawn. Rejections provided below are modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Further, additional rejections are provided in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-35 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US20230261266A1.
Regarding Claim 21, Kim discloses an electrode assembly [Kim 0018, Fig. 3 and throughout], comprising
a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities [Kim 0021, 0047, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, plate 100 and plate 200 with opposite polarities (0021)], wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound along a winding direction to form the electrode assembly [Kim 0007-0009, 0047 and throughout, Figs. 3-6],
wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0053-0056 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first segment 100a and second segment 100b] , wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Kim 0053-0056 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first segment 100a with active layer 130a and second segment 100b with active layer 130b, and the first segment is located upstream of the second segment along the winding direction from inside to outside [Kim 0052-0058 and throughout, Figs. 3-6]; and
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Kim 0027, 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, Kim teaches the thickness of active layer 130a can be thinner than the thickness of active layer 130b, which reads on the claimed coating density is different since the amount of coating per unit area inherently changes due to the change in thickness. See MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference..],
the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Kim 0048 and throughout, collector 120], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 130a and 130b on current collector 120] ;
the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, configured for separating the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate [Kim 0047-0053, Figs. 3-6, separator 300 separates 100 and 200];
the first segment is connected to the separator [Kim 0047, 0056, All of each electrode plates 100 and 200 are contacted with separators 300, and thus read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation.]; and
a head of the second segment at the most upstream location in the winding direction from inside to outside is connected to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Kim 0047, 0056, All of each electrode plates 100 and 200 are contacted with separators 300, including the head of the second segment, which is adjacent to the tail of the first segment and inherently located through the separator, and thus read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation. See MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. ], wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]
Regarding Claim 22, modified Kim discloses electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the coating density of the first active substance layer is lower than the coating density of the second active substance layer [Kim 0027, 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6,The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim is the coating density of the first active substance layer is lower than the coating density of the second active substance layer since the thickness of the first active substance layer 130a is less coating per unit area of the current collector 120 than the thickness of the second active substance layer130b. Thus, the claim limitation is met. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. ].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein a thickness of the first active substance layer is different from a thickness of the second active substance layer [Kim 0027, 0062-0063, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, Kim teaches the thickness of 130a can be thinner than 130b.],.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 23, wherein a ratio of the thickness of the first active substance layer to the thickness of the second active substance layer is 1/2-3/2 [Kim 0060-0063 and throughout, Kim teaches the thickness of 100a may be 0.4 to 0.8 times the thickness of 100b. Kim further teaches the thickness ratio may be due to the differences in thickness of the active layer regions 130a and 130b. Thus, Kim’s ratio overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.].
For purpose of compact prosecution, Kim teaches the thickness ratio is a result effective variable. If the thickness ratio is too small, there may be an unpreferred large step structure formed between the first and second segment Kim 0061]. If the ratio is greater than 0.8, it may be difficult to relax the step structure between the first and second segment [Kim 0061]. Determining the workable ratio can be achieved by balancing the requirements for the specific battery design in consideration of these factors, which can be done through routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teachings about the thickness ratio between the first and second segment to determine the workable range of thickness ratio for the first and second segment per 2144.05II, routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein a first active substance material of the first active substance layer is the same as or different from a second active substance material of the second active substance layer [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Since no different active materials are taught for segments 130a and 130b, the first active substance material is the same as the second active substance, and thus meets the claim limitation.].
Regarding Claim 26, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein along the winding direction from inside to outside, a tail of the first segment is connected to a head of the second segment [Kim Figs. 5-6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim Figs. 5-6 is the tail of 100a connects to the head of 100b.]
Regarding Claim 27, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector segment and a second current collector segment [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first current collector segment 120a, second current collector segment 120b], wherein the first active substance layer is arranged on the first current collector segment to form the first segment, and the second active substance layer is arranged on the second current collector segment to form the second segment [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first active substance layer 130a on first current collector segment 120a forming first segment 100a, second active substance layer 130b on second current collector segment 120b forming second segment 100b].
Regarding Claim 28, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 27, wherein a tail of the first segment and the head of the second segment are connected through a first connecting part [Kim 0062-0063, Figs. 3-6 and throughout, The region where the tail of 100a and head of 100b meet would be considered the first connecting part as there is no specific structure of the first connecting part claimed.].
