Detailed Action
Drawings
Applicant’s amended specification filed 05/21/2026 overcome the drawing objection issued in the office action mailed 03/10/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities
Regarding claim 1, recitation “… such that a heating coil wound at the upper side of the circular base plate is spaced apart from the upper side of the circular base plate” is believed to be in error for - - such that [[a]]the heating coil wound at the upper side of the circular base plate is spaced apart from the upper side of the circular base plate - -
Regarding claim 2, term “adjacent ones of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions” is believed to be in error for - - adjacent [[ones]]unit mounting groove portions of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and its dependents,
i) term “repeatedly” in recitation “wherein the plurality of unit mounting groove portions are repeatedly disposed in an annular arrangement with respect to the center sensor portion” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether said recitation means a) the plurality of unit mounting groove portions are disposed in an annular arrangement (requires one annular arrangement); or b) a first plurality of unit mounting groove portions are disposed in a first annular arrangement and a second plurality of unit mounting groove portions are repeatedly disposed in a second annular arrangement (requires a plurality of annular arrangements);
ii) recitations “one or more heat discharge openings each provided at a bottom surface of a respective one of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions”, “the heat discharge openings adjacent to each other”, and “the heat discharge openings” render the claim indefinite because: a) it is unclear how many heat discharge opening is required (singular or plural); b) it is unclear whether either of “the heat discharge openings adjacent to each other” and “the heat discharge openings” refer to the previously claimed one or more heat discharge openings or additional heat discharge openings; and c) it is further unclear which heat discharge opening(s) of these claimed heat discharge openings are related (and how they are related) and which heat discharge opening(s) of said claimed heat discharge openings are not related;
iii) term “intensively” is a subjective term and it is unclear what standard, e.g., a specific heat discharging speed, is used to allow the public to determine the scope of the claim, i.e., what type/kind of heat discharging is defined as intensive;
iv) the recitations “each … extending in a radial direction” and “the upward wind is guided in a radial direction” are unclear whether the claimed two radial direction refer to the same radial direction or two different radial directions.
Regarding claim 2,
i) recitation “one or more heating coil coupling portions, each provided between adjacent ones of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions” is unclear how much heating coil is required (singular or plural) and whether said recitation means a) each of a plurality of heating coil coupling portions is provided between a respective pair of two adjacent unit mounting groove portions of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions; or b) a heating coil coupling portion is provided between a pair of two adjacent unit mounting groove portions of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions;
ii) it is unclear whether term “a radial direction” refers to any of the previously claimed two radial direction or a different radial direction.
Regarding claim 3,
i) term “the plurality of heat discharge openings” lack antecedent basis and it is unclear whether said term refers to any of the previously claimed heat discharge openings or different heat discharge openings;
ii) term “repeatedly” in recitation “wherein the plurality of heat discharge openings are repeatedly disposed in an annular arrangement with respect to the center sensor portion” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether said recitation means a) the plurality of heat discharge openings are disposed in an annular arrangement (requires one annular arrangement); or b) a first plurality of heat discharge openings are disposed in a first annular arrangement and a second plurality of heat discharge openings are repeatedly disposed in a second annular arrangement (requires a plurality of annular arrangements);
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear whether term “the circular holes” lack antecedent basis and it is unclear whether said term refers to i) the previously claimed plurality of circular holes; or ii) a portion of the previously claimed plurality of circular holes; or iii) different circular holes.
