Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I: Figures 1-9 and claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 4/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application with claims 11-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1:
“a drive unit configured to provide driving power to a wheel” ,
Interpreted as an electric motor fixed inside the wheel per [0067] (noting that all paragraph citations are to Applicant’s PG PUB), and equivalents thereof;
“a knuckle unit connected to the drive unit”,
Interpreted as a first knuckle and second knuckle per [0073], and equivalents thereof;
“a steering drive unit configured to couple to a vehicle body and configured to generate a steering force while extending or contracting in a longitudinal direction of the steering drive unit”,
Interpreted as the structures recited in claim 2, and equivalents thereof;
“a steering angle adjustment unit…configured to adjust a steering angle of the wheel in conjunction with the steering force generated from the steering drive unit”,
Interpreted as the structures recited in claim 5, and equivalents thereof;
Claim 2:
“a power generation module configured to couple to the vehicle body and configured to generate driving power”
interpreted as being an electric motor per [0091], and equivalents thereof;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2003/0047896 A1 to Unkoo in view of US 2020/0062064 A1 to Riedel.
Regarding claim 1, Unkoo discloses a corner module apparatus for a vehicle (Figs. 1-2 & [0005], [0027]), comprising:
a knuckle unit (60) … (Fig. 2 & [0022]-[0023]);
a steering drive unit (28,36) configured to couple to a vehicle body (2,4) and configured to generate a steering force while extending or contracting in a longitudinal direction of the steering drive unit (28,36) (Figs. 1-6 & [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022], and [0024] disclose side member 4 is a part of the vehicle sub frame, interpreted as being part of the vehicle body in line with [0078] of Applicant’s PG Pub; steering gear unit 28 include push rod 36 which is connected to link 46 via a joint and by extending/contracting the push rod, e.g., see Fig. 6, the vehicle wheels are rotated/steered);
a steering angle adjustment unit (56) connected to the knuckle unit (60), disposed so that a longitudinal direction of the steering angle adjustment unit (56) is different from the longitudinal direction of the steering drive unit (28,36), and configured to adjust a steering angle of the wheel (64) in conjunction with the steering force generated from the steering drive unit (28,36) (Figs. 1-2 and 6 & [0023]-[0024]); and
a crank member (52) disposed to be spaced apart from the steering drive unit (28) in a height direction of the vehicle body (2,4) and configured to convert a transmission direction of the steering force, which is generated from the steering drive unit (28,36), into the longitudinal direction of the steering angle adjustment unit (56) (Figs. 1-2 and 6 & [0023]-[0024] noting that the height differences are best seen in Fig. 1.).
Unkoo does not appear to disclose a drive unit configured to provide driving power to a wheel; and a knuckle unit connected to the drive unit.
Riedel teaches that it was old and well known in the art of corner modules, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a drive unit (12) configured to provide driving power to a wheel (10) (Fig. 6 & [0040] and [0047]); and a knuckle unit (14,18) connected to the drive unit (12) (Figs. 1 and 6 & [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of corner modules before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the corner module disclosed by Unkoo to incorporate a drive unit configured to provide driving power to a wheel; and a knuckle unit connected to the drive unit as taught by Riedel in order to individually drive each wheel, e.g., see Riedel [0040], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Unkoo further discloses wherein the steering drive unit (28) comprises:
a power generation module (28) configured to couple to the vehicle body (2,4) and configured to generate driving power (Figs. 1,2, and 6 & [0020]);
a push rod (36) configured to be extended or retracted in conjunction with the driving power of the power generation module (28) (Figs. 1,2, and 6 & [0020] and [0022]); and
a first joint extending from the push rod (36) and rotatably connected to one side of the crank member (52) (Fig. 1 & [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 2, Unkoo further discloses wherein the push rod (36) is disposed so that a longitudinal direction of the push rod (36) is parallel to a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (Figs. 1-2 and 6 noting that the push rod 36 is interpreted as including the two portions depicted in Fig. 6 at least one of which is parallel to the longitudinal direction of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 1, Unkoo further discloses wherein the steering angle adjustment unit (56) comprises:
a tie rod (56) having one side and an other side opposing each other and face the crank member (52) and the knuckle unit (60) (Figs. 1-2 & [0023]), respectively;
a second joint at the one side of the tie rod (56) and rotatably connected to the other side of the crank member (52) (Figs. 1-2 & [0023]); and