Regarding Claim 29, Kim discloses an electrode assembly, comprising:
Kim discloses an electrode assembly [Kim 0018, Fig. 3 and throughout], comprising
a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities [Kim 0021, 0047, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, plate 100 and plate 200 with opposite polarities (0021)], wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound along a winding direction to form the electrode assembly [Kim 0007-0009, 0047 and throughout, Figs. 3-6],
wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0053-0056 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first segment 100a and second segment 100b] , wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Kim 0053-0056 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first segment 100a with active layer 130a and second segment 100b with active layer 130b, and the first segment is located upstream of the second segment along the winding direction from inside to outside [Kim 0052-0058 and throughout, Figs. 3-6]; and
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Kim 0027, 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, Kim teaches the thickness of active layer 130a can be thinner than the thickness of active layer 130b, which reads on the claimed coating density is different since the amount of coating per unit area changes due to the change in thickness.],
the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Kim 0048 and throughout, collector 120], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 130a and 130b on current collector 120] ;
the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, configured for separating the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate [Kim 0047-0053, Figs. 3-6, separator 300 separates 100 and 200];
the first segment is connected to the separator [Kim 0047, 0056, All of each electrode plates 100 and 200 are contacted with separators 300, and thus read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation.]; and
a head of the second segment at the most upstream location in the winding direction from inside to outside is connected to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Kim 0047, 0056, All of each electrode plates 100 and 200 are contacted with separators 300, including the head of the second segment, which is adjacent to the tail of the first segment and inherently located through the separator, and thus read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation. See MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. ], wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. Kim does not explicitly teach
wherein the second electrode plate comprises a third segment and a fourth segment,
wherein the third segment is provided with a third active substance layer, and the fourth segment is provided with a fourth active substance layer; and the third segment is located upstream of the fourth segment in the winding direction from inside to outside, a number of third turns in the third segment is between one and five turns, and the number of third turns in the third segment is less than a number of fourth turns in the fourth segment; however, such modification merely requires duplication of the structure of Kim’s first electrode plate 100 as described above for Kim’s second electrode plate 200 using Kim’s negative current collector 220 with an active material layer 230 [Kim 0049-0051] such that there is a third segment 200a and a fourth segment 200b with a negative current collector third portion 220a and a fourth portion 220b coating with an active material 230a and 230b, where 200a (200E) corresponds to an inner portion of the jelly roll structure 200E [Kim 0047-0056 and throughout, Figs. 3-6], where the second electrode plate is wound first like the first electrode plate with 200a is upstream of the fourth segment in the winding direction from inside to outside. Kim teaches that the innermost portion of the second electrode 200E may be wound one to two times earlier than the first electrode 100 [Kim 0056]. With the portion 200E of second electrode plate 200 corresponding to the third segment, thus the third segment would be one to two turns [Kim 0056]. From Kim Figs. 3 and 5, with such modification, the number of turns in the fourth segment would be more than one to two, as required by the claim limitation. See modified Fig. 5 below for clarification for the location of 200a, where the number of turns for the third segment is 2 and the location of 200b, where the number of turns in consideration of Figs. 3 with Fig. 5 would be more than two.]. Such duplication would be obvious since doing so would still allow the battery cell to operate. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B duplication of parts. Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be expected to have the same or additional benefits as the configuration of Kim’s first electrode plate where for the second electrode plate the density in the third segment is lower than the coating density of the fourth segment and thereby supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Kim Figure 5 modified to show duplication of the thinner inner region of the jelly roll structure of the first electrode plate 100 for the second electrode plate 200.
Regarding Claim 30, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 29, wherein a coating density of the third active substance layer is different from a coating density of the fourth active substance layer [As an and/or limitation, the limitation is considered optional; however, modified Kim as described in claim 29 above reads on this limitation. As described above, the portion 230a of active layer 230 on 200a would be thinner than the active layer portion 230b on 200b, consistent with the difference between 130a/130b [Kim 0061-0063]. As such, the amount of active layer coating 230a per unit area on 200a would be inherently less the amount of coating 230b on unit area 200b. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.] ;
and/or, a thickness of the third active substance layer is different from a thickness of the fourth active substance layer [As an and/or limitation, the limitation is considered optional; however, modified Kim as described in claim 29 above reads on this limitation. As described above, the portion 230a of active layer 230 would be thinner than the active layer portion 230b, consistent with the difference between 130a/130b [Kim 0061-0063] ;
and/or, a third active substance material of the third active substance layer is the same as a fourth active substance material of the fourth active substance layer [As an and/or limitation, the limitation is considered optional; however, modified Kim as described in claim 29 reads on this limitation. Since no additional negative active layers are taught by Kim [Kim 0049] both 230a and 230b would be expected that a third active substance material of the third active substance layer is the same as a fourth active substance material of the fourth active substance layer, thus the limitation is met.].
Regarding Claim 31, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 30, wherein a ratio of the thickness of the third active substance layer to the thickness of the fourth active substance layer is 1/2-3/2 [Kim 0061, Kim teaches the thickness of 100a may be 0.4 to 0.8 times the thickness of 100b. Kim further teaches the thickness ratio may be due to the differences in thickness of the active layer regions 130a and 130b. As applied to claim 29, where the structure of electrode plate 200 is a duplication of the structure of electrode plate 100 where the innermost region of Kim’s jelly roll 200a has a thinner active material layer than the outermost region of the jelly roll 200b, it would be obvious to use the same ratios of 0.4 to 0.8 for the electrode plate 200. Thus, Kim’s ratio overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.].
For purpose of compact prosecution, Kim teaches the thickness ratio is a result effective variable. If the thickness ratio is too small, there may be an unpreferred large step structure formed between the first and second segment [Kim 0061]. If the ratio is greater than 0.8, it may be difficult to relax the step structure between the first and second segment [Kim 0061]. Determining the workable ratio can be achieved by balancing the requirements for the specific battery design in consideration of these factors, which can be done through routine experimentation.. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teachings about the thickness ratio between the first and second segment to the third and fourth segment to determine the workable range of thickness ratio for the third and fourth segment per 2144.05II, routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 32, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 29, wherein along the winding direction from inside to outside, a tail of the third segment is connected to a head of the fourth segment [Kim Figs. 5-6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kim Figs. 5-6 is the tail of 100a connects to the head of 100b. As modified in claim 29 above, where the structure of electrode plate 200 is a duplication of the structure of electrode plate 100 where the innermost region of Kim’s jelly roll 200a has a thinner active material layer than the outermost region of the jelly roll 200b, modified Kim reads on the limitation since the tail of 200a is connected to the head of 200b. Claim 32 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 29. See modified Fig. 5 is claim 29 above.].
Regarding Claim 33, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 32, wherein the second electrode plate further comprises a second current collector, wherein the third active substance layer and the fourth active substance layer are respectively arranged on the second current collector [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, Kim’s first active substance layer 130a is on first current collector segment 120a forming first segment 100a and second active substance layer 130b is on second current collector segment 120b forming second segment 100b. As modified in claim 29 above, third active layer substance 230a and fourth active layer substance 230b are disposed on the third and fourth current collector segments 220a/b, respectively, in duplication of the first active layer substance 130a and second active layer substance 130b being disposed on the first current collector segment 120a and second current collector segment 120b, which is obvious for the same reasons as claim 29.].
Regarding Claim 34, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 32, wherein the second electrode plate further comprises a third current collector segment and a fourth current collector segment, wherein the third active substance layer is arranged on the third current collector segment to form the third segment, and the fourth active substance layer is arranged on the fourth current collector segment to form the fourth segment [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, Kim’s first active substance layer 130a is on first current collector segment 120a forming first segment 100a and second active substance layer 130b is on second current collector segment 120b forming second segment 100b. As modified in claim 29 above, third active layer substance 230a and fourth active layer substance 230b are disposed on the third current collector segment 220a and fourth current collector segment 220b, respectively, in duplication of the first active layer substance 130a and second active layer substance 130b being disposed on the first current collector segment and second current collector segments 120a/b, respectively, which is obvious for the same reasons as claim 29.].