Regarding claim 7,
i) term “the plurality of heat discharge openings” lack antecedent basis and it is unclear whether said term refers to any of the previously claimed heat discharge openings or different heat discharge openings;
ii) term “repeatedly” in recitation “wherein the plurality of heat discharge openings are repeatedly disposed in an annular arrangement with respect to the center sensor portion” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether said recitation means a) the plurality of heat discharge openings are disposed in an annular arrangement (requires one annular arrangement); or b) a first plurality of heat discharge openings are disposed in a first annular arrangement and a second plurality of heat discharge openings are repeatedly disposed in a second annular arrangement (requires a plurality of annular arrangements);
iii) it is unclear whether term “at least one or more cooling fan” refers to the previously claimed one or more cooling fan in claim 1 or different cooling fan;
iv) it is unclear whether term “the heat discharge openings” refers to any of the previously claimed heat discharge openings in claim 1 or different heat discharge openings;
v) it is unclear it is unclear whether term “a radial direction” refers to any of the previously claimed two radial direction or a different radial direction.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear whether term “a ferrite core” refers to the previously claimed respective ferrite core in claim 1 or an additional ferrite core.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. If term “a ferrite core” in claim 8 refers to the respective ferrite core previously claimed in claim 1, claim 8 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 because all of the limitations of claim 8 are previously claimed in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG 20210259064 in view of HWANGBO 20180376541 and SOM 20180025838.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, HWANG teaches the invention as claimed: A base plate structure (comprising 210 in Fig. 16) facilitating heat discharge (by providing cooling air flowing through gaps G1 and G2, see Figs. 15 and 17-18 and [0198-0199]) of a heating coil (WC in Figs. 16-18 and 23-24), comprising:
a circular base plate (210 in Fig. 16) wherein at least one or more sensors (temperature sensor 400, [0222]) are disposed in a center sensor portion (where 203 is, see Figs. 16-18);
a plurality of mounting groove portions (a plurality of groove portions that each is a fan-shaped section, only one groove portion is marked in annotated Fig. 16 for clarity, also see 18 and [0211 and 0213]), each is defined by a closed partition wall (the wall forms each groove portion as the fan-shaped section, see annotated Fig. 16) protruding from a lower side (where a lower surface of plate 210 that contacts the ferrites 211 is, see annotated Fig. 18) of the circular base plate (210), wherein the plurality of unit mounting groove portions are repeatedly disposed in an annular arrangement (the plurality of groove portions are disposed circumferentially in an annular arrangement, see Fig. 16) with respect to the center sensor portion (where 203 is), and a respective ferrite core (a respective ferrite core 211) is coupled to each of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions (a respective groove portion, see Fig. 16);
one or more protrusion portions (comprising a plurality of protrusion portions formed by a plurality of ribs positioned on support beams 207s in Figs. 16-18 and a plurality of protrusion portions formed by a plurality of ribs positioned on support beams 209 in Figs. 16-18, only one of each protrusion portion is marked in annotated Fig. 23 for clarification) protruding from an upper side (where an upper surface of plate 210 that contacts the heating coil WC is, see annotated Fig. 18) of the circular base plate (210) such that a heating coil (the portion of the heating coil WC located radially inner as marked in annotated Fig. 18) wound at the upper side (the portion of the upper side located radially inner as marked in annotated Fig. 18) of the circular base plate (210) is spaced apart (by the rib(s) that separate the upper side as the portion located radially inner and the portion located radially outer) from the upper side (the portion of the upper side located radially outer as marked in annotated Fig. 18) of the circular base plate (210); and
one or more heat discharge openings each (each of a plurality of heat discharge openings 212, see Figs. 16-17 and [0160]) provided at a bottom surface (the surface shown in Fig. 16 where an inlet of 212 is, only one is marked in annotated Fig. 16 for clarity, also see Fig. 17 for cooling air flow) of a respective one of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions (a respective unit mounting groove portion, see annotated Fig. 16),
