DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-9 are being examined in this office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 4 ]" Pfeiffer et al. (CA 2700289 A1, herein Pfeiffer) . Regarding Claim 1 , Pfeiffer discloses a reservoir assembly ( Fig. 5 ) comprising: a reservoir ( hollow space of syringe body 25 ) comprising a storage space for medical liquid ( Page 1 Lines 28-29 ); a plunger ( 22 ) inserted into the reservoir and moving along the reservoir ( Fig. 5 ); a connector ( 20, 45 ) connected to the plunger ( Fig. 5 ) and comprising at least a portion extending to an opposite side of the storage space ( Fig. 5 ); a guide member ( portion of syringe body 25 and rail 120 in Fig. 5 ) into which the connector is inserted and which guides movement of the connector ( portion of syringe body 25 and rail 120 guiding carriage 45 in Fig. 5 ); and a sensor unit ( 40, 50, 60 ) installed on the guide member and sensing movement of the connector ( Page 1 4 Lines 22-26 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 2,3 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeiffer et al. (CA 2700289 A1, herein Pfeiffer) in view of FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Chavez et al. (US 8323234 B2 , herein Chavez ) . Regarding Claim 2 , Pfeiffer discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 1 . Pfeiffer does not expressly disclose wherein the connector is flexible . Chavez teaches a medication delivery device wherein the connector ( 7 ) is flexible ( Col. 1 Lines 57-60 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by Pf eiffer wherein the connector is flexible as taught by Chavez so that the connector may pass through a curved housing ( Chavez, Col. 1 Lines 57-60 ). Regarding Claim 3, Pfeiffer discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 1 . Pfeiffer does not expressly disclose wherein the guide member comprises: a first end arranged on the reservoir to face the plunger; a second end arranged on a side surface of the reservoir; and a connection portion connecting the first end to the second end and comprising a curved section. Chave z teaches wherein the guide member comprises: a first end arranged on the reservoir to face the plunger ( s ee annotated Chave z Fig. 1 below ) ; a second end arranged on a side surface of the reservoir ( second end arranged on side surface of reservoir via actuating unit 3 in annotated Fig. 1 ) ; and a connection portion connecting the first end to the second end and comprising a curved section ( annotated Fig. 1 ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by Pfeiffer wherein the guide member comprises: a first end arranged on the reservoir to face the plunger; a second end arranged on a side surface of the reservoir; and a connection portion connecting the first end to the second end and comprising a curved section as taught by Chavez so that a flexible connector may pass through a curved section of the housing in order to push fluid out of the reservoir ( Chavez, Col. 1 Line 57 through Col. 2 line 2 ). Regarding Claim 7 , Pfeiffer discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 1 . Pfeiffer does not expressly disclose wherein the connector comprises: a concave first surface; and a convex second surface arranged on an opposite side to the concave first surface. Chavez teaches wherein the connector comprises: a concave first surface ( annotated Fig. 1 ) ; and a convex second surface arranged on an opposite side to the concave first surface ( annotated Fig. 1 ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by Pfeiffer wherein the connector comprises: a concave first surface; and a convex second surface arranged on an opposite side to the concave first surface as taught by Chavez so that a flexible connector may pass through a curved section of the housing in order to push fluid out of the reservoir ( Chavez, Col. 1 Line 57 through Col. 2 line 2 ) . Regarding Claim 8 , modified Pfeiffer in view of Chavez discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 7, wherein the concave first surface is arranged inside a curved section of the guide member ( Chavez, annotated Fig. 1 ) , and a second surface is arranged outside the curved section of the guide member ( Chavez, annotated Fig. 1 ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by Pfeiffer wherein the concave first surface is arranged inside a curved section of the guide member , and a second surface is arranged outside the curved section of the guide member as taught by Chavez so that a flexible connector may pass through a curved section of the housing in order to push fluid out of the reservoir ( Chavez, Col. 1 Line 57 through Col. 2 Line 2 ). Claim (s) 4, FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 5 , and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeiffer FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" in view of Chavez , further in view of Kamen et al. (Pub. No. US 20190009018 A1, herein Kamen) . Regarding Claim 4 , modified Pfeiffer in view of Chavez discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 3, Modified Pfeiffer in view of Chavez does not expressly disclose wherein the sensor unit comprises a plurality of contact terminals which are arranged separated from each other on the second end . However, Pfeiffer discloses that switching devices 40, 50, and 60 located on the guide member separated from each other ( Fig. 5 ) are preferably devices capable of detecting positions ( Page 2 