Regarding claim 35, modified Kim discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 34, the tail of the third segment and the head of the fourth segment are connected through a second connecting part [Kim 0062-0063, Figs. 3-6 and throughout, The region where the tail of 100a and head of 100b meet would be considered the first connecting part as there is no specific structure of the first connecting part claimed. As modified in claim 29 above, the same structure applies such that the region where tail 200a and head 200b meet would be considered the second connecting part as there is no specific structure of the second connecting part. Claim 35 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 29 above.].
Regarding Claim 40, Kim discloses a winding method, comprising:
providing a first electrode plate [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 8, plate 100], wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 8, plate segments 100a and 100b] wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 8, first active layer substance 130a on first segment 100a and second active layer substance 130b on second segment 100b; a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 8, Kim teaches the thickness of active layer 130a can be thinner than the thickness of active layer 130b, which reads on the claimed coating density is different since the amount of coating per unit area changes due to the change in thickness. See MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.]; and
the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Kim 0048 and throughout, collector 120], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Kim 0062-0063 and throughout, Figs. 3-6, 130a and 130b on current collector 120] ;
providing a second electrode plate, wherein a polarity of the second electrode plate is opposite to a polarity of the first electrode plate [Kim 0021, 0047, and throughout, Figs. 3-6, first plate 100 and second plate 200 with opposite polarities (0021)];
providing a separator [Kim 0047-0053, Figs. 3-6, separator 300 separates 100 and 200], connecting the first segment to the separator and connecting a head of the second segment, at the most upstream location in a winding direction from inside to outside, to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Kim 0047, 0056, All of each electrode plates 100 and 200 are contacted with separators 300, including the head of the second segment, which is adjacent to the tail of the first segment and inherently located through the separator, and thus read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation. See MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. ];
and winding the first segment, the second segment, the separator, and the second electrode plate along the winding direction to form an electrode assembly, wherein the first segment is first wound with the separator and the second electrode plate, and the second segment is wound with the separator and the second electrode plate after the first segment [Kim 0054-0058, Figs. 3-6],
a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.].
Regarding Claim 41, modified Kim discloses electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the electrode assembly is incorporated into at least one of: a battery cell [Kim 0016]; a battery including the battery cell [Kim 0072]; and electrical equipment including the battery and the battery cell [Kim 0072].
Claim(s) 21-35 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kawada et al., US20180013173A1, hereinafter Kawada, and in further view of Kim US20230261266A1.
Regarding Claim 21, Kawada discloses an electrode assembly [Kawada 0015 and throughout], comprising a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first plate 11 and second plate 12] wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound along a winding direction to form the electrode assembly [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Fig. 1] , wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, thin portion 32] and a second segment [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, thick portion 33], wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2 a thinner portion of active material 31 is applied in segment 32 and a thicker portion of active materials 31 is applied to segment 33, which meets the claim], and the first segment is located upstream of the second segment along the winding direction from inside to outside [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Where upstream is considered to be the center of the rolled assembly, 32 is upstream of 33.]; and
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Kawada 0024, 0045, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Since the coating thickness for segment 32 is less than 33, the density of coating (coating per unit area) on the region of 32 would inherently be lower than the density of coating in segment 33. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.], the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first current collector 30], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-2]; the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, configured for separating the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate [Kawada 0015 and throughout, separator 13]; the first segment is connected to the separator [Kawada 0015, 0024, Fig. 1, Kawada discloses plate 11 is wound with the separator and the separator 13 is connected to the inner most layer region of the first plate 11 shown in Fig. 1. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada. ]; and a head of the second segment at the most upstream location in the winding direction from inside to outside is connected to the separator [Kawada 0015, 0026, Figs. 1-2 and examples 0043-0050, Kawada discloses plate 11 is wound with the separator and the separator 13 is connected to all regions of the first plate 11 shown in Fig. 1. The second segment 33 is adjacent to the first segment 32 of plate 11, where the first segment 32 is wound first as the inner part of the coil. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada.], to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Fig. 1, Claim 21 is directed to a product and the limitation “to locate the head of the second segment through the separator” would be considered a product-by-process limitation per MPEP 2113. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawada is the structure of the claim limitation is met since the winding head of the second segment 33 is connected to the first segment 32 at “the most upstream location” relative to the location of the first segment 32. The head of 33 is adjacent to the winding tail of the first segment 32 and both are connected to the separator 13. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada. See annotated Fig. below.].
Kawada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in Kawada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 22, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the coating density of the first active substance layer is inherently lower than the coating density of the second active substance layer [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawada is the coating density of the first active substance layer is lower than the coating density of the second active substance layer since the thickness of the first active substance layer 32 is less coating per unit area of the current collector 30 than the thickness of the second active substance layer 33. Thus, the claim limitation is met. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. ].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein a thickness of the first active substance layer is different from a thickness of the second active substance layer [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 24, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 23, wherein a ratio of the thickness of the first active substance layer to the thickness of the second active substance layer is 1/2-3/2 [Kawada Table 1 examples anticipate the claimed range.].
Regarding Claim 25, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein a first active substance material of the first active substance layer is the same as or different from a second active substance material of the second active substance layer [Kawada 0019-0025 Since no different active materials are taught for segments 32 and 33, the first active substance material is the same as the second active substance, and thus meets the claim limitation.].
Regarding Claim 26, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein along the winding direction from inside to outside, a tail of the first segment is connected to a head of the second segment [Kawada throughout, See annotated Fig. in claim 21 above. Kawada Fig. 2 teaches the tail of the first segment is connected to a head of the second segment.].