wherein the one or more protrusion portions (comprising the plurality of protrusion portions formed by a plurality of ribs positioned on support beams 207s in Figs. 16-18 and the plurality of protrusion portions formed by a plurality of ribs positioned on support beams 209 in Figs. 16-18, only one of each protrusion portion is marked in annotated Fig. 23 for clarification) includes one or more main protrusion portions (the plurality of protrusion portions formed by the plurality of ribs positioned on support beams 209 in Figs. 16-18, only one is marked in annotated Fig. 23 for clarification) each traversing between the heat discharge openings adjacent to each other (see annotated Fig. 16; according to Cambridge dictionary, adjacent means next/near to) and extending in a radial direction (from where 203 is to where 205 is, see Fig. 16) from the center sensor portion (where 203 is, see Fig. 16) to a periphery portion (where edge 205 is, see Fig. 16) of the circular base plate (210),
wherein, when the heating coil (WC) is coupled to the upper side (where the upper surface is, see annotated Fig. 18) of the circular base plate (210),
an upward wind (indicated as the solid-arrow flows in the vertical direction in Figs. 17-18) generated by at least one or more cooling fans (90) disposed at the lower side (where the lower surface of plate 210 is, see annotated Fig. 18) of the circular base plate (210) and ascending therefrom passes through the heat discharge openings (interpreted as any heat discharge opening 212, see Fig. 17) and directly impinges on a lower surface (annotated Fig. 17, also see Fig. 16) of the heating coil (WC), thereby intensively discharging heat at a first heat discharge region (where the heat discharge openings are, see Figs. 16-17, and because cooling air firstly passing though said region, more heat can be transferred to the cooling air); and
thereafter, the upward wind (indicated as the solid-arrow flows in the radial direction in Figs. 17-18) is guided in a radial direction (from where 203 is to where 205 is, see Figs. 16-17) of the circular base plate (210) along a flow path (gap 213a in Fig. 17 and gap 213b in Fig. 18, where the cooling air illustrated as dashed-arrow flows through, see annotated Fig. 23) formed by the heating coil (WC) and the one or more protrusion portions (see annotated Fig. 23), thereby progressively discharging heat (when cooling air progressively flowing through) from the heating coil (WC) at a second heat discharge region (where gap 213a in Fig. 17 and gap 213b in Fig. 18 are), and then discharged outside (at gap G2, see Figs. 17-18) the circular base plate (210).
HWANG does not teach wherein at least one or more hall effect sensors are disposed in said center sensor portion.
However, HWANGBO teaches a sensor (20, Fig. 4) that is a combined unit of temperature sensor (402) and hall effect sensor (comprising sensing coil 44 and magnetic core 404 and per [0052-0054] the sensing coil 44 receiving a current from controller, if the cooling vessel is not placed or is non-inductive, the inductance value L of sensing coil 44 does not change, and if the cooling vessel is placed and is inductive, the inductance value L of sensing coil 44 changes, such that per [0045] the placement and material of the vessel is detected, which indicate the sensing coiling 44 is part of a hall effect sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify HWANG with HWANGBO’s sensor combined temperature sensor and hall effect sensor, such that
wherein at least one or more hall effect sensors are disposed in a center sensor portion (the modification is to replace HWANG’s temperature sensor with HWANGBO’s sensor combined temperature sensor and hall effect sensor) in order to accurately and quickly identify the type of cooking vessel that is able to be heated via induction while consuming less power (HWANGBO, [0008-0009]).
HWANG in view of HWANGBO does not teach the heating coil wound in at least two or more stacked layers.
However, SOM teaches a heating coil (4 or 5 in Fig. 4) wound at an upper side of a circular base plate (2, see Figs. 1-2 and 4) in at least two or more stacked layers (Fig. 4 and per [0067] heating coil 4 or 5 can be wounded in a single plane or a plurality of planes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify HWANG in view of HWANGBO with SOM’s wound a heat coil in at least two or more stacked layers because it is noted that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, wound a heating coil in a single layer, for another, in this case, wound a heating coil in at least two or more staked layers, to obtain predictable results, in this case, providing heating via a heating coil, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, MPEP 2141 III(B).
