Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “assumed” in claim 4, 14, 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “assumed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The applicant specification doesn’t disclose how the third node is assumed to receive the firs signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15, 16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0107203 A1)
1, Wu discloses a first node for wireless communications, comprising: a first receiver, receiving a first signaling [abstract, par 0180,The base station transmits M1 first-type reference signals; receives M2 second-type radio signals in first time-domain resources, with any of the M2 second-type radio signals being associated with one of the M1 first-type reference signals. The gNB 410 includes a controller/processor 475, a memory 476, a receiving processor 470, a transmitting processor 416, a multi-antenna receiving processor 472, a multi-antenna transmitting processor 471, a transmitter/receiver 418 and an antenna 420.];
the first signaling used for triggering a first channel sensing; and a second receiver, performing the first channel sensing [abstract, par 0380 If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, first-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal; otherwise, second-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal. In Embodiment 12, the second-type channel monitoring is described using a flowchart shown in FIG. 12. In S1201, the base station in the present disclosure is in an idle state. In S1202 determine if transmission is needed. If yes, go to S1203; otherwise, go back to S1201. In S1203 sense channel for one defer duration],
the first channel sensing used for determining a first time-frequency resource block; and a first transmitter [abstract, If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, first-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal];
transmitting a second signaling the second signaling used for indicating a target identifier and the first time-frequency resource block [par 0205, The B1 transmits N1 first-type reference signals in S101, receives first uplink information in S102, transmits N2 first-type reference signals in S103 ];
wherein the first signaling indicates a first identifier and a first parameter; the first identifier indicates a second node: the first parameter comprises at least one of a first resource pool, a first priority, a first time length or a first frequency-domain resource size [par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
the first parameter is used for performing the first channel sensing [par 0190, 0347-0351, If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, the first-type channel monitoring in the present disclosure is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal; In S1103 perform energy detection for one sensing interval. In S1104 determine if the channel has been idle during all slot durations of the sensing interval. If yes, go to S1105 and transmit; otherwise, go back to S1103].
the first identifier is used for determining the target identifier [par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
the second node is a transmitter of a first signal [fig 5, par 0206, The U2 receives N1 first-type reference signals in S201, transmits first uplink information in S202, receives first information in S21];
where the first time-frequency resource block is reserved for a transmission of the first signal [par 0021, 0205, the method is characterized in that: a probability of transmitting the first radio signal in the first time-domain resources when the first-type channel monitoring is adopted is larger than a probability of transmitting the first radio signal in the first time-domain resources when the second-type channel monitoring is adopted];
the second node and the first node are Non-Co-located [par 0639, an antenna port transmitting the first target first-type reference signal and an antenna port transmitting the first-type reference signal of the M1 first-type reference signals associated with the given second-type radio signal are quasi co-located].
2, WU teaches the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that time-domain resources occupied by the second signaling are earlier than time-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block [par 0208, The first information is used by the U2 for determining at least a part of Q time windows, with time-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals belonging to the Q time windows. The Q is a positive integer. The first signaling indicates frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals],
where an interval between a start of the time-domain resources occupied by the second signaling and a start of the time-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block is equal to a first time offset [par 0407, an end of time-domain resources occupied by the second-type channel monitoring is no later than a start of time-domain resources occupied by the first radio signal in the present disclosure]
5. Wu disclose the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first signal indicates the target identifier [par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
6. Wu provide the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first signaling comprises a first resource pool [par 0021, the first radio signal in the first time-domain resources when the first-type channel monitoring is adopted is larger than a probability of transmitting the first radio signal in the first time-domain resources when the second-type channel monitoring is adopted].