Regarding Claim 27, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector segment and a second current collector segment , wherein the first active substance layer is arranged on the first current collector segment to form the first segment, and the second active substance layer is arranged on the second current collector segment to form the second segment [Kawada 0015, 0024, and throughout, Fig. 2, first current collector segment 30 is the portion of 32 with active material 31 and second current collector segment 30 is the portion of 33 with active material 31].
Regarding Claim 28, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 27, wherein a tail of the first segment and the head of the second segment are connected through a first connecting part [Kawada throughout, see annotated Fig. in claim 21 above. The region where the tail of 32 and head of 33 meet would be considered the first connecting part as there is no specific structure of the first connecting part claimed.].
Regarding Claim 29, Kawada discloses an electrode assembly [Kawada 0015 and throughout], comprising a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first plate 11 and second plate 12] wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound along a winding direction to form the electrode assembly [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Fig. 1] , wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, thin portion 32] and a second segment [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, thick portion 33], wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2 a thinner portion of active material 31 is applied in segment 32 and a thicker portion of active materials 31 is applied to segment 33, which meets the claim], and the first segment is located upstream of the second segment along the winding direction from inside to outside [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Where upstream is considered to be the center of the rolled assembly, 32 is upstream of 33.]; and
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Kawada 0024, 0045, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Since the coating thickness for segment 32 is less than 33, the density of coating (coating per unit area) on the region of 32 would inherently be lower than the density of coating in segment 33. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.], the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first current collector 30], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-2]; the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, configured for separating the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate [Kawada 0015 and throughout, separator 13]; the first segment is connected to the separator [Kawada 0015, 0024, Fig. 1, Kawada discloses plate 11 is wound with the separator and the separator 13 is connected to the inner most layer region of the first plate 11 shown in Fig. 1. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada. ]; and a head of the second segment at the most upstream location in the winding direction from inside to outside is connected to the separator [Kawada 0015, 0026, Figs. 1-2 and examples 0043-0050, Kawada discloses plate 11 is wound with the separator and the separator 13 is connected to all regions of the first plate 11 shown in Fig. 1. The second segment 33 is adjacent to the first segment 32 of plate 11, where the first segment 32 is wound first as the inner part of the coil. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada.], to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Fig. 1, Claim 21 is directed to a product and the limitation “to locate the head of the second segment through the separator” would be considered a product-by-process limitation per MPEP 2113. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawada is the structure of the claim limitation is met since the winding head of the second segment 33 is connected to the first segment 32 at “the most upstream location” relative to the location of the first segment 32. The head of 33 is adjacent to the winding tail of the first segment 32 and both are connected to the separator 13. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada. See annotated Fig. below.].
Kawada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in Kawada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Kawada is silent to wherein the second electrode plate comprises a third segment and a fourth segment, wherein the third segment is provided with a third active substance layer, and the fourth segment is provided with a fourth active substance layer; and the third segment is located upstream of the fourth segment in the winding direction from inside to outside. However, the configuration above merely requires duplicating the structure of Kawada’s first electrode plate 11 [Kawada 0015-0028 and throughout] of claim 21 for Kawada’s second electrode plate 12 using the Kawada’s negative current collector and negative active materials [Kawada 0033-0035 and throughout] where the third segment is a thinner negative electrode segment applied to the negative current collector plate, like segment 32 [Kawada Fig. 2], thus having a lower coating density, and where the fourth segment is the same as Kawada segment 33 [Kawada Fig. 2] except having the negative electrode material as the fourth active substance layer applied to the negative electrode current collector [Kawada 0033-0035] as a thicker coating like segment 33, thus having a higher coating density, where the negative electrode is wound with the separator [Kawada such that the thinner region 32 is applied is wound first in the inner coil side [Kawada 0015-0025] as shown in Fig. 2 (see the description of the first electrode in claim 21 and annotated Fig. below for additional details). Such duplication would be obvious since doing so would still allow the battery cell to operate. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B duplication of parts. Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be expected to have the same or additional benefits as the configuration of Kawada’s first electrode plate where for the second electrode plate the density in the third segment is lower than the coating density of the fourth segment and thereby supporting improved resistance to rupture with sufficient capacity [Kawada 0004-0007].
Kawada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b is many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in Kawada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 30, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 29. With the modification to Kawada as described in claim 29 where the second electrode plate has the same configuration as the first electrode plate except for the selection of electrode active substance materials and current collector materials, modified Kawada discloses wherein a coating density of the third active substance layer is different from a coating density of the fourth active substance layer [Kawada segment 32, with the third active substance layer (thinner negative active substance layer), would inherently have a lower coating density than the fourth active substance layer 33 ( thicker negative active substance layer) since the amount of coating per unit area of segment 32 is less than the amount of coating per unit area of segment 33. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.].; and/or, a thickness of the third active substance layer is different from a thickness of the fourth active substance layer [Kawada Fig. 2 segment 33 (fourth active substance layer) and 32 (third active substance layer) have different thicknesses].; and/or, a third active substance material of the third active substance layer is the same as or different from a fourth active substance material of the fourth active substance layer [Kawada 0033-0035 Since no different active substance layers are taught for segments 32 and 33, the third active substance material is the same as the fourth active substance, and thus meets the claim limitation.].
Regarding Claim 31, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 30, wherein a ratio of the thickness of the third active substance layer to the thickness of the fourth active substance layer is 1/2-3/2. [ As applied in claim 29, Kawada teaches the ratio of thickness of the first active substance layer to the thickness of the second active substance is ½-3/2 through the examples in Kawada Table 1, which anticipate the claimed range. Further Kawada teaches the ratio is 0.4 to 0.8, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, in duplicating the structure of Kawada’s first electrode plate as the second electrode plate using Kawada’s negative electrode materials as described in claim 29, the skilled artisan would also expect that the thickness ratio would be met as claimed for the third active substance layer and the fourth active substance layer.].