a third joint at the other side of the tie rod (56) and rotatably connected to the knuckle unit (60) (Figs. 1-2 & [0023]).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 1, Unkoo further discloses wherein the crank member (52) comprises:
a crank body (40) supported to be rotatable about an axis defined in the height direction of the vehicle body (2,4) (Fig. 2 & [0022]-[0023]);
a first extension part (46) extending from the crank body (40) and connected to the steering drive unit (28,36) (Fig. 2 & [0022]-[0023]); and
a second extension part (44) extending from the crank body (40) and connected to the steering angle adjustment unit (56) (Fig. 2 & [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 7, Unkoo further discloses wherein the first and second extension parts (44,46) extend in different directions from the crank body (40) (Fig. 2 & [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 9, depending on claim 7, while Unkoo does recognize that the first and second extension parts may have predetermined lengths, e.g., see [0022], Unkoo does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein a length of the first extension part (46) is shorter than a length of the second extension part (44) (Fig. 2 & [0022]).
However, a change in size, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, rearranging the predetermined lengths of the first and second extension parts such that the first extension part is shorter than the second extension part is considered to be an obvious modification and thus is not patentably distinct. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 10, depending on claim 7, Unkoo further discloses wherein when the steering drive unit (28) performs an extension or contraction operation, the second extension part (44) rotates at the same angular velocity as the first extension part (46) and applies a compressive or tensile load to the steering angle adjustment unit (56) depending on a rotation direction (Figs. 1,2,and 6 & [0022]-[0023] disclose the links 44 and 46 are perpendicular to each other and and therefore are interpreted as rotating at the same angular velocity when rotating about hinge 40.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unkoo in view of Riedel and further in view of US 2021/0276427 A1 to Yamamoto et al (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 2, Unkoo further discloses wherein the power generation module (28) is configured to be disposed behind the wheel (64).
However, because Unkoo does not appear to explicitly disclose that the vehicle has a pair of front and rear wheels, Unkoo does not appear to explicitly disclose that the wheel (64) comprises front (64) and rear wheels disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body (2,4), and the power generation module (28) is configured to be disposed between the front (64) and rear wheels.
Yamamoto teaches that it was old and well known in the art of hub drive vehicles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the wheel (10F/R) comprises front (10F) and rear (10R) wheels disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body (Fig. 1 & [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of hub drive vehicles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hub drive vehicle disclosed by the modified combination of Unkoo/Riedel to incorporate the vehicle to include a front and a rear wheel spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body as taught by Yamamoto in order to provide greater stability of the vehicle by having four wheels instead of two and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Examiner notes, that the resulting structure of modifying the vehicle disclosed by the modified combination of Unkoo/Riedel in view of the teachings of Yamamoto including a front and rear wheel spaced apart in the longitudinal direction would result in a vehicle where the power generation module as taught by Unkoo would be configured to be disposed between the front and rear wheels (Unkoo – 64/Yamamoto – 10F/R).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unkoo in view of Riedel and further in view of US 2018/0170136 A1 to Gell et al (hereinafter Gell).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 5, the modified combination of Unkoo/Riedel does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the second joint is connected to the other side of the crank member (Unkoo - 52) so as to be rotatable about multiple axes (Unkoo - Fig. 2).
Gell teaches that it was old and well known in the art of independent wheel suspension, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the joints of a tie rod to be rotatable about multiple axes (Fig. 2 & [0021]-[0023] disclose that the tie rod 15 includes ball joints operative along three axes to allow movement with the wheel suspension).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of independent wheel suspensions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheel suspension system disclosed by the modified combination of Unkoo/Riedel to incorporate the for the joints of the tie rod to be rotatable about multiple axes as taught by Gell in order to enable freedom of movement of a tie rod without unnecessary limitation of the joint, e.g., see [0004], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611