7. Wu illustrate the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first priority is used for transmitting the first signal; the first priority is a Layer 1 (L1) priority, or the first priority is configured by a higher-layer signaling [par 0125-0129, the first radio signal contains a L1 layer signaling, the first radio signal contains a L1 layer control signaling]
10. Wu demonstrates the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first frequency-domain resource size is no smaller than a number of sub-channel(s) occupied by the first time-frequency resource block, or the first frequency-domain resource size is equal to a size of frequency-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block, or the first frequency-domain resource size is equal to the number of sub-channel(s) occupied by the first time-frequency resource block, or the first frequency-domain resource size is equal to a number of physical resource block(s) (PRB(s)) occupied by the first time-frequency resource block, or the first frequency-domain resource size is equal to a number of subcarrier(s) occupied by the first time-frequency resource block [par 0646, the first target first-type reference signal is the first-type reference signal of the M1 first-type reference signals associated with the given second-type radio signal]
11. Wu discloses a second node for wireless communications, comprising: a second transmitter [par 0181,The UE 450 includes a controller/processor 459, a memory 460, a data source 467, a transmitting processor 468, a receiving processor 456, a multi-antenna transmitting processor 457, a multi-antenna receiving processor 458, a transmitter/receiver 454 and an antenna],
transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling used for indicating a first identifier and a first parameter [fig 5, par 0205, 0206, The U2 receives N1 first-type reference signals in S201, transmits first uplink information in S202, receives first information in S21, receives a first signaling in S203, receives M1 first-type reference signals in S22, and transmits at least one of M2 second-type radio signals in first time-domain resources in S23]
and a third receiver, receiving a second signaling, the second signaling indicating a target identifier and a first time-frequency resource block [par 0207, 0208, The U3 receives N2 first-type reference signals in S301, transmits second uplink information in S302, and receives a first radio signal in first time-domain resources in S31. The N1 is a positive integer. Measurements targeting the N2 first-type reference signals are used by the U3 for generating the second uplink information, and the second uplink information is used by the B1 for determining a first reference signal, with the antenna port transmitting the first radio signal being associated with the first reference signal. The N2 is a positive integer]
a third transmitter, transmitting a first signal on the first time-frequency resource block; wherein the first identifier is used for identifying the second node[par 0208, The N1 is a positive integer. Measurements targeting the N2 first-type reference signals are used by the U3 for generating the second uplink information, and the second uplink information is used by the B1 for determining a first reference signal, with the antenna port transmitting the first radio signal being associated with the first reference signal. The N2 is a positive integer]
the first parameter comprises at least one of a first resource pool, a first priority, a first time length or a first frequency-domain resource size[par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
the first parameter is used by the first node for performing a first channel sensing, the first channel sensing used for determining the first time-frequency resource block sensing [par 0190, 0347-0351, If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, the first-type channel monitoring in the present disclosure is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal; In S1103 perform energy detection for one sensing interval. In S1104 determine if the channel has been idle during all slot durations of the sensing interval. If yes, go to S1105 and transmit; otherwise, go back to S1103],
where the first node is a target receiver of the first signaling[par 0068, 0183, first-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal; otherwise, second-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal. In downlink transmission, at the UE 450, each receiver 454 receives a signal via the corresponding antenna 452. Each receiver 454 recovers the information modulated to the RF carrier and converts the radio frequency stream into a baseband multicarrier symbol stream to provide to the receiving processor 456. The receiving processor 456 and the multi-antenna receiving processor 458 perform signal processing functions of the layer 1],
the target identifier is related to the first identifier par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
the second node and the first node are Non-Co-located[par 0639, an antenna port transmitting the first target first-type reference signal and an antenna port transmitting the first-type reference signal of the M1 first-type reference signals associated with the given second-type radio signal are quasi co-located].