Regarding Claim 32, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 29, wherein along the winding direction from inside to outside, a tail of the third segment is connected to a head of the fourth segment, or a gap is provided between the tail of the third segment and the head of the fourth segment [Modified Kawada meets this limitation as shown in the annotated Fig. and described in claim 29 above where Kawada’s negative electrode plate, as the claimed 2nd electrode plate, has the same structure as Kawada’s positive electrode plate except for having negative electrode substance materials and a negative electrode current collector.].
Regarding Claim 33, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 32, wherein the second electrode plate further comprises a second current collector, wherein the third active substance layer and the fourth active substance layer are respectively arranged on the second current collector [Modified Kawada meets this limitation as described in claim 29, where the second current collector is the negative current collector [Kawada 0033-0034] and the negative active material is applied with the same configuration of the first electrode plate such that a thinner negative active material substance layer is applied in segment 32 and a thicker negative active material substance layer is applied in 33 on the negative current collector [Kawada 0033].]
Regarding Claim 34, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 32, wherein the second electrode plate further comprises a third current collector segment and a fourth current collector segment, wherein the third active substance layer is arranged on the third current collector segment to form the third segment, and the fourth active substance layer is arranged on the fourth current collector segment to form the fourth segment [Modified Kawada meets this limitation as shown in the annotated Fig. and described in claim 29 above where Kawada’s negative electrode plate 12, as the claimed 2nd electrode plate, has the same structure as Kawada’s positive electrode plate 11except for having negative electrode substance materials and a negative current collector [Kawada 0033-0034] where the third current collector segment is the part of the current collector in segment 32 and the fourth current collector segment is the part of the current collector in segment 33.].
Regarding Claim 35, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 34, the tail of the third segment and the head of the fourth segment are connected through a second connecting part [Kawada throughout, see annotated Fig. in claim 29 above. The region where the tail of 32 and head of 33 meet would be considered the second connecting part as there is no specific structure of the second connecting part claimed.].
Regarding claim 40, Kawada discloses a winding method, comprising:
providing a first electrode plate [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first plate 11], wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, thin portion 32] and a second segment [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2, thick portion 33] , wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Fig. 2 a thinner portion of active material 31 is applied in segment 32 and a thicker portion of active materials 31 is applied to segment 33, which meets the claim];
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Kawada 0024, 0045 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Since the coating thickness for segment 32 is less than 33, the density of coating (coating per unit area) on the region of 32 would inherently be lower than the density of coating in segment 33. See MPEP 2112, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.]; and
the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector, wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first current collector 30], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Kawada 0024 and throughout, Figs. 1-2];
providing a second electrode plate, wherein a polarity of the second electrode plate is opposite to a polarity of the first electrode plate [Kawada 0015 and throughout, Figs. 1-2, first plate 11 is positive and second plate 12 is negative];
providing a separator [Kawada 0019 and throughout, Fig. 1, separator 13],
connecting the first segment to the separator [Kawada 0015, 0019, 0044-0050, Fig. 1, Kawada discloses plate 11 is wound with the separator and, as shown in Fig. 1, the separator 13 is connected to the inner most layer region of the first plate 11, which is first segment 32. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Kawada.] and connecting a head of the second segment, at the most upstream location in a winding direction from inside to outside, to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Kawada 0015, 0019, 0026, Figs. 1-2 and examples 0043-0050, The separator 13 is connected to all regions of the first plate 11 shown in Fig. 1. Thus, the head of the second segment would inherently be located through the separator 13. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Kawada is the structure of the claim limitation is met since the winding head of the second segment 33 is connected to the first segment 32 at “the most upstream location” relative to the location of the first segment 32. The head of 33 is adjacent to the winding tail of the first segment 32 and both are connected to the separator 13. See annotated Fig. below.] ; and
winding the first segment, the second segment, the separator, and the second electrode plate along the winding direction to form an electrode assembly, wherein the first segment is first wound with the separator and the second electrode plate, and the second segment is wound with the separator and the second electrode plate after the first segment [Kawada 0015, 0026, Figs. 1-2 and examples 0043-0050, Winding in this way with first segment 32 being wound in the inner portion of the coil and second segment 33 in the outer portion of the coil is discussed throughout.].
Kawada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in the method for Kawada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 41, modified Kawada discloses the electrode assembly of claim 21, wherein the electrode assembly is incorporated into at least one of
a battery cell, [Kawada 0006, Fig. 1 and throughout];
a battery including the battery cell [Kawada “a battery” is merely a use of the invention of claim 36 and does not provide additional structural limitations [See MPEP 2111.02 II, effect of the preamble]. Therefore, since the prior art of Kawada meets the structural limitations of claim 21, the limitation is met. Further, a battery is a known application of a battery cell.]; and
an electrical equipment including the battery and the battery cell [Kawada “an electrical equipment” is merely a use of the invention of claim 21 and does not provide additional structural limitations [See MPEP 2111.02 II, effect of the preamble]. Therefore, since the prior art of Kawada meets the structural limitations of claim 21, the limitation is met. Further, electrical equipment is a known application of a battery cell and battery.].
Claims 21-35 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada et al., US20130004853A1, as provided on the IDS dated 08/23/2023 and the ISR dated 12/11/2022 as CN102856538A, hereinafter Wada, and in further view of Kim US20230261266A1.
Regarding Claim 21, Wada discloses an electrode assembly [Wada throughout], comprising a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plates 21 and 22] wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound along a winding direction to form the electrode assembly [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7] , wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22b] and a second segment [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22a], wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22a, 22b are provided with two different density active layer substances 222], and the first segment is located upstream of the second segment along the winding direction from inside to outside [Wada abstract, 0045, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Where upstream is considered to be the center of the rolled assembly, 22b is upstream of 22a.]; and
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22b has a lower density than 22a], the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, current collector is core body 221], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, current collector 221 with active material 222 with low density region 22b and higher density region 22a]; the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, configured for separating the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, separator 23]; the first segment is connected to the separator [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7]; and a head of the second segment at the most upstream location in the winding direction from inside to outside is connected to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Wada abstract, 0042-0049 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Claim 21 is directed to a product and the limitation “to locate the head of the second segment through the separator” would be considered a product-by-process limitation per MPEP 2113. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Wada is the structure of the claim limitation is met since the winding head of the second segment 22a is connected to the first segment 22b at “the most upstream location” relative to the location of the first segment 22b. The head of 22b is adjacent to the winding tail of the first segment 22b and both are connected to the separator 23. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Wada. See annotated Fig. below.].