lines 9-15 ) Kamen teaches a rotary position sensor ( 7003, Fig. 91 ) capable of sending signals to measure position ( Paragraphs [0782] , [0783], [0784] ) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the switching devices arranged separated from each other on the second end disclosed by modified Pfeiffer in view of Chave z with the rotary position sensor as taught by Kamen so that the rotary position sensor may determine a volume pumped by the reservoir assembly ( Kamen, Paragraph [0585], “ The rotary position sensor 7003 may be the rotary sensor 1202 ” – Paragraph [0782] ) . Regarding Claim 5 , modified Pfeiffer in view of Chavez discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 1, Modified Pfeiffer in view of Chavez does not expressly disclose wherein the sensor unit comprises a plurality of contact terminals and generates a signal when the connector contacts the plurality of contact terminals. However, Pfeiffer discloses that switching devices 40, 50, and 60 are preferably devices capable of detecting positions ( Page 2 lines 9-15 ) . Kamen teaches a rotary position sensor ( 7003, Fig. 91 ) capable of sending signals to measure position ( Paragraphs [0782] , [0783], [0784] ). Examiner interprets that the rotary position sensor senses position via contact. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by modified Pfeiffer in view of Chave z wherein the sensor unit comprises a plurality of contact terminals and generates a signal when the connector contacts the plurality of contact terminals as taught by Kamen so that the rotary position sensor may determine a volume pumped by the reservoir assembly ( Kamen, Paragraph [0585], “ The rotary position sensor 7003 may be the rotary sensor 1202 ” – Paragraph [0782] ). Regarding Claim 6 , modified Pfeiffer in view of Chavez and Kamen discloses the reservoir assembly of claim 5, wherein at least one of the plurality of contact terminals is arranged to rotate along linear movement of the connector ( Kamen, rotary position sensor 7003 in Fig. 91 demonstrates ability to rotate ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by modified Pfeiffer in view of Chave z wherein at least one of the plurality of contact terminals is arranged to rotate along linear movement of the connector in order to estimate movement ( Kamen, Paragraph [0747], “ The rotary position sensor 7003 may be the rotary sensor 1202 ” – Paragraph [0782] ). Claim (s) 9 FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Chavez in view of Pfeiffer, further in view of Kamen . Regarding Claim 9 , Chavez discloses a medical liquid injection device ( Fig. 1 ) comprising: a reservoir assembly ( cartridge 5 fitting into cartridge holder 2 ) in which medical liquid is stored; a needle assembly ( 10 ) ejecting the medical liquid ( Col. 1 Line 67 through Col. 2 line 2 ) ; and a driving unit ( actuating unit 3 comprising a motor 6 ) connected to the reservoir assembly and moving the medical liquid to the needle assembly from the reservoir assembly in driving ( Col. 1 Line 63 through Col. 2 line 2 ) , wherein the reservoir assembly comprises: a reservoir ( 5 ) comprising a storage space for the medical liquid ( Col. 1 Line 55 ) ; a plunger ( 11 ) inserted into the reservoir and moving along the reservoir ( Fig. 1 ) ; a connector ( 7 ) connected to the plunger and comprising at least a portion extending to an opposite side of the storage space ( Fig. 1 ) ; a guide member ( 8 ) into which the connector is inserted and which guides movement of the connector ( Col. 1 Lines 57-59 ) ; Chavez does not expressly disclose a sensor unit installed on the guide member and contacting the connector along movement of the connector. Pfeiffer teaches a sensor unit ( 40, 50, 60 ) installed on the guide member ( portion of syringe body 25 and rail 120 in Fig. 5 ) and sensing movement ( Page 14 Lines 22-26 ) of the connector ( 20, 45 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the medical liquid injection device as disclosed by Chave z so that it includes a sensor unit installed on the guide member and sensing movement of the connector as taught by Pfeiffer in order to determine when a fluid volume has been delivered ( Pfeiffer, Page 11 Lines 11-12 ). However, Pfeiffer does not expressly disclose where the sensor unit contacts the connector along movement of the connector. Kamen teaches a rotary position sensor ( 7003, Fig. 91 ) capable of sending signals to measure position ( Paragraphs [0782] , [0783], [0784] ). Examiner interprets that the rotary position sensor senses position via contact. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention of the invention to modify the reservoir assembly disclosed by modified Chave z in view of Pfeiffer where the sensor unit contacts the connector along movement of the connector taught by Kamen so that the rotary position sensor may determine a volume pumped by the reservoir assembly ( Kamen, Paragraph [0585], “ The rotary position sensor 7003 may be the rotary sensor 1202 ” – Paragraph [0782] ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Mark Golovan whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2119 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 7:30am-4:30pm Alt Fri. off . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Chelsea Stinson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1744 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARK GOLOVAN/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783