12. Wu displays the second node according to claim 11, characterized in that time-domain resources occupied by the second signaling are earlier than time-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block[par 0208, The first information is used by the U2 for determining at least a part of Q time windows, with time-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals belonging to the Q time windows. The Q is a positive integer. The first signaling indicates frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals],
where an interval between a start of the time-domain resources occupied by the second signaling and a start of the time-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block is equal to a first time offset[par 0407, an end of time-domain resources occupied by the second-type channel monitoring is no later than a start of time-domain resources occupied by the first radio signal in the present disclosure]
15. Wu reveal the second node according to claim 11, characterized in that the first signal indicates the target identifier[par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
16. Wu creates a method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising: receiving a first signaling [abstract, par 0180,The base station transmits M1 first-type reference signals; receives M2 second-type radio signals in first time-domain resources, with any of the M2 second-type radio signals being associated with one of the M1 first-type reference signals. The gNB 410 includes a controller/processor 475, a memory 476, a receiving processor 470, a transmitting processor 416, a multi-antenna receiving processor 472, a multi-antenna transmitting processor 471, a transmitter/receiver 418 and an antenna 420.];
the first signaling used for triggering a first channel sensing; and performing the first channel sensing [abstract, par 0380 If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, first-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal; otherwise, second-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal. In Embodiment 12, the second-type channel monitoring is described using a flowchart shown in FIG. 12. In S1201, the base station in the present disclosure is in an idle state. In S1202 determine if transmission is needed. If yes, go to S1203; otherwise, go back to S1201. In S1203 sense channel for one defer duration],
the first channel sensing used for determining a first time-frequency resource block; and transmitting a second signaling[abstract, If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, first-type channel monitoring is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal];
the second signaling used for indicating a target identifier and the first time-frequency resource block[par 0205, The B1 transmits N1 first-type reference signals in S101, receives first uplink information in S102, transmits N2 first-type reference signals in S103 ];
wherein the first signaling indicates a first identifier and a first parameter; the first identifier indicates a second node; the first parameter comprises at least one of a first resource pool, a first priority, a first time length or a first frequency-domain resource size [par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
the first parameter is used for performing the first channel sensing; the first identifier is used for determining the target identifier [par 0190, 0347-0351, If an antenna port transmitting the first radio signal is associated with at least one of the M2 second-type radio signals, the first-type channel monitoring in the present disclosure is adopted targeting transmission of the first radio signal; In S1103 perform energy detection for one sensing interval. In S1104 determine if the channel has been idle during all slot durations of the sensing interval. If yes, go to S1105 and transmit; otherwise, go back to S1103].
the second node is a transmitter of a first signal[fig 5, par 0206, The U2 receives N1 first-type reference signals in S201, transmits first uplink information in S202, receives first information in S21];
where the first time-frequency resource block is reserved for a transmission of the first signal par 0021, 0205, the method is characterized in that: a probability of transmitting the first radio signal in the first time-domain resources when the first-type channel monitoring is adopted is larger than a probability of transmitting the first radio signal in the first time-domain resources when the second-type channel monitoring is adopted];
the second node and the first node are Non-Co-located[par 0639, an antenna port transmitting the first target first-type reference signal and an antenna port transmitting the first-type reference signal of the M1 first-type reference signals associated with the given second-type radio signal are quasi co-located].
17. Wu The method according to claim 16, characterized in that time-domain resources occupied by the second signaling are earlier than time-domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block[par 0208, The first information is used by the U2 for determining at least a part of Q time windows, with time-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals belonging to the Q time windows. The Q is a positive integer. The first signaling indicates frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals],
where an interval between a start of the time-domain resources occupied by the second signaling and a start of the time- domain resources occupied by the first time-frequency resource block is equal to a first time offset[par 0407, an end of time-domain resources occupied by the second-type channel monitoring is no later than a start of time-domain resources occupied by the first radio signal in the present disclosure]
20. The method according to claim 16, characterized in that the first signal indicates the target identifier[par 0462-0467, the first signaling contains a second field, and the second field in the first signaling indicates the frequency-domain resources occupied by the M2 second-type radio signals, the first signaling is UE-specific, the first signaling contains DCI];
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. Pub No. 2020/0107203 A1) in Chae et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0225468 A1).
3, Wu illustrates the first node according to claim 2, Wu fail to show characterized in that the second signaling comprises a first field, the first field used for indicating the first time offset; a timing of receiving the second signaling is used to determine a timing of transmitting the first signal, and a receiver of the first signal is a node other than the first node.