Wada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in Wada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 22, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the coating density of the first active substance layer is lower than the coating density of the second active substance layer [Wada abstract, 0043-0044, 0049, and throughout].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein a thickness of the first active substance layer is different from a thickness of the second active substance layer [Wada 0052 embodiment, 0058 embodiment, Fig. 6A embodiment, Fig. 7 embodiment].
Regarding Claim 24, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 23. Wada does not explicitly teach the ratio between the thickness of the first active substance and the second active layer substance; however, the skilled artisan would know that Wada Figs. 6A and 7 show a ratio of thicknesses of each of the first active substance layer 22b to the second active substance layer 22a is roughly ½. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date to use Wada’s teachings about thickness as a result-effective variable affecting coating density and thereby affecting both electrolyte permeability and capacity [Wada Fig. 6A, Fig. 7, abstract, 0012, 0052-0058, and throughout] combined with the thickness relationships shown in Fig. 6A and Fig. 7 to determine the workable thickness range through routine experimentation by balancing the requirements of good capacity and electrolyte permeability [Wada Fig. 6A, Fig. 7, abstract, 0012, 0052-0058, and throughout]. Per MPEP 2144.05II, routine optimization of the thickness ratio as claimed would be obvious for the reasons described above. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Regarding Claim 25, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein a first active substance material of the first active substance layer is the same as or different from a second active substance material of the second active substance layer [Wada 0042-0058 teaches the first active substance material is the same as the second active substance, and thus meets the claim limitation.].
Regarding Claim 26, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein along the winding direction from inside to outside, a tail of the first segment is connected to a head of the second segment, or a gap is provided between the tail of the first segment and the head of the second segment [Wada throughout, See annotated Fig. in claim 21 above. Wada discloses the tail of the first segment is connected to a head of the second segment.].
Regarding Claim 27, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector segment and a second current collector segment , wherein the first active substance layer is arranged on the first current collector segment to form the first segment, and the second active substance layer is arranged on the second current collector segment to form the second segment [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, first current collector segment is the portion of 221 with active material 222 with low density region 22b and second current collector segment is the portion of 221 with active material 222 with higher density region 22a].
Regarding Claim 28, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 27, wherein a tail of the first segment and the head of the second segment are connected through a first connecting part [Wada throughout, see annotated Fig. in claim 21 above. The region where the tail of 22b and head of 22a meet would be considered the first connecting part as there is no specific structure of the first connecting part claimed.].
Regarding Claim 29, Wada discloses an electrode assembly [Wada throughout], comprising a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate with opposite polarities [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, plates 21 and 22] wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound along a winding direction to form the electrode assembly [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7] , wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22b] and a second segment [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22a], wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22a, 22b are provided with two different density active layer substances 222], and the first segment is located upstream of the second segment along the winding direction from inside to outside [Wada abstract, 0045, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Where upstream is considered to be the center of the rolled assembly, 22b is upstream of 22a.]; and
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22b has a lower density than 22a], the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, current collector is core body 221], wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, current collector 221 with active material 222 with low density region 22b and higher density region 22a]; the electrode assembly further comprises a separator, configured for separating the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, separator 23]; the first segment is connected to the separator [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7]; and a head of the second segment at the most upstream location in the winding direction from inside to outside is connected to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Wada abstract, 0042-0049 and throughout, Figs. 1-7, Claim 21 is directed to a product and the limitation “to locate the head of the second segment through the separator” would be considered a product-by-process limitation per MPEP 2113. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Wada is the structure of the claim limitation is met since the winding head of the second segment 22a is connected to the first segment 22b at “the most upstream location” relative to the location of the first segment 22b. The head of 22b is adjacent to the winding tail of the first segment 22b and both are connected to the separator 23. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Wada. See annotated Fig. below.].
Wada is silent to wherein the second electrode plate comprises a third segment and a fourth segment, wherein the third segment is provided with a third active substance layer, and the fourth segment is provided with a fourth active substance layer; and the third segment is located upstream of the fourth segment in the winding direction from inside to outside. However, the configuration above merely requires duplicating the structure of Wada’s first electrode plate 22 [Wada 0039 and throughout] of claim 21 for Wada’s second electrode plate 22 [Wada 0039 and throughout] where the third segment is the same as 22b, except having the positive electrode material as the third active substance layer applied to the positive electrode current collector core body [Wada 0033-0034] as a lower density coating like segment 22b and the fourth segment is the same as 22a except having the positive electrode material as the fourth active substance layer applied to the positive electrode core body [Wada 0033-0034] as a higher density coating like segment 22a where the lower density third segment is located upstream of the higher density fourth segment in the winding direction from inside to outside (see the description of the first electrode in claim 21 and annotated Fig. below for additional details). Such duplication would be obvious since doing so would still allow the battery cell to operate. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, B duplication of parts. Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that such modification would be expected to have the same or additional benefits as the configuration of Wada’s first electrode plate where for the second electrode plate the density in the third segment is lower than the coating density of the fourth segment and thereby supporting improved electrolyte permeability and battery cell capacity [Wada Fig. 6A, Fig. 7, abstract, 0012, 0052-0058, and throughout].
Wada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in Wada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 30, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 29. With the modification to Wada as described in claim 29 where the second electrode plate has the same configuration as the first electrode plate except for the selection of electrode active substance materials and current collector materials, modified Wada discloses wherein a coating density of the third active substance layer is different from a coating density of the fourth active substance layer [Wada abstract, 0043-0044, 0049, and throughout, segment 22a (fourth active substance layer) and 22b (third active substance layer) have different coating densities].; and/or, a thickness of the third active substance layer is different from a thickness of the fourth active substance layer [Wada 0052 embodiment, 0058 embodiment, Fig. 6A embodiment, Fig. 7 embodiment, segment 22a (fourth active substance layer) and 22b (third active substance layer) have different thicknesses].; and/or, a third active substance material of the third active substance layer is the same as or different from an active substance material of the fourth active substance layer [Wada 0042-0058 teaches for the first electrode plate the first active substance material is the same as the second active substance, which as applied to the second plate as described in claim 29, the third active substance and four active substance layers are the same, and thus meets the claim limitation.].