Regarding claim 2, HWANG further teaches one or more heating coil coupling portions each (the upper surface of each of the plurality of support beams 209 where the heating coil WC is placed on, see illustration in annotated Fig. 23) provided between adjacent ones (see annotated Fig. 16) of the plurality of unit mounting groove portions, wherein the one or more heating coil coupling portions (the upper surfaces of the plurality of support beams 209) are disposed in a radial direction (from 203 to 205, see Fig. 6) with respect to the center sensor portion (where 203 is) such that the heating coil (WC) is fixed at the upper side (where the upper surface of plate 210 that contacts the heating coil WC is, see annotated Fig. 18 in claim 1) of the circular base plate (210).
Regarding claim 3, HWANG further teaches wherein the plurality of heat discharge openings (the plurality of heat discharge openings 212, see Fig. 16) are repeatedly disposed in an annular arrangement (best seen in Fig. 16) with respect to the center sensor portion (where 203 is, see Fig. 16), such that an upper space (where gap 213a in Fig. 17 and gap 213b in Fig. 18 are) and a lower space (where fan 90 in Fig. 17 is) of the circular base plate (210) vertically communicate with each other (in order for the cooling air provided by fan 90 to flow through gaps G1, 213a, 213b, and G2, see Figs. 17-18).
Regarding claim 6, HWANG in view of HWANGBO and SOM further teaches wherein a plurality of circular holes (comprising a HWANG’s circular hole located at the center of HWANG’s base plate 210 as shown in HWANG’s Fig. 16 and a HWANG’s circular hole h1 of HWANG’s plate 100 as shown in HWANG’s Fig. 13) having a predetermined radius (each of HWANG’s circular hole of HWANG’s base plate 210 in HWANG’s Fig. 16 and HWANG’s circular hole h1 of HWANG’s plate 100 in HWANG’s Fig. 13 has a predetermined radius for the sensor to be inserted therethrough and contact HWANG’s heat insulator 10, see HWANG’s Figs. 15 and 19-20 and [0255], wherein the senor is HWANGBO’s combined temperature sensor and hall effect sensor 20 as taught by HWANGBO’s Fig. 4 and [0045 and 0052-0054]) are disposed in a center of the center sensor portion (a center of where HWANG’s 203 is, as taught by HWANG’s Figs. 16 and 20 and [0255]) such that the at least one or more hall effect sensors (HWANGBO’s combined temperature sensor and hall effect sensor 20 as taught by HWANGBO’s Fig. 4 and [0045 and 0052-0054]) pass therethrough in a vertical direction and are fixed therein (see HWANG’s Fig. 19-20), wherein the circular holes are arranged in one direction and adjacent circular holes of the plurality of circular holes are partially overlapped with each other (HWANG’s circular hole located at the center of HWANG’s base plate 210 as shown in HWANG’s Fig. 16 and HWANG’s circular hole h1 of HWANG’s plate 100 as shown in HWANG’s Fig. 13 are arranged to be adjacent to each other and partially overlapped with each other in the vertical direction where sensor is inserted, see HWANG’s Fig. 19-20).
Regarding claim 7, HWANG further teaches wherein the plurality of heat discharge openings are repeatedly disposed in an annular arrangement (the plurality of heat discharge openings 212 are disposed in an annular arrangement, see Fig. 16) with respect to the center sensor portion (where 203 is, see Fig. 16), and at least one or more cooling fans (90, Figs. 17-18 and [0160]) disposed at the lower side (where the lower surface of plate 210, see annotated Fig. 18 in claim 1) of the circular base plate (20) generate the upward wind (indicated as the solid-arrow flows in the vertical direction in Figs. 17-18) that passes through the heat discharge openings (interpreted as any heat discharge opening 212, see Fig. 17) and is guided in a radial direction (from where 203 is to where 205 is, see Figs. 16-17) of the circular base plate (210) along the flow path (gap 213a in Fig. 17 and gap 213b in Fig. 18, where the cooling air illustrated as dashed-arrow flows through, see annotated Fig. 23 in claim 1) formed by the heating coil (WC) and the one or more protrusion portions (see annotated Fig. 23 in claim 1) to be discharged outside (at gap G2, see Figs. 17-18) the circular base plate (210).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, on p. 9, “(i) HWANG does not disclose heat discharge openings at the bottom surface of unit mounting groove portions through which air passes to directly impinge on stacked heating coil layers. The heat discharge openings (212) of HWANG are located at the lower surface of the base plate (210), and the cooling air primarily flows through the cooling passage defined by the bracket (100) - not through openings that channel air to directly strike the heating coil. (ii) HWANG does not disclose a flow path formed cooperatively by the heating coil and the protrusion portions. In HWANG, it is the bracket (100) that defines the cooling passage (gaps 213a and 213b), and the heating coil WC itself does not participate in forming the cooling air flow path. (iii) HWANG does not disclose or suggest the two-stage heat discharge mechanism of a first heat discharge region (intensive, direct impingement) followed by a second heat discharge region (progressive, radially-guided discharge). HWANG's cooling is achieved through a unitary bracket-defined cooling passage structure”.