In an analogous art Chae show characterized in that the second signaling comprises a first field, the first field used for indicating the first time offset [par 0245, For example, wireless device #3 and wireless device #4 may detect SL-SSB from wireless device #1 or wireless device #2. A reception timing of the SL-SSB may be used to determine a sidelink slot boundary. A base station may indicate an offset DFN (direct frame number) to a wireless device. The offset DFN may be used to indicate timing offset between a downlink timing and a GNSS timing]
a timing of receiving the second signaling is used to determine a timing of transmitting the first signal, and a receiver of the first signal is a node other than the first node [par 0245, Wireless device #2 may determine a sidelink slot boundary based on the timing of the GNSS. For example, wireless device #2 may detect a coordinated Universal Time (UTC) based on the detection of a GNSS signal and based on the UTC timing, wireless device #2 may determine the sidelink slot boundary and use the sidelink slot boundary for a sidelink signal transmission]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and Chae because a wireless device may reduce power consumption due to the alignment between a SL DRX pattern and a Uu DRX pattern [Chae par 0247]
13. Wu reveal the second node according to claim 12, Wu fail to show characterized in that the second signaling comprises a first field, the first field used for indicating the first time offset; a timing of receiving the second signaling is used to determine a timing of transmitting the first signal, and a receiver of the first signal is a node other than the first node.
In an analogous art Chae show characterized in that the second signaling comprises a first field, the first field used for indicating the first time offset [par 0245, For example, wireless device #3 and wireless device #4 may detect SL-SSB from wireless device #1 or wireless device #2. A reception timing of the SL-SSB may be used to determine a sidelink slot boundary. A base station may indicate an offset DFN (direct frame number) to a wireless device. The offset DFN may be used to indicate timing offset between a downlink timing and a GNSS timing]
a timing of receiving the second signaling is used to determine a timing of transmitting the first signal, and a receiver of the first signal is a node other than the first node [par 0245, Wireless device #2 may determine a sidelink slot boundary based on the timing of the GNSS. For example, wireless device #2 may detect a coordinated Universal Time (UTC) based on the detection of a GNSS signal and based on the UTC timing, wireless device #2 may determine the sidelink slot boundary and use the sidelink slot boundary for a sidelink signal transmission]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and Chae because a wireless device may reduce power consumption due to the alignment between a SL DRX pattern and a Uu DRX pattern [Chae par 0247]
18. Wu create the method according to claim 17,Wu fail to show characterized in that the second signaling comprises a first field, the first field used for indicating the first time offset; a timing of receiving the second signaling is used to determine a timing of transmitting the first signal, and a receiver of the first signal is a node other than the first node.
In an analogous Chae show characterized in that the second signaling comprises a first field, the first field used for indicating the first time offset par 0245, For example, wireless device #3 and wireless device #4 may detect SL-SSB from wireless device #1 or wireless device #2. A reception timing of the SL-SSB may be used to determine a sidelink slot boundary. A base station may indicate an offset DFN (direct frame number) to a wireless device. The offset DFN may be used to indicate timing offset between a downlink timing and a GNSS timing]
a timing of receiving the second signaling is used to determine a timing of transmitting the first signal, and a receiver of the first signal is a node other than the first node[par 0245, Wireless device #2 may determine a sidelink slot boundary based on the timing of the GNSS. For example, wireless device #2 may detect a coordinated Universal Time (UTC) based on the detection of a GNSS signal and based on the UTC timing, wireless device #2 may determine the sidelink slot boundary and use the sidelink slot boundary for a sidelink signal transmission]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and Chae because a wireless device may reduce power consumption due to the alignment between a SL DRX pattern and a Uu DRX pattern [Chae par 0247]
8. Claim(s) 4, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0107203 A1) in Vermani et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2014/0328249 A1).
4. WU disclose the first node according to claim 1, Wu fail to show characterized in that a second identifier is used for identifying a third node, where the third node is assumed to receive the first signal, the second identifier used for generating the target identifier
In an analogous art Vermani show characterized in that a second identifier is used for identifying a third node, where the third node is assumed to receive the first signal, the second identifier used for generating the target identifier [par 0012, The method includes receiving a physical layer packet from a wireless network, decoding the packet to identify a first signal field, decoding the first signal field to identify a first payload from the packet, the first payload comprising first data addressed to a first device and second data addressed to a second device, decoding the packet to identify a second signal field; and decoding the second signal field to identify a second payload, the second payload comprising third data addressed to at least one of the first device, the second device, or a third device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and Vermani because this provides improved systems, methods, and devices for communicating when wireless networks are densely populated is desired.
