DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9, 15, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/21/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 7, “the use of “a plurality of ribs” makes the claim unclear as to the relationship to “a plurality of ribs” in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 14, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raabe (US 8,297,901) in view of Hirano et al. (US 3,803,538) and Diconne et al. (US 6,231,405).
Regarding claim 1, Raabe discloses a terminal device (110), comprising: a body having a proximal portion (left side in Fig. 2A), a central portion (inside 108), and a distal portion (right side in Fig. 2A); the distal portion of the body extending at a first angle with respect to the central portion and configured to receive a connector exterior to a cavity of a terminal (intended use); the proximal portion extending at a second angle with respect to the central portion of the terminal and defining a retainer (bent portion of left side) to retain the terminal device at least partially in the cavity of the terminal (intended use).
Hirano teaches a terminal device (3) with two wire guides (see Fig. 1) extending down from opposing edges of the central portion (around 4) terminating at respective distal ends, and positioned laterally outside of a bottom surface of the central portion, including a first wire guide (left) having a first inner surface and a second wire guide (right) having a second inner surface, facing the first inner surface, to engage at least partially around a wire (intended use), wherein the first inner surface is a planar surface extending to the distal end of the first wire guide and the second inner surface is a planar surface extending to the distal end of the second wire guide (Fig. 1), wherein a distance between the first inner surface and the second inner surface, along an entire length of the two wire guides from the opposing edges of the central portion to the distal ends of the two wire guides, is constant and equal to or greater than a width of the bottom surface of the central portion measured between the opposing edges (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use wire guides, as taught by Latour, in order to center and stabilize the wire.
Diconne teaches a plurality of ribs (12) on the bottom surface of the central portion extending between the first inner surface of the first wire guide and the second inner surface of the second wire guide, each of the plurality of ribs being space apart from one another (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use ribs, as taught by Diconne, in order to increase friction and retention.
Raabe, as modified, discloses substantially the claimed invention except the lengths of the portions. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design to form the central portion having a length greater than a length of the proximal portion and a length of the distal portion, in order to increase retention and/or save material, and since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Claimed variations in relative dimensions do not patentably distinguish applicant's invention. Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments based on routine experimentation. Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable dimensions.
Regarding claim 5, Hirano teaches the first inner surface and the second inner surface being perpendicular to the bottom surface of the central portion of the body (see Figs. 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 6 Raabe discloses the proximal portion (left side) of the body having a length that is less than a length of the distal portion of the body (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 7, Diconne teaches the central portion of the body has a bottom surface including a plurality of ribs (12) between the first and second wire guides
Regarding claim 8, Raabe discloses the distal portion (right side) of the body including a hole extending therethrough (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 14, Raabe discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the second angle being greater than the first angle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the second angle being greater than the first angle, in order to fit the desired environment and profile of the device. Absent any convincing showing of the criticality of the design, this particular design is nothing more than the inventor’s preference without thereby departing from the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 21, Hirano teaches each of the two wire guides having a rectangular shape (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 25, Raabe discloses the distal portion of the body having an upper surface and a lower surface, each of the upper and lower surfaces being planar along (part of) the length the distal portion of the body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833