Examiner does not agree said argument because: i) HWANG teaches heat discharge openings (212s) formed at the bottom surface (the surface as shown in Fig. 16 where the inlet of 212 is, see annotated Fig. 16 in claim 1) of the unit mounting groove portions (fan-shaped sections, see annotated Fig. 16 in claim 1), which air (indicated by solid arrow in Figs. 17-18) passes to directly impinge on the heating coil (WC; as shown in Fig. 17, air flows through gap G1 and heat discharge opening 212, directly impinges on WC, and then flows through gap 213a in Fig. 17 and gap 213b in Fig. 18 in the radial direction), wherein the claimed first heat discharge region is where the heat discharge openings are (air firstly contacts WC and is able to absorb more heat from WC) and the claimed second heat discharge region is where gaps 213b in Fig. 18 are (air progressively and radially flows through as shown in Fig. 18 to absorb heat); ii) SOM further teaches a heating coil can be wound in a single layer or a plurality of stacked layers, and iii) thus, HWANG in view of HWANGBO and SOM teaches the cooling structure as claimed, see details in rejection above.
Applicant argues, on p. 10, “… This structural configuration enables the heat discharge openings to function as accelerating nozzles for the upward wind, while the main protrusion portions, together with the heating coil, define a radial flow path that guides the wind outward. The Examiner has mapped HWANG's support beams (207, 209) and ribs to the protrusion portions of Claim 1. However, HWANG's support beams function primarily as structural supports for positioning the working coil WC - they are not configured to, and do not, form a cooperative flow path with the heating coil that guides cooling air radially outward in the manner claimed. The functional interplay between the heat discharge openings (acting as accelerating nozzles), the main protrusion portions, and the heating coil to create the claimed two-stage heat discharge mechanism is absent in HWANG”.
Examiner does not agree said argument because: i) the claim language in claim 1 as does required the heat discharge openings to function as accelerating nozzles for the upward wind as Applicant argues, and it is noted “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims”, MPEP 2145(VI); ii) HWANG’s ribs that protruding from a respective one of the support beams 209s is interpreted as the claimed main protrusion portion, and as shown in Fig. 18, HWANG’s ribs, i.e., the claimed main protrusion portion, corresponding with the heating coil (WC) coupled therebetween, forms the gas 213b to guide cooling air, and iii) thus, HWANG teaches the main protrusion portion as claimed, see details in the rejection above.
Examiner Note
Applicant is suggested to further clarify the structural differences between the disclosed invention and the arts on record, e.g., the heating coiling comprising a multi-layer portion vertically overlapping with the heat discharge opening and a single-layer portion vertically overlapping with the ferrite core, and/or the heat discharging opening is provided in the unit mounting groove portion and radially inward from the ferrite core, and/or the flow path for guiding the cooling air is formed circumferentially between two adjacent main protrusion portions and vertically between the upper surface of the base plate and the heating coil.
An interview may be scheduled to promote compact prosecution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JINGCHEN LIU/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741