14, Wu display the second node according to claim 11, Wu fail to show characterized in that a second identifier is used for identifying a third node, where the third node is assumed to receive the first signal, the second identifier used for generating the target identifier.
In an analogous art Vermani show characterized in that a second identifier is used for identifying a third node, where the third node is assumed to receive the first signal, the second identifier used for generating the target identifier[par 0012, The method includes receiving a physical layer packet from a wireless network, decoding the packet to identify a first signal field, decoding the first signal field to identify a first payload from the packet, the first payload comprising first data addressed to a first device and second data addressed to a second device, decoding the packet to identify a second signal field; and decoding the second signal field to identify a second payload, the second payload comprising third data addressed to at least one of the first device, the second device, or a third device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and Vermani because this provides improved systems, methods, and devices for communicating when wireless networks are densely populated is desired.
19. Wu create the method according to claim 16, Wu fail to show characterized in that a second identifier is used for identifying a third node, where the third node is assumed to receive the first signal, the second identifier used for generating the target identifier.
In an analogous art Vermani show characterized in that a second identifier is used for identifying a third node, where the third node is assumed to receive the first signal, the second identifier used for generating the target identifier[par 0012, The method includes receiving a physical layer packet from a wireless network, decoding the packet to identify a first signal field, decoding the first signal field to identify a first payload from the packet, the first payload comprising first data addressed to a first device and second data addressed to a second device, decoding the packet to identify a second signal field; and decoding the second signal field to identify a second payload, the second payload comprising third data addressed to at least one of the first device, the second device, or a third device]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and Vermani because this provides improved systems, methods, and devices for communicating when wireless networks are densely populated is desired.
9. Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No.2020/0107203 A1) in HWANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0287086 A1).
8. Wu conveys the first node according to claim 1, Wu fail to show characterized in that the first time length is related to a Remaining Packet Delay Budget.
In an analogous art HWANG show characterized in that the first time length is related to a Remaining Packet Delay Budget [par 0203, and wherein the second time offset is determined based on remaining PDB (Packet Delay Budget) of data packet related to the sidelink transmission].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and HWANG because the sensing window for the sidelink transmission/reception based on the aperiodic partial sensing considering the processing time of the UE is configured to perform efficient sidelink transmission/reception [HWANG par 0039]
9. Wu provide the first node according to claim 1, Wu fail to show characterized in that a time at which the Remaining Packet Delay Budget is subtracted by the first time length is no later than a time of transmitting the first signaling, or the time at which the Remaining Packet Delay Budget is subtracted by the first time length is no later than a time of transmitting a third signaling in the present disclosure, or the time at which the Remaining Packet Delay Budget is subtracted by the first time length is no later than a time of transmitting the second signaling.
In an analogous art HWANG show characterized in that a time at which the Remaining Packet Delay Budget is subtracted by the first time length is no later than a time of transmitting the first signaling, or the time at which the Remaining Packet Delay Budget is subtracted by the first time length is no later than a time of transmitting a third signaling in the present disclosure, or the time at which the Remaining Packet Delay Budget is subtracted by the first time length is no later than a time of transmitting the second signaling[par 0512, The UE may continuously perform RE-EVALUATION and/or PRE-EMPTION check even for the resource reserved for the SL transmission, and in this case, as time elapsed (since T_2 or a remaining packet data budget (PDB) is reduced). For example, the minimum number of potential selection (available) slots may be (pre)configured according to the T_2 value range and/or the remaining PDB value range. For example, when the UE performs the RE-EVALUATION and/or PRE-EMPTION check, the minimum number value of potential selection slots may be updated by a scheme of subtracting the number of potential selection available slots included in a resource selection window at a previous time point, but excluded from the updated resource selection window from the minimum number of potential selection slots].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Wu and HWANG because the sensing window for the sidelink transmission/reception based on the aperiodic partial sensing considering the processing time of the UE is configured to perform efficient sidelink transmission/reception [HWANG par 0039]
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468