Regarding Claim 31, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 30. Wada does not explicitly teach the ratio between the thickness of the third active substance and the fourth active layer substance; however, the skilled artisan would know that, as applied to claim 29 and 30 above, Wada Figs. 6A and 7 shows a ratio of thicknesses of each of the third active substance layer 22b to the fourth active substance layer 22a is roughly ½. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date to use Wada’s teachings about thickness as a result-effective variable affecting coating density and thereby affecting both electrolyte permeability and capacity [Wada Fig. 6A, Fig. 7, abstract, 0012, 0052-0058, and throughout] combined with the thickness relationships shown in Fig. 6A and Fig. 7 to determine the workable thickness range through routine experimentation by balancing the requirements of good capacity and electrolyte permeability [Wada Fig. 6A, Fig. 7, abstract, 0012, 0052-0058, and throughout]. Per MPEP 2144.05II, routine optimization of the thickness ratio as claimed would be obvious for the reasons described above. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Regarding Claim 32, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 29, wherein along the winding direction from inside to outside, a tail of the third segment is connected to a head of the fourth segment, or a gap is provided between the tail of the third segment and the head of the fourth segment [Modified Wada meets this limitation as shown in the annotated Fig. and described in claim 29 above where Wada’s positive electrode plate, as the claimed 2nd electrode plate, has the same structure as Wada’s negative electrode plate except for having positive electrode substance materials and a positive current collector electrode core.].
Regarding Claim 33, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 32, wherein the second electrode plate further comprises a second current collector, wherein the third active substance layer and the fourth active substance layer are respectively arranged on the second current collector [Modified Wada meets this limitation as described in claim 29, where the second current collector is the positive current collector [Wada 0033-0034] and the positive active material is applied with the same configuration of the first electrode plate where a lower density positive active material substance layer is applied in 22b and a higher density positive active material substance layer is applied in 22a.]
Regarding Claim 34, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 32, wherein the second electrode plate further comprises a third current collector segment and a fourth current collector segment, wherein the third active substance layer is arranged on the third current collector segment to form the third segment, and the fourth active substance layer is arranged on the fourth current collector segment to form the fourth segment [Modified Wada meets this limitation as shown in the annotated Fig. and described in claim 29 above where Wada’s positive electrode plate, as the claimed 2nd electrode plate, has the same structure as Wada’s negative electrode plate except for having positive electrode substance materials and a positive current collector electrode core.].
Regarding Claim 35, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 34, the tail of the third segment and the head of the fourth segment are connected through a second connecting part [Wada throughout, see annotated Fig. in claim 29 above. The region where the tail of 22b and head of 22a meet would be considered the second connecting part as there is no specific structure of the second connecting part claimed.].
Regarding claim 40, Wada discloses a winding method, comprising:
providing a first electrode plate [Wada 0050, plate 22], wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first segment and a second segment [Wada abstract, 0052, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22b as the first segment and 22a as the second segment] , wherein the first segment is provided with a first active substance layer, and the second segment is provided with a second active substance layer [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, 0052, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22a, 22b are provided with two different density active layer substances 222];
a coating density of the first active substance layer is different from a coating density of the second active substance layer [Wada abstract and throughout, Figs. 1-7, 22b has a lower density than 22a]; and
the first electrode plate further comprises a first current collector, wherein the first active substance layer and the second active substance layer are respectively arranged on the first current collector [Wada abstract, 0042-0049, and throughout, Figs. 1-7, current collector 221 with active material 222 with low density region 22b and higher density region 22a];
providing a second electrode plate, wherein a polarity of the second electrode plate is opposite to a polarity of the first electrode plate [Wada 0032 and throughout, Fig. 1-3, second electrode plate is a positive plate 21 which is opposite polarity of negative first plate 22];
providing a separator [Wada 0032 and throughout, Fig. 1-3, separator 23],
connecting the first segment to the separator and connecting a head of the second segment, at the most upstream location in a winding direction from inside to outside, to the separator, to locate the head of the second segment through the separator [Wada 0048, 0052, and throughout Figs. 1-4, Wada discloses the method for forming the first and second segments 22b/a [0052] and then plate 22 is stacked with plate 21 with the separator in between and forming the first winding turn with first segment 22b [0048] and then subsequently second segment 22a. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Wada is the structure of the claim limitation is met since the winding head of the second segment 22a is connected to the first segment 22b at “the most upstream location” relative to the location of the first segment 22b. The head of 22b is adjacent to the winding tail of the first segment 22b and both are connected to the separator 23. Thus, the claim limitation is met by Wada. See annotated Fig. below.]; and
winding the first segment, the second segment, the separator, and the second electrode plate along the winding direction to form an electrode assembly, wherein the first segment is first wound with the separator and the second electrode plate, and the second segment is wound with the separator and the second electrode plate after the first segment [Wada 0019, 0032, 0048-0052, and throughout, Figs. 1-4, rolling in this way is discussed throughout].
