DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Williams reference requires a hollow reservoir, while the instantly claimed apparatus does not.
Williams discloses that the ocular apparatus may comprise a hollow reservoir or may include a single layer with a plurality of regions or zones of porosity (see p5, lines 16-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 00/64511 to Williams et al.
In the specification and figures, Williams discloses the apparatus as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1-3, 7, Williams discloses a drainage device 10 for draining fluid from an eye comprising a body portion with no chamber 9 with a first portion with a first porosity 12, a second portion with a second porosity 11, a conduit with a first end 8 coupled to the body and a second end in the anterior chamber, wherein the porosity of surface 11 facilitates vascular ingrowth (see FIG 2; p5, lines 10-24; p2, lines 28-30).
With regard to claims 15-17, Williams discloses a third layer that may comprise a support structure made of polypropylene, wherein the conduit may be attached to the support structure (see p5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 8-14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by WO 00/64511 to Williams et al.
In the specification and figures, Williams teaches the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant (see rejections above). With regard to claims 4-6, Williams discloses a third region 13 with a porosity that may be different than the first and second porosity, wherein the regions may comprise layers or a single layer with a plurality of porosities in order to facilitate vascularization as well as drainage (see p5-6).
With regard to claim 8, Williams does not disclose that the conduit is attached across 50% of the body portion. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). The placement of the conduit with respect to the body is within the skill of a worker in the art.
With regard to claims 9-11, Williams teaches a third layer 13 to which the conduit may be attached at an attachment region, wherein the third layer may comprise an erosion element, wherein layer 13 may be individual layers or a single layer with a plurality of regions, teaching the embodiments claimed by Applicant (see p5).
With regard to claims 12-14 and 19, Applicant is claiming more layers that face one another. Williams discloses layers of different porosity 11, 12, in combination with a support structure 13. It has been held that the mere duplication of the parts of an apparatus found in the prior art is not patentably significant unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B).
With regard to claim 18, Williams discloses that there are channels formed in the layers, suggesting the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 30 January 2026