Wada is silent to the number of turns as claimed. Kim teaches an electrode assembly with a first segment and a second segment [Kim 0021, 0047, 0054-0056, 0058, 0060-0063, 0068-0070 and throughout, Figs. 3-6 first segment 100a and second segment 100b] wherein a number of first turns in the first segment is between one and five turns [Kim 0060, Kim teaches 0.5 to 1.5 turns, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.], and the number of first turns in the first segment is less than a number of second turns in the second segment [Kim Figs. 3 with 5, Kim Fig. 5 is the portion V or Fig. 3. Fig. 5 shows segment 100a is 1 turn and 100b is more than 1 turn. Further, comparing Fig. 5 with Fig. 3, 100b has many more than 1 turn.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kim’s teaching about the number of turns for the first segments and second segments in the method for Wada’s electrode assembly for the predictable result of an electrode assembly supporting reduction of the stress concentration in the central bending portion of the wound electrode [Kim 0014-0016, 0057-0058 and throughout] and suppressing the formation of cracks and short circuits [Kim 0057-0058 and throughout], thereby improving safety [Kim 0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 41, modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, wherein the electrode assembly is incorporated into at least one of
a battery cell [Wada abstract, Figs. 1-2, and throughout];
a battery including the battery cell [Wada “a battery” is merely a use of the invention of claim 21 and does not provide additional structural limitations [See MPEP 2111.02 II, effect of the preamble]. Therefore, since the prior art of Wada meets the structural limitations of claim 21, the limitation is met. Further, a battery is a known application of a battery cell.]; and
electrical equipment including the battery and the battery cell [Wada, “an electrical equipment” is merely a use of the invention of claim 21 and does not provide additional structural limitations [See MPEP 2111.02 II, effect of the preamble]. Therefore, since the prior art of Wada meets the structural limitations of claim 21, the limitation is met. Further, electrical equipment is a known application of a battery cell and battery.].
Claim 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and/or Kawada in view of Kim, and/or Wada in view of Kim, as provided for claim 21 above, and in further view of Fukui et al. [US20110217577A1, provided previously as pertinent art], hereinafter Fukui.
Regarding Claim 42, modified Kim, modified Kawada, or modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21, but is silent to wherein: the first segment and the second segment are disconnected current collector segments, and the separator provides winding power for the second segment to achieve sequential winding of the first segment and the second segment. Fukui teaches an electrode assembly [Fukui abstract and throughout] with a first electrode plate with a first segment and second segment that are disconnected current collector segments connected through connecting member 14 [Fukui 0099-0101 and throughout, Figs. 7, 9, 10, first segment 12A and a second segment 12B]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Fukui’s disconnected current collector with each of modified Kim (segments 100a and 100b, current collectors 120a and 120b, active layer 130a/b), modified Kawada (segments 32/33 with active layer 31 on current collector 30), or modified Wada (segment 22a/22b, with active layer 222 on current collector 221), by disconnecting the segments/current collectors/active layers into two individual segments connected by a connecting portion such as Fukui’s connection portion 14 [Fukui 0099-0101]. As applied, when the electrode assemblies of modified Kim, modified Kawada, or modified Wada are stacked with their taught separators and wound as described above in claim 21, the separators would be expected to provide winding power for the second segment to be sequentially wound as a first segment followed by a second segment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Fukui’s teachings as described with the electrode assemblies of modified Kim and/or modified Kawada, and/or modified Wada for the predictable result of a wound assembly with a constant space between electrode units to accommodate expansion and facilitated winding of the electrode assembly [Fukui 0014, 0022-0023, 0092, 0108].
Claim 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, and/or Kawada in view of Kim, and/or Wada in view of Kim, as provided for claim 21 above, and in further view of Shi et al. CN112186273A as provided on the IDS dated 8/23/2023, machine translation relied upon provided, hereinafter Shi.
Regarding Claim 43, modified Kim, modified Kawada, or modified Wada discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 21 but are silent to a first active substance material formula of the first active substance layer is different from a second active substance material formula of the second active substance layer. Shi teaches a wound core battery [Shi 0002 and throughout] with a positive current collector with a first active material coating and a second active material coating on one surface of the positive electrode [Shi 0010 and throughout] with a lower impedance active material in the first segment (inner portion of the wound core) and a higher impedance active material in the second segment (outer portion of the wound core) [Shi 0018-0020 and throughout]. Shi teaches the first positive electrode active material and the second positive electrode active material can be different [Shi 0026-0033] and are independently selected from lithium cobalt oxide, lithium iron phosphate, and ternary positive electrode materials [Shi 0033]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Shi’s teachings about using different electrode active materials with different impedances in modified Kim, modified Kawada, or modified Wada electrode assemblies for the predictable result of a battery able to dissipate heat due to a lower impedance active material being used in the first segment, which is wound into the inner core, without reducing the energy density of the battery [Shi 0041-0042 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 44, modified Kim, modified Kawada, or modified Wada further modified by Shi discloses the electrode assembly according to claim 43, wherein:
each of a first active substance material of the first active substance material formula and a second active substance material of the second active substance material formula includes a different positive electrode active substance material including at least one of lithium cobalt oxide, lithium manganese oxide, lithium iron phosphate, lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, lithium manganese oxide with enriched lithium, and lithium nickel cobalt aluminate [Shi 0033, Shi’s first and second active substance materials of the first and second active substance material formulas are independently selected from lithium cobalt oxide, lithium iron phosphate, and ternary positive electrode materials, which reads on the claimed lithium cobalt oxide, lithium iron phosphate, lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide, and lithium nickel cobalt aluminate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Shi’s teachings about using different electrode active materials with different impedances in modified Kim, modified Kawada, or modified Wada electrode assemblies for the predictable result of a battery able to dissipate heat due to a lower impedance active material being used in the first segment, which is wound into the inner core, without reducing the energy density of the battery [Shi 0041-0042 and throughout].
Response to Arguments
Applicant amendments to claims 21, 29, and 40 are persuasive in overcoming the anticipation rejections provided in the Office Action dated February 18, 2026; thus, the previous rejections are withdrawn. The prior art of Kim as provided above was found to read on the new limitations in claims 21, 29, and 40; thus, obviousness rejections over Kim, Kim in view of Kawada, and Kim in view of Wada are provided above for claims 21-35 and 40-41. Modified Kim in view of Fukui, modified Kawada in view of Fukui, and modified Wada in view of Fukui makes new claim 42 obvious as provided above. Modified Kim in view of Shi, modified Kawada in view of Shi, and modified Wada in view of Shi makes new claims 43-44 